DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the drawing overcomes the drawing objection of 24 July 2025. Therefore, the drawing objection of 24 July 2025 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the abstract overcomes the abstract objection of 24 July 2025. Therefore, the abstract objection of 24 July 2025 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the abstract and drawing objections:
Applicant’s remarks, filed 08 June 2026, with respect to abstract and drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The abstract and drawing objections of 24 July 2025 have been withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection:
Applicant’s arguments, see filed 08 June 2026, with respect to 35 USC 112(b) rejection of 24 July 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of 24 July 2025 has been withdrawn. Applicant made clear on record that the third and fourth requests are separate and distinct requests.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection:
Applicant's arguments filed 08 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks:
The Office Action asserts that Kirkpatrick discloses a first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service (citing paragraphs [0085], [0037], and [0052]-[0053]).Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s support:
Paragraph [0085] of Kirkpatrick discusses that a "computing device 110A may send one or more requests for information to applications service provider system 170 (402). The requests for information may include requests for user preference information, application usage information, and/or information about a current state of the application (e.g., when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A)." However, the request in Kirkpatrick does not disclose including indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service.
Paragraph [0037] does not disclose a request message.
Paragraph [0051] discloses "a user may desire to initially install and execute a
navigation application. ... The user may provide a user input to computing device 200 to initially select an icon in a user interface provided by operating system 236 that corresponds to the map application."
Paragraph [0052] discloses "the content of the message may include a unique identifier of the navigation application, such as name for the application."
Therefore, Kirkpatrick does not disclose a first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service.
Examiner’s remarks:
In the applicant independent claims, the claims recite “the first caller, the callee, and the second caller each are an application or a function component…”.
Therefore, the examiner applied the broadest reasonable interpretation regarding first caller, the caller, and the second caller as being either an application or a function component.
Paragraph 85 of Kirkpatrick recites “a computing device may send one or more requests for information to applications service provider system. The requests for information may include requests for user preference information, application usage information, and/or information about a current state of the application (e.g., when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A).”
Applying BRI, the indication information of the first caller is associated with the user preference information of the computing device (user preference is a function component). The application usage information is associated with indication information of the callee (in programming, an application can act as a callee). The first service is the information about the current state of the application. Paragraph 37 of Kirkpatrick is cited to highlight the runtime system/state of the application.
Paragraphs 52-53 of Kirkpatrick provide another mapping of request that includes indication of the callee (identifier of the navigation application).
Applicant’s remarks:
The Office Action asserts that Kirkpatrick discloses running, by the second
device, a first instance in response to the first request, the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller (citing FIG. 4 and citing paragraphs [0085] and [0053]).
Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s support:
Paragraph [0085] discloses that "when computing device 110A executes the
application, computing device 110A may send one or more requests for information to applications service provider system 170 (402). The requests for information may include requests for user preference information, application usage information, and/or information about a current state of the application (e.g., when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A)."
Paragraph [0053] discloses that "[s]upervisor component 228A may determine that the navigation application is not yet installed and request an application definition from one or more of remote computing devices 242." Neither of these are equivalent to the first request, as neither carry indication information of the first caller, the callee and a first service.
Examiner’s remarks:
Recall that the callee is merely an application or a function component (as recited in the independent claims). Therefore, an instance of the callee is the historical request information that includes state information. Paragraph 85 of Kirkpatrick discloses the application service provider (the second device) run an update for historical request information for the application.
Paragraph 53 of Kirkpatrick provides another mapping of the second device/application service provider running an instance of the callee/ selecting application definition.
Applicant’s remarks:
The Office Action asserts that Kirkpatrick discloses the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service (citing paragraphs [0085], [0037], and [0052]-[0053]).
Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s support:
As in the first request, the cited paragraphs of Kirkpatrick does not disclose the second request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service.
Kirkpatrick does not disclose sending, by the first device, a first request to the
second device, the first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service.
Examiner’s remarks:
See Examiner’s remarks above.
Applicant’s remarks:
Kirkpatrick does not disclose running, by the second device, a first instance in response to the first request, the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller.
