DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 18-23, 26, and 31 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 20-25, 28, and 37 of copending Application No. 18551721 (reference application (US 20240176872). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed and covered in copending Application 18551721, see table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18547700
Copending Application 18551721
Claim 1. An access control method, wherein the method is applied to for a communications system, and the communications system comprises a first device, a second device, and a third device, a first caller is installed in the first device, a callee is installed in the second device, and a second caller is installed in the third device; and the first caller, the callee, and the second caller each are an application or a function component, the application is a program entity implementing a plurality of functions, and the function component is a program entity implementing a single function; the method comprising:
sending, by the first device, a first request to the second device, the first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service;
running, by the second device, a first instance in response to the first request, wherein the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller;
sending, by the third device, a second request to the second device, wherein the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service; and
running, by the second device, a second instance in response to the second request, the second instance is an instance of the callee, the second instance is configured to provide the second service for the second caller, and the second instance is different from the first instance.
Claim 1. A method implemented by a communication system, wherein the method comprises:
wherein the first caller, the callee, and the second caller are applications or functional components, wherein each of the applications is a first program entity implementing a plurality of functions, and wherein each of the functional components is a second program entity implementing a single function; and
sending, by a first device of the communication system, a first request to a second device of the communication system, wherein the first request identifies a first caller installed in the first device, identifies a callee installed in the second device, and comprises first indication information of a first service;
running, by the second device in response to the first request, a first instance in a first sandbox, wherein the first instance is of the callee and provides the first service for the first caller;
sending, a third device of the communication system, a second request to the second device, wherein the second request identities a second caller installed in the third device, identifies the callee, and comprises second indication information of a second service, wherein the first caller, the callee, and the second caller are applications or functional components, wherein each of the applications is a first program entity implementing a plurality of functions, and wherein each of the functional components is a second program entity implementing a single function; and
running, by the second device in response to the second request, a second instance in a second sandbox, wherein the second instance is of the callee and provides the second service to the second caller, and wherein the second sandbox is different from the first sandbox.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the first device, a third request to the second device, wherein the third request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a third service; and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the third request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the third service for the first caller.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
initiating, by the first device, a third request to the second device, wherein the third request identifies the first caller, identifies the callee, and comprises third indication information of a third service; and
running, by the second device in response to the third request, the first instance in the first sandbox or a third instance in the first sandbox, wherein the first instance further provides the third service for the first caller, and wherein the third instance provides the third service for the first caller.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, a fourth request to the second device, wherein the fourth request carries indication information of a third caller, the callee, and a fourth service, the third caller is installed in the first device, and the third caller is an application or a function component; and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fourth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fourth service for the third caller.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: initiating, by the first device, a third request to the second device, wherein the third request identifies a third caller installed in the first device, identifies the callee, and comprises third indication information of a third service, and wherein the third caller is an application (APP) or a functional component; and
running, by the second device in response to the third request, the first instance in the first sandbox or a third instance in the first sandbox, wherein the first instance further provides the third service for the third caller, and wherein the third instance provides the third service for the third caller.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by a fourth device, a fifth request to the second device, wherein the fifth request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a fifth service, and the first caller is installed in the fourth device; and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fifth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fifth service for the first caller in the fourth device.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
initiating, by a fourth device of the communication system, a third request to the second device, wherein the third request identifies the first caller or a third caller installed in the fourth device, identifies the callee, and comprises third indication information of a third service or fourth indication information of a fourth service, wherein the third caller is installed in the fourth device, and wherein the first caller is further installed in the fourth device; and
running, by the second device in response to the third request, the first instance in the first sandbox or a third instance in the first sandbox, wherein the first instance further provides the third service for the first caller of the fourth device, and wherein the third instance provides the fourth service for the third caller.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first caller is the same as the second caller.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first caller and the second caller are the same.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first device is the same as the third device.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the first device and the third device are the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3, which depends upon claim 1 recites a fourth request made by the first device, however, claim 1 provides the limitations of a first and second requests from the first and second devices (likewise first and second services). It is unclear whether the fourth request (and service) intends to be a different request (and service) from claim 2. However, claim 3 does not depend upon claim 2. Neither dependent claim 3 nor the preceding claim 1 provide the limitation of a third request. Because, claim 3 depends upon claim 1, the examiner has interpreted the fourth request (and fourth service) as merely an additional/third request (likewise additional/third service).
