DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18, 20-24 and 37-43 are pending in this application and were examined on their merits.
The objection the Specification because of the improper use of Trademarks has been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments to the Specification filed 09/24/2026.
The rejection of Claims 22, 37 and 38 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, has been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 09/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20-24 and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being
unpatentable over Pinteur et al. (US 2016/0296610 A1), cited in the IDS, in view of
Zhou et al. (2016), of record.
Pinteur et al. teaches a composition comprising; tumor cell stress proteins
induced by in vitro stress and cells selected from cell line cells (Pg. 12, Claims 8 and
10);
wherein the composition is administered to a cancerous patient as an anti-cancer
treatment (Pg. 12, Claim 14);
and wherein the cell lines are from lines of the same type of tumor of the patient
to be treated (Pg. 6, Paragraph [0073]), reading on Claim 18.
Pinteur et al. further teaches the use of the mouse colon carcinoma line CT26-
WT (ATCC CRL-2638) (Pg. 10, Paragraph [0152]).
With regard to Claim 20, Pinteur et al. teaches the method includes a step of inactivation of tumor cells to render them non-proliferative (Pgs. 2-3, Paragraph [0026]).
With regard to Claims 21 and 22, Pinteur et al. teaches the cells and/or stress proteins are haptenized, wherein the hapten is 2,4-dinitrofluorobenzene (Pg. 5, Paragraphs [0060]-[0061] and Pg. 6, Paragraph [0070]).
With regard to Claim 23, Pinteur et al. teaches the cells and/or stress proteins may be mixed with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (Pg. 6, Paragraph [0070]).
With regard to Claim 24, Pinteur et al. teaches the administered dose may be from 10⁵ to 10⁷ tumor cells (overlapping the claimed range of from about 10⁵ to 10⁸ tumor cells) (Pg. 8, Paragraph [0115]).
With regard to Claim 39, Pinteur et al. teaches the stressed tumor cells express HSP70 (Pgs. 6-7, Paragraph [0082] and Pg. 7, Paragraph [0084]).
With regard to Claims 40-44, Pinteur et al. teaches the stress may be: radiation between around 0.25 and around 25 Gy for between around 1-20 minutes (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0047]);
a thermal shock at a temperature between around 38-45 °C for between around 20-100 minutes (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0048]);
a chemical shock, such as ethanol for around 1-48 hours (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0049]);
a metabolic stress, such as at least two of; hypoxia, deficiency or low pH (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0050]), or a combination of at least two of these stresses (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0051]).
Pinteur et al. does not teach wherein the composition comprises HT-29, HCT- 116 and LoVo derived cells, as required by Claims 18 and 37.
Zhou et al. (2016) teaches that HT-29, HCT-116 and LoVo cells are all known colorectal cancer cell lines (Pg. 7658, Column 1, "Results", Lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pinteur et al. of a composition of generic tumor cell line cells and stress proteins therefrom to use the HT- 29, HCT-116 and LoVo colorectal cancer cell lines taught by Zhou et al. in place of the generic tumor cell lines of Pinteur because Pinteur teaches non-specific tumor cell lines and Zhou provides specific tumor cell lines suitable for use in the method. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a composition suitable as an anti-cancer treatment for colorectal cancer. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Pinteur is drawn to a composition comprising generic tumor cell lines and Zhou teaches particular tumor cell lines.
Claims 18, 20-24, 37 and 38-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pinteur et al. (US 2016/0296610 A1), cited in the IDS, in view of Zhou et al. (2016), of record, as applied to Claims 18, 20-24 and 39-43 above, and further in view of Teoh et al. (WO 2017/074257 A1).
The teachings of Pinteur et al. and Zhou et al. were discussed above.
Neither reference taught wherein the tumor cells were HCT-116 human colorectal cancer cells, as required by Claim 37.