Examiner’s remarks:
Paragraph 85 of Kirkpatrick recites in response to receiving the requests for information, application service provider system run an update for historical request information for the application, retrieves the requestion information. Recall that the callee is merely an application or a function component (as recited in the independent claims). Therefore, an instance of the callee is the historical request information that includes state information. Paragraph 85 discloses the application service provider (the second device) run an update for historical request information for the application. Paragraph 53 provides another mapping of the second device/application service provider running an instance of the callee/ selecting application definition.
Applicant’s remarks:
Kirkpatrick does not disclose sending, by the third device, a second request to the second device, the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service.
Examiner’s remarks:
Paragraph 12 of Applicant’s specification recites “the first device is the same as the third device”.
Therefore, paragraph 85 discloses the computing device 110A/first device or third device, sends one or more requests (one or more request can indicate a second request). See Examiner’s remarks above regarding the request carries indication information of the caller, callee, and a service.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 18-23, 26, and 31 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 20-25, 28, and 37 of copending Application No. 18551721 (reference application (US 20240176872). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed and covered in copending Application 18551721, see table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18547700
Copending Application 18551721
Claim 1. An access control method, wherein the method is applied to for a communications system, and the communications system comprises a first device, a second device, and a third device, a first caller is installed in the first device, a callee is installed in the second device, and a second caller is installed in the third device; and the first caller, the callee, and the second caller each are an application or a function component, the application is a program entity implementing a plurality of functions, and the function component is a program entity implementing a single function; the method comprising:
sending, by the first device, a first request to the second device, the first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service;
running, by the second device, a first instance in response to the first request, wherein the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller;
sending, by the third device, a second request to the second device, wherein the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service; and
running, by the second device, a second instance in response to the second request, the second instance is an instance of the callee, the second instance is configured to provide the second service for the second caller, and the second instance is different from the first instance.
Claim 1. A method implemented by a communication system, wherein the method comprises:
wherein the first caller, the callee, and the second caller are applications or functional components, wherein each of the applications is a first program entity implementing a plurality of functions, and wherein each of the functional components is a second program entity implementing a single function; and
sending, by a first device of the communication system, a first request to a second device of the communication system, wherein the first request identifies a first caller installed in the first device, identifies a callee installed in the second device, and comprises first indication information of a first service;
running, by the second device in response to the first request, a first instance in a first sandbox, wherein the first instance is of the callee and provides the first service for the first caller;
sending, a third device of the communication system, a second request to the second device, wherein the second request identities a second caller installed in the third device, identifies the callee, and comprises second indication information of a second service, wherein the first caller, the callee, and the second caller are applications or functional components, wherein each of the applications is a first program entity implementing a plurality of functions, and wherein each of the functional components is a second program entity implementing a single function; and
running, by the second device in response to the second request, a second instance in a second sandbox, wherein the second instance is of the callee and provides the second service to the second caller, and wherein the second sandbox is different from the first sandbox.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the first device, a third request to the second device, wherein the third request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a third service; and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the third request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the third service for the first caller.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
initiating, by the first device, a third request to the second device, wherein the third request identifies the first caller, identifies the callee, and comprises third indication information of a third service; and
running, by the second device in response to the third request, the first instance in the first sandbox or a third instance in the first sandbox, wherein the first instance further provides the third service for the first caller, and wherein the third instance provides the third service for the first caller.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, a fourth request to the second device, wherein the fourth request carries indication information of a third caller, the callee, and a fourth service, the third caller is installed in the first device, and the third caller is an application or a function component; and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fourth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fourth service for the third caller.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: initiating, by the first device, a third request to the second device, wherein the third request identifies a third caller installed in the first device, identifies the callee, and comprises third indication information of a third service, and wherein the third caller is an application (APP) or a functional component; and
running, by the second device in response to the third request, the first instance in the first sandbox or a third instance in the first sandbox, wherein the first instance further provides the third service for the third caller, and wherein the third instance provides the third service for the third caller.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by a fourth device, a fifth request to the second device, wherein the fifth request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a fifth service, and the first caller is installed in the fourth device; and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fifth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fifth service for the first caller in the fourth device.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
initiating, by a fourth device of the communication system, a third request to the second device, wherein the third request identifies the first caller or a third caller installed in the fourth device, identifies the callee, and comprises third indication information of a third service or fourth indication information of a fourth service, wherein the third caller is installed in the fourth device, and wherein the first caller is further installed in the fourth device; and
running, by the second device in response to the third request, the first instance in the first sandbox or a third instance in the first sandbox, wherein the first instance further provides the third service for the first caller of the fourth device, and wherein the third instance provides the fourth service for the third caller.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first caller is the same as the second caller.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first caller and the second caller are the same.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first device is the same as the third device.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the first device and the third device are the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 18-28, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirkpatrick et al US, 20170208137 (hereinafter Kirkpatrick).
