DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 8734582 B2 (patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reasons set forth below.
The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims.
Specifically, the present claims require a mold-making gypsum composition comprising gypsum hemihydrate, wherein the gypsum hemihydrate comprises a-gypsum hemihydrate and gypsum hemihydrate in a ratio of 25:75 to 65:35.
Patent claim 1 recites a dry gypsum composition consisting essentially of: hemihydrate gypsum prepared by blending b-hemihydrate gypsum and a-hemihydrate gypsum at a ratio from 30:1 to 2:1, which overlap the ranges of the presently claimed.
Further regarding claim 6, given that Patent recites an identical or essentially composition with that of the presently claimed, i.e., a dry gypsum composition consisting essentially of: hemihydrate gypsum prepared by blending b -hemihydrate gypsum and a -hemihydrate gypsum at a ratio from 30:1 to 2:1, therefore it is clear that the dry gypsum composition of the Patent would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation that wherein a pot life of a slurry-like malaxated product obtained by adding water to the mold-making gypsum composition in such a way that the mixing water amount is 45% and malaxating the water and the mold-making gypsum composition is 8 minutes or longer, and a setting time thereof is 30 minutes or shorter.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 2, recites a phrase “a ratio”. However, it is unclear what the phrase refers to, i.e., a mass ratio, a volume ratio, etc. The examiner interprets that the phrase refers to a mass ratio. Interpretation is speculative. Clarification is requested.
If the interpretation above is accurate, it is advised to point to the originally filed disclosure, or to provide a declaration, to support the position.
Regarding dependent claims 2-6, these claims does not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claims 2-3, each recite a phrase “a ratio”, and are rejected for the same reason set forth above.
Claim 6, line 4, recites a phrase “45%”. However, it is unclear what the phrase refers to, i.e., a mass ratio, a volume ratio, etc. The examiner interprets that the phrase refers to a mass ratio. Interpretation is speculative. Clarification is requested.
Furthermore, it is unclear what the 45% is based on, i.e., based on weight of the gypsum hemihydrate, or a total weight of the mold-making gypsum composition, etc. The examiner interprets that 45% is based on weight of the gypsum hemihydrate. Interpretation is speculative. Clarification is requested.
If the interpretation above is accurate, it is advised to point to the originally filed disclosure, or to provide a declaration, to support the position.
Furthermore, line 4 of claim 6 recites a phrase “is adjusted to be” and line 5 of claim 6 recites a phrase “is adjusted to”. However, it is unclear what each phrase refers to, as it is unclear what is required to be adjusted, or if anything is required to be further adjusted upon the obtaining of the slurry-like malaxated product.
The examiner interprets that nothing is required to be further adjusted upon the obtaining of the slurry-like malaxated product. Interpretation is speculative. Clarification is requested.
If the interpretation is correct, applicant is suggested to amend each phrase to “is”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobori, JP 03279248 A (Kobori) (provided in IDS received on 08/24/2023).
The examiner has provided a machine translation of Kobori, JP 03279248 A. The citation of the prior art set forth below refers to the machine translation.
Regarding claims 1-3, Kobori discloses a material capable of readily forming a mold (Kobori, Abstract);
the aimed mold material comprises gypsum (Kobori, Abstract); the gypsum used may be either β-hemihydrate gypsum or α-hemihydrate gypsum (Kobori, page 2, 6th paragraph);
in Example 7, 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum are used as the gypsum in the material (Kobori, page 5, Example 7), therefore, Kobori teaches a mass ratio of α-hemihydrate gypsum to β-hemihydrate gypsum of 1:1, which is within the claimed ranges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori, and taken in view of evidence by Azuma et al. US 4,838,923 (Azuma).
