DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 49, claim 49 recites “a method of treating a bone defect in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising application of a structure”, which appears to be an attempt at setting forth a “use claim” without positively reciting any steps, see MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claims 50-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the instant application it is unclear whether the dependent claims are further defining the structure within the method of claim 49 or are directed exclusively to the structure and are excluding the method steps. For purposes of examination, Examiner has interpreted the dependent claims to be further defining the structure with the recited method. In the alternative, should applicant intend for the claims to be aimed at only the structure see the 112(d) rejection below. However, in the dependent claims, it is unclear how the method steps are being connected to the further claimed ‘structure’.
Claims 50-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 50-67 recited the “the structure of claim 49”, however, claim 49 is a method claim. Therefore, claims 50-67 appear to exclude the method of claim 49. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 49, 51, 53-54, and 66-67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heino et al US 20050261780 A1, herein referred to as Heino, in view of Kengla et al. US 20190203038, herein referred to as Kengla, and further in view of Rodrigo et al. US 20170218228 A1, herein referred to as Rodrigo.
Regarding claim 49, Heino discloses a method of treating a bone defect in a subject in need thereof ([0012]), the method comprising application of a structure (Fig 3b, bioabsorable polymeric mesh implant [0026]) to the subject ([0012-0013]).
Heino does not disclose wherein the structure comprises about 50% to about 90% by weight ceramic and about 10% to about 50% by weight polymer, and wherein the structure comprises a plurality of micropores having an average pore size of about 1 micron to about 500 microns.
Rodrigo discloses a similar structure (whole structure of Fig 25). Rodrigo teaches the structure (Fig 25; [0459]; [0234]); and wherein the structure comprises a plurality of micropores having an average pore size of about 1 micron to about 500 microns (Fig 27, shows pores to be 292 plus/minus 16 um in size; the claimed ranges are within the ranges taught by Rodrigo).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to the method of Heino to include the structure of Rodrigo to incorporate and wherein the structure comprises a plurality of micropores having an average pore size of about 1 micron to about 500 micron, as taught and suggested by Rodrigo to allow material to fill the pores or tissue growth in the micropores (Rodrigo supports providing fillers to increase strength of the material as needed and thus provides motivation to include/fill the structure with fillers for the benefit taught, see Rodrigo [0225]).
Heino in view of Rodrigo does not disclose the structure comprises about 50% to about 90% by weight ceramic.
However, Kengla discloses a similar method of preparing a structure to support a bone defect (see [0014]). Kengla teaches the structure comprises about 50% to about 90% by weight ceramic (see [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Heino in view of Rodrigo by changing the composition of the structure, as taught and suggested by Kengla in order to improve structure strength (see [0009]).
Regarding claim 51, Rodrigo discloses wherein the structure has a density of about 1 g/cm3 to about 2 g/cm3 ([0375], teaches PVC component, known to have density of ~1.30 to 1.45 g/cm³).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla to make the structure have a density of about 1 g/cm3 to about 2 g/cm3, as taught and suggested by Rodrigo in order to allow the material to be flexible (Rodrigo [0375]).
Regarding claim 53, Rodrigo discloses wherein the ceramic comprises calcium phosphate, hydroxyapatite bone, silicate, or a combination thereof ([0225]; Table 3).
Since Rodrigo teaches wherein the ceramic comprises calcium phosphate, hydroxyapatite bone, silicate, or a combination thereof, which would be incorporated in the structure when the modification is made.
Regarding claim 54, Rodrigo discloses wherein the ceramic comprises the calcium phosphate (Table 3).
Since Rodrigo teaches wherein the ceramic comprises the calcium phosphate, which would be incorporated in the structure when the modification is made.
Regarding claim 66, Rodrigo discloses that the structure of claim 49 is formed from an ink ([0033]) comprising the ceramic, the polymer, and a sacrificial pore former ([0308]).
Regarding claim 67, Rodrigo discloses [the structure of claim 49 is] formed from a filament using an extrusion based three-dimensional printing method ([0051-0052] teaches extrusion-based 3D printing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla to incorporate the structure of claim 49 to be formed from a filament using an extrusion based three-dimensional printing method, as taught and suggested Rodrigo in order to print with high resolution.
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla in view of Mathiowitz et al. US 9238011 B2, herein referred to as Mathiowitz.
Regarding claim 50, the combination as made of Heino and Kengla/Rodrigo discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the structure has an open porosity of about 15% to about 50%.
However, in the same field of invention, Mathiowitz teaches a method for treating bone defects in a patient in need thereof (Col 6, lines 3-10), the method comprising applying a structure (Fig 30 biomedical textile, Col 7, 43-47; Col 6, lines 25-39), wherein the structure has an open porosity of about 15% to about 50% (Col 51, lines 32-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla to have an open porosity of about 15% to about 50%, as taught and suggested by Mathiowitz in order to allow pores to be loaded with therapeutic agents (Mathiowitz Col 32, lines 39-50).
Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla in view of Engstrand et al. US 9220597 B2, herein referred to as Engstrand.
