DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Earl (US 2015/0282587), which shows all of the claimed limitations. Earl shows:
1. A lid comprising: an inner housing which includes an inner housing aperture 11; an iris 41 including an iris guide section 3 and at least two blades 4; the iris guide section having a respective blade guide slot for each of said at least two blades (fig. 2-4): each of the at least two blades having opposing ends, and having at least one bolt aperture 7 at each of the opposing ends (fig. 2-4); a respective bolt 9 (a pin satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation of a bolt – “pin for fastening objects” BOLT Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster) extending through each at least one blade guide slot 10 and each bolt aperture thereby engaging the at least two blades with the iris guide section (fig. 2-4); the iris having an open position 45 and a closed position 47 (fig. 1), wherein: in the open position the inner housing aperture of the lid being open: and in the closed position, the blades of the iris extending over the inner housing aperture thereby closing the inner housing aperture (fig. 1).
4. The lid of claim 1, wherein at least one of the at least two blades being curved along its length (fig. 4).
5. The lid of claim 4, wherein movement of the bolts within the blade guide slots causes the iris to move from its closed to its open position, and vice versa (para. 0025-0032).
6.The lid of claim 5, wherein rotation of the iris guide section causes movement of the bolts within the blade guide slots (para. 0025-0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7-10, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houston (US 2023/0220997) in view of Earl (US 2015/0282587).
Houston discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations including:
A self-extinguishing container system comprising: a lid 48 and a vessel 20; the lid comprising: an inner housing having an inner housing aperture 56; an iris including an iris guide section and at least two blades (para. 0031); the vessel comprising: a base and a sidewall 24 extending around the perimeter of the base and away from the base, thereby creating a cavity within the vessel, wherein the lid and the vessel being selectively engageable with each other (fig. 1-5): wherein the iris having an open position and a closed position (fig. 6; para. 0033), wherein: in the open position, oxygen is able to enter the cavity of the vessel through the inner housing aperture of the lid; and in the closed position, the blades of the iris extend over the inner housing aperture thereby substantially preventing oxygen from entering into the cavity (inherent – para. 0033)
, wherein the lid further includes a reset button for the closure of the iris (para. 0046), further including a biasing spring 104 to bias the iris guide section toward the closed position of the iris (para. 0032), wherein manual rotation of the iris guide section in a direction toward the open position of the iris opens the iris, and a latch 100 secures the iris in the open position once reached (para. 0032), wherein release of the latch causes a biasing spring to move the iris to its closed position (para. 0032,0033).
Houston teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the claimed details of the iris structure and arrangement.
Earl, in the same or related field of endeavor, teaches that it is known in the art to provide the claimed details of the iris structure and arrangement as discussed above.
Earl teaches that such an arrangement provides for convenient use (para. 0002).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the claimed details of the iris structure and arrangement as taught by Earl into the invention disclosed by Houston, so as to provide for convenient use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2, 11, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. While, in general, a spring and muscle wire combination is well known, combining such an arrangement with the prior art made of record would result in the use of improper hindsight.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references disclose devices with many of the claimed components. Nevertheless, in order to avoid overburdening the applicant with redundant rejections, these references were not applied.
Conclusion
To contact the examiner’s supervisor please call MICHAEL HOANG whose telephone number is 571 272 6460.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Tech Center telephone number is 571 272 3700.
October 27, 2025
/ALFRED BASICHAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762