DETAILED ACTION
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
This application currently includes independent claims 11, 26 and 27 and dependent claims 12-25.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite conditions precedent which don’t necessarily have to occur and it is not clear how the claims are limited if the condition precedent does not occur. The claims recite “if either of the reference marks on the film materials is misaligned in the film materials’” feed or width direction, “the control unit shifts . . .” What is the scope of these claims if the marks are not misaligned? If the condition precedent does not occur, how do the dependent claims further limit the parent claim(s). Additionally, claim 21 recites many limitations (“a pouch”, “a pair of film materials”, “a reference mark”, “a pair of driven rollers”, etc.) previously recited in claim 11 from which claim 21 depends. How many of these limitations is the applicant claiming?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14, 21-22, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colla (US 7,022,057).
Regarding independent claim 11, Colla discloses a controller for a pouch-making machine for manufacturing a pouch (see title) while feeding a pair of film materials (3, 4) each provided with a reference mark ( 12, 13) that indicates a reference position for layering the film materials together, the controller for the pouch-making machine comprising: a driven roller shift unit (see at least col. 3, line 35 – col. 4, line 10) for independently shifting each shaft of a pair of driven rollers (8) that rotate being driven by the pair of film materials being fed; and a control unit (10) for controlling the driven roller shift unit based on a result of an image- shooting unit (14, 15) shooting images of the reference marks, so that positions of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials coincide.
Regarding independent claim 26, Colla discloses a control method for a pouch-making machine for manufacturing a pouch (see title) while feeding a pair of film materials(3, 4) each provided with a reference mark (12, 13) that indicates a reference position for layering the film materials together, the control method for the pouch-making machine having: a first step of an image-shooting unit (14, 15) shooting images of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials (see at least col. 3, line 35 – col. 4, line 10); and a second step of, based on a result of the image-shooting unit shooting images of the reference marks, controlling independent shifting of each shaft of a pair of driven rollers (8) that rotate being driven by the pair of film materials being fed, so that positions of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials coincide (see at least col. 3, line 35 – col. 4, line 10).
Regarding independent claim 27, Colla discloses a control program for a pouch-making machine for manufacturing a pouch (see title) while feeding a pair of film materials (3, 4) each provided with a reference mark (12, 13) that indicates a reference position for layering the film materials together, the control program for the pouch-making machine causing a computer to execute: a first step of an image-shooting unit (14, 15) shooting images of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials; and a second step of, based on a result of the image-shooting unit shooting images of the reference marks, controlling independent shifting of each shaft of a pair of driven rollers (8) that rotate being driven by the pair of film materials being fed, so that positions of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials coincide (see at least col. 3, line 35 – col. 4, line 10).
Regarding dependent claims 12, 13, 14, 21, 22, and 25 Colla discloses that the driven roller shift unit independently shifts each shaft of the pair of driven rollers at each end (see Fig. 1 and at least col. 4, lines 5-10). If either of the reference marks on the film materials is misaligned in the film materials' feed direction the control unit shifts both ends of the shaft of the driven roller corresponding to the film material where the misalignment is occurring depending on the misalignment (see Fig. 1 and at least col. 4, lines 5-10). The pair of driven rollers are installed upstream of and adjacent to a feed roller (21 or 22) that layers together and feeds the pair of film materials.
Claim(s) 11-14, 21, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohnishi et al. (US 12,180,022).
Regarding independent claim 11, Ohnishi discloses a controller for a pouch-making machine for manufacturing a pouch (see col. 1, lines 5-10) while feeding a pair of film materials (1, 2) each provided with a reference mark (41) that indicates a reference position for layering the film materials together, the controller for the pouch-making machine comprising: a driven roller shift unit (19, 46) for independently shifting each shaft of a pair of driven rollers (18, 44) that rotate being driven by the pair of film materials being fed; and a control unit (15) for controlling the driven roller shift unit based on a result of an image- shooting unit (33) shooting images of the reference marks, so that positions of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials coincide.
