CTNF 18/547,746 CTNF 83292 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Request for Continued Examination (RCE) Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA 2. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 . Applicant's submission filed on 05/26/2026 has been entered. Response to Arguments 3. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/27/2026. Claims 1-60 are pending in this application and have been considered below. 4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, 31 and 46 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendments . 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 5. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention . W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 6. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 7. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim s 1-2, 9-11, 17-22, 26, 31-33, 39-41, 46-52 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by REN et al. (US 20230299917) (hereinafter Ren) in view of HUNUKUMBURE et a. (US 20230246782) (hereinafter HUNUKUMBURE) . Regarding claims 1 and 31: As shown in figures 1-16, Ren discloses a user equipment (UE) (see UE in figures 1-5) , comprising: a memory (502 in figure 5) ; a communication interface (503 in figure 5) ; and at least one processor (501 in figure 5) communicatively coupled to the memory (502 in figure 5) and the communication interface (503 in figure 5) , the at least one processor (501 in figure 5) configured to: receive, via the communication interface, a paired downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) resource configuration for a first DL-PRS and a second DL-PRS (at step 404-405, Ren shows serving base station transmits first DL-PRS resource configuration and second DL-PRS resource configuration to the UE and the UE receives the first DL-PRS resource configuration and the second DL-PRS resource configuration) (par 0412-0413) that is offset in time from the first DL-PRS by a time offset, the first and second DL-PRSs associated with the same transmission source (par 0388, 0391-0394) ; and perform a first measurement (see step 406 in figure 4) of the first DL-PRS and a second measurement of the second DL-PRS in accordance with the paired DL-PRS resource configuration (par 0412-0414) . Ren discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration comprises: DL-PRS comb pattern information, or DL-PRS periodicity information, or DL-PRS muting sequence information, or DL-PRS frequency hopping information, or DL-PRS bandwidth information, or any combination thereof. However, HUNUKUMBURE in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration comprises: DL-PRS comb pattern information, or DL-PRS periodicity information (abstract, par 0015, 0034, 0039-0043, 0047-0050, 0056-0057, 0067) , or DL-PRS muting sequence information, or DL-PRS frequency hopping information, or DL-PRS bandwidth information, or any combination thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use DL-PRS resource configuration comprising periodicity information as taught by HUNUKUMBURE to modify the system and method of Ren in order to save energy and resources for mobile UEs and devices (par 0067) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results) . Regarding claims 16 and 46: As shown in figures 1-16, Ren discloses a position estimation entity (see serving base station in figures 1-4, 6) , comprising: a memory (602 in figure 6) ; a communication interface (600 in figure 6) ; and at least one processor (601 in figure 6) communicatively coupled to the memory (602 in figure 6) and the communication interface (600 in figure 6) , the at least one processor (601 in figure 6) configured to: determine a paired downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) resource configuration for a first DL-PRS and a second DL-PRS (see steps 404-405 in figure 4) that is offset in time from the first DL-PRS by a time offset, the first and second DL-PRSs associated with the same transmission source (par 0388, 0391-0394, 0412-0413) ; and cause the communication interface to transmit an indication of the paired DL-PRS resource configuration to a user equipment (UE) (at step 404-405, Ren shows serving base station transmits first DL-PRS resource configuration and second DL-PRS resource configuration to the UE and the UE receives the first DL-PRS resource configuration and the second DL-PRS resource configuration) (par 0412-0413) . Ren discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration comprises: DL-PRS comb pattern information, or DL-PRS periodicity information, or DL-PRS muting sequence information, or DL-PRS frequency hopping information, or DL-PRS bandwidth information, or any combination thereof. However, HUNUKUMBURE in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration comprises: DL-PRS comb pattern information, or DL-PRS periodicity information (abstract, par 0015, 0034, 0039-0043, 0047-0050, 0056-0057, 0067) , or DL-PRS muting sequence information, or DL-PRS frequency hopping information, or DL-PRS bandwidth information, or any combination thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use DL-PRS resource configuration comprising periodicity information as taught by HUNUKUMBURE to modify the system and method of Ren in order to save energy and resources for mobile UEs and devices (par 0067) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results) . Regarding claims 2 and 32: Ren further discloses wherein the first and second DL-PRSs are scheduled aperiodically, semi-periodically (par 0006) , or periodically. Regarding claims 3 and 33: Ren further discloses wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration includes a first DL-PRS resource set with a given periodicity for the first DL-PRS, and a second DL-PRS resource set with the given periodicity for the second DL-PRS (par 0256, 0259, 0265) . Regarding claims 9 and 39: Ren further discloses wherein the first and second measurements correspond to receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference measurements based on time stamps derivedon the same transmission reception point (TRP) and the same respective DL-PRS resources (par 0260) . Regarding claims 10 and 40: Ren further discloses transmitting a measurement report comprising measurement information that is based on the first and second measurements (see step 406 in figure 4, par 0412-0414) . Regarding claims 11 and 41: Ren further discloses wherein the first and second DL-PRSs are scheduled periodically, and wherein the measurement information is associated with two or more periodic instances of the first DL-PRS and two or more corresponding instances of the second DL- PRS (par 0265) . Regarding claims 17 and 47: Ren further discloses receiving, from the UE, a measurement report comprising measurement information that is based