Regarding claim 1, Kirkpatrick teaches an access control method for a communications system (abstract and paragraph 3 disclose a method for managing/controlling requests to execute an application and enabling applications and computing devices to maintain state information across devices. Figure 1 disclose a communication system), and the communications system (Figure 1 discloses the communication system) comprises a first device (reference number 110A “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1), a second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), and a third device (reference number 110N “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1), a first caller (reference number 124Aa-An ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110A in Figure 1) is installed in the first device (reference number 110A “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N), a callee (reference number 172 “State Information Module” shown within reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” in Figure 1) is installed in the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1; paragraph 26 discloses state information module 172 of/within the application service provider system), and a second caller (reference number 124Na-Nn ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110N in Figure 1) is installed in the third device (reference number 110N “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N); the first caller, the callee, and the second caller each are an application or a function component (the first caller and the second caller are mapped to the Applications 124Aa-An and Applications 124Na-NN installed/updated in the computer devices 110A and 110N as disclosed in paragraphs 28-29. The callee is mapped to the State Information Module 172 which is a function component/program of the Application Service provider system, see paragraph 26), the application is a program entity implementing a plurality of functions (paragraph 2 discloses the application may be an email client, a travel assistant, messaging client. Paragraph 41 discloses each application container corresponds to a distinct application. Applications may include distinct functionality to perform operations/functions on the computing device), and the function component is a program entity implementing a single function (paragraph 26 discloses the state information module of application service provider system maintains the function of state information by associating the state information with an unique identifier), the method comprising:
sending, by the first device, a first request to the second device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), the first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system in the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services, and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system );
running, by the second device, a first instance in response to the first request, the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition);
sending, by the third device, a second request to the second device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device). Thus multiple request can be sent. Paragraph 86 discloses the application service provider system receives an identifier from the other computing device. Paragraph 88 and Figure 4 reference number 414 disclose the other computing device send one or more additional requests for information and a different identifier (thus the transmission of the identifier is associated with a request for information). Paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device is the same as the first computing device or the other computing device may be different than the first computing device), the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device. Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, a second instance in response to the second request, the second instance is an instance of the callee, the second instance is configured to provide the second service for the second caller, and the second instance is different from the first instance (paragraph 87 discloses the application service provider system determines based on the identifier/request received from the other computing device, user preference for the application/callee. The second instance/user preferences provided services for the second application on the other computing device. Paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single application, means for determining, based on the identifier, user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier, and means for sending, to the other computing device, at least portion of the user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 2, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, a third request to the second device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein the third request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a third service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 90 further disclose the first computing device. Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services, and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the third request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the third service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 3, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, a fourth request to the second device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein the fourth request carries indication information of a third caller, the callee, and a fourth service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services, and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system), the third caller is installed in the first device, and the third caller is an application or a function component (Figure 1, reference number 124Aa-124An and paragraphs 19 and 22 disclose applications are installed on computing device 110A); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fourth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fourth service for the third caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 4, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by a fourth device, a fifth request to the second device (paragraphs 85-86 disclose the application service provider system receives an identifier from the other computing device. Paragraph 88 and Figure 4 reference number 414 disclose the other computing device send one or more additional requests for information and a different identifier (thus the transmission of the identifier is associated with a request for information). Paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device may be different than the first computing device), wherein the fifth request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a fifth service, and the first caller is installed in the fourth device (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services, and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fifth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fifth service for the first caller in the fourth device (paragraph 87 discloses the application service provider system determines based on the identifier/request received from the other computing device, user preference for the application/callee. The second instance/user preferences provided services for the second application on the other computing device. Paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single application, means for determining, based on the identifier, user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier, and means for sending, to the other computing device, at least portion of the user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 5, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the first caller is the same as the second caller (paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single(thus same) application).