Regarding claims 4-5, as applied to claim 1, Kobori further teaches the aimed mold material is obtained by blending 100 parts by weight gypsum; with 0-1000 parts by weight inorganic or organic filler, 0.001-1.0 parts by weight alkylsulfonic acid salt or derivative thereof, 0.001-5 parts by weight chelate agent, 0.5-15 parts by weight hydrophilic urethane (Kobori, Abstract); in Example 7, 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum are used as the gypsum in the material (Kobori, page 5, Example 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that in the broad teaching of the mold material above, to use 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum are used as the gypsum in the material, wherein 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum together reads upon the gypsum hemihydrate, which accounts for 8.9 to 99.5 parts by mass of the mold material (i.e., 100/(100+0.001+0.001+0.5)=99.5%; 100/(100+1000+1+5+15)=8.9%), and overlaps that range of the presently claimed.
According to Azuma, alkylsulfonic acid salt is a dispersant (i.e., water reducing agent according to specification [0041]), therefore 0.001-1.0 parts by weight alkylsulfonic acid salt corresponds to 0.001-1.0 by weight based on 100 parts by mass of the gypsum hemihydrate, which encompasses the range of the presently claimed.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kobori.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1, given that Kobori discloses a mold material composition, i.e., a mold material comprises 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum, that is identical or substantially identical to that of the present invention (claim 1), therefore, it is clear that the mold material of Kobori would necessarily meet the claimed limitation that wherein a pot life of a slurry-like malaxated product obtained by adding water to the mold-making gypsum composition in such a way that the mixing water amount is 45% and malaxating the water and the mold-making gypsum composition is 8 minutes or longer, and a setting time thereof is 30 minutes or shorter.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hjelmeland et al., WO 96/38394 (Hjelmeland).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1, Kobori teaches in Example 7, 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum are used as the gypsum in the material (Kobori, page 5, Example 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that in the broad teaching of the mold material above, to use 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum are used as the gypsum in the material, wherein 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum together reads upon the gypsum hemihydrate.
Kobori further teaches the material capable of readily forming a mold is obtained by blending the drawn ingredients with 25-150 parts by weight of water (reading upon a slurry-like malaxated product obtained by adding water to the mold-making gypsum composition) (Kobori, Abstract), which corresponds to a water amount of 20% to 150% based on a weight of the gypsum, which encompasses the range of the presently claimed;
the pot life can be adjusted to 3 to 10 minutes (Kobori, page 2, 18th paragraph), which overlaps the range of the presently claimed.
Kobori does not explicitly disclose a setting time for the mold material that comprises 50 parts of β-hemihydrate gypsum and 50 parts α-hemihydrate gypsum.
With respect to the difference, Hjelmeland teaches a curable gypsum-based composition (Hjelmeland, Abstract); for production of casting molds of gypsum (Hjelmeland, page 3, 2nd paragraph). Hjelmeland specifically teaches the resulting plaster slurry may also contain one or more accelerating substances in varying quantities, so that the time required to obtain sufficient stiffness and protection of the core sample may be decreased to a desired level of between two minutes and the native setting time of the plaster slurry without additives, but preferably with a hardening time of from 8 to 20 minutes.
As Hjelmeland expressly teaches, the disadvantages of set retarding additives for gypsum water compositions is that the compositions after application to a wall or into a mold, will creep or block the form for a long period of time; some retarding substances require from 15 minutes to hours to obtain a strength level allowing further processing or handling, dependent on the portion of the retarding substance (Hjelmeland, page 3, 2nd paragraph); there is a need for a curable gypsum-based composition providing a gypsum composition ready for use, a composition having a long pot life but short setting time after application and preventing creep (Hjelmeland, page 3, 2nd paragraph).
Hjelmeland is analogous art as Hjelmeland is drawn to a curable gypsum-based composition; for production of casting molds of gypsum.
In light of the motivation of having short setting time on a gypsum-based composition for casting molds, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the setting time on the gypsum composition of Kobori, and achieve a short setting time, such as shorter than 15 minutes, or 8 to 20 minutes, in order to prevent creeping from the mold, and therefore arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732