DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-13 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 10/10/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that “However, Applicant respectfully submits that Morton's disclosure is fundamentally different from the interdigital structure as claimed.
First, while the Examiner asserts that Morton's Fig. 6 and paragraph [0049] disclose "the interdigital structure comprises alternately extending ends from opposite sides of the slot forming a distributed capacitor," a careful examination of Morton shows a substantially different arrangement. While Morton discloses slots in a half-loop radiator for capacitive coupling (Fig. 6,[para. 0049]), Morton structure differs: the slots appear to be simple cuts in the radiator, rather than having the specific interdigital structure with alternately extending ends from opposite sides of each slot. Moreover, Morton's slots are for harmonic tuning in a loop mode ([paras. 0051]- [0053]), not for forming a distributed capacitor via alternately extending ends from opposite sides of each of at least two slots to distribute a uniform magnetic field between the first radiator and a reference ground for zero-order mode radiation, as claimed” and “Second, Morton has not been shown to teach or suggest "wherein a uniform magnetic field is distributed between the first radiator and a ground of the electronic device as a reference ground to achieve radiation in a zero-order mode" as recited in amended claim 1. The Office Action acknowledges this deficiency, stating that "Morton does not explicitly disclose wherein a uniform magnetic field is distributed between the first radiator and a reference ground to achieve radiation in a zero-order mode." Instead, the Office Action relies on an inherency argument, asserting that because Morton's antenna has "the same structure," it would inherently have the same properties.
Applicant respectfully disagrees with this inherency argument. Morton's antenna does not have the "same structure" as claimed. As clarified in amended claim 1, each of the at least two slots includes its own interdigital structure with specific configuration requirements that allow for the distributed capacitor formation. Moreover, the claimed zero-order mode operation is not an inherent feature of any antenna with slots, but rather a specific operational mode that results from the claimed configuration.”
The arguments are moot because claim 1 is now being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al, CN-112290211-A as explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second radiator" in lines 5-6 which renders the claim in definite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 12 inherits the indefiniteness of claim 11 and is subsequently rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al, CN-112290211-A (hereinafter Yan).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses the following:
a terminal antenna, wherein the terminal antenna is disposed in an electronic device, and the terminal antenna comprises:
a first radiator (1, fig. 1 below), a feed point (“feed point”), and a ground point (“ground point”); one end of the first radiator is grounded by using the ground point (fig. 1: connected to ground plane 3), and an other end of the first radiator is provided with the feed point (fig. 1); and
the first radiator is further provided with a slot (“gap”, fig. 2) that penetrates the first radiator (1), and there are at least two slots (fig. 2), wherein each of the at least two slots comprises an interdigital structure (figs. 1-2) which comprises alternately extending ends from opposite sides of the respective slot forming a distributed capacitor (page 6, last para).
Although Yan does not explicitly disclose wherein a uniform magnetic field is distributed between the first radiator and a ground of the electronic device as a reference ground to achieve radiation in a zero-order mode, Yan discloses the terminal antenna has radiation in zero-order mode (page 5, last para) and fig. 1 of Yan shows the first radiator 1 is parallel to the ground of the electronic device 3, it is construed that the magnetic field between the first radiator and a ground of the electronic device is distributed uniformly.
According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the terminal antenna taught in Yan having uniform magnetic field as claimed for the purpose of having same radiation signal throughout the antenna region in order to achieve the desired radiating characteristics depending on the requirements of the application.
Regarding claim 2, Yan discloses wherein an operating frequency band of the terminal antenna comprises at least a first frequency band and a second frequency band (920MHz and 433MHz, page 6, last para -page 7, para 1), the terminal antenna covers the first frequency band by using a resonance corresponding to a zero-order mode (page 6, last para - page 7, para 1), the resonance corresponding to the zero-order mode is generated by the slot of the interdigital structure (page 6, last para - page 7, para 1), the terminal antenna covers the second frequency band by using a resonance corresponding to a Loop mode (page 6, last para - page 7, para 1), and the first frequency band is different from the second frequency band (page 6, last para - page 7, para 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yan discloses wherein when lengths of the first radiator are different, frequency bands in which the resonance corresponding to where the Loop mode is located are different, and frequency bands in which the resonance corresponding to where the zero-order mode is located are also different (fig. 6-7, page 7, para 4).