on a first measurement of the first DL-PRS by the UE (see steps 404-407 in figure 4, par 0260) and a second measurement of the second DL-PRS by the UE in accordance with the paired DL- PRS resource configuration (see steps 404-407 in figure 4, par 0260) . Regarding claims 18 and 48: Ren further discloses determining a clock drift between the first and second measurements; and determining a position estimate of the UE based at least in part upon the clock drift (time difference of arrival interpreted to be a clock drift. Par 0257) . Regarding claims 19 and 49: Ren further discloses wherein the first and second measurements correspond to receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference measurements based on timestamps derived on the same transmission reception point (TRP) and the same respective DL-PRS resources (par 0260) . Regarding claims 20 and 50: Ren further discloses wherein the first and second DL-PRSs are scheduled aperiodically, semi-periodically (par 0006) , or periodically. Regarding claims 21 and 51: Ren further discloses wherein the first and second DL-PRSs are scheduled periodically (par 0273, 0297) . Regarding claims 22 and 52: Ren further discloses wherein the measurement information is associated with two or more periodic instances of the first DL-PRS and two or more corresponding instances of the second DL-PRS (par 0265) . Regarding claims 26 and 56: Ren further discloses wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration includes a first DL-PRS resource set with a given periodicity for the first DL-PRS, and a second DL-PRS resource set with the given periodicity for the second DL-PRS (par 0256, 0259, 0265) . 07-22-aia AIA 9. Claim s 12, 15, 23, 25, 42, 45, 53 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of HUNUKUMBURE as applied to claim s 1, 16, 31 and 46 above and further in view of LI et al. (US 20230117493) (hereinafter Li) . Regarding claims 12, 23, 42 and 53: Ren and HUNUKUMBURE disclose all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the first and second DL-PRSs are associated with a positioning measurement procedure that further includes an uplink sounding reference signal for positioning (UL-SRS-P) transmitted by the UE. However, Li in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first and second DL-PRSs are associated with a positioning measurement procedure that further includes an uplink sounding reference signal for positioning (UL-SRS-P) transmitted by the UE (in step 51 of figures 5-6, Li shows DL-PRSs are associated with a positioning measurement procedure that further includes an uplink sounding reference signal for positioning UL-SRS. Par 0079, 0082-0083) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PRS and SRS signals as taught by Li to modify the system and method of Ren in order to provide positioning measurement for the system (par 0082) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results) . Regarding claims 15, 25, 45, and 55: Ren and HUNUKUMBURE disclose all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the first DL-PRS precedes the UL-SRS-P, and wherein the second DL-PRS follows the UL-SRS-P. However, Li in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first DL-PRS precedes the UL-SRS-P, and wherein the second DL-PRS follows the UL-SRS-P (see step 51 is figures 5-6, par 0079, 0082-0083) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PRS and SRS signals as taught by Li to modify the system and method of Ren in order to provide positioning measurement for the system (par 0082) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 10. Claim s 4-8, 13-14, 24, 27-30, 34-38, 43-44, 54, and 57-60 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA 11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, Ren does not teach or suggest wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration includes a first DL-PRS resource set for the first DL-PRS, and a second DL-PRS resource set for the second DL- PRS that is configured as a duplicate of the first DL-PRS resource set, and wherein the time offset is between corresponding DL-PRS resources associated with the first DL-PRS resource set and the second DL-PRS resource set. The prior art of record, Ren also does not teach or suggest wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration configures the first and second DL-PRSs as first and second repetitions of the same DL- PRS resource in a DL-PRS resource set with the time offset is between the first and second repetitions. The prior art of record, Ren also does not teach or suggest wherein the paired DL-PRS resource configuration configures the first and second DL-PRSs as first and second repetition groups, respectively, of the same DL-PRS resource in a DL-PRS resource set with the time offset is between the first and second repetition groups. The prior art of record, Ren also does not teach or suggest wherein the positioning measurement procedure is asymmetric such that a first time differential between the UL-SRS-P and the first DL- PRS is different than a second time differential between the UL-SRS-P and the second DL-PRS . Conclusion 07-96 AIA 12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ALAWIEH et al. (US 20230336310) disclose an apparatus for a wireless communication network includes one or more antennas for receiving a radio signal. The apparatus is configured or preconfigured to measure, for a position measurement, one or more first radio resources and one or more second radio resources. The apparatus is to activate or deactivate, in response to a certain event, a measuring of the second radio resources in addition to, or instead of, the first radio resources for the position measurement. 13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KABIR A TIMORY whose telephone number is (571)270-1674. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7:00 AM-3:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hannah S Wang can be reached at 571-272-9018. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. 14. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KABIR A TIMORY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 2 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 3 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 4 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 5 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 6 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 7 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 8 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 9 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 10 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 11 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 12 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 13 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/547,746 Page 14 Art Unit: 2631