Regarding claim 6, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the first device is the same as the third device (paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device is the same as the first computing device).
Regarding claim 7, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein before the running, by the second device, a first instance, the method further comprises: detecting, by the second device, whether the first instance exists, and if the first instance does not exist, creating, by the second device, the first instance (paragraphs 51-52 disclose that before executing the navigation application, supervisor component (of a second computing device, paragraph 34 reveals the computing device 200 may include stationary computing devices such as desktop computers, servers, mainframes) may determine whether an application container has already been allocated in the memory of the computing device for the navigation application based on the content of the message/request. The content of the message may include a unique identifier of the navigation application, such as name for the application. In response to determining that supervisor component has not yet allocated an application container for the navigation application, supervisor component may allocate an application container from application container pool. Application container pool may include a set of processes that are reserved for and usable to execute applications. In some examples, supervisor component may communicate with operating system to create a new process for application container. Paragraph 17 disclose the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,).
Regarding claim 18, Kirkpatrick teaches an access control method (abstract and paragraph 3 disclose a method for managing/controlling requests to execute an application and enabling applications and computing devices to maintain state information across devices. Figure 1 disclose a communication system), wherein the method comprising:
receiving, by a second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 disclose the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), a first request of a first device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein a first caller (reference number 124Aa-An ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110A in Figure 1) is installed in the first device (reference number 110A “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N), a callee (reference number 172 “State Information Module” shown within reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” in Figure 1) is installed in the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1; paragraph 26 discloses state information module 172 of/within the application service provider system), and the first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system);
running, by the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), a first instance in response to the first request, wherein the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition);
receiving, by the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), a second request of a third device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device). Paragraph 86 discloses the application service provider system receives an identifier from the other computing device. Paragraph 88 and Figure 4 reference number 414 disclose the other computing device send one or more additional requests for information and a different identifier (thus the transmission of the identifier is associated with a request for information). Paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device is the same as the first computing device or the other computing device may be different than the first computing device), wherein a second caller (reference number 124Na-Nn ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110N in Figure 1) is installed in the third device (reference number 110N “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N), and the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), a second instance in response to the second request, wherein the second instance is an instance of the callee, the second instance is configured to provide the second service for the second caller, and the second instance is different from the first instance (paragraph 87 discloses the application service provider system determines based on the identifier/request received from the other computing device, user preference for the application/callee. The second instance/user preferences provided services for the second application on the other computing device. Paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single application, means for determining, based on the identifier, user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier, and means for sending, to the other computing device, at least portion of the user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition);
the first caller, the callee, and the second caller each are an application or a function component (the first caller and the second caller are mapped to the Applications 124Aa-An and Applications 124Na-NN installed/updated in the computer devices 110A and 110N as disclosed in paragraphs 28-29. The callee is mapped to the State Information Module 172 which is a function component/program of the Application Service provider system, see paragraph 26), the application is a program entity implementing a plurality of functions (paragraph 2 discloses the application may be an email client, a travel assistant, messaging client. Paragraph 41 discloses each application container corresponds to a distinct application. Applications may include distinct functionality to perform operations/functions on the computing device), and the function component is a program entity implementing a single function (paragraph 26 discloses the state information module of application service provider system maintains the function of state information by associating the state information with an unique identifier).
Regarding claim 19, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the second device, a third request of the first device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein the third request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a third service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the third request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the third service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 20, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the second device, a fourth request of the first device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein the fourth request carries indication information of a third caller, the callee, and a fourth service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A)), the third caller is installed in the first device, and the third caller is an application or a function component (Figure 1, reference number 124Aa-124An and paragraphs 19 and 22 disclose applications are installed on computing device 110A. Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fourth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fourth service for the third caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 21, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the second device, a fifth request of a fourth device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device). Paragraph 86 discloses the application service provider system receives an identifier from the other computing device. Paragraph 88 and Figure 4 reference number 414 disclose the other computing device send one or more additional requests for information and a different identifier (thus the transmission of the identifier is associated with a request for information). Paragraph 86 disclose the other computing device is the same as the first computing device or the other computing device may be different than the first computing device), wherein the fifth request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a fifth service, and the first caller is installed in the fourth device (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device. Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fifth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fifth service for the first caller in the fourth device (paragraph 87 discloses the application service provider system determines based on the identifier/request received from the other computing device, user preference for the application/callee. The second instance/user preferences provided services for the second application on the other computing device. Paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single application, means for determining, based on the identifier, user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier, and means for sending, to the other computing device, at least portion of the user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 22, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the first caller is the same as the second caller (paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single(thus same) application).