Regarding claim 5, Yan discloses wherein when structure parameters of the interdigital structure are different, frequency bands in which the resonance corresponding to where the zero-order mode is located are different (fig. 6-7, page 7, para 4).
Although Yan does not disclose the structure parameter of the interdigital structure comprises at least one of the following: a slot width that is of the interdigital structure and that is parallel to the first radiator, a slot width that is of the interdigital structure and that is perpendicular to the first radiator, or a length that is of the interdigital structure and that is perpendicular to the first radiator, Yan discloses the slot width (gap, fig. 2) that is of the interdigital structure and that is perpendicular to the first radiator or a length (Pl) that is of the interdigital structure and that is perpendicular to the first radiator can be modified (page 7, para 6-7) and it is construed by one of ordinary skill in that art that changing these parameters will change the capacitively coupling between the parts of the radiator which will change the electric length of the radiator which would change the operating frequency of the antenna (Yan, fig. 6-7, page 7, para 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decide the structure parameters of the interdigital structure of the terminal antenna taught in Yan to one of the parameters as claimed for the purpose of fitting the antenna in limited space assigned in the electronic device and achieving the desired operating frequency.
Regarding claim 6, although Yan does not disclose wherein the slot width parallel to the first radiator is comprised in a range of 0.2 mm±20%, the slot width that is of the interdigital structure and that is perpendicular to the first radiator is comprised in a range of 0.3 mm±20%, and the length that is of the interdigital structure and that is perpendicular to the first radiator is comprised in a range of 2.1 mm±20%, Yan discloses the slot width (gap, fig. 2) that is of the interdigital structure equals 0.3mm and that is perpendicular to the first radiator or a length (Pl) that is of the interdigital structure and that is perpendicular to the first radiator equals 21.0mm and these values can be modified (page 7, para 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the slot width and slot length of the terminal antenna taught in Yan to be in the range as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to fit the antenna in limited space assigned in the electronic device and achieve the desired radiating characteristics depending on the requirement of the application.
Regarding claim 9, Yan discloses wherein there are two to five slots of the interdigital structure (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Yan discloses an electronic device (page 2, Background section), wherein the terminal antenna according to claim 1 is disposed in the electronic device (page 2, Background section), and when transmitting or receiving a signal, the electronic device transmits or receives the signal by using the terminal antenna (page 3, last para).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan as applied to claim 2 above, and in view of Hu et al, CN-110323541-A (hereinafter Hu).
Regarding claim 3, Yan does not disclose wherein the slot is filled with a dielectric, the dielectric and the first radiator have different dielectric constants, and when the slot is filled with different dielectrics, the resonance corresponding to the zero-order mode covers different frequency bands.
Hu discloses wherein the slot (13, fig. 1) is filled with a dielectric (page 5, para 2), the dielectric and the first radiator have different dielectric constants (one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the dielectric material and the metal material of the first radiator would have different dielectric constants), and when the slot is filled with different dielectrics, the resonance corresponding to the zero-order mode covers different frequency bands (page 5, 2nd to last para or page 7, para 3: different material of the material of the slot 13 would change the capacitance coupling between 11 which creates an antenna covering different frequency bands).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill the slot of the terminal antenna disclosed in Yan in different dielectric as disclosed in Hu as claimed for the purpose of achieving desired operating frequency depending on the requirements of the application.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Hanyang et al, CN-106463827-B (hereinafter Hanyang).
Regarding claim 7, Yan does not disclose wherein the first radiator is disposed in a corner of the electronic device; the first radiator comprises a first part and a second part that are connected, the first part is disposed on a side edge that is of the electronic device and that corresponds to the corner, and the second part is disposed on a bottom edge that is of the electronic device and that corresponds to the corner; and the feed point is disposed at an end of the second part, and the ground point is disposed at an end of the first part.