Teoh et al. teaches bacterial anti-cancer agents (Abstract) which are tested on cancer cells cultures of CT26 murine colorectal cancer cells (as taught by Pinteur above) and HCT116 human colorectal cancer cells (Pg. 20, Paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pinteur et al. of a composition of CT26 tumor cells and stress proteins therefrom to use the HCT-116 colorectal cancer cell lines taught by Teoh et al. because both cell lines are art- recognized equivalent colorectal cancer cell lines for biological applications. See the MPEP at 2144.06, II. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification based on cell line availability and/or artisan preference.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Pinteur is drawn to a composition derived from a mouse colorectal tumor cell line and Zhou teaches an equivalent human colorectal tumor cell line.
Claims 18, 20-24 and 38-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pinteur et al. (US 2019/0038731 A1), cited in the IDS, in view of Zhou et al. (2016), of record.
Pinteur et al. ('731) teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising immunogenic tumor cell stress proteins and/or non-proliferating tumor cells comprising immunogenic stress proteins, wherein the stress proteins have been induced on tumoral cells through in vitro stress selected from the group consisting of irradiation, heat, chemical and metabolic stress, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (Pg. 12, Claim 8), and reading on Claims 18, 20 and 23.
Pinteur et al. ('731) further teaches the use of the mouse colon carcinoma line CT26-WT (ATCC CRL-2638) (Pg. 10, Paragraph [0155]).
With regard to Claim 21, Pinteur et al. ('731) teaches the composition comprises non-proliferating tumor cells or fragments of such cells, bearing or containing haptenized stress proteins (Pg. 12, Claim 9).
With regard to Claim 22, Pinteur et al. ('731) teaches the hapten is 2,4- dinitrofluorobenzene (Pg. 10, Paragraphs [0158]).
With regard to Claim 24, Pinteur et al. ('731) teaches the administered dose may be from 10⁵ to 10⁷ tumor cells (overlapping the claimed range of from about 10⁵ to 10⁸ tumor cells) (Pg. 8, Paragraph [0118]).
With regard to Claims 38 and 39, Pinteur et al. ('731) teaches the stressed tumor cells express HSP70 (Pg. 7, Paragraphs [0084]-[0086]).
With regard to Claims 40-44, Pinteur et al. ('731) teaches the stress may be: radiation between around 0.25 and around 25 Gy for between around 1-20 minutes (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0048]);
a thermal shock at a temperature between around 38-45 °C for between around 20-100 minutes (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0049]);
a chemical shock, such as ethanol for around 1-48 hours (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0050]);
a metabolic stress, such as at least two of; hypoxia, deficiency or low pH (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0051]), or a combination of at least two of these stresses (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0052]).
Zhou et al. (2016) teaches that HT-29, HCT-116 and LoVo cells are all known colorectal cancer cell lines (Pg. 7658, Column 1, "Results", Lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pinteur et al. ('731) of a composition of generic tumor cell line cells and stress proteins therefrom to use the HT- 29, HCT-116 and LoVo colorectal cancer cell lines taught by Zhou et al. in place of the generic tumor cell lines because Pinteur teaches non-specific tumor cell lines and Zhou provides specific tumor cell lines suitable for use in the method. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a composition suitable as an anti-cancer treatment for colorectal cancer. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Pinteur is drawn to a composition comprising generic tumor cell lines and Zhou teaches particular tumor cell lines.
Claims 18, 20-24, 37 and 38-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pinteur et al. (US 2019/0038731 A1), cited in the IDS, in view of Zhou et al. (2016), of record, as applied to Claims 18, 20-24 and 39-43 above, and further in view of Teoh et al. (WO 2017/074257 A1), of record.
The teachings of Pinteur et al. ('731) and Zhou et al. were discussed above.
Neither reference taught wherein the tumor cells were HCT-116 human colorectal cancer cells, as required by Claim 37.
Teoh et al. teaches bacterial anti-cancer agents (Abstract) which are tested on
cancer cells cultures of CT26 murine colorectal cancer cells (as taught by Pinteur ['731]
above) and HCT116 human colorectal cancer cells (Pg. 20, Paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pinteur et al. ('731) of a
composition of CT26 tumor cells and stress proteins therefrom to use the HCT-116
colorectal cancer cell lines taught by Teoh et al. because both cell lines are art-
recognized equivalent colorectal cancer cell lines for biological applications. See the
MPEP at 2144.06, II. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to
make this modification based on cell line availability and/or artisan preference. There
would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification
because Pinteur is drawn to a composition derived from a mouse colorectal tumor cell
line and Zhou teaches an equivalent human colorectal tumor cell line.
