DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 103 rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues in substance that combined teachings of Lin and Nam fail to disclose “receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB associated with the first numerology, information identifying time domain and frequency domain locations of one or more SSBs associated with a second numerology”
In response to argument, Examiner respectfully disagree. As the below paragraphs were previously cited in the Non-Final Office Action, wireless device, FIGs. 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 #18, performs synchronization with an SSB transmitted in an initial BWP, e.g. FIGs. 1, 7 #16-1, (see paragraph [0108] below) then the wireless device receives system information (see paragraph [0071]) that informs the wireless device about other BWPs, e.g. FIGs. 1, 7 #16-2 to 16-N, with each BWP associated with a particular numerology (see paragraphs [0070, 0072]). Additionally the SSB can provide the wireless device with frequency and timing information about other SSBs (see paragraphs [0096, 0100]).
[0071] No matter the particular nature of the BWPs as being downlink BWPs or uplink BWPs, the radio network node 12 in some embodiments informs the wireless device 18 about those BWPs by broadcasting system information 20 which indicates the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14. The system information 20 may indicate these multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N even though the system information 20 may be broadcast in only one downlink BWP of the cell 14, e.g., a so-called initial BWP. In some embodiments, the system information 20 is a Master Information Block (MIB) or a System Information Block of Type 1 (SIB1). As shown, for instance, the system information 20 includes BWP information 22 (e.g., in the form of one or more information elements, IEs) which indicates the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14.
[0072] The system information 20 may indicate the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N in the sense that the system information 20 indicates, for each of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, one or more parameters of that BWP. The one or more parameters of a BWP may include, for instance, an identity or index of the BWP, a location of the BWP in frequency, a bandwidth spanned by the BWP, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing, cyclic prefix length, etc. for the BWP), and/or a control resource set for the BWP.
[0070] According to some embodiments, the radio network node 12 is configured to inform a wireless device 18 about multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14. In some embodiments, the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N are multiple downlink BWPs, e.g., each dedicated for downlink communication from the radio network node 12 to the wireless device 18. In other embodiments, the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N are multiple uplink BWPs, e.g., each dedicated for uplink communication from the wireless device 18 to the radio network node 12. In any of the embodiments, though, each of the BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N is a respective subset of the total cell bandwidth 16 of the cell 14, e.g., included within the frequency span of the same carrier. In one such embodiment, each BWP is a contiguous subset of physical resource blocks (PRBs) defined for a given numerology on a given carrier, e.g., where a PRB is 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain. As shown, for example, BWP 16-1 spans from F_0 to F_1, BWP 16-2 spans from F_1 to F_2, and so on up to BWP 16-N spanning from F_(N-1) to F_N. Although illustrated here as non-overlapping or disjoint, the BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N in other embodiments may at least partially overlap with one another.
[0108] With SSBs 42-1, 42-2, . . . 42-X broadcast in this way, the wireless device 18 will search along a raster for an SSB. When the wireless device 18 finds and synchronizes to a suitable SSB, the wireless device 18 will read system information (e.g., in the form of a Master Information Block, MIB) included in that found SSB. This system information will provide the wireless device 18 with information needed to receive whichever of the SIBs 40-1, 40-2, . . . 40-X is broadcast in the same BWP as the BWP within which the wireless device 18 found the suitable SSB. In some embodiments, the wireless device 18 is configured to access, or camp on, the cell 14 using this BWP, e.g., from RRC idle state or RRC inactive state. In this case, then, the BWP serves as the initial BWP that the wireless device 18 uses to initially access the cell 14 from RRC idle. Correspondingly, with multiple SSBs 42-1, 42-2, . . . 42-X and SIBs 40-1, 40-2, . . . 40-X broadcast in respective BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N for the cell 14, the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N may be referred to as multiple initial BWPs for the same cell 14
[0096] Regardless, according to some embodiments in FIG. 4, the radio network node 12 informs the wireless device 18 of respective frequency positions of the multiple SSBs 34-1, 34-2, . . . 34-M for the cell 14. As shown, for example, the radio network node 12 broadcasts system information 30 for the cell 14, e.g., in the form of a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). The system information 30 may be the same as or different from the system information 20 described in FIGS. 1-3. Regardless, this system information 30 indicates (e.g., via SSB information 32) respective frequency positions FP_1, FP_2, . . . FP_M of the multiple SSBs 34-1, 34-2, . . . 34-M for the cell 14. The frequency position of each SSB may be indicated by an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN). Alternatively, since the system information 30 may include frequency information about the carrier, the frequency position of each SSB may be indicated relative to the carrier frequency position. In one example, the system information 30 indicates which subcarrier or resource block in the carrier is the starting subcarrier or resource block of each SSB. In another example, a bitmap, where each bit indicates a subcarrier or a resource block of the carrier, is used to indicate the SSB frequency positions. A value of “1” in the bitmap indicates the corresponding subcarrier or resource block is the starting point of an SSB.
