DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/547,812, “DIELECTRIC THERMAL MANAGEMENT FLUIDS AND METHODS FOR USING THEM”, was filed with the USPTO on 8/24/2023 and has a PRO 63/153,148 filed on 2/24/2021.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 6/15/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, drawn to a method in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are canceled and claims 21-40 are newly added and pending. Note: there is a typo in applicant remarks filed on 6/15/2026 that “new method claims 21-39 are added” appears to be “claims 21-40”.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/24/2023 and 6/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 300 and 360 (PGpub [0101]); 152 (PGpub [0098]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“ASTM D2270” in Table 2 (PGpub [0116]) is measuring viscosity index, its value does not match unit cSt;
“ASTM D455” in PGpub [0035], [0074], [0170]-[0173] and [0186]-[0188] appears to be a typo and “ASTM D455” appears to be “ASTM D445”;
PGpub [0083]: “25 C” and “30 C” missing degree symbols;
“cooper corrosiveness” in Table 2 should read “copper corrosiveness”;
PGpub [0115]: 2-ethylhexylbromide (168 g, 0.87 mmol, 1.0 equivalents), “mmol” should read “mol”;
PGpub [0115]: The mixture was stirrer at 120° C, “stirrer” should read “stirred”;
Both PGpub [0218] and [0219] (also see [0162] and [0163] spec filed 8/24/2023) are labeled “Embodiment 73”;
PGpub [0231]: “Embodiment 76 is directed to the method of embodiment 73”, but embodiment 73 is not a method.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 25 and 26 are objected to because each claim has redundant recitation that already included in claim 21. The recitation is from “wherein the thermal management fluid comprises: one or more dielectric compounds of formula (I)” ……… to “the thermal management fluid has a dielectric constant of at least 1.5 at 25 °C.” The Examiner suggests removing the aforementioned recitation. For examination purposes, the redundant recitation has been removed in claims 25 and 26. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 33 is objected to because each structure of the last three structures on the list does not match that of claim 21 because the last three structures in claim 33 represent when n =2 but the R5-R6 appear to be different on the two carbons (one carbon has a hydrogen and a methyl group while the other carbon has two hydrogens). The Examiner suggests removing the aforementioned structures. For examination purposes, the last three structures have been removed in claim 33. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is indefinite because of the recitation “a thermal management fluid of claim 1”. Claim 1 is canceled therefore it is unclear which thermal management fluid refers to. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests removing “of claim 1” in the aforementioned recitation. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation in claim 21 has been interpreted as “a thermal management fluid”.
Claim 26 is indefinite because of the recitation “a thermal management fluid of claim 1”. Claim 1 is canceled therefore it is unclear which thermal management fluid refers to. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests changing the aforementioned recitation to “the thermal management fluid”. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “the thermal management fluid”.
Claim 26 is indefinite because of the recitation “a heat source” in line 3. It is unclear if it’s the same heat source as in claim 21 or a different heat source. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests changing it to “the heat source”. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “the heat source”.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “the heat exchanger”, “the pump” and “the connecting duct” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests changing “the” to “a”. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitations have been interpreted as “a heat exchanger”, “a pump” and “a connecting duct”.
Claim 29 in indefinite because of the limitation “R2 and/or R2”. For examination purposes, claim 29 has been interpreted as “The method of claim 21, wherein branching of R2 is at a β-position to the oxygen atom to which R2 is bound”.
Regarding claims 30, 32, and 37- 40, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests removing “such as methyl or ethyl” in claim 30; removing “such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C6 alkyl” in claims 32 and 37-40. For examination purposes, claim 30 has been interpreted without the limitation “such as methyl or ethyl” and claims 32 and 37-40 have been interpreted without the limitation “such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C6 alkyl”.
Regarding claim 30, the phrase "i.e." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests removing “i.e., the compounds have the formula
” and “i.e., the compounds have the formula
”. For examination purposes, claim 30 has been interpreted as "The method of claim 21, wherein each of R3, R4, R5, and R6 is H, or wherein each of R4, R5, and R6 is H, and wherein R3 is C1-C6 alkyl”.
Claim 40 is indefinite because the formula of claim 40 does not match that of claim 21. The formula of claim 40 indicates n = 2 but R5 and R6 are different on different carbons, one carbon has one hydrogen and one methyl group while the other has two hydrogens. Therefore, it is unclear which structure the Applicant is claiming in claim 40. For examination purposes, claim 40 has been interpreted as “The method of claim 21, wherein the thermal management fluid further comprises a compound have a structure of formula (II):
(II); wherein
each of Ra and Rb is independently methyl or ethyl, and each of Rc and Rd is independently C3-C8 alkyl.”.