Claim 4, which depends upon claim 1 recites a first request made by the fourth device, however, claim 1 provides the limitations of a first and second requests from the first and second devices (likewise first and second services). It is unclear whether the fifth request (and service) intends to be a different request (and service) from claims 2 and 3. Neither dependent claim 4 nor the preceding claim 1 provide the limitation of a third and fourth requests. Because, claim 4 depends upon claim 1, the examiner has interpreted the fifth request (and fifth service) as merely an additional/third request (likewise additional/third service).
Claim 20, which depends upon claim 18 recites a fourth request made by the first device, however, claim 18 provides the limitations of a first and second requests from the first and second devices (likewise first and second services). It is unclear whether the fourth request (and service) intends to be a different request (and service) from claim 19. However, claim 20 does not depend upon claim 19. Neither dependent claim 20 nor the preceding claim 18 provide the limitation of a third request. Because, claim 20 depends upon claim 18, the examiner has interpreted the fourth request (and fourth service) as merely an additional/third request (likewise additional/third service).
Claim 21, which depends upon claim 18 recites a first request made by the fourth device, however, claim 18 provides the limitations of a first and second requests from the first and second devices (likewise first and second services). It is unclear whether the fifth request (and service) intends to be a different request (and service) from claims 19-20. Neither dependent claim 21 nor the preceding claim 18 provide the limitation of a third and fourth requests. Because, claim 21 depends upon claim 18, the examiner has interpreted the fifth request (and fifth service) as merely an additional/third request (likewise additional/ third service).
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: paragraph 74 recites electronic device 200. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
the abstract should avoid phrases which can be implied such as “This application discloses…”.
In addition, the abstract should not repeat information given in the title such “access control method, an electronic device, and a system” .
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph 74 recites reference number 200 which is not found in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 18-28, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirkpatrick et al US, 20170208137 (hereinafter Kirkpatrick).
Regarding claim 1, Kirkpatrick teaches an access control method for a communications system (abstract and paragraph 3 disclose a method for managing/controlling requests to execute an application and enabling applications and computing devices to maintain state information across devices. Figure 1 disclose a communication system), and the communications system (Figure 1 discloses the communication system) comprises a first device (reference number 110A “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1), a second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), and a third device (reference number 110N “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1), a first caller (reference number 124Aa-An ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110A in Figure 1) is installed in the first device (reference number 110A “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N), a callee (reference number 172 “State Information Module” shown within reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” in Figure 1) is installed in the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1; paragraph 26 discloses state information module 172 of/within the application service provider system), and a second caller (reference number 124Na-Nn ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110N in Figure 1) is installed in the third device (reference number 110N “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N); the first caller, the callee, and the second caller each are an application or a function component (the first caller and the second caller are mapped to the Applications 124Aa-An and Applications 124Na-NN installed/updated in the computer devices 110A and 110N as disclosed in paragraphs 28-29. The callee is mapped to the State Information Module 172 which is a function component/program of the Application Service provider system, see paragraph 26), the application is a program entity implementing a plurality of functions (paragraph 2 discloses the application may be an email client, a travel assistant, messaging client. Paragraph 41 discloses each application container corresponds to a distinct application. Applications may include distinct functionality to perform operations/functions on the computing device), and the function component is a program entity implementing a single function (paragraph 26 discloses the state information module of application service provider system maintains the function of state information by associating the state information with an unique identifier), the method comprising:
sending, by the first device, a first request to the second device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), the first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system in the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services, and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system );
running, by the second device, a first instance in response to the first request, the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition);
