DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a benzimidazole compound or a salt thereof; and an insecticide and acaricide, and Compound 1-47 having the structure of:
as the elected species of benzimidazole compound or salt thereof in the reply filed on January 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 14, 2026.
Expansion of Election of Species Requirement
A reasonable and comprehensive search of the elected species conducted by the Examiner
discover a prior art by Kolluri et al. that anticipates the claimed invention, wherein the prior art teaches
a compound 783; However, it is noted that the prior art does not teach the elected species. In light of this discovery, the search is expanded to the subject matter of the benzimidazole compound or a salt thereof to include compound 783 of Kolluri et al. in addition to the elected species such, that it does not encompass the full scope of the claims.
Priority
The instant application 18/547,667 filed on August 23, 2023 is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/077277 filed on February 22, 2022, which claims priority to, and the benefits of Foreign Application No. CN202110204832.5 filed on February 23, 2021.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/23/2023 and 11/6/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Please note that foreign references without an English translation but have an English
translation of the abstract will only have the abstract considered by the Examiner.
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on January 14, 2026, wherein claims 1-12 are cancelled; claims 13-32 are newly added.
Claims 13-32 are pending. Claims 20-29 are withdrawn.
Claims 13-19 and 30-32 are under examination in accordance with the elected species and inventions along with the expanded species sets forth in the Expansion of Election of Species Requirement section above.
Claim Interpretation
The terms “insecticide” and “acaricide” recite in the preamble of claims 30-32 are reasonably construed to be an intended use of the product positively recite; and therefore, if the prior art meets the structural limitation of the product, it is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 13, the limitations of “at least one group” and “a bonded benzene ring” in the recitation of "and optionally, any two adjacent groups of Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4 and Y5 form one group, and at least one group and a bonded benzene ring are cyclized with or without at least one heteroatom to form at least one 3- to 8 membered ring" (see page 3, line 6-8) and the recitation of “and optionally, any two adjacent groups of Z1, Z2, Z3, and Z4 form one group, and at least one group and a bonded benzene ring are cyclized with or without at least one heteroatom to form at least one 3- to 8-membered ring” (see page 5, line 13-15) lacks antecedent basis, because there terms are not recited prior to said phrase. For instance, any two adjacent groups of Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4 and Y5 or any two adjacent groups of Z1, Z2, Z3, and Z4 forms one group, which is singular, it is not clear what are the additional groups being referred to in the context of “at least one group”. It is also not clear what is being referred to as “a bonded benzene ring”, is applicant intending to introduce a new benzene ring being fused to the “one group”? There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. In order to advance prosecution, the claim is being examined by the Examiner to the extent that any two adjacent groups of Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4 and Y5 or any two adjacent groups of Z1, Z2, Z3, and Z4 together form a 3- to 8 membered ring with or without at least one heteroatom.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of “at least one group” and “a bonded benzene ring” in the recitation of "and optionally, any two adjacent groups of Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4 and Y5 form one group, and at least one group and a bonded benzene ring are cyclized with or without at least one heteroatom to form at least one 3- to 8 membered ring" (see page 6, line 19-21) and the recitation of “and optionally, any two adjacent groups of Z1, Z2, Z3, and Z4 form one group, and at least one group and a bonded benzene ring are cyclized with or without at least one heteroatom to form at least one 3- to 8-membered ring” (see page 7, line 9-11) lacks antecedent basis, because there terms are not recited prior to said phrase. For instance, any two adjacent groups of Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4 and Y5 or any two adjacent groups of Z1, Z2, Z3, and Z4 forms one group, which is singular, it is not clear what are the additional groups being referred to in the context of “at least one group”. It is also not clear what is being referred to as “a bonded benzene ring”, is applicant intending to introduce a new benzene ring being fused to the “one group”? There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. In order to advance prosecution, the claim is being examined by the Examiner to the extent that any two adjacent groups of Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4 and Y5 or any two adjacent groups of Z1, Z2, Z3, and Z4 together form a 3- to 8 membered ring with or without at least one heteroatom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 13-14 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolluri et al. (WO 2021/022061 A1; cited in the IDS filed on 11/6/2024).
