DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 11/21/2025.
In the instant Amendment, claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 15, and 18-19 have been amended; claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 15, and 18-19 are currently amended; and claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent claims. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) is withdrawn as the claims have been amended.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, which were necessitated by amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David Hovel et al. (WO 01/69387; Hereinafter “Hovel”) in view of Jain et al. (US 2023/0017196; Hereinafter “Jain”).
Regarding claim 1, Hovel teaches a system to facilitate adaptive control of operations of a mobile device, the system comprising: one or more processing devices; and memory communicatively coupled with and readable by the one or more processing devices and having stored therein processor-readable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising:
detecting a communication received by the mobile device, the communication received via one or more networks (Hovel: Page 7, Lines 6-10, The sources are also referred to as event publishers, while the sinks are also referred to as event subscribers. There can be any number of sinks and sources. In general, the notification manager 24 conveys notifications, which are also referred to as events or alerts, from the sources 26-28 to the sinks 36-38, based in part 10 on parametric information stored in and/or accessed by the context analyzer 22.);
where the at least one operational adjustment rule comprises criteria for identifying one or more operational adjustments from a plurality of operational adjustments (Hovel: Page 22, Lines 20-30, Referring to Fig. 7, a diagram illustrates an exemplary hierarchical ordered set of rules 130. The set of rules 130 depicts rules 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137 and 138, for example. Page 23, Lines 1-18, Page 8, Lines 9-30, The analyzer may also employ a statistical model to determine the likelihood that the user is in a given state of attention by considering background assessments and/or observations gathered through considering such information as the type of day, the time of day, the data in the user's calendar, and observations about the user's activity. The given state of attention can include whether the user is open to receiving notification, busy and not open to receiving notification, and can include other considerations such as weekdays, weekends, holidays, and/or other occasions/periods. Page 9, Lines 1-31, Desktop-centric notifications can include an automated dialog with the goal of alerting a user to a potentially valuable service that he or she may wish to execute (e.g., scheduling from a message), information that the 10 user may desire to review (e.g., derived from a background query), or errors and/or other alerts generated by a desktop computer. Internet-related services can include notifications including information that the user has subscribed to, such as headlines of current news every so often, and stock quotes, for example. Other notifications can include background queries (e.g., while the user is 15 working, text that the user is currently working on may be reviewed, such that background queries regarding the text are formulated and issued to search engines), and scheduling tasks from a scheduling and/or other program. Notification sources 26-28 can themselves be push-type or pull-type sources. [operational adjustment may include transmission of a notification to the user when a location criteria is satisfied based on the rules] Page. 10, Lines 1-8, Page 7, Lines 12-23, For example, the parameters may include contextual information, such as the user's typical locations and attentional focus or activities per the time of day and the day of the week, and additional parameters conditioned on such parameters, such as the devices users tend to have access to in different locations. Such parameters may also be functions of observations made autonomously via one or more sensors. For example, one or more profiles (not shown) maybe selected or modified based on information about a user's location as can be provided by a global positioning system (OPS) subsystem, on information about the type of device being used and/or the pattern of usage of the device, and the last time a device of a particular type was accessed by the user. Furthermore, as is described in more detail below, automated inference may also be employed, to dynamically infer parameters or states such as location and attention. Page 12, Lines 21-29, Furthermore, the notification manager 24 can access information stored in a user profile by the context analyzer 22 in lieu of or to support a personalized decision theoretic analysis. Page 13, Lines 1-15);
