DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
In Fig. 2(a) reference character “20” and “20a” are pointing to the same structure
In Fig. 4, two instances of reference character “208” are present. It appears as the “208” which points to the striped patter should be “206” according to Applicant’s specification on page 71, lines 18-20
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is more than 2 paragraphs in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the limitation “poly(meth)acrylic acid (salt)-based”. It is unclear why “salt” is in parentheses and therefore is the claim is claimed invention or merely optional. Claims 2-6 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
The term “high-viscosity” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what the viscosity level of the liquid should be to be considered “high-viscosity” and therefore the metes and bounds of the claims are not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2013/0226412) (cited in the IDS filed on 08/24/2023).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Machida et al. discloses a water absorbing polyacrylic acid (salt) resin powder which contains open and closed cells (equivalent to the “cavity” and “void” as presently claimed). (Abstract, Fig. 2, par. [0346]-[0352]). Machida et al. discloses that the internal cell ratio is in the range of 0.1 to 2.5% which can be controlled by gel grinding energy and water-soluble content of the resin (par. [0352]), overlapping with the void ratio presently claimed. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Machida et al. does not explicitly disclose the content or ratio of open cells in the water absorbing resin powder. However, Machida et al. discloses substantially eliminating closed cells by converting them into open cells by breaking up the water resin particles. (par. [0346], [0449] and Fig. 2-3). Machida et al. teaches this open cell elimination is useful for calculating the real density of the water absorbent resin, absorbing rate and permeability potential. (par. [0346] and [0352]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the content of open cells (equivalent to the claimed cavities) and minimize the amount of closed cells (equivalent to claimed voids), thereby resulting in a void ratio that would be as close to 0% by volume (based on the language of “almost no closed cells”) and an open cell content that is as high as required for substantially eliminating the content of closed cells, since opening the closed cells will cause them to be converted to open cells as shown in Fig. 3.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the content of open and closed cells in view of the teachings in Machida et al. that this affects the real density of the water absorbent resin, absorbing rate and permeability potential. (par. [034]6 and [0352]). It is the stated goal of the reference to essentially remove all of the closed cells by converting them to open cells by grinding (Fig. 3), thereby implying a result effective relationship to the performance of the water absorbing resin material. (see MPEP 2144.04 II).
Regarding claim 2, Machida et al. discloses a CRC of 25 g/g or more. (par. [0360]).
Regarding claim 3, Machida et al. discloses an AAP of 20 g/g or more. (par. [0356]). While the AAP is measured using a different pressure (4.8 kPa vs 2.06 kPa), in view of the open-ended claim limitation and disclosed in Machida et al. of 20 g/g, it would be expected to substantially overlap with the claimed range when measured using a different pressure.
Regarding claim 4, Machida et al. discloses a moisture content of not greater than 1 wt%. (par. [0447]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2013/0226412) (cited in the IDS filed on 08/24/2023) in view of Torii et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2014/0193641).
Machida et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Machida et al. does not disclose the absorption time of a high-viscosity liquid is 140 seconds or shorter as claimed.
Torii et al. teaches a polyacrylic acid (salt)-based water absorbent material having improved properties and including a closed/open cell configuration similar to that one in Machida et al. (Abstract and Fig. 2-3). Torii et al. teaches that the desired absorption speed of the water absorbent particulate material should be 90 seconds or less and can be controlled by the production method of the particle. (par. [0210]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the production method of the particle in Machida et al. to have an absorption speed of 90 seconds or less as disclosed in Torii et al., which overlaps with the presently claimed range.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to obtain a water absorbing resin having an absorption speed of 90 seconds or less as disclosed in Torii et al. in order to obtain a water absorbent material having improved properties.
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2013/0226412) (cited in the IDS filed on 08/24/2023) in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2019/0119452).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Machida et al. discloses a water absorbing polyacrylic acid (salt) resin powder which contains open and closed cells (equivalent to the “cavity” and “void” as presently claimed). (Abstract, Fig. 2, par. [0346]-[0352]). Machida et al. discloses that the internal cell ratio is in the range of 0.1 to 2.5% which can be controlled by gel grinding energy and water-soluble content of the resin (par. [0352]), overlapping with the void ratio presently claimed. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Machida et al. discloses substantially eliminating closed cells by converting them into open cells by breaking up the water resin particles. (par. [0346], [0449] and Fig. 2-3). Machida et al. teaches this open cell elimination is useful for calculating the real density of the water absorbent resin, absorbing rate and permeability potential. (par. [0346] and [0352]).
Machida et al. does not explicitly disclose the content or ratio of open cells in the water absorbing resin powder.
Yoon et al. teaches a porous superabsorbent polymer material having improved performance which includes a plurality of open pores (i.e. cavities as claimed). (Abstract). Yoon et al. teaches controlling the porosity of the water absorbing particles to be 0.74 or more relative to the total volume of the resin particle (par. [0031]) wherein this is 90-100% of the pores present. (par. [0096]). These open pores allow for improved absorption rate due to the diffusion of water inside the open pores. (par. [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the content of open cavities in Machida to be 0.74 (74%) of the volume of the resin material in view of the teachings of Yoon et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a cavity content in the range of 0.74 in view of the teachings of Yoon et al. regarding the improved absorption rate as the result of the presence of the cavities.
Regarding claim 2, Machida et al. discloses a CRC of 25 g/g or more. (par. [0360]).
Regarding claim 3, Machida et al. discloses an AAP of 20 g/g or more. (par. [0356]). While the AAP is measured using a different pressure (4.8 kPa vs 2.06 kPa), in view of the open-ended claim limitation and disclosed in Machida et al. of 20 g/g, it would be expected to substantially overlap with the claimed range when measured using a different pressure.
Regarding claim 4, Machida et al. discloses a moisture content of not greater than 1 wt%. (par. [0447]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2013/0226412) (cited in the IDS filed on 08/24/2023) in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2019/0119452), further in view of Torii et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2014/0193641).
Machida et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Machida et al. does not disclose the absorption time of a high-viscosity liquid is 140 seconds or shorter as claimed.
Torii et al. teaches a polyacrylic acid (salt)-based water absorbent material having improved properties and including a closed/open cell configuration similar to that one in Machida et al. (Abstract and Fig. 2-3). Torii et al. teaches that the desired absorption speed of the water absorbent particulate material should be 90 seconds or less and can be controlled by the production method of the particle. (par. [0210]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the production method of the particle in Machida et al. to have an absorption speed of 90 seconds or less as disclosed in Torii et al., which overlaps with the presently claimed range.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to obtain a water absorbing resin having an absorption speed of 90 seconds or less as disclosed in Torii et al. in order to obtain a water absorbent material having improved properties.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 05/13/2026