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 39, 40, 41, 42 and 43 are rejected on the ground of
nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 12 of U.S.
Patent No. 11,096,995 B2 in view of Pinteur et al. (US 2016/0296610 A1), cited in the
IDS, in view of Zhou et al. (2016), of record.
The instant claims are drawn to a composition comprising (i) stressed tumor cells derived from human colorectal cell lines HT-29, HCT-116 and LoVo cells, and (ii) immunogenic stress proteins produced by these cells in response to a stress applied in vitro, wherein the stress is selected from radiation, thermal stress, chemical stress, metabolic stress, and any combination thereof.
This is made obvious by the '995 Patent which teaches a pharmaceutical composition or vaccine comprising tumor cells, a plurality of different immunogenic stress proteins, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, wherein said tumor cells developed a viable resistance mechanism in response to a stress applied in vitro thereto, said plurality of different immunogenic stress proteins also produced by said stress applied in vitro to said tumor cells, and wherein said stress applied in vitro to said tumor cells is selected from the group consisting of irradiation, heat shock, chemical shock, metabolic stress, and combinations thereof, reading on instant Claims 18, 40 and 42.
Instant Claims 20 and 21 are made obvious by Claims 12 and 2, respectively of the '995 Patent.
The '995 Patent does not teach wherein the composition comprises HT-29, HCT- 116 and LoVo cells, as required by instant Claim 18.
wherein the hapten is 2,4-dinitrobenzene, as required by instant Claim 22; wherein the composition comprises an excipient, as required by instant Claim 23;
wherein the composition comprises from about 10⁵ to about 10⁸ stressed tumor cells, as required by Claim 24;
wherein the stressed tumor cells express HSP70, as required by Claim 39;
wherein: (i) the metabolic stress is an in vitro culture in a depleted medium, under hypoxia, and/or at low pH; (ii) the radiation is an in vitro radiation with a total dose ranging from about 0.25 to about 25 Gy, for a period ranging from about 1 to about 20 minutes; and (iii) the thermal stress is an in vitro thermal shock at a temperature ranging from about 38°C to about 45°C, for a period ranging from about 15 minutes to about 4 hours, as required by Claim 41;
or wherein (i) the metabolic stress is an in vitro culture in a depleted medium, under hypoxia, and/or at low pH; and (ii) the chemical stress is an in vitro exposure to at least one chemotherapeutic agent and/or alcohol, for a period ranging from about 6 hours to about 120 hours, as required by Claim 43.
Zhou et al. (2016) teaches that HT-29, HCT-116 and LoVo cells are all known colorectal cancer cell lines (Pg. 7658, Column 1, "Results", Lines 1-9).
Pinteur et al. teaches a composition comprising tumor cell stress proteins induced by in vitro stress and cells selected from cell line cells (Pg. 12, Claims 8 and 10);
wherein the composition is administered to a cancerous patient as an anti-cancer treatment (Pg. 12, Claim 14);
and wherein the cell lines are from lines of the same type of tumor of the patient to be treated (Pg. 6, Paragraph [0073]).
With regard to Claim 22, Pinteur et al. teaches the cells and/or stress proteins are haptenized, wherein the hapten is 2,4-dinitrofluorobenzene (Pg. 5, Paragraphs [0060]-[0061] and Pg. 6, Paragraph [0070]).
With regard to Claim 23, Pinteur et al. teaches the cells and/or stress proteins may be mixed with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (Pg. 6, Paragraph [0070]).
With regard to Claim 24, Pinteur et al. teaches the administered dose may be from 10⁵ to 10⁷ tumor cells (overlapping the claimed range of from about 10⁵ to 10⁸ tumor cells) (Pg. 8, Paragraph [0115]).
