Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/02/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10 is/are pending. Claim(s) 10 is/are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono (JP 20100153106) in view of JP 6755600.
Claim 1: Ono teaches a lamp comprising: a light source (8, fig. 2) configured to emit light; a support structure (3, fig. 2) supporting the light source (8); and an optical component (32-36, fig. 2) configured to change the characteristics of the light emitted from the light source (8),wherein the support structure (3) comprises a first support (S1, see annotated fig. 1) extending along a first axis (A1, see annotated fig. 1), and a second support (S2, see annotated fig. 1) that is connected to the first support (S1) and extends along a second axis (A2, see annotated fig. 1), wherein the light source (8) and the optical component (32-36) are configured to move linearly (see figs. 2 and 3) relative to each other along the second axis (A2, see annotated fig. 1), wherein the optical component (32-36) is configured to change a direction of an irradiation direction (direction of light is adjusted by the movement of 34 or 35, fig. 2b) of light emitted from the light source (8) and traveling to an illumination surface by a relative linear movement (horizontal movement of 34 and 35) with respect to the light source along the second axis (A2), and wherein the light source (8) and the optical component (34-35) are configured to be able to gradually change a direction of light irradiation (change of direction of light irradiation is controlled by sliding the projection 36 by a user’s hand) by changing a relative position of the light source (8) and the optical component (34, 35) so that a maximum illumination point on the illumination surface can gradually move along the second axis.
However, Ono is silent about the support structure is configured to rotate both the light source and the optical component about the first axis.
JP teaches a light source (92, fig. 3) configured to emit light; a support structure (7, 9, fig. 3) supporting the light source (921); and an optical component (93, 94, fig. 3) configured to change the characteristics of the light emitted from the light source (92), wherein the support structure (7,9) comprises a first support (7) extending along a first axis (A, fig. 1), and a second support (9, fig. 1) that is connected to the first support (7) and extends along a second axis (D, fig. 1), wherein the support structure (7, 9) is configured to rotate both the light source (92) and the optical component (93, 94) about the first axis (7 and 9 can be rotated about A axis about the base 5, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of JP, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of the support structure of Ono where the support structure is configured to rotate both the light source and the optical component about the first axis, in order to increase the illumination range of the lamp.
Claim 2: Ono teaches the optical component (32-36, fig. 2) has a length (L1, see annotated fig. 2) in a direction perpendicular to the second axis (A2) that is shorter than a length (L1, see annotated fig. 2) thereof in a direction of the second axis (horizontal direction of A2, see annotated fig. 2).
Claim 3: Ono teaches the light source (8) has a length (L1, see annotated fig. 2) in a direction perpendicular to the second axis (A2) that is shorter than a length (L2, see annotated fig. 2) thereof in a direction of the second axis (horizontal direction of A2, see annotated fig. 2).
Claim 5: Ono teaches the optical component (32-36, fig. 2) is a reflector (13, fig. 2b) configured to reflect the light emitted from the light source, or an optical lens (34, 35, fig. 2).
Claim 7: Ono teaches the optical component (32-36, fig. 2) is a reflector (13, fig. 2b) configured to reflect the light emitted from the light source, or an optical lens (34, 35, fig. 2).
Claim 8: Ono teaches the optical component (32-36, fig. 2) is a reflector (13, fig. 2b) configured to reflect the light emitted from the light source, or an optical lens (34, 35, fig. 2).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono (JP 20100153106) in view of JP 6755600 as applied to claim(s) 5 above, and further in view of Stein (US 2010/0110677).
Claim 6: Ono teaches the reflector (13, fig. 2b) comprises a pair of first reflecting surfaces (left and right surfaces of 13, fig. 2b) arranged to face each other along a direction (horizontal direction in fig. 2b) of the second axis (A2), and
However, Ono fails to teach a pair of second reflecting surfaces arranged to face each other in a direction perpendicular to the second axis, and wherein the first reflecting surface has a more upright shape closer to a direction perpendicular to a surface where the light source is arranged, compared to the second reflecting surface.
Stein teaches a pair of first reflecting surfaces (left and right surfaces of 100, fig. 1), a pair of second reflecting surfaces (upper and lower surface of 104, fig. 1) arranged to face each other in a direction perpendicular to the second axis (horizontal direction in fig. 1), and the first reflecting surface (surface of 100, fig. 1A) (see fig. 4) has a more upright shape (see fig. 4) closer to a direction perpendicular to a surface (surface of 114, fig. 4) where the light source (102, fig. 4) is arranged, compared to the second reflecting surface (surface of 104, fig. 1A) (see fig. 5).
Therefore, in view of Stein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the first and second reflecting surface of JP such that the first reflecting surface has a more upright shape closer to a direction perpendicular to a surface where the light source is arranged, compared to the second reflecting surface, in order to adjust the angle of the light output beam to produce a desired lighting distribution.
Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the shape of the reflector such that the first reflecting surface has a more upright shape closer to a direction perpendicular to a surface where the light source is arranged, compared to the second reflecting surface to adjust the angle of the light output beam to produce a desired lighting distribution, since it has been held that the configuration of the reflective surfaces was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “Ono does not disclose or suggest controlling illumination by gradually shifting the maximum illumination point through relative motion between a light source (the light emitting diode 8) and an optical component (the light scattering part 34 or the lens 35). In Ono, the relative movement of the light source and the optical element is not for a gradual change of the point of maximum illumination, but for selecting either the light propagation mode (i.e., the light diffusing mode) or the light focusing mode”, the examiner notes that the relative motion of the lens (6) shifting between the transparent portion (15) and diffusing portion (16) would gradually shift the maximum illumination point considering when the lens shifts between the two portions the light output is shifted i.e. transparent has a more concentrated point of maximum illumination while the diffusing mode has a more dispersed point of maximum illumination. Furthermore, the examiner notes that claim 1 does not recite sufficient structure where the optical component of claim 1 is distinguished from the lens of Ono.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “These features provide technical effects that are neither disclosed nor suggested by Ono. and the subject matter of claim 1 would not be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that again the claims recite functional features without a corresponding structural element capable of performing said function distinguished from the Ono reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest the optical component, which is configured to move linearly relative to the light source, is a reflector configured to reflect the light emitted from the light source with respect to claim(s) 10, as specifically called for in the claimed combinations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875