[0100] Note further that the system information 30 may indicate the SSB frequency positions FP_1, FP_2, . . . FP_M in conjunction with indicating the positions of the SSBs in time as well. That is, SSB positions in both time and frequency for the cell 14 may be signalled to the wireless device 18, which may in turn take into account multiple SSBs in frequency for data channel mapping.
Nam is brought in to disclose receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB which is not expressly taught by Lin. Hence combined teachings of Lin and Nam teaches every limitation of claim 1 as claimed.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112, 6th except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112, 6th except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
The limitation of claim 42 that recites “means for receiving” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (sixth paragraph) because it uses a generic placeholder "means" couple with the functional language “receiving” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structure modifier. A review of the specification shows that transceiver (see [0063] USPN 20240147544) is associated with this feature.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 20-22, 32, 33-36, 40, 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (USPN 20230119744) in view of Nam (USPN 20190068348).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses
a wireless node, comprising: (wireless device, FIG. 15 #1510, comprising [0141-0144]
at least one transceiver (transceiver, FIG. 15 #1522 [0162]
one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the wireless node to: (memory, FIG. 15 #1530, comprising instructions executed by processor, FIG. 15 #1530, to perform operations [0160, 0163]
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a first numerology (wireless device receives MIB comprised in PBCH portion of SSB, via transceiver, FIG. 15 #1522, associated with initial BWP A associated with a numerology [0108, 0109, 0070, 0071, 0105-0108], FIGs. 4-7
SSB associated with the first numerology, information identifying time domain and frequency domain locations of one or more SSBs associated with a second numerology (system information/SIB1 transmitted in initial BWP, from network node system information identifying time and frequency locations of SSBs with each SSB associated with a BWP and a respective numerology [0071, 0072, 0094-0096, 0100, 0101, 0105-0108], FIGs. 4-7
Lin does not expressly disclose receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB
Nam discloses receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB (UE receives from base station via transceiver SIB1 based in part on PBCH of SSB [0005, 0007, 0117-0121], FIG. 8
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB” as taught by Nam into Lin’s system with the motivation to enable a UE to receive SIB1 system information based on SSB/SS/PBCH (Nam, paragraph [0005, 0007, 0117-0121], FIG. 8).