sending, by the third device, a second request to the second device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device). Thus multiple request can be sent. Paragraph 86 discloses the application service provider system receives an identifier from the other computing device. Paragraph 88 and Figure 4 reference number 414 disclose the other computing device send one or more additional requests for information and a different identifier (thus the transmission of the identifier is associated with a request for information). Paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device is the same as the first computing device or the other computing device may be different than the first computing device), the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device. Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, a second instance in response to the second request, the second instance is an instance of the callee, the second instance is configured to provide the second service for the second caller, and the second instance is different from the first instance (paragraph 87 discloses the application service provider system determines based on the identifier/request received from the other computing device, user preference for the application/callee. The second instance/user preferences provided services for the second application on the other computing device. Paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single application, means for determining, based on the identifier, user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier, and means for sending, to the other computing device, at least portion of the user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 2, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, a third request to the second device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein the third request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a third service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 90 further disclose the first computing device. Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services, and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the third request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the third service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 3, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, a fourth request to the second device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein the fourth request carries indication information of a third caller, the callee, and a fourth service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services, and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system), the third caller is installed in the first device, and the third caller is an application or a function component (Figure 1, reference number 124Aa-124An and paragraphs 19 and 22 disclose applications are installed on computing device 110A); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fourth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fourth service for the third caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 4, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by a fourth device, a fifth request to the second device (paragraphs 85-86 disclose the application service provider system receives an identifier from the other computing device. Paragraph 88 and Figure 4 reference number 414 disclose the other computing device send one or more additional requests for information and a different identifier (thus the transmission of the identifier is associated with a request for information). Paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device may be different than the first computing device), wherein the fifth request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a fifth service, and the first caller is installed in the fourth device (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services, and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the fifth request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the fifth service for the first caller in the fourth device (paragraph 87 discloses the application service provider system determines based on the identifier/request received from the other computing device, user preference for the application/callee. The second instance/user preferences provided services for the second application on the other computing device. Paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single application, means for determining, based on the identifier, user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier, and means for sending, to the other computing device, at least portion of the user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 5, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the first caller is the same as the second caller (paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single(thus same) application).
Regarding claim 6, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the first device is the same as the third device (paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device is the same as the first computing device).
Regarding claim 7, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein before the running, by the second device, a first instance, the method further comprises: detecting, by the second device, whether the first instance exists, and if the first instance does not exist, creating, by the second device, the first instance (paragraphs 51-52 disclose that before executing the navigation application, supervisor component (of a second computing device, paragraph 34 reveals the computing device 200 may include stationary computing devices such as desktop computers, servers, mainframes) may determine whether an application container has already been allocated in the memory of the computing device for the navigation application based on the content of the message/request. The content of the message may include a unique identifier of the navigation application, such as name for the application. In response to determining that supervisor component has not yet allocated an application container for the navigation application, supervisor component may allocate an application container from application container pool. Application container pool may include a set of processes that are reserved for and usable to execute applications. In some examples, supervisor component may communicate with operating system to create a new process for application container. Paragraph 17 disclose the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,).
