DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IV (drawn to a method of treating a sunburn or skin photosensitivity disorder), in the reply filed on 03/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 17-23 are pending of which claims 1-9 and 17-19 in Group I-III, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected INVENTION, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is made Final.
Pending claims 20-23 have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
action.
nonobviousness.
Claims 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sontheimer et al., Arthritis Rheumatol. 2017 Apr;69(4):826-836 in view of Fröhlich et al. Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases, vol. 70, no. 7, July 2011, pp. 1344–45.
Regarding claims 20-21 and 23, Sontheimer (page 830-833) teaches that repeated skin exposure to UVB induces cutaneous inflammation. Sontheimer (page 826-827) discloses that UVB used in the lupus models is delivered as artificial UVB irradiation. Sontheimer (page 826-833) discloses that exposure triggers cutaneous inflammation in patients with systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) and systemic disease. Given that exposure to sunlight is a major, common cause of lupus flares, known as photosensitivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to recognize lupus patients exposed either to solar UVB or artificial UVB, the disease pathology would still provoke the same photosensitive response. Moreover, because UVB triggers skin photosensitivity, which involves inflammation and immunomodulation, this suggests that a POSITA would explore anti-inflammatory inhibitors as a potential treatment for UVB-induced inflammation.
Sontheimer, however, does not explicitly teach a method of treating a skin photosensitivity disorder caused by UVB irradiation with NLRP1 inhibitor.
Fröhlich (page 1345) discloses bortezomib is a reversible and selective proteasome inhibitor, and patient received an effective amount of bortezomib at a dose of 1.5 mg on days 1, 4, 8 and 11 of each 28-day cycle to reduce inflammation. Fröhlich (page 1345) discloses bortezomib was effective to treat systemic lupus erythematous (SLE), a chronic, systemic autoimmune inflammatory disease. Given that bortezomib is known in the art to suppress NF-κB signaling pathway, critical in SLE pathogenesis and chronic inflammation; and that UVB-provokes lupus flares, it would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer bortezomib as a treatment regimen for patients with SLE or UVB-triggered inflammation.
Fröhlich does not explicitly teach “a NLRP1 inhibitor for inhibiting NLRP1-driven pyroptosis in a cell caused by ribosome stalling and/or ribosome collisions within said cell.”
However, Fröhlich discloses that bortezomib belongs to the family of proteasome inhibitors and does not explicitly mention it as a NLRP1 inhibitor. Therefore, given Fröhlich discloses the same compound as the claimed invention for the same treatment such as SLE, thus the exclusion of the functional language does not render Fröhlich’s teachings nonobvious. Therefore, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP 2112.01
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine the teachings of Sontheimer and Fröhlich to arrive at the claimed invention, because the prior art discloses bortezomib is already known in the art to treat SLE or UVB-triggered inflammation.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sontheimer and Fröhlich as applied to claim 20 above, and in further view of Sandstrom et al., Science, vol. 364, no. 6435, Apr. 2019, p. eaau1330.
The combined teachings of Sontheimer and Fröhlich disclose bortezomib can be administered against SLE triggered by UVB. The combined prior art, however, does not explicitly mention “inflammatory pathology is due to a microbial ribotoxin.”
Regarding claim 22, and as applied to claim 20 above, Sandstrom (page 1-7) discloses that microbial pathogens activate NLRP1 inflammasome pathway through a mechanism involving proteasome-dependent degradation of NLRP1, which is required for downstream inflammatory signaling and cytokine production. This suggests that inflammatory pathology driven by microbial enzymatic, including ribotoxin-like damage to cellular component, proceeds through a proteasome dependent step that this essential for inflammasome activation. Therefore, given that bortezomib is a well-known proteasome inhibitor, thus a POSITA would expect bortezomib to block this microbial degradation step and thereby suppress activation of the NLRP1 inflammasome and its associated response and arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622