Kolluri et al. teaches a compound 783 having the structure of:
is an exemplary AhR ligand compound of Formulae I, IA, IB, IC, ID, and IE (see e.g., p. 64, line 19, Compound-783; Table 1, No. 783). Kolluri et al. further teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the AhR ligand of the disclosure (see e.g., p. 6, line 27-28). Kolluri et al. further teaches a physiologically or pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or vehicle can be used to formulate the compound for administration and can be selected according to the mode of administration (see e.g., p. 23, line 7-9).
Please note the compound 783 taught by Kolluri et al. is a compound represented by formula (I)
, wherein R is
(C3 cycloalkyl); Y1, Y2, Y3 are each a hydrogen; Y4 and Y5 together form a
(phenyl, a 6-membered ring); Z1, Z2 and Z4 are each a hydrogen; Z3 is Cl (a halogen); and therefore, the pharmaceutical composition comprising said compound anticipates claim 30.
Therefore, the claimed invention is being anticipated by Kolluri et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolluri et al. (WO 2021/022061 A1) as applied to claims 13-14 and 30 above, and further in view of Chaikof et al. (US 2021/0147390 A1).
The teachings of Kolluri et al. are sets forth above and applied as before.
Kolluri et al. does not teach the content of the active ingredient ranges from 1 wt% to 99 wt% in claim 31. Kolluri et al. also does not teach the content of the active ingredient ranges from 5 wt% to 60 wt% in claim 32.
Chaikof et al. teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (see e.g., claims 1, 59); wherein the compound can non-covalently bind to aryl hydrocarbon receptors and induce aryl hydrocarbon receptor activity (see e.g., [0005]). Chaikof et al. further teaches relative amount of the active ingredient, the pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and/or any additional ingredient in the pharmaceutical composition will vary, depending upon the identity, size, and/or condition of the subject treated and further depending upon the route by which the composition is to be administered; by way of example, the composition may comprise between 0.1% and 100% (w/w) active ingredient (see e.g., [0452]).
Regarding claims 31-32, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to incorporate the compound 783 of Kolluri et al. at an amount between 0.1% and 100% (w/w) taught by Chaikof et al. to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so, because Chaikof et al. teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising 0.1% and 100% (w/w) of a compound of formula (I) with aryl hydrocarbon receptor (AhR) activation activity can be administered to a subject. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that compound 783 of Kolluri et al. has the same or substantially similar AhR activation activity as the compound of Formula (I) of Chaikof et al.; and therefore, 0.1% and 100% (w/w) of said compound 783 can successfully be used to formulate a pharmaceutical composition without any appreciable loss of activity.
Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Claims 13-19 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (CN106946790 A; cited in the IDS filed on August 23, 2023), in view of Frick et al. (US 3,624,100).
Please note Cui et al. cited in the IDS filed on August 23, 2023 is written in foreign language, but applicant only provides an English translation of the abstract. Therefore, a machine translation has been provided in the previous Office Action mailed on November 20, 2025, the specific portions cited in this instant office action will refer to the sections of the machine translation.
Cui et al. teaches a compound of Example 20, 2-phenyl-1-ethylsulfonylbenzimidazole, having the structure of:
is an exemplary compound of 1,2-substitued benzimidazole derivative (see e.g., [0099]). Cui et al. further teaches the 1,2-substitued benzimidazole derivative
, wherein R1 is, inter alia, hydrogen or halogen; R2 is, inter alia, hydrogen or halogen; R3 is, inter alia, hydrogen or halogen; R4 is, inter alia, hydrogen or halogen; R5 is alkylsulfonyl azide or arylsulfonyl azide; R6 is, inter alia, aryl or aryl derivative (see e.g., [0013]). Cui et al. further teaches benzimidazole derivatives are a class of nitrogen-containing heterocyclic organic compounds with a wide range of uses, and have important application values in, inter alia, pesticides (see e.g., [0004]).