Regarding claim 18, Kirkpatrick teaches an access control method (abstract and paragraph 3 disclose a method for managing/controlling requests to execute an application and enabling applications and computing devices to maintain state information across devices. Figure 1 disclose a communication system), wherein the method comprising:
receiving, by a second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 disclose the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), a first request of a first device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein a first caller (reference number 124Aa-An ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110A in Figure 1) is installed in the first device (reference number 110A “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N), a callee (reference number 172 “State Information Module” shown within reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” in Figure 1) is installed in the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1; paragraph 26 discloses state information module 172 of/within the application service provider system), and the first request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a first service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system);
running, by the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), a first instance in response to the first request, wherein the first instance is an instance of the callee, and the first instance is configured to provide the first service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition);
receiving, by the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), a second request of a third device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device). Paragraph 86 discloses the application service provider system receives an identifier from the other computing device. Paragraph 88 and Figure 4 reference number 414 disclose the other computing device send one or more additional requests for information and a different identifier (thus the transmission of the identifier is associated with a request for information). Paragraph 86 discloses the other computing device is the same as the first computing device or the other computing device may be different than the first computing device), wherein a second caller (reference number 124Na-Nn ”Applications” shown within the Computing Device 110N in Figure 1) is installed in the third device (reference number 110N “Computing Device” shown in Figure 1; paragraphs 28-29 disclose the application(s) 124 are installed/updated on the computing devices 110A and 110N), and the second request carries indication information of the second caller, the callee, and a second service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device (reference number 170 “Application Service Provider System” shown in Figure 1. Paragraph 17 discloses the application service provider system 170 represents remote computing system such as computers, mainframes, servers, cloud computing systems etc.,), a second instance in response to the second request, wherein the second instance is an instance of the callee, the second instance is configured to provide the second service for the second caller, and the second instance is different from the first instance (paragraph 87 discloses the application service provider system determines based on the identifier/request received from the other computing device, user preference for the application/callee. The second instance/user preferences provided services for the second application on the other computing device. Paragraph 8 discloses the application executing on the first computing device and the application executing on the other computing device are different instances of a single application, means for determining, based on the identifier, user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier, and means for sending, to the other computing device, at least portion of the user preference information included in the historical request information associated with the identifier. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition);
the first caller, the callee, and the second caller each are an application or a function component (the first caller and the second caller are mapped to the Applications 124Aa-An and Applications 124Na-NN installed/updated in the computer devices 110A and 110N as disclosed in paragraphs 28-29. The callee is mapped to the State Information Module 172 which is a function component/program of the Application Service provider system, see paragraph 26), the application is a program entity implementing a plurality of functions (paragraph 2 discloses the application may be an email client, a travel assistant, messaging client. Paragraph 41 discloses each application container corresponds to a distinct application. Applications may include distinct functionality to perform operations/functions on the computing device), and the function component is a program entity implementing a single function (paragraph 26 discloses the state information module of application service provider system maintains the function of state information by associating the state information with an unique identifier).
Regarding claim 19, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the second device, a third request of the first device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein the third request carries indication information of the first caller, the callee, and a third service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A). Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface rendering component services , and inter- and intra-application messaging services to name only a few example services. Application containers may access the services through Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that are exposed by runtime components. Paragraphs 52-53 further disclosed that supervisor component may determine whether a navigation application is installed and request an application definition from the application service provider system/remote computing device(second device). The request include an identifier of the navigation application that is globally unique in the application service provider system); and
running, by the second device, the first instance in response to the third request, wherein the first instance is further configured to provide the third service for the first caller (paragraph 85 discloses the Application Service Provider System (the second device, see also Figure 4, step 402) run an update historical request information for the application in response to the request. The historical request information includes state information from the state information module 172 which is an instance from the callee/function component/application for the application, including application usage information and user preference information. Paragraph 53 also discloses when a request is made, application service provider system selects application definition).
Regarding claim 20, Kirkpatrick teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the second device, a fourth request of the first device (paragraph 85 discloses the Computing Device 110A(first device) sends one or more requests for information to Application Service Provider System 170 (second device)), wherein the fourth request carries indication information of a third caller, the callee, and a fourth service (paragraph 85 reveals the request include user preference information (for the application), application usage information, and information about the current state of the application (when the application is executed at a different device and the user is resuming use of the application at computing device 110A)), the third caller is installed in the first device, and the third caller is an application or a function component (Figure 1, reference number 124Aa-124An and paragraphs 19 and 22 disclose applications are installed on computing device 110A. Paragraph 37 reveals runtime system of the computing device may include one or more libraries and services that are accessible to application containers during execution, wherein each container may correspond to a distinct application. Runtime system may include thread-management services, screen drawing services and user-interface ren