DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 2 and 5 both include reference number 200 twice, pointing to two different areas, however reference number 200 is only mentioned as being the waist in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 is currently marked as being “Currently amended”, however there does not appear to be any amendments made to the claim. Based on the amendments made to similar claims, the Examiner believes the claim was intended to be amended to state “The polyethylene terephthalate bottle of claim 16, wherein the plurality of Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “waist” in claims 1 and 16 is used by the claim to define a portion of the bottle which is not described as meeting the accepted meaning is “waist.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. A “waist” is generally defined by a narrowed part of a body between a broader upper and lower region. However, the independent claims define the bottle as having a top label panel (attached to the waist) which has a reduced diameter, as compared to the waist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RYU JANG (KR 20170104784) (previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1
RYU JANG teaches a bottle (below – Fig. 12), comprising a shoulder section (200/300), a body section, and a base section (700), the body section comprising: a top label panel (400); a waist (shown below); and a bottom ribbed panel (500); the top label panel extending from the shoulder section to the waist and comprising a ripple panel with a plurality of undulating waves (shown below, Fig. 6) and a plurality of troughs (420) therebetween; the bottom ribbed panel extending from the waist to the base section and comprising a plurality of ribs (510) with a plurality of lands (520) therebetween, wherein the top label panel has a reduced diameter as compared to the shoulder section and the waist, as can be seen in the figures below (Paragraphs [0024], [0048], and [0064]).
[AltContent: textbox (waist)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (waves)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claims 2, 3, and 4
RYU JANG teaches the plurality of undulating waves (shown above) comprises a sine wave shape; and a stylized "S" shape, and a convex shape, a can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 5
RYU JANG teaches the plurality of ribs (510) comprises a concave shape, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 6
RYU JANG teaches the bottom ribbed panel (500) comprises a concave shape, as can be seen in Fig. 12 above.
Regarding Claim 8
RYU JANG teaches the waist (shown above) comprises a ring-like shape.
Regarding Claims 10 and 12
RYU JANG teaches a shoulder section (200/300) has indicia (210) formed therein; and a mouth (800) section adjacent to the shoulder section, as can be seen in the figures (Paragraphs [0037]-[0040]).
Regarding Claim 14
RYU JANG teaches the base section (700) comprises a plurality of feet (Paragraphs [0058] and [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU JANG as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Mooney (US 9340314).
Regarding Claim 11
RYU JANG teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as shown above. However, RYU JANG does not teach the indicia comprises a stylized "S" shape.
Mooney teaches a bottle (Fig. 28 and 4B), comprising: a shoulder section (30/34), a body section (shown at 28), and a base section (16); the shoulder section (30/34) adjacent to the body portion; the shoulder section has indicia (130f) formed therein; and wherein the indicia comprises a stylized "S" shape, as can be seen in the figures below (Col. 7, Ln. 42-51).
RYU JANG and Mooney are analogous inventions in the field of bottles having indicia at the shoulder section. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the indicia of RYU JANG with the teachings of the indicia (comprising a stylized “S” shape) of Mooney in order to allow the user to customize the indicia for the users own aesthetic preferences.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU JANG as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanan et al. (US 2015/0144587) (hereinafter Hanan).
Regarding Claim 15
RYU JANG teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. However, RYU JANG does not appear to teach the bottle comprising a polyethylene terephthalate material.
Hanan teaches a bottle (below – Fig. 2), comprising: a shoulder section (128), a body section (108/116), and a base section (104); the body section comprising: a label panel (116); the label panel comprising a ripple panel with a plurality of undulating waves (168) and a plurality of troughs (160) therebetween; and a ribbed panel (108); the ribbed panel comprising a plurality of horizontal ribs (148) with a plurality of lands (156) therebetween; the bottle comprising a polyethylene terephthalate material (Paragraphs [0003] and [0041]).
RYU JANG and Hanan are analogous inventions in the field of bottles having force resistant panels. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the material of RYU JANG with the teachings of the polyethylene terephthalate material of Hanan in order to have a bottle that is transparent, thin-walled, and has the ability to maintain their shape by withstanding the force exerted on the walls of the container by their contents (Paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU JANG (KR 20170104784) (see attached original document and translation) in view of Hanan et al. (US 2015/0144587) (hereinafter Hanan).
Regarding Claim 16
RYU JANG teaches a bottle (10), comprising: a shoulder section (200/300); a body section; the body section comprising a top label panel (400) and a bottom ribbed panel (500); the top label panel comprising a ripple panel with a plurality of undulating waves (shown above) and a plurality of troughs (420) therebetween; the bottom ribbed panel comprising a plurality of ribs (510) with a plurality of lands (510) therebetween; a waist (shown above) and a base section (700); the top label panel extending from the shoulder section to the waist; the bottom ribbed panel extending from the waist to the base section; and wherein the top label panel has a reduced diameter as compared to the shoulder section and the waist, as can be seen in the figures above (Paragraphs [0024], [0048], and [0064]).
RYU JANG does not teach the bottle is made from polyethylene terephthalate.
Hanan teaches a polyethylene terephthalate bottle (Fig. 2), comprising: a shoulder section (124/128); a body section; the body section comprising a label panel (116) and a ribbed panel (108); the label panel comprising a ripple panel with a plurality of undulating waves (168) and a plurality of troughs (160) therebetween; the ribbed panel comprising a plurality of ribs (148) with a plurality of lands (156) therebetween; and a base section (104), as can be seen in Fig. 2 above (Paragraphs [0039], [0041], and [0047]).
RYU JANG and Hanan are analogous inventions in the field of bottles having force resistant panels. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the material of RYU JANG with the teachings of the polyethylene terephthalate material of Hanan in order to have a bottle that is transparent, thin-walled, and has the ability to maintain their shape by withstanding the force exerted on the walls of the container by their contents (Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding Claims 17, 18, and 19
RYU JANG in view of Hanan (hereinafter “modified RYU JANG”) teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as stated above. RYU JANG further teaches the plurality of undulating waves (shown above) comprises a sine wave shape, and a stylized "S" shape, and a convex shape, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 20
Modified RYU JANG teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as stated above. RYU JANG further teaches the plurality of ribs (510) comprises a concave shape, as can be seen in the figures above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the top label panel extending from the shoulder section to the waist; the bottom ribbed panel extending from the waist to the base section; and wherein the top label panel has a reduced diameter as compared to the shoulder section and the waist. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen in the figures below, RYU JANG teaches teach the top label panel (400) extending from the shoulder section (200/300) to the waist (shown below); the bottom ribbed panel (500) extending from the waist to the base section (700); and wherein the top label panel (400) has a reduced diameter as compared to the shoulder section (200/300) and the waist (shown below).
[AltContent: textbox (waist)][AltContent: arrow]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 17 March 2026