Hanyang suggests wherein the first radiator is disposed in a corner of the electronic device (10, 11, 20 , fig. 5 reproduced below); the first radiator comprises a first part and a second part that are connected (fig. 5), the first part is disposed on a side edge that is of the electronic device and that corresponds to the corner (fig. 5), and the second part is disposed on a bottom edge that is of the electronic device and that corresponds to the corner (fig. 5); and the feed point (13) is disposed at an end of the second part, and the ground point (11) is disposed at an end of the first part (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the first radiator taught in Yan to be at the side edge and bottom edge of the electronic device as suggested in Hanyang as claimed since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to fit the antenna in a limited space of the electronic device and achieve a desired beam direction radiated from the antenna depending on the requirement of the application.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Jia, CN-109244645-A.
Regarding claim 8, Yan does not disclose wherein the terminal antenna is disposed on a flexible printed circuit, the first radiator is a conductive structure on the flexible printed circuit, and the slot is provided on the conductive structure.
Jia discloses wherein the terminal antenna is disposed on a flexible printed circuit, the first radiator is a conductive structure on the flexible printed circuit, and the slot is provided on the conductive structure (page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the flexible printed circuit as suggested in Jia to the terminal antenna taught in Jan as claimed for the purpose of creating a substrate for the antenna to be disposed on and being flexible in order to give the antenna the flexibility to fit in limited space.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Wang et al, CN-113451741-A (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 10, Yan does not disclose wherein the terminal antenna further comprises a second radiator, the second radiator and the first radiator are not connected to each other, an end that is of the second radiator and that is away from a first part of the first radiator is grounded, and an end that is of the second radiator and that is close to the first part is suspended
Wang suggests wherein the terminal antenna further comprises a second radiator (310, fig. 12), the second radiator (310) and the first radiator (110) are not connected to each other, an end (320) that is of the second radiator (310) and that is away from a first part of the first radiator (110) is grounded (fig. 12), and an end that is of the second radiator and that is close to the first part (110) is suspended (fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second radiator as suggested in Wang to the terminal antenna taught in Yan as claimed for the purpose of adding additional operation frequency to the antenna (Wang, page 12, last para).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Yan does not disclose wherein the operating frequency band of the terminal antenna further comprises a third frequency band, the third frequency band is different from the first frequency band or the second frequency band, the third frequency band is covered by the terminal antenna by using a resonance corresponding to a balanced mode, and the resonance corresponding to the balanced mode is generated by the second radiator.
Wang suggests wherein the operating frequency band of the terminal antenna further comprises a third frequency band (page 12, last para), the third frequency band is covered by the terminal antenna by using a resonance corresponding to a balanced mode and the resonance corresponding to the balanced mode is generated by the second radiator (page 12, last para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the third frequency band as suggested in Wang to the terminal antenna taught in Yan as claimed for the purpose of designing an antenna operating in multiple frequencies in order to improve the wireless communication of the antenna.
Although the combination of Yan and Wang does not explicitly disclose the third frequency band is different from the first frequency band or the second frequency band, it is implied that the third frequency band is different from the first frequency band or the second frequency band because adding the second radiator would change the electric length of the antenna and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that changing the length of the antenna would change the operating frequency of the antenna.
Regarding claim 12, although the combination Yan and Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first frequency band, the second frequency band, and the third frequency band jointly cover 1.7 GHz to 2.7 GHz, Yan discloses the antenna can be configured to operate in 433MHz, 920MHz, 2.45GHz (page 3, last para) and Wang discloses the antenna can be configured to operate in 2620MHz to 2690MHz (page 7, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the frequency bands of the antenna taught in Yan and Wang to cover 1.7GHz to 2.7GHz as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired operating frequency range depending on the requirement of the application.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Kim et al, US-20080174503-A1, fig. 28, 29 could read on claim 1.
Lee et al, KR-20200088151-A, fig. 2 could read on claim 1.
Zhou et al, US-20240178556-A1, fig. 19: radiator has one end connecting to a feed point and one end connecting to a ground point with a plurality of capacitors in between
Shi, CN-210640362-U, fig. 1: radiator has one end connecting to a feed point and one end connecting to a ground point with a plurality of capacitors in between
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845