using the criteria to identify the one or more operational adjustments from the plurality of operational adjustments (Hovel: Page 11, Lines 19-28, Inferences made about uncertainties thus may be generated as expected 20 likelihoods of values such as the cost of disruption to the user with the use of a particular mode of a particular device given some attentional state of the user, for example. The notification manager 24 can make decisions as to one or more of the following: • what the user is currently attending to and doing (based on, for example, 25 contextual information); • where the user currently is;); and
responsive to the detecting the communication, causing the one or more operational adjustments to the mobile device in accordance with the at least one operational adjustment rule (Hovel: Page 10, Lines 8-24, Thus, notifications can be conveyed by the desktop computer to the user in a relatively rich manner. Conversely, many cell phones have a smaller display that can be black and white, and receive information at a relatively lower bandwidth, for example. Correspondingly, the information associated with notifications conveyed by cell phones may generally be shorter and geared towards the phone's interface capabilities, for example. Thus, the content of a notification may differ depending on whether it is to be sent to a cell phone or a desktop computer. According to one aspect of the present invention, a notification sink can refer to that which subscribes, via an event subscription service, for example, to events or notifications. Page 22, Lines 20-30, Page 23, Lines 1-18, Page 8, Lines 9-30, Page 9, Lines 1-31, Page 10, Lines 1-8), where:
the one or more operational adjustments comprise controlling whether to render one or more content objects on a screen of the mobile device in response to the mobile device receiving the communication and/or to perform one or more preemptive operations in response to the mobile device receiving the communication (Hovel: Page 10, Lines 8-24, The notification sinks 36-38 are able to provide notifications to the user. For example, such notification sinks 36-38 can include computers, such as desktop and/or laptop computers, handheld computers, cell phones, landline phones, pagers, automotive-based computers, as well as other systems/applications as can be appreciated. It is noted that some of the sinks 36-38 can convey notifications more richly than other of the sinks. For example, a desktop computer typically has speakers and a relatively large color display coupled thereto, as well as having a higher bandwidth for receiving information when coupled to a local network or to the Internet. Thus, notifications can be conveyed by the desktop computer to the user in a relatively rich manner. Conversely, many cell phones have a smaller display that can be black and white, and receive information at a relatively lower bandwidth, for example. Correspondingly, the information associated with notifications conveyed by cell phones may generally be shorter and geared towards the phone's interface capabilities, for example. Thus, the content of a notification may differ depending on whether it is to be sent to a cell phone or a desktop computer. According to one aspect of the present invention, a notification sink can refer to that which subscribes, via an event subscription service, for example, to events or notifications. Page 10, Lines 25-31, The notification manager 24 accesses the information stored and/or determined by the context analyzer, and determines which of the notifications received from the sources 26-28 to convey to which of the sinks 36-38. Furthermore, the notification manager 24 can dete1mine how the notification is to be conveyed, depending on which of the sinks 36-38 has been selected to send the information to. For example, it may be determined that notifications should be summarized before being provided to a selected sinks 36-38); and
the mobile device consequently renders the one or more content objects on the screen of the mobile device and/or performs the one or more preemptive operations (Hovel: Page 10, Lines 8-24, The notification sinks 36-38 are able to provide notifications to the user. For example, such notification sinks 36-38 can include computers, such as desktop and/or laptop computers, handheld computers, cell phones, landline phones, pagers, automotive-based computers, as well as other systems/applications as can be appreciated. Conversely, many cell phones have a smaller display that can be black and white, and receive information at a relatively lower bandwidth, for example. Correspondingly, the information associated with notifications conveyed by cell phones may generally be shorter and geared towards the phone's interface capabilities, for example.).
Hovel does not explicitly teach determining an operational adjustment rule based at least in part on observation data indicating one or more user-initiated operations of a mobile device correlated to one or more locations; mapping a location of the mobile device to the at least one operational adjustment rule.