Regarding claim 23, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the first device is the same as the third device (paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device is the same as the first computing device).
Regarding claim 24, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein before the running, by the second device, a first instance, the method further comprises: detecting, by the second device, whether the first instance exists, and if the first instance does not exist, creating, by the second device, the first instance (paragraphs 51-52 disclose that before executing the navigation application, supervisor component (of a second computing device, paragraph 34 reveals the computing device 200 may include stationary computing devices such as desktop computers, servers, mainframes) may determine whether an application container has already been allocated in the memory of the computing device for the navigation application based on the content of the message/request. The content of the message may include a unique identifier of the navigation application, such as name for the application. In response to determining that supervisor component has not yet allocated an application container for the navigation application, supervisor component may allocate an application container from application container pool. Application container pool may include a set of processes that are reserved for and usable to execute applications. In some examples, supervisor component may communicate with operating system to create a new process for application container. Paragraph 17 disclose the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,).
Regarding claim 25, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: allocating, by the second device, a first process identifier (PID) to the first instance, and allocating a second PID to the second instance; or allocating, by the second device, a first user identifier (UID) to the first instance, and allocating a second UID to the second instance (paragraph 91 discloses responsive to determining that an application container for maintaining sub-packages of the application is not allocated in memory, computing device may allocated an application container by retrieving an application definition from a remote computing system (second device). This is done via sending a request to the remote computing system that includes a unique identifier for the application. The remote computing system may perform a lookup and identify a corresponding application definition. The remote computing system may send the application definition (based on the unique identifier) to the computing device. Computing device may receive the application definition from the remote computing system and allocate application container in the memory of computing device for the application. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier (PID) of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system).
Regarding claim 26, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: recording, by the second device, a first calling relationship, wherein the first calling relationship comprises information about the first caller, information about the first instance, and an identifier of the first calling relationship (paragraph 94 discloses the unique identifier is usable by the application service provider system (second device) to uniquely identify the user and the application in order to store and retrieve application state information (calling relationship and identifier) for the application. The unique identifier is based on applying a hash function to a tuple that includes a user identifier, an application identifier, and a reset state. Paragraph 24 reveals the state information includes user preference information, information about a current state (information about the first instance) of the application (information about the application/first caller), usage history information (information about the first instance). Paragraph 26 further disclose the state information includes application usage information, user preference information, and information about a current state of the application. Typically, state information module of application service provider system maintains the state information by associating the state information with the unique identifier such that, if the same user using the same application requests information from application service provider system, state information module retrieves the information using the unique identifier);
the information about the first caller comprises an application identifier of the first caller (paragraph 94 discloses the unique identifier is usable by the application service provider system (second device) to uniquely identify the user and the application in order to store and retrieve application state information for the application. The unique identifier is based on applying a hash function to a tuple that includes a user identifier, an application identifier, and a reset state. Therefore, the application comprises and application identifier); and
the information about the first instance comprises an application identifier of the callee, the first PID, and the first UID (paragraph 24 discloses application 124A may send the unique identifier to application service provider system and information about application 124A such as an application identifier such that the application service provider may identify the particular application (of the callee/application by the ID) associated with the unique identifier; paragraph 94 discloses the unique identifier is usable by the application service provider system (second device) to uniquely identify the user and the application in order to store and retrieve application state information for the application. The unique identifier is based on applying a hash function to a tuple that includes a user identifier, an application identifier, and a reset state. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique of the callee in the application service provider system).
