DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/13/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smykalla et al (EP0834583 submitted in the IDS filed 8/24/2023).
EP0834583 teaches a process for extracting zinc and other metal values from chlorine and fluorine bearing raw materials such as Waelz oxides, the method comprising: mixing the Waelz oxide with water-containing fluid where the solubility of halogen compounds is improved by adding sodium carbonate and heating to a final temperature of more than 110°C with increased pressure in an autoclave. EP0834583 teaches a method where the Waelz oxide is a Waelz oxide with 20% residual moisture (i.e., a filter cake) (see [0014] and [0016-0017].
Regarding claim 2, EP0834583 teaches a method comprising mashing the Waelz oxide with an agitator (see [0018]).
Regarding claim 3, EP0834583 teaches a method comprising soda (i.e., sodium carbonate) (see [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, EP0834583 teaches a method where temperature is more than 110°C, preferably 120-130°C and in particular 125°C (see [0016]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since the autoclave is filled with an aqueous solution and operated at a temperature above the boiling point of water, the pressure in the autoclave is about the vapor pressure of water at the operating temperature. Since the process according to EP0834583 comprise aqueous solution and the vapor pressure of water at 125°C is approximately 2.281 atm, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that EP0834583 teaches a process where the pressure in the autoclave is 2.281 atm.
Regarding claim 8, EP0834583 teaches a method comprising obtaining a filtrate of halogens separated on a chamber filter press filtering the dehalogenated repulped cake
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP0834583 as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Danobeitia Sierra et al (EP 0773301 submitted in the IDS filed 8/24/2023).
As applied to claim 1, EP0834583 teaches a method for removing halide from halide-containing Waelz oxide comprising a pressurized alkali washing step of removing halide by heating a Waelz oxide cake containing Waelz oxide with sodium carbonate under pressure in an autoclave.
Regarding claim 4, EP0834583 does not teach an amount of the sodium carbonate is 100 kg to 300kg per ton of Waelz oxide cake.
EP0773301 teaches a method for removing halide from Waelz oxide, the method comprising: a washing step of removing halide by heating a Waelz oxide with an aqueous solution of sodium carbonate in order to maintain a constant pH of 9.0 (see Page 3, Ln 18-27). EP0773301 further teaches that the sodium carbonate consumption depends on the nature of the starting material and typical values of 60-140 g/kg of solid starting material (see Page 3, Ln 25-28). EP073301 therefore teaches a method where the sodium carbonate to Waelz oxide ratio per ton is 54 kg/ton to 127 kg/ton. Differences from the prior art only in concentration or temperature support the finding of a prima facie case of obviousness unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to improve upon the concentration of sodium carbonate to determine optimum or workable range including the claimed range since the required concentration depends on the starting material as suggested by EP0773301. Applicants can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on optimization of ranges by showing the criticality of the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, EP0834583 teaches a method comprising mashing with warm water (see [0018]). EP0773301 teaches a method where water is added to the Waelz oxide at a temperature of 70°C (see Page 5, Ln 41). Differences from the prior art only in concentration or temperature support the finding of a prima facie case of obviousness unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Here, EP0834583 teaches a method where mashing comprises a warm water but does not specifically teach a temperature of 50°C to 70°C. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform a process as taught by EP0834583 and EP 0773301 and improve upon water addition temperature to determine optimum or workable range. Applicants can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on optimization of ranges by showing the criticality of the claimed range.
Claim(s) 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP0834583.
As applied to claim 1, EP0834583 teaches a method for removing halide from halide-containing Waelz oxide comprising a pressurized alkali washing step of removing halide by heating a Waelz oxide cake containing Waelz oxide with sodium carbonate under pressure in an autoclave.
Regarding claim 6, EP0834583 teaches a method where temperature is more than 110°C (see [0016]). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to perform a process as taught by EP0834583 where the temperature is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with greater than 110°C including the claimed range.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738