In an analogous art Jain teaches determining an operational adjustment rule based at least in part on observation data indicating one or more user-initiated operations of a mobile device correlated to one or more locations (Jain: Para. [0208], The adjustments to rules can, in turn, change various aspects of the program. For example, adjustments can specify (i) different collections of content items to provide as part of a program, (ii) different interactivity settings that coordinate the presentation of content items on an interface of the application, (iii) different arrangements of previously provided content items, among others. [rules include operational adjustment rule limitation] Para. [0283], In some implementations, the data identifying the selected one or more user-selectable tracks for display at the client device associated with the particular other user includes: a data package including content for the current segment, the current track, and the current level in the program for the particular user; an instruction for the mobile computing device associated with the particular user to clear a program data cache of the application of the mobile computing device; and a set of rules corresponding to the current segment, the current track, and the current level in the program for the particular user, the set of rules specifying adjustment techniques used by the application of the mobile computing device to customize the content for the current segment, the current track, and the current level in the program for the particular user. Para. [0378], For example, such performance categories can include the level of user interactivity on the application (e.g., number and type of user responses after receiving communications), adherence to specified program criteria (e.g., taking medications as instructed in accordance with a treatment plan), or patterns of passively determined user behaviors that indicate engagement or lack of engagement (e.g., consistency of periodic user input that reflects a user's participation), among others. Measurements relating to the user's performance with respect to such performance categories are then used to determine a user's preferences for receiving information. This enables the system to determine the type of content to send to the user during specific circumstances, and an optimal time period in which to send the content responsive to a particular user context. [user interactivity including responses and patterns are utilized to determine content provisioning to a particular user context meets observation data indicating user-initiated operations] Para. [0379], the system may receive context data indicating a particular location associated with the user, prior applications used by the user, or other types of information indicating external circumstances beyond the user's activity on the application. [user location is included in the context data determined while], Para. [0380], Para. [0393], [0169]);
mapping a location of the mobile device to the at least one operational adjustment rule (Jain: Para. [0379], Para. [0208], The adjustments to rules can, in turn, change various aspects of the program. For example, adjustments can specify (i) different collections of content items to provide as part of a program, (ii) different interactivity settings that coordinate the presentation of content items on an interface of the application, (iii) different arrangements of previously provided content items, among others. Para. [0209], Para. [0495], In FIG. 23, the application receives pedometer data 2316 indicating the user's current number of steps taken and location data 2318 indicating the user's current location. The form definition 2312 may direct the application to provide an interface to collect activity data and nutrition data from the user. [location data such as the user’s current location is correlated to determining presentation of content items on an interface, rule (ii) or adjustments to content items to provide as part of a program, rule (i) ] Para. [0495], The application generates the user interface 2310c to exclude the “activity level” form element, thus simplifying the view shown to the user. In this this regard, data received from external sources (e.g., wearable devices wirelessly connected to the user device, third party application programming interfaces (APIs), and sensors of the user device) can be used to dynamically generate electronic forms to minimize unnecessary user input. If the pedometer data 2316 or other data were not available to the application, then a different user interface including a request for activity level data would be provided. The form definition 2312, may indicate that the application should acquire information from certain data sources. In addition, or as an alternative, the form definition 2312 may indicate certain types of data to acquire, and the application may include data separate from the form definition 2312 that specifies sources from which to acquire that data, such as a mapping between data types and data sources. Para. [0299], In other instances, the arrangement specification can be specified on the attributes of an individual user (e.g., age, gender, location, etc.) such that the arrangement specification can be used to personalized a collection of tracks that are provided to each individual user. Para. [0377], However, other users respond better to a reminder at the beginning of the day, or a reminder thirty minutes beforehand, or a reminder in a particular location.);
where the at least one operational adjustment rule comprises criteria for identifying one or more operational adjustments from a plurality of operational adjustments (Jain: Para. [0168], In this regard, some rules can be applied to make general adjustments (e.g., providing notification badges, or adjusting content provided), whereas other rules can be applied as context-specific changes that respond to user behavior. Para. [0169], Para. [0379]-[0380], Para. [0181], Para. [0169], data indicating one or more rules and, for each of the one or more rules, data that specifies (i) at least one trigger or condition, and (ii) one or more system actions to be performed in response to a satisfaction of the at least one trigger or condition; receiving, by the one or more computers and from multiple client devices, activity data indicating user interaction with the application or sensor data for at least some of the plurality of users of the application; determining, by the one or more computers, that the activity data for a first subset of the plurality of the users satisfies the at least one condition or trigger and that the activity data for a second subset of the plurality of the users does not satisfy the at least one condition or trigger; and communicating, by the one or more computers, with client devices associated with the users in the first subset to adjust output of the application according to the one or more system actions of the one or more rules, while not adjusting the output of the application for the users in the second subset based on the one or more rules. [criteria may include trigger and conditions for rules] );
using the criteria to identify the one or more operational adjustments from the plurality of operational adjustments (Jain: Para. [0379], For example, the system may receive context data indicating a particular location associated with the user, prior applications used by the user, or other types of information indicating external circumstances beyond the user's activity on the application. The system then determines a set of responsiveness scores indicating a respective likelihood that a particular communication type and/or content type will improve the user's engagement in the application with respect to a particular performance category. Para. [0380], In response to receiving context data indicating the location of the user, current activity of the user and the user's current performance relative to the fitness goal, the system can transmit different types of communication that engage the user in different ways based on the user's current context. For instance, if the user's current context indicates that he/she has limited availability to interact with the application and that his/her performance is below the specified fitness goal for a specified period of time, the system sends a text-based message to encourage the user to improve performance to adhere to the goal. In another instance, if the user's current context indicates that he/she has greater ability to interact with the application, the system may instead send a video message that is directed to improving user performances. In these two scenarios, the user's availability to interact is used to compute respective responsiveness scores associated with each type of content (e.g., text or audio content), and automatically send the most appropriate content indicated by the values associated with the respective responsiveness scores. Para. [0380], Para. [0131], Para. [0167], Para. [0169]).