Claims 22-40 are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23, 25-28, 30, 34 and 36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-8, 10-12 and 14-17 of copending Application No. 18/547,828 (hereinafter 828’) in view of Shiraishi et al. (US 20060171613 A1, provided on IDS filed on 8/24/2023).
Regarding Claim 21, 828’ teaches a method comprising:
contacting a thermal management fluid of claim 1 with a surface having a temperature of at least 25 °C, the surface being in substantial thermal communication with a heat source; and absorbing thermal energy in the thermal management fluid from the heat source through the surface (claim 12 of 828’).
wherein the thermal management fluid comprises:
one or more dielectric compounds of formula (I):
(claim 1 of 828’) wherein
m is an integer 1, 2, or 3 (when m = 1, 2, or 3, see “m is an integer 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5” in claim 1 of 828’);
n is an integer 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 (n is an integer 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5, see claim 1 of 828’);
R2 is C6-C12 alkyl;
each R3 and R4 are independently selected from H and C1-C6 alkyl; and
each R5 and R6 are independently selected from H and C1-C6 alkyl;
the one or more dielectric compounds being present in a total amount in the range of 1 wt % to 100 wt %, based on the total weight of the thermal management fluid; and
wherein the thermal management fluid has a flash point of at least 100 °C, measured in accordance with ASTM D93, and the thermal management fluid has a dielectric constant of at least 1.5 at 25° C (claim 1 of 828’).
828’ does not teach R1 is C6-C12 alkyl.
Shiraishi et al. teaches R1 is C6-C12 alkyl (R1 =
, a C10 alkyl, see
, the 9th example of generic formula (2) from the top, see [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the R1 taught by 828’ with
, the C10 alkyl taught by Shiraishi et al. to have a good balance between heat resistance and low temperature fluidity when having C8 to C12 alkyl groups (see Shiraishi et al. [0048]).
Regarding claim 22, 828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the surface has a temperature in the range of 50 °C to 150 °C (claim 17 of 828’).
Regarding claim 23, 828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the heat source is a battery system, a capacitor, inverter, electrical cabling, a fuel cell, a motor, a computer, or high power charging equipment (claim 16 of 828’).
Regarding claim 25, 828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the thermal management fluid is disposed in a fluid path (claim 14 of 828’) of a battery system (battery system, claim 14 of 828’) comprising:
a housing; and
one or more electrochemical cells disposed in the housing,
the fluid path extending in the housing and in substantial thermal communication with the one or more electrochemical cells (claim 14 of 828’) (interpretation see claim objection above).
828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach the thermal management fluid is configured to circulate in a fluid path.
Claim 15 of 828’ teaches the thermal management fluid is configured to circulate in a fluid path (see claim 15 of 828’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal management fluid taught by 828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. to be configured to circulate in the fluid path as taught by claim 15 of 828’ to absorb thermal energy produced by the heat source (see claim 15 of 828’).
Regarding claim 26, 828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the thermal management fluid is disposed in and configured to circulate in a fluid path (see claim 15 of 828’) of a thermal management circuit (a thermal management circuit, see claim 15 of 828’) comprising:
the fluid path extending around and/or through a heat source;
a thermal management fluid of claim 1, disposed in and configured to circulate in the fluid path and to absorb thermal energy produced by the heat source,
wherein the fluid is disposed in the fluid path, the heat exchanger, the pump and the connecting duct (claim 15 of 828’) (interpretation see claim objection and 112b rejection above).
Regarding claim 27, 828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein each of the one or more compounds contains a total number of carbon atoms from 14 to 50 (15 to 39; note: 10 to 30, see claim 8 of 828’; plus the additional carbon atoms when the C1-C5 R1 of 828’ substituted with C10 of Shiraishi, so additional 5-9 carbon atoms, therefore 10 + 5 to 30 + 9).
Regarding claim 28, 828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein R1 is C6-C10 alkyl (R1 =
, a C10 alkyl, see
, the 9th example of generic formula (2) from the top, see Shiraishi et al. [0051]) and R2 is C6-C10 alkyl (R2 is C6-C10 alkyl, see claim 6 of 828’).
Regarding claim 30, 828’ in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein each of R3, R4, R5, and R6 is H (see the structure of claim 6 of 828’), i.e., the compounds have the formula
(interpretation see 112b rejection above); or
wherein each of R4, R5, and R6 is H, and wherein R3 is C1-C6 alkyl (such as methyl or ethyl), i.e., the compounds have the formula
.
