DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. This Non-Final Office Action is in response to Applicant’s RCE filing on 1/6/2026. Claims 1-21 are currently pending. The earliest effective filing date of the present application is 2/26/2021.
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 – “[A] a communications module for communicating the level.” See MPEP 2181. Underlined is the generic placeholder used by the claim and bolded is the functional language. The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim. Therefore, 112(f) is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-6, and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatenable by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/321072to Williams et al. (“Williams”) in view of Wikipedia Bluetooth Low Energy (“Wiki”) in further view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0061867 to Engelhard et al. (“Engelhard”) .
6. With regards to claim 1, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
a dispenser capable of physical association with the container (See [0041] discussing generating a message when a container is to be refilled and [0003] discussing the container and dispenser.);
a plurality of electrical conductors forming a sensing module associated at least with the dispenser, the sensing module having associated therewith firmware for converting signals associated with the electrical conductors to an indication of the level of the consumable in the container (See [0050] discussing the firmware of the system and [0054]-[0059] discussing the sensing and communication of liquid level events.),…;
a communications module for communicating the level to at least a user mobile device over at least one network (See [0006] discussing the communications of information and [0049] discussing communication with smart phone app].; and
a BLE power module having aspects physically distinct from the sensor module, which is capable of at least periodically powering up the sensing module and the communications module absent actuation of an app on the user mobile device (See [0047]-[0050] discussing the system use of a BLE that is separate from the sensing module that can send sensor data to the app and activating the system.),
Williams does not explicitly teach,
wherein the BLE power module provides power awareness configured to conserve power.
However, Wiki teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the radio frequency art to include the BLE power module provides power awareness configured to conserve power (See [pg. 1] discussing BLE being used for reduced power consumption and [pg. 5] discussing proximity sensing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the radio frequency art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Williams to include the BLE power module provides power awareness configured to conserve power, as disclosed by Wiki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce cost in similar communication range as classic Bluetooth® (Wiki [pg. 1]).
Williams and Wiki are silent on the limitation of,
wherein the sensing module includes a gyroscope
However, Engelhard teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the dispensing art to include sensing module includes a gyroscope (See [0075] discussing using a gyroscope as a sensor in a dispenser.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the dispensing art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Williams and Wiki to include the sensing module includes a gyroscope, as disclosed by Engelhard. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to sense motion (Engelhard [0075]).
7. With regards to claim 2, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
an auto-replenishment of the container responsive to the indication to do so from the app (See [0041] discussing autoreplenishment in conjunction with the app.).
8. With regards to claim 3, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the auto-replenishment includes an opt-in in the app (See [0041] discussing additional confirmation by app.).
9. With regards to claim 4, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the indication is provided to the app to enable a manual replenishment of the container (See [0041] discussing replenishment alert by app.).
10. With regards to claim 6, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the sensing module is capacitive in nature (See [0032] discussing the sensor as a capacitive sensor module.).
11. With regards to claim 5, Williams and Wiki are silent the limitations of,
wherein the sensing module further includes an accelerometer and a weight sensor.
However, Engelhard teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the sensor art to include the sensing module includes an accelerometer and a weigh sensor (See [0075] discussing using a accelerometer as a sensor in a dispenser and a pressure sensor to detect weight.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the sensor art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Williams and Wiki to include the sensing module includes an accelerometer, as disclosed by Engelhard. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to sense motion and mass (Engelhard [0075]-[0077]).
12. With regards to claim 8, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
a backend that monitors the indication from the sensing module to assess a need for auto-replenishment (See [0035] discussing cloud-based backend for app.).
13. With regards to claim 9, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the auto-replenishment comprises an online order (See [0028]-[0030] and [0035] discussing seller of the liquids dashboard may be app or web-based.).
14. With regards to claim 10, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the back end comprises a rules engine (See [0056] discussing the decision making algorithms of the backend.).
15. With regards to claim 11, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the backend comprises a monitor for a plurality of the containers (See [0028] discussing the cloud based storage and communications with one or more dispensers.).
16. With regards to claim 12, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the plurality of container corresponds to a plurality of consumers (See [0028] discussing the cloud based storage and communications with one or more dispensers and [0042] discussing multiple consumers.).
17. With regards to claim 13, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the app comprises a brand dashboard (See e.g., [0041]-[0043] discussing the dashboard.).
18. With regards to claim 14, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the app comprises a graphical user interface (See [0027] discussing user interfaces.).
19. With regards to claim 15, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the at least one network comprises one of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, BLE, and cellular (See [0034] discussing the smart phone app may communicate with the dispenser via, for example, WiFi, Bluetooth, BLE, or cellular communication methodologies.).
20. With regards to claim 16, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the power awareness comprises disabling a component when not used in a particular state.
However, Wiki teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the radio frequency art to include the power awareness comprises disabling a component when not used in a particular state (See [pg. 4] discussing BLE mesh profiles and turning off lights and [pg. 5] discussing proximity sensing controls based on thresholds.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the radio frequency art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Williams to include the power awareness comprises disabling a component when not used in a particular state, as disclosed by Wiki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce cost in similar communication range as classic Bluetooth® (Wiki [pg. 1]).
21. With regards to claim 17, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the app is subject to a controls layer of software that further comprises at least an application programming interface (API), hardware and software drivers, and hardware and software communication protocols (See [0050]-[0052] discussing the app including firmware and [0034] discussing the smart phone app may communicate with the dispenser via, for example, WiFi, Bluetooth, BLE, or cellular communication methodologies.).
22. With regards to claim 18, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the app comprises modifiable triggers based on the sensing module (See [0050]-[0052] discussing the ability to change dosage setting.).
23. With regards to claim 19, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein behaviors of the app change based on user feedback (See [0050]-[0052] discussing the ability to change settings.).
24. With regards to claim 20, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the BLE power module comprises rechargeable batteries (See [0032] discussing the power supply being rechargeable batteries.).
25. With regards to claim 21, Williams disclosed the limitations of,
wherein the dispenser is a pump top (See [0032] discussing the dispenser as a spout, spigot, pump, etc.), and the container is a lotion bottle (See [0032] disclosing the container is for a liquid. See MPEP §2114 discussing intended use.).
26. Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatenable by Williams, Wiki, and Engelhard in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,983,678 to Miller et al. (“Miller”).
27. With regards to claim 7, Williams and Wiki are silent the limitations of,
wherein the sensing module includes a time of flight sensor.
However, Miller teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the sensor art to include the sensing module includes a time of flight sensor (See [Col. 7, l. 29-40 ] discussing using a time of flight sensor on a soap dispenser.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the sensor art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Williams and Wiki to include the sensing module includes a time of flight sensor, as disclosed by Miller. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification as simple substitution of
Response to Arguments
28. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-21 under §102 and §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Engelhard.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627 Michael.walker@uspto.gov