DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to amendment received on 12/05/2025.
Claims 1 and 3 are presented for examination.
Claims 2 and 4 – 6 have been canceled by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that “Osada does not teach a main shaft adapter (12) (the shaft) that is press- fitted into the main shaft (la) of a motor on one side and a tubular portion (13) of a main shaft gear (10) on the other side. See FIG. 9 and Spec [0065]. Even though Osada teaches a spindle gear (20) with a hole diameter that is larger on one side of the spindle gear (2) than on the other side of the spindle gear (20), a spindle gear is not a shaft adapter. A spindle gear is commonly used to transmit a rotational motion within the system, while a shaft adapter is used to adapt or convert the shaft's diameter. Therefore, although Osada teaches a spindle gear, it does not teach a shaft with a through hole that has a hole diameter in a region having a predetermined length in an axial direction from a side of the one end larger than a hole diameter at a side of the other end. Further, the shaft (1a) that is actually disclosed in Osada is the shaft of the motor, which is not a shaft adapter either.”. Examiner respectfully notes that these arguments are not persuasive because the none of these features are present in the claim language. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Applicant must recite the argued features in the claim if applicant wishes these features to be given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over JP 2020165851 in view of WO2006/054587.
As to claim 1, JP 2020165851 (hereinafter ‘JP851) discloses an absolute encoder comprising a shaft (1a, (Fig. 7 and 8)); and a supporting member (20) having a hole for press-fitting the shaft from one end, wherein the shaft (1a) includes a tapered surface portion having a diameter of the one end smaller than a diameter of a peripheral surface, wherein the shaft (1a) has a through hole passing through from the one end to the other end, and the through hole has a hole diameter in a region having a predetermined length in an axial direction from a side of the one end larger than a hole diameter at a side of the other end (the inner hole at the pressing portion 20e is larger than the holes at the communication portion 20c and the holding portion 20g) (Fig. 7 - 8; [0054]-[0062]).
JP851 fails to disclose that the tapered surface portion is subjected to curved surface processing at a connecting portion with the peripheral surface. WO2006/054587 (hereinafter ‘WO587) discloses a press-fitting member wherein the tapered surface portion (13 - 17) is subjected to curved surface processing at a connecting portion with the peripheral surface (Note Fig. 2 and 4), [0011] – [0012].
Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of JP 2020165851 in view of the teachings of WO2006/054587 wherein the tapered surface portion is subjected to curved surface processing at a connecting portion with the peripheral surface would provide an expanded curve for press-fitting to guide surface with a linear taper resulting in press-fitting with high precision.
As to claim 3, JP 2020165851 (hereinafter ‘JP851) discloses an absolute encoder comprising a magnet (Mp, Mq) magnetized; a magnetic sensor (Sp, Sq) configured to detect a magnetic flux from the magnet (Mp, Mq); a magnet holder (25) holding the magnet (Mp, Mq); a shaft (1a) rotatably supporting the magnet (Mp, Mq); and a supporting member (20) having a hole (20e) for press-fitting the shaft (1a) from one end, wherein the shaft (1a) comprises: a region (20e) having a predetermined length in an axial direction from one end of a peripheral surface to be press-fitted into the hole (20e); and a tapered surface portion having a diameter of the one end smaller than a diameter of a peripheral surface, wherein the shaft (1a) has a through hole passing through from the one end to the other end, and the through hole has a hole diameter in a region having a predetermined length in an axial direction from a side of the one end larger than a hole diameter at a side of the other end (the inner hole at the pressing portion 20e is larger than the holes at the communication portion 20c and the holding portion 20g) (Fig. 7 - 8; [0054]-[0062]). ‘P851 fails to disclose that the tapered surface portion is subjected to curved surface processing at a connecting portion with the peripheral surface. WO2006/054587 (hereinafter ‘WO587) discloses a press-fitting member wherein the tapered surface portion (13 - 17) is subjected to curved surface processing at a connecting portion with the peripheral surface (Note Fig. 2 and 4), [0011] – [0012]. Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of JP 2020165851 in view of the teachings of WO2006/054587 wherein the tapered surface portion is subjected to curved surface processing at a connecting portion with the peripheral surface would provide an expanded curve for press-fitting to guide surface with a linear taper resulting in press-fitting with high precision.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REENA AURORA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858