DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 04/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 7 and 9-10 have been amended. No New Claim has been canceled in this amendment. No New Claim has been added in this amendment. Claims 7 and 9-10 are pending in this application, with claims 7 and 9-10 being independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of Claims 7 and 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, the claim recites “. . a predetermined timer . .” which is unclear to relate to random access procedure
In claim 9, the claim recites “. . a predetermined timer . .” which is unclear to relate to random access procedure
In claim 10, the claim recites “. . a predetermined timer . .” which is unclear to relate to random access procedure
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2022/0132624 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Wu”) in view of Chang et al. (WO2022127731A1, hereinafter referred to as “Chang”) and further in view of KIM et al. (US 2021/0258844 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”) .
Regarding Claims 7 and 9-10, Wu discloses a terminal (Wu Fig.2 Para[0043-44] A terminal), a base station (Wu Fig.2 Para[0043-44] A base station), a method and a system (Wu Fig.2 Para[0043-44] A System) comprising: a receiver that receives a message including a reconfiguration instruction for a secondary cell group (Wu Fig.10 Para[0075-76] A RRC setup-cell group configuration (i.e. ReconfigurationWithsync) message is received from the base station); and a processor that, when adding the secondary cell while the secondary cell group is in an inactive state (Wu Fig.10 Para[0002,0075-76] The cell group configuration message includes special cell or secondary cell configuration (i.e. addition), The UE can be in RRC_inactive state), determines whether or not execution of a random access is required for activation of the secondary cell group based on a predetermined timer expires (Wu Fig.10 Para[0029,0075-76] The random access is performed after receiving the cell group configuration from the base station and when the UE determines that an uplink is not synchronized based on time alignment timer expired).
Wu does not explicitly disclose the predetermined timer is configured by a network through radio resource control layer, wherein the processor activates the secondary cell group without executing the random access when the timer is not expired, and activates the secondary cell group with executing the random access when the timer is expired.
However, Chang from the same field of invention discloses the predetermined timer is configured by a network through radio resource control layer (Chang Para[0056] The timers are provided to the UE via RRC message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu to have the feature of “the predetermined timer is configured by a network through radio resource control layer” as taught by Chang. The motivation would have been to reduce power consumption of a terminal (Chang Para[0002]).
Wu in view of Chang does not explicitly disclose herein the processor activates the secondary cell group without executing the random access when the timer is not expired, and activates the secondary cell group with executing the random access when the timer is expired.
However, Kim from the same field of invention discloses wherein the processor activates the secondary cell group without executing the random access when the timer is not expired, and activates the secondary cell group with executing the random access when the timer is expired (Kim Para[0126-138] The random access during PSCell modification which can be addition or modification uses timer T313 or T307 (i.e. predetermined timer) to perform or skip RACH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu and Chang to have the feature of “wherein the processor activates the secondary cell group without executing the random access when the timer is not expired, and activates the secondary cell group with executing the random access when the timer is expired” as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to prevent cell group change failure and terminal service delay (Kim Para[0010]).
Specifically for claims 7 and 10, Wu discloses the terminal that includes a processor (Wu Fig.2 Para[0043-44] A processor) and a receiver (Wu Fig.2 Para[0043-44] A transceiver).
Although specific columns, figures, reference numerals, lines of the reference(s), etc. have been referred to, Applicant should consider the entire applied prior art reference(s).
Conclusion
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415