Regarding claim 34, wherein the one or more dielectric compounds is present in an amount in the range of 50 wt% to 99.9 wt% (50 wt% to 100 wt%, see claim 10 of 828’).
Regarding claim 36, wherein the thermal management fluid has a kinematic viscosity at 40 °C in the range of 1.5 to 20 cSt, all as measured in accordance with ASTM D455 (claim 11 of 828’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-31, 34-37 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prentice et al. (WO 2020007954 A1, citations see machine translation filed on 4/15/2026) in view of Shiraishi et al. (US 20060171613 A1, provided on IDS filed on 8/24/2023).
Regarding Claim 21, Prentice et al. teaches a method (Embodiment 34 [0111]; note: Embodiment 34 based on embodiment 30 [0107], embodiment 30 see embodiment 28 [0105] based on embodiment 4 [0081] based on embodiment 1 [0078]) comprising:
contacting a thermal management fluid of claim 1 (aliphatic dielectric fluid oxygenates (ethers), [0081]; interpretation see 112b rejection above) with a surface having a temperature of at least 25 °C, the surface being in substantial thermal communication with a heat source; and absorbing thermal energy in the thermal management fluid from the heat source through the surface (see [0107]).
the one or more dielectric compounds being present in a total amount in the range of 1 wt % to 100 wt % (65 wt% to 99.9 wt%, [0078]), based on the total weight of the thermal management fluid; and
wherein the thermal management fluid has a flash point of at least 100 °C (flash point of at least 100 °C, [0105]), measured in accordance with ASTM D93, and the thermal management fluid has a dielectric constant of at least 1.5 at 25° C (dielectric constant of at least 1.5 at 25 °C, [0078]).
Prentice et al. does not teach wherein the thermal management fluid comprises:
one or more dielectric compounds of formula (I):
wherein
m is an integer 1, 2, or 3; n is an integer 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8;
R1 is C6-C12 alkyl; R2 is C6-C12 alkyl;
each R3 and R4 are independently selected from H and C1-C6 alkyl; and
each R5 and R6 are independently selected from H and C1-C6 alkyl.
Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the thermal management fluid (aliphatic tetraether, [0059]) comprises:
one or more dielectric compounds (
, see first concrete example of generic formula (4), [0059])
of formula (I):
(
, see first concrete example of generic formula (4), [0059])
wherein
m is an integer 1, 2, or 3 (m = 3, see
, [0059]);
n is an integer 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 (n = 3, see
, [0059]);
R1 is C6-C12 alkyl (C7 alkyl; see R1 =
);
R2 is C6-C12 alkyl (C7 alkyl; see R2 =
);
each R3 and R4 are independently selected from H and C1-C6 alkyl; and
each R5 and R6 are independently selected from H and C1-C6 alkyl (R3, R4, R5, and R6 is H, see
, [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the ethers taught by Prentice et al. by adding the aliphatic tetraether with the formula of
taught by Shiraishi et al. to acquire the same effect as mono- or diether compounds and to improve the trade-off between a viscosity index and a solidification temperature (see Shiraishi et al. [0054]).
Regarding claim 22, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. is silent wherein the surface has a temperature in the range of 50 °C to 150 °C.
A different embodiment of Prentice et al. teaches wherein the surface has a temperature in the range of 50 °C to 150 °C (50 °C to 150 °C, [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the surface temperature taught by Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. to be in the range of 50 °C to 150 °C taught by Prentice et al. because the temperature of the surface can vary (see Prentice et al. [0060]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 23, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the heat source is a battery system, a capacitor, inverter, electrical cabling, a fuel cell, a motor, a computer (see Prentice [0111]), or high power charging equipment.
Regarding claim 24, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the heat source is one or more electrochemical cells (battery system, Prentice [0111]; note: by definition, a battery system has one or more electrochemical cells.).
Regarding claim 25, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach wherein the thermal management fluid is disposed in and configured to circulate in a fluid path of a battery system comprising:
a housing; and
one or more electrochemical cells disposed in the housing,
the fluid path extending in the housing and in substantial thermal communication with the one or more electrochemical cells.
Another embodiment of Prentice et al. (Embodiment 38, [0115]) teaches wherein the thermal management fluid is disposed in in a fluid path of a battery system comprising:
a housing; and
one or more electrochemical cells disposed in the housing,
the fluid path extending in the housing and in substantial thermal communication with the one or more electrochemical cells (see [0115]) (interpretation see claim objection above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to dispose the ethers comprising the aliphatic tetraethers taught by Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. in the battery pack taught by Prentice et al. to absorb the large amount of heat quickly as it is produced during fast charging because of the high heat capacity of the thermal management fluid (see Prentice et al. [0067]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
However, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach the thermal management fluid is configured to circulate in a fluid path.