Regarding claim 52, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla does not disclose wherein the structure has a strut diameter of about 300 micrometers to about 600 micrometers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Engstrand disclose a similar structure (Fig 1, implant 10) Engstrand teaches wherein the structure has a strut diameter of about 300 micrometers to about 600 micrometers (Fig 1, struts 32; Col 13, lines 30-40; teaches struts to be about 0.45 mm, also known as ~450 um. While Engstrand and does not teach the specific range, the claimed ranges are with the ranges taught by Engstrand).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla to incorporate wherein the structure has a strut diameter of about 300 micrometers to about 600 micrometers, as taught and suggested by Engstrand in order to allow the implant to deform around a length and match a desired curvature as needed (Engstrand Col 14, lines 21-29).
Claim(s) 55-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla in view of Williams WO 2021042044 A1, herein referred to as Williams.
Regarding claim 55, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 49, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the calcium phosphate comprises beta-tricalcium phosphate.
However, in the same field of invention, Williams teaches a method for treating bone defects in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising applying a ceramic structure comprising calcium phosphate (pg 210), and wherein the calcium phosphate comprises beta-tricalcium phosphate (pg 210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla to incorporate calcium phosphate comprises beta-tricalcium phosphate, as taught and suggested by Williams in order to allow the ceramic to be biocompatible (Williams pg 210).
Regarding claim 56, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 55, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the polymer comprises a polycaprolactone.
However, in another embodiment, Williams also teaches wherein the polymer comprises a polycaprolactone (pg 121 lines 1-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla to incorporate a polymer comprising a polycaprolactone, as taught and suggested by Williams to slow degraded of the implant (William pg 127 lines 13-17).
Regarding claim 57, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo does not disclose the use of caprolactone, however Williams further discloses that the polymer comprises a caprolactone/glycolide copolymer (Williams pg 121 lines 1-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla/Willaims to incorporate wherein the polymer comprises a caprolactone/glycolide copolymer, as taught and suggested by Williams in order to treat wound closures (William pg 1).
Regarding claim 58, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla as modified by Williams discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 57; however, Williams further teaches wherein the polymer comprises a poly(D,L-lactide-co- glycolide) copolymer (Williams pg 8 lines 10-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla/Williams to incorporate wherein the polymer comprises a poly(D,L-lactide-co- glycolide) copolymer as taught and suggested by Williams to provide a more suitable implantation pKa (William pg 8 lines 10-30).
Regarding claim 59, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla as modified by Williams discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 57, however, Williams also teaches wherein the polymer comprises a dioxanone/L-lactide copolymer (Williams pg 1, lines 15-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla/Williams to incorporate wherein the polymer comprises a dioxanone/L-lactide copolymer, as taught and suggested by Williams to provide limit degrading of the implant (Williams pg 1, lines 15-21).
Regarding claim 60, Rodrigo further discloses that the ceramic comprises calcium phosphate (Rodrigo Table 3). However, Williams also further discloses that the polymer comprises polycaprolactone (pg 121 lines 1-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla/Williams to incorporate that the polymer comprises polycaprolactone, as taught and suggested by Williams to provide water solubility to the implant (Williams pg 121 lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 61, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla as modified by Williams discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 60, however, Williams also teaches wherein the calcium phosphate comprises beta-tricalcium phosphate (Williams pg 210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla/Williams also teaches wherein the calcium phosphate comprises beta-tricalcium phosphate, as taught and suggested by Williams in order to allow the ceramic to be biocompatible (Williams pg 210).
Regarding claim 62, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla as modified by Williams discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 57; however, Williams also teaches wherein the polymer comprises a caprolactone/glycolide copolymer (Williams pg 121 lines 1-17) and the ceramic comprises calcium phosphate (Rodrigo Table 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Rodrigo to Williams to incorporate wherein the polymer comprises a caprolactone/glycolide copolymer lines and the ceramic comprises calcium phosphate, as taught and suggested by Williams to provide water solubility to the implant (Williams pg 121 lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 63, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla as modified by Williams discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 62; however, Williams also teaches wherein the calcium phosphate comprises beta-tricalcium phosphate (Williams pg 210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla/Williams to incorporate wherein the calcium phosphate comprises beta-tricalcium phosphate, as taught and suggested by Williams to allow the ceramic to be biocompatible (Williams pg 210).
Regarding claim 64, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo/Kengla as modified by Williams discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 62; however, Williams also teaches wherein the caprolactone/glycolide copolymer is about 95% mol caprolactone (Williams pg 55 lines 1-6) and about 5% mol glycolide (Williams pgs 40-41 lines 29- lines 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla/Williams to incorporate wherein the caprolactone/glycolide copolymer is about 95% mol caprolactone and about 5% mol glycolide, as taught and suggested by Williams in order to allow synthesis to be compatible with a twin extruder (Williams pgs 40-41 lines 29- lines 8)
Regarding claim 65, the combination as made of Heino and Rodrigo as modified by Williams discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 62, however, Williams also teaches wherein the caprolactone/glycolide copolymer is about 90% mol caprolactone and about 10% mol glycolide (pgs 40-41 lines 29- lines 8; Williams pg 55 lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to the combined method of Heino in view of Rodrigo and Kengla/Williams to incorporate wherein the caprolactone/glycolide copolymer is about 90% mol caprolactone and about 10% mol glycolide, as taught and suggested by Williams in order to allow synthesis to be compatible with a twin extruder (Williams pgs 40-41 lines 29- lines 8).
Conclusion
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MATTHEW F DESANTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700