With regard to Claim 39, Pinteur et al. teaches the stressed tumor cells express HSP70 (Pgs. 6-7, Paragraph [0082] and Pg. 7, Paragraph [0084]).
With regard to Claims 40-44, Pinteur et al. teaches the stress may be: radiation between around 0.25 and around 25 Gy for between around 1-20 minutes (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0047]);
a thermal shock at a temperature between around 38-45 °C for between around 20-100 minutes (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0048]);
a chemical shock, such as ethanol for around 1-48 hours (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0049]);
a metabolic stress, such as at least two of; hypoxia, deficiency or low pH (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0050]), or a combination of at least two of these stresses (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the '995 Patent of a pharmaceutical composition or vaccine comprising stressed tumor cells and a plurality of different immunogenic stress proteins with the method of Pinteur et al. of a composition comprising tumor cell stress proteins induced by in vitro stress and cells selected from cell line cells because this is no more than the combining of two stress cells/protein compositions for the same purpose (anti-cancer treatments). See the MPEP at 2144/06, I.
It would have been further obvious to modify the method of the '995 Patent of a composition of generic tumor cell line cells and stress proteins therefrom to use the HT- 29, HCT-116 and LoVo colorectal cancer cell lines taught by Zhou et al. in place of the generic tumor cell lines because the patent teaches non-specific tumor cell lines and Zhou provides specific tumor cell lines suitable for use in the method. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a composition suitable as an anti-cancer treatment for colorectal cancer.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the '995 patent and Pinteur are drawn to a composition comprising generic tumor cell lines and Zhou teaches particular tumor cell lines.
Claims 18, 20-24, 37 and 38-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,096,995 B2 in view of Pinteur et al. (US 2016/0296610 A1), cited in the IDS, in view of Zhou et al. (2016), of record, as applied to Claims and further in view of Teoh et al. (WO 2017/074257 A1), of record.
The teachings of the '995 patent, Pinteur et al. ('731) and Zhou et al. were discussed above.
None of the above references taught wherein the tumor cells were HCT-116 human colorectal cancer cells, as required by Claim 37.
Teoh et al. teaches bacterial anti-cancer agents (Abstract) which are tested on cancer cells cultures of CT26 murine colorectal cancer cells (as taught by Pinteur above) and HCT116 human colorectal cancer cells (Pg. 20, Paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the '995 Patent and Pinteur
et al. of a composition of CT26 tumor cells and stress proteins therefrom to use the
HCT-116 colorectal cancer cell lines taught by Teoh et al. because both cell lines are
art-recognized equivalent colorectal cancer cell lines for biological applications. See the
MPEP at 2144.06, II. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to
make this modification based on cell line availability and/or artisan preference. There
would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification
because at least the '995 Patent and Pinteur are drawn to compositions derived from a
mouse colorectal tumor cell line and Zhou teaches an equivalent human colorectal
tumor cell line.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/24/2026, with respect to the above withdrawn objections/rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The remaining arguments have been considered insofar as they apply to the current rejections.
The Applicant argues that Pinteur is drawn to the exposure of tumor cells to controlled in vitro stressors to produce stress proteins which can be rendered immunogenic.
Applicant notes that the reference only produces stress proteins in a single cell line (CT26). Applicant further asserts that Zhou is drawn to the characterization of colorectal cancer cell biomarkers and does not assess these cells for stress protein production. Applicant argues that based on Zhou, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to study biomarkers and would not have selected any cancer cell line individually to select the combination of the cell lines. Applicant concludes that the combined prior art would not have motivated the ordinary artisan to select multiple genetically distinct cell lines, produce stress therefrom and combine the stressed cells and stress proteins into a single composition as claimed (Remarks, Pg. 7, Lines 16-27 and Pg. 8, Lines 1-18).