A different embodiment of Prentice et al. (Embodiment 43, [0120]) teaches the thermal management fluid is configured to circulate in a fluid path (see [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the ethers comprising the aliphatic tetraethers taught by Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. to be configured to circulate in the fluid path as taught by Prentice et al. to absorb thermal energy produced by the heat source (see Prentice et al. [0120]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 26, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach wherein the thermal management fluid is disposed in and configured to circulate in a fluid path of a thermal management circuit comprising:
the fluid path extending around and/or through a heat source;
a thermal management fluid of claim 1, disposed in and configured to circulate in the fluid path and to absorb thermal energy produced by the heat source,
wherein the fluid is disposed in the fluid path, the heat exchanger, the pump and the connecting duct.
Another embodiment of Prentice et al. (Embodiment 43, [0120]) teaches wherein the thermal management fluid is disposed in and configured to circulate in a fluid path of a thermal management circuit comprising:
the fluid path extending around and/or through a heat source;
a thermal management fluid of claim 1, disposed in and configured to circulate in the fluid path and to absorb thermal energy produced by the heat source,
wherein the fluid is disposed in the fluid path, the heat exchanger, the pump and the connecting duct (see [0120]) (interpretation see claim objection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to dispose and circulate the ethers comprising the aliphatic tetraethers taught by Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. in the thermal management circuit taught by Prentice et al. to absorb thermal energy produced by the heat source (see Prentice et al. [0120]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 27, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein each of the one or more compounds (
, see first concrete example of generic formula (4), Shiraishi [0059]) contains a total number of carbon atoms from 14 to 50 (26, by counting total number of carbon atoms in
, Shiraishi [0059]).
Regarding claim 28, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein R1 is C6-C10 alkyl (C7 alkyl; see Shiraishi R1 =
)and R2 is C6-C10 alkyl (C7 alkyl; see Shiraishi R2 =
).
Regarding claim 29, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein branching of R2 (-CH3, methyl, branching of R2, see Examiner’s Annotated Structure) and/or R2 is at a β-position to the oxygen atom to which R2 is bound (see Examiner’s Annotated Structure).
Regarding claim 30, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein each of R3, R4, R5, and R6 is H (R3, R4, R5, and R6 is H, see
, Shiraishi [0059]), i.e., the compounds have the formula
; or
wherein each of R4, R5, and R6 is H, and wherein R3 is C1-C6 alkyl (such as methyl or ethyl), i.e., the compounds have the formula
(interpretation see 112b rejection above).
Regarding claim 31, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach wherein m is 1.
Another example of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein m is 1 (m = 1, see
, the 9th example of generic formula (2) from the top, see [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. by adding the aliphatic diether
taught by Shiraishi et al. to have high heat resistance when A represents a CnH2n group of C5 to C9 (see Shiraishi [0049]).
Regarding claim 34, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the one or more dielectric compounds is present in an amount in the range of 50 wt% to 99.9 wt% (65 wt% to 99.9 wt%, Prentice [0078]).
Regarding claim 35, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the thermal management fluid has a flash point of at least 140 °C (flash point of at least 150 °C, see Prentice [0105]), measured in accordance with ASTM D93.
Regarding claim 36, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the thermal management fluid has a kinematic viscosity at 40 °C in the range of 1.5 to 20 cSt (kinematic viscosity at 40 °C of 1.5 to 20 cSt, see Prentice [0053]), all as measured in accordance with ASTM D455.
Regarding claim 37, it further requires a structure with three components A, B and C as illustrated.
Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the one or more compounds of formula (I) have a similar structure, which differs in that B is different from B’ as illustrated.
(first concrete example of generic formula (4), Shiraishi [0059].)
in which each of Ra and Rb is independently methyl or ethyl and each of Rc and Rd is independently C3-C8 alkyl (Ra and Rb is methyl; Rc and Rd is C4 alkyl, -C4H9,
), such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C6 alkyl (interpretation see 112b rejection above).
Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach B:
Another example of Shiraishi et al. teaches
(see
, m = 2, Shiraishi [0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the
taught by Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. with the
taught by Shiraishi to have a branched-chain structure for an excellent balance in performance (see Shiraishi [0057]).
Regarding claim 39, it further requires a structure with three components A, B and C as illustrated.
Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the one or more compounds of formula (I) have a similar structure, which differs in that B is different from B’ as illustrated.