Claim 20 is rejected based on similar ground(s) provided in rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 33, Lin discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising: (memory, FIG. 15 #1530, comprising [0163]
instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless node, cause the wireless node to: (instructions executed by processor, FIG. 15 #1530, to perform operations [0160, 0163], FIGs. 4-7
receive, via at least one transceiver, a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a first numerology (wireless device receives MIB comprised in PBCH portion of SSB, via transceiver, FIG. 15 #1522, associated with initial BWP A associated with a numerology [0108, 0109, 0070, 0071]
SSB associated with the first numerology, information identifying time domain and frequency domain locations of one or more SSBs associated with a second numerology (system information/SIB1 transmitted in initial BWP, from network node system information identifying time and frequency locations of SSBs with each SSB associated with a BWP and a respective numerology [0071, 0072, 0094-0096, 0100, 0101, 0105-0108], FIGs. 4-7
Lin does not expressly disclose receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB
Nam discloses receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB (UE receives from base station via transceiver SIB1 based in part on PBCH of SSB [0005, 0007, 0117-0121], FIG. 8
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB” as taught by Nam into Lin’s system with the motivation to enable a UE to receive SIB1 system information based on SSB/SS/PBCH (Nam, paragraph [0005, 0007, 0117-0121], FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 42, Lin discloses
a wireless node, comprising: (wireless device, FIG. 15 #1510, comprising [0141-0144]
means for receiving a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a first numerology (wireless device receives MIB comprised in PBCH portion of SSB, via transceiver, FIG. 15 #1522, associated with initial BWP A associated with a numerology [0108, 0109, 0070, 0071], FIGs. 4-7
SSB associated with the first numerology, information identifying time domain and frequency domain locations of one or more SSBs associated with a second numerology (system information/SIB1 transmitted in initial BWP, from network node system information identifying time and frequency locations of SSBs with each SSB associated with a BWP and a respective numerology [0071, 0072, 0094-0096, 0100, 0101, 0105-0108], FIGs. 4-7
Lin does not expressly disclose means for receiving, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB
Nam discloses means for receiving, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB (transceiver, FIG. 3 #310, receives from base station via transceiver SIB1 based in part on PBCH of SSB [0005, 0007, 0117-0121], FIG. 8
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a base station and based at least in part on the SSB” as taught by Nam into Lin’s system with the motivation to enable a UE to receive SIB1 system information based on SSB/SS/PBCH (Nam, paragraph [0005, 0007, 0117-0121], FIG. 8).
Regarding claims 2, 21, 34, Lin discloses “perform, via the at least one transceiver, an initial access procedure using an SSB of the one or more SSBs associated with the second numerology based at least in part on the information identifying the time domain and frequency domain locations of the one or more SSBs associated with the second numerology” wireless device performs random access using a suitable SSB found based on time/frequency information provided by system information, the suitable SSB associated with another BWP and another numerology [0108, 0072, 0084-0086]
Regarding claims 3, 22, 35, Lin discloses “receive the information identifying the time domain and frequency domain locations of the one or more SSBs associated with the second numerology via a system information block (SIB) associated with the first numerology” system information transmitted in initial BWP corresponding to a numerology, from network node system information/SIB1 identifying time and frequency locations of SSBs with each SSB associated with a BWP and a respective numerology [0071, 0072, 0094-0096, 0100, 0101, 0105-0108], FIGs. 4-7
Regarding claims 4, 36, Lin discloses “wherein the system information is one of remaining minimum system information (RMSI)” system information being RMSI [0095]
Regarding claims 8, 32, 40, Lin discloses “wherein the system information identifies the time domain and frequency domain locations of one or more nearest available SSBs associated with the second numerology” system information transmitted in initial BWP, identifying time and frequency locations of SSBs in the same cell with each SSB associated with a BWP and a respective numerology [0071, 0072, 0094-0096, 0100, 0101, 0105-0108], FIGs. 4-7
Claims 5, 6, 23, 31, 37, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Nam as applied to claims 1, 20, 33 and further view of Jiang (USPN 20230269768).
Regarding claims 5, 23, 37, Lin discloses “one or more SSBs associated with the second numerology” SSB associated with a BWP and a respective numerology [0071, 0072, 0094-0096, 0100, 0101, 0105-0108], FIGs. 4-7
“random access channel (RACH) procedure initiated” wireless device performs random access based on SSB associated with a numerology [0108, 0072, 0084-0086]
Combined system of Lin and Nam does not expressly disclose “receive during a random access channel (RACH) procedure, the information via a message”
Jiang discloses terminal receiving information associated with other SSBs in a MSGB message from base station [0127-0130, 0044, 0073, 0085]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “receive during a random access channel (RACH) procedure, the information via a message” as taught by Jiang into combined system of Lin and Nam with the motivation to enable a base station to provide location information regarding other SSBs to a UE (Jiang, paragraph [0127-0130, 0044, 0073, 0085]).
Regarding claims 6, 31, 38, combined system of Lin and Nam does not expressly disclose “wherein the message is a MsgB communication”
Jiang discloses terminal receiving information associated with other SSBs in a MSGB message from base station [0127-0130, 0044, 0073, 0085]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the message is a MsgB communication” as taught by Jiang into combined system of Lin and Nam with the motivation to enable a base station to provide location information regarding other SSBs to a UE (Jiang, paragraph [0127-0130, 0044, 0073, 0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 24, 25, 39, 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469