Regarding claim 27, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein; the information about the first caller further comprises one or more of the following: a user identifier (UID) of the first caller, a developer signature of the first caller, an account identifier of the first device in which the first caller is located, an identifier of the first device, or an identifier of a communications system in which the first caller is located (paragraph 94 discloses the unique identifier is usable by the application service provider system (second device) to uniquely identify the user and the application in order to store and retrieve application state information for the application. The unique identifier is based on applying a hash function to a tuple that includes a user identifier, an application identifier, and a reset state. Therefore, the application comprises and application identifier); and
the information about the first instance further comprises one or more of the following: a user identifier (UID) of the callee, a developer signature of the callee, an account identifier of the second device in which the callee is located, an identifier of the second device, and an identifier of a communications system in which the callee is located (paragraph 94 discloses the unique identifier is usable by the application service provider system (second device) to uniquely identify the user and the application in order to store and retrieve application state information for the application. The unique identifier is based on applying a hash function to a tuple that includes a user identifier, an application identifier, and a reset state. Therefore, the application comprises and application identifier).
Regarding claim 28, Kirkpatrick teaches an electronic device wherein after the running, by the second device, the first instance (see claim 18 above), the method further comprises:
generating, by the second device, a first result (paragraph 85 discloses the application service provider system retrieves the requested information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition); and
returning, by the second device, the first result to the first device (paragraph 85 discloses the application service provider system sends the requested information to the first device. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition and sends the application definition to the computing device).
Regarding claim 31, Kirkpatrick teaches an electronic device (Figure 1), comprising:
a communications apparatus (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,);
a memory storing instructions and a plurality of applications (paragraph 4 discloses an application container for maintaining installable sub-packages of an application is allocated in memory. Paragraph 5 discloses a storage device); and
at least one processor in communication with the memory and the communications apparatus (paragraphs 5 and 70 disclose the computing device includes one or more processor that receive and execute instructions stored by storage device), the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions (paragraphs 5 and 70 disclose the computing device includes one or more processor that receive and execute instructions stored by storage device), to perform the following steps:
receiving, via a the communications apparatus, a first request of a first device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (communication apparatus), a first caller (reference number 124Aa-An ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110A in Figure 1) is installed in the first device (reference number 110A “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N), a callee (reference number 172 “State Information Module” shown within reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” in Figure 1) is installed in the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1; paragraph 26 discloses state information module 172 of/within the application service provider system) and the first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system);
running a first instance in response to the first request, the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition and sends the application definition to the computing device);
receiving a second request of a third device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device). Paragraph 86 discloses the application service provider system receives an identifier from the other computing device. Paragraph 88 and Figure 4 reference number 414 disclose the other computing device send one or more additional requests for information and a different identifier (thus the transmission of the identifier is associated with a request for information). Paragraph 86 disclose the other computing device is the same as the first computing device or the other computing device may be different than the first computing device), a second caller (reference number 124Na-Nn ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110N in Figure 1) is installed in the third device (reference number 110N “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N), and the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running a second instance in response to the second request, the second instance is an instance of the callee, the second instance is configured to provide the second service for the second caller, and the second instance is different from the first instance (paragraph 87 discloses the application service provider system determines based on the identifier/request received from the other computing device, user preference for the application/callee. The second instance/user preferences provided services for the second application on the other computing device. Paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single application, means for determining, based on the identifier, user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier, and means for sending, to the other computing device, at least portion of the user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition and sends the application definition to the computing device), wherein
the first caller, the callee, and the second caller each are an application or a function component (the first caller and the second caller are mapped to the Applications 124Aa-An and Applications 124Na-NN installed/updated in the computer devices 110A and 110N as disclosed in paragraphs 28-29. The callee is mapped to the State Information Module 172 which is a function component/program of the Application Service provider system, see paragraph 26), the application is a program entity implementing a plurality of functions (paragraph 2 discloses the application may be an email client, a travel assistant, messaging client. Paragraph 41 discloses each application container corresponds to a distinct application. Applications may include distinct functionality to perform operations/functions on the computing device), and the function component is a program entity implementing a single function (paragraph 26 discloses the state information module of application service provider system maintains the function of state information by associating the state information with an unique identifier).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437