(first concrete example of generic formula (4), Shiraishi [0059].)
in which each of Ra and Rb is independently methyl or ethyl and each of Rc and Rd is independently C3-C8 alkyl (Ra and Rb is methyl; Rc and Rd is C4 alkyl, -C4H9,
), such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C6 alkyl (interpretation see 112b rejection above).
Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach B:
Shiraishi et al. teaches a branched-chain structure (see X, Y, Z in
[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the B’:
taught by Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. to be the branched-chain structure taught by Shiraishi et al. because the branched-chain structure is for an excellent balance in performance (see Shiraishi [0057]).
However, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. is silent for a specific branched-chain structure for -C4H8-.
Due to structure limitation of branched-chain structure of -C4H8-O-, there are only eight possible structures:
Therefore, for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to try the structure 1
as it is one of only 8 alternatives, with the expected result that the benefit taught by Shiraishi et al. for branched structure would be achieve (MPEP 2141 III).
Regarding claim 40, it further requires a structure with three components A, B and C as illustrated.
Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. teaches wherein the one or more compounds of formula (I) have a similar structure, which differs in that B is different from B’ as illustrated.
(first concrete example of generic formula (4), Shiraishi [0059].)
in which each of Ra and Rb is independently methyl or ethyl and each of Rc and Rd is independently C3-C8 alkyl (Ra and Rb is methyl; Rc and Rd is C4 alkyl, -C4H9,
), such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C6 alkyl (interpretation see 112b rejection above).
Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach B:
Shiraishi et al. teaches a branched-chain structure (see X, Y, Z in
[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the B’:
taught by Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. to be the branched-chain structure taught by Shiraishi et al. because the branched-chain structure is for an excellent balance in performance (see Shiraishi [0057]).
However, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. is silent for a specific branched-chain structure for -C4H8-.
Due to structure limitation of branched-chain structure of -C4H8-O-, there are only eight possible structures:
Therefore, for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to try the structure 2
as it is one of only 8 alternatives, with the expected result that the benefit taught by Shiraishi et al. for branched structure would be achieve (MPEP 2141 III).
Claims 32-33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prentice et al. (WO 2020007954 A1, citations see machine translation filed on 4/15/2026) in view of Shiraishi et al. (US 20060171613 A1, provided on IDS filed on 8/24/2023) in view of Iwamoto et al. (JP 2005084074 A, provided on IDS filed on 8/24/2023).
Regarding claim 32, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach wherein the one or more compounds of formula (I) have the structure
in which each of Ra and Rb is independently methyl or ethyl, and each of Rc and Rd is independently C3-C8 alkyl, such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C6 alkyl.
Iwamoto et al. teaches wherein the one or more compounds of formula (I) have the structure
(ST-IV-5, m =1; see
, when I10 = 1, R114 and R115 is
,[0241])
in which each of Ra and Rb is independently methyl or ethyl, and each of Rc and Rd is independently C3-C8 alkyl (Ra and Rb is ethyl; Rc and Rd is C4 alkyl, -C4H9, see
), such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C6 alkyl (interpretation see 112b rejection above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. by adding the ST-IV-5 taught by Iwamoto et al. because the structure of ST-IV-5 is known in the art (see ST-IV-5, Iwamoto [0241]).
Regarding claim 33, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach wherein the one or more dielectric compounds are independently selected from:
Iwamoto et al. teaches wherein the one or more dielectric compounds (ST-IV-5,
, [0241]) are independently selected from:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. by adding the ST-IV-5 taught by Iwamoto et al. because the structure of
is known in the art (see ST-IV-5, Iwamoto [0241]).
Regarding claim 38, Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. does not teach wherein the one or more compounds of formula (I) have the structure
in which each of Ra and Rb is independently methyl or ethyl, and each of Rc and Rd is independently C3-C8 alkyl, such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C8 alkyl.
Iwamoto et al. teaches wherein the one or more compounds of formula (I) have the structure
(ST-IV-49, m =1; see
, when m10 = 3, R116 and R117 is
,[0245])
in which each of Ra and Rb is independently methyl or ethyl, and each of Rc and Rd is independently C3-C8 alkyl (Ra and Rb is ethyl; Rc and Rd is C4 alkyl, -C4H9, see
), such as C3-C7 alkyl or C3-C8 alkyl (interpretation see 112b rejection above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Prentice et al. in view of Shiraishi et al. by adding the ST-IV-49 taught by Iwamoto et al. because the structure of ST-IV-49 is known in the art (see ST-IV-5, Iwamoto [0241]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(RIEMSCHNEIDER): US-2973388-A, (2) in col. 2, lines 2-9;
(Prentice): US 20220228047 A1, Figs 1, 2, 3A and 3B;
(Pearson): US 20210362580 A1.
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723