This is not found to be persuasive for the following reasons, as discussed above and in the prior action, Pinteur teaches a composition comprising; tumor cell stress proteins induced by in vitro stress and cells selected from cell line cells (Pg. 12, Claims 8 and 10); wherein the composition is administered to a cancerous patient as an anti-cancer treatment (Pg. 12, Claim 14); and wherein the cell lines are from lines of the same type of tumor of the patient to be treated. Pinteur further teaches the use of the mouse colon carcinoma line CT26-WT (ATCC CRL-2638) and wherein the cells and/or stress proteins are haptenized (rendered immunogenic). Pinteur does not teach the claimed specific cell lines, however Zhou teaches that HT-29, HCT-116 and LoVo cells are all known colorectal cancer cell lines (Pg. 7658, Column 1, "Results", Lines 1-9).
Further, Paragraph [0026] of the Pinteur reference which was cited in the above rejection, indicates that stress proteins produced by in vitro stress application to a culture of any tumor cells (therefore any human colorectal cancer cell) would produce immunogenic stress proteins which will provoke an immune response against those proteins and tumor cells presenting those proteins. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the utilization of any tumor cells (including any human colorectal cancer cell) and the stress proteins produced therefrom as a cancer treatment especially in the absence of any demonstrated unexpected results.
It would therefore have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Pinteur of a composition of generic tumor cell line cells and stress proteins therefrom to use the HT-29, HCT-116 and LoVo colorectal cancer cell lines taught by Zhou in place of the generic tumor cell lines because Pinteur teaches non-specific tumor cell lines and Zhou provides specific tumor cell lines suitable for use in the method. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a composition suitable as an anti-cancer treatment for colorectal cancer. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Pinteur is drawn to a composition comprising generic tumor cell lines and Zhou teaches particular tumor cell lines.
The Applicant argues that the three claimed cell combination was the result of experimental testing to select from seven candidate cell lines for development of a human colorectal cancer vaccine. Applicant asserts that the three claimed cell lines advantageously provide complementary coverage of the genetic diversity found in human colorectal cancers. Applicant notes that each cell line when stressed produces a distinct genetic phenotype having non-redundant proteins not found in a single cell line composition. Applicant concludes that the claimed combination was not a predictable result from selection of any colorectal cancer cell lines but resulted from experimentation and selection to identify diverse candidates for vaccine development (Remarks, Pg. 8, Lines 20-28 and Pg. 9).
In response to Applicant's argument that the three claimed cell lines advantageously provide complementary coverage of the genetic diversity found in human colorectal cancers, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Further, in response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., production of a distinct genetic phenotype having non-redundant proteins) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Finally the Applicant’s methodology appears to be no more than the routine experimentation and optimization of the method of Pinteur, using specific cancer cell lines.
The Applicant argues that Teoh does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Pinteur ‘731 in view of Zhou, noting that Teoh is drawn to testing of CT26 murine and the HCT-116 human colorectal cancer cell line and is silent regarding HT-29 and LoVo cells. Applicant concludes that the “art-recognized equivalence” of HCT-116 to CT26 would not provide rationale or motivation for the ordinary artisan to select, stress and combine multiple cell lines as claimed (Remarks, Pg. 10, Lines 1-16).
This is not found to be persuasive for the following reasons, as discussed above and in the prior action, the combination of Pinteur in view of Zhou makes obvious the selection, stress and combination of the claimed cells and stress proteins. Teoh was cited only for its’ teaching that claimed HCT-116 human colorectal cancer cells are functional equivalents to the CT26 murine colorectal cancer cells of Pinteur. Thus, it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Pinteur of a composition of CT26 tumor cells and stress proteins therefrom to use the HCT-116 colorectal cancer cell lines taught by Teoh because both cell lines are art-
recognized equivalent colorectal cancer cell lines for biological applications. See the
MPEP at 2144.06, II. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to
make this modification based on cell line availability and/or artisan preference. Thus, the combination of cited prior art would obviate the claimed composition.
The Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not obviate the claimed invention because of the same alleged deficiencies discussed above with respect to the double patenting rejection (Remarks, Pg. 10, Lines 20-27 and Pg. 11, Lines 1-6).
This is not found to be persuasive for the reasoning provided in the above Response to Arguments and the reasoning provided in the rejections set forth above and in the prior action.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Sharmila G Landau can be reached at (571) 272-0614. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL C MARTIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653