Cui et al. does not teach the elected species of benzimidazole compound or salt thereof.
Frick et al. teaches compound 38, 2-(3',5'-bis-trifluoromethyl-phenyl)-5-trifluoro-methyl-benzimidazole, is an exmplary benzimidazole derivatives of general formula I having insecticidal and acaricidal properties (see e.g., Table I, Ex No. 38; Col. 1, line 6-7 and 57). Frick et al. further teaches insecticidal and acaricidal agents which contain these new benzimidazole derivatives as active substances and, in particular, serve to combat keratin-eating insects and their larvae, as well as the use of these active substances and the agents containing them for combating insects and spider (see e.g., Col. 1, line 6-14). Frick et al. further teaches the agents according are produced in the known way by intimately mixing the active substances with solid or liquid carriers and distributing agents (see e.g., Col. 7, line 68-70). Frick et al. further teaches a 20 percent solution of 2-(4'-chlorophenyl)-4,5,6-trichloro-7-bromo-benzimidazole in 2-methoxyethanol in Example 2 (see e.g., Col. 8, line 33-36). Please note 2-(4'-chlorophenyl)-4,5,6-trichloro-7-bromo-benzimidazole is also an exemplary benzimidazole derivatives of general formula I (see e.g., Table I, Ex No. 22). Frick et al. further teaches percentages are given therein by weight (see e.g., Col. 8, line 16-17).
In the present case, the difference between the compound of Example 20 of Cui et al. and the claimed compound (the elected species of benzimidazole compound or salt thereof) is that the prior art compound contains unsubstituted phenyl rather than a 3,5-bistrifluoromethyl phenyl shown below (see shaded):
.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to select a compound of Example 20 of Cui et al., and then modify said compound by replacing the unsubstituted phenyl with a 3,5-bistrifluoromethyl phenyl taught by Frick et al. as the aryl derivative to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so, because Cui et al. teaches a list of R6, including aryl and aryl derivative, that can be interchange to arrive at a 1,2-substitued benzimidazole derivative with application values in pesticides; and Frick et al. teaches the compound 38, 2-(3',5'-bis-trifluoromethyl-phenyl)-5-trifluoro-methyl-benzimidazole, is a benzimidazole derivative having insecticidal and acaricidal properties. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that the compound of Example 20 of Cui et al. and the compound 38 of Frick et al. are structurally similar with similar utilities ( application in pesticides), and therefore, said compound of example 20 modified in view of the phenyl derivative of Frick et al. by substituting the phenyl with a 3,5-bistrifluoromethyl phenyl as the aryl derivative would have successfully arrive at the compound that is similarity useful for combating pests, and that also renders obvious the limitation in claim 30.
Regarding the limitation of “wherein the content of the active ingredient ranges from 1 wt% to 99 wt% based on the total weight of the insecticide and acaricide” in claim 31, and the limitation of “wherein the content of the active ingredient ranges from 5 wt% to 60 wt% based on the total weight of the insecticide and acaricide” in claim 32, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the present case, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrive at a 20 wt% solution of the modified compound of example 20 of Cui et al. and Frick et al. sets forth above. One would have been motivated to do so, because Frick et al. teaches the insecticidal and acaricidal agents which contain the benzimidazole derivatives as active substances can be produced by intimately mixing said active substance with solid or liquid carriers and distributing agents, and specifically exemplified a 20 wt% solution of a benzimidazole derivative, 2-(4'-chlorophenyl)-4,5,6-trichloro-7-bromo-benzimidazole, in 2-methoxyethanol. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that the modified compound of example 20 of Cui et al. and Frick et al. sets forth above can be mixed with 2-methoxyethanol as the liquid carriers to prepare a 20 wt% solution without any appreciable loss of activity.
Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
time the application was filed, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHIHYI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1628 /JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628