Regarding independent claim 26, Ohnishi discloses a control method for a pouch-making machine for manufacturing a pouch (see col. 1, lines 5-10) while feeding a pair of film materials (1, 2) each provided with a reference mark (47) that indicates a reference position for layering the film materials together, the control method for the pouch-making machine having: a first step of an image-shooting unit (33, 31) shooting images of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials; and a second step of, based on a result of the image-shooting unit shooting images of the reference marks, controlling independent shifting of each shaft of a pair of driven rollers (18, 44) that rotate being driven by the pair of film materials being fed, so that positions of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials coincide.
Regarding independent claim 27, Ohnishi discloses a control program for a pouch-making machine for manufacturing a pouch (see col. 1, lines 5-10) while feeding a pair of film materials (1, 2) each provided with a reference mark (47) that indicates a reference position for layering the film materials together, the control program for the pouch-making machine causing a computer to execute: a first step of an image-shooting unit (33, 31) shooting images of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials; and a second step of, based on a result of the image-shooting unit shooting images of the reference marks, controlling independent shifting of each shaft of a pair of driven rollers (18, 44) that rotate being driven by the pair of film materials being fed, so that positions of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials coincide.
Regarding dependent claims 12, 13, 14, 22, 23, and 25 Ohnishi discloses that the driven roller shift unit independently shifts each shaft of the pair of driven rollers at each end (see at least col. 7, lines 20-55). If either of the reference marks on the film materials is misaligned in the film materials' feed direction the control unit shifts both ends of the shaft of the driven roller corresponding to the film material where the misalignment is occurring depending on the misalignment (see at least col. 7, lines 20-55). The pair of driven rollers are installed upstream of and adjacent to a feed roller (22) that layers together and feeds the pair of film materials (see Fig. 5B). The image-shooting unit is installed in the film materials’ path downstream of a feed roller that layers together and feeds the pair of film materials and forward of where the pair of film materials are sealed (see Fig. 5B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colla (US 7,022,057) in view of French (US 3,339,817). Colla discloses a controller for a pouch-making machine for manufacturing a pouch (see title) while feeding a pair of film materials (3, 4) each provided with a reference mark ( 12, 13) that indicates a reference position for layering the film materials together, the controller for the pouch-making machine comprising: a driven roller shift unit (see at least col. 3, line 35 – col. 4, line 10) for independently shifting each shaft of a pair of driven rollers (8) that rotate being driven by the pair of film materials being fed; and a control unit (10) for controlling the driven roller shift unit based on a result of an image- shooting unit (14, 15) shooting images of the reference marks, so that positions of the reference marks provided on the pair of film materials coincide. Colla further discloses that the driven roller shift unit independently shifts each shaft of the pair of driven rollers at each end (see Fig. 1 and at least col. 4, lines 5-10); and if either of the reference marks on the film materials is misaligned in the film materials' feed direction the control unit shifts both ends of the shaft of the driven roller corresponding to the film material where the misalignment is occurring depending on the misalignment (see Fig. 1 and at least col. 4, lines 5-10). Colla discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that if either of the reference marks on the film materials is misaligned in the film materials' width direction, the control unit shifts one end of the shaft of the driven roller corresponding to the film material where the misalignment is occurring depending on the misalignment. However, French discloses a similar control unit in which if either reference marks on one of two film materials is misaligned in the film materials' width direction, the control unit shifts one end of the shaft of a driven roller corresponding to the film material where the misalignment is occurring depending on the misalignment (see col. 3, lines 40-55) for the purpose of controlling the alignment of webs to be superimposed in both the feed direction and the width direction. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Colla by having the control unit shifts one end of the shaft of the driven roller corresponding to the film material where the misalignment is occurring depending on the misalignment, as disclosed by French, for the purpose of controlling the alignment of webs to be superimposed in both the feed direction and the width direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Birkenfeld et al. (EP 2028144 A2) and Treff (US 3,556,510) disclose pouch making machines with image-shooting units.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653