responsive to the detecting the communication, causing the one or more operational adjustments to the mobile device in accordance with the at least one operational adjustment rule (Jain: Para. [0379], In another instance, if the user's current context indicates that he/she has greater ability to interact with the application, the system may instead send a video message that is directed to improving user performances. In these two scenarios, the user's availability to interact is used to compute respective responsiveness scores associated with each type of content (e.g., text or audio content), and automatically send the most appropriate content indicated by the values associated with the respective responsiveness scores. Para. [0380], Para. [0131], Para. [0167], Para. [0169]);
the one or more operational adjustments comprise controlling whether to render one or more content objects on a screen of the mobile device in response to the mobile device receiving the communication and/or to perform one or more preemptive operations in response to the mobile device receiving the communication (Jain: Para. [0208], The adjustments to rules can, in turn, change various aspects of the program. For example, adjustments can specify (i) different collections of content items to provide as part of a program, (ii) different interactivity settings that coordinate the presentation of content items on an interface of the application, (iii) different arrangements of previously provided content items, among others. [rules include operational adjustment rule limitation] . Para. [0380], In response to receiving context data indicating the location of the user, current activity of the user and the user's current performance relative to the fitness goal, the system can transmit different types of communication that engage the user in different ways based on the user's current context. For instance, if the user's current context indicates that he/she has limited availability to interact with the application and that his/her performance is below the specified fitness goal for a specified period of time, the system sends a text-based message to encourage the user to improve performance to adhere to the goal. In another instance, if the user's current context indicates that he/she has greater ability to interact with the application, the system may instead send a video message that is directed to improving user performances. In these two scenarios, the user's availability to interact is used to compute respective responsiveness scores associated with each type of content (e.g., text or audio content), and automatically send the most appropriate content indicated by the values associated with the respective responsiveness scores.);
the mobile device consequently renders the one or more content objects on the screen of the mobile device and/or performs the one or more preemptive operations (Jain: Para. [0169], data indicating one or more rules and, for each of the one or more rules, data that specifies (i) at least one trigger or condition, and (ii) one or more system actions to be performed in response to a satisfaction of the at least one trigger or condition; receiving, by the one or more computers and from multiple client devices, activity data indicating user interaction with the application or sensor data for at least some of the plurality of users of the application; determining, by the one or more computers, that the activity data for a first subset of the plurality of the users satisfies the at least one condition or trigger and that the activity data for a second subset of the plurality of the users does not satisfy the at least one condition or trigger; and communicating, by the one or more computers, with client devices associated with the users in the first subset to adjust output of the application according to the one or more system actions of the one or more rules, while not adjusting the output of the application for the users in the second subset based on the one or more rules.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jain with the method and system of Hovel to include determining an operational adjustment rule based at least in part on observation data indicating one or more user-initiated operations of a mobile device correlated to one or more locations; mapping a location of the mobile device to the at least one operational adjustment rule because this functionality provides eliminating unhelpful outputs that are unlikely to assist the user while conserving battery power, processing cycles, and network bandwidth (Jain: Para. [0381]).
Regarding claim 2, Hovel, in combination with Jain, teaches the system to facilitate adaptive control of operations of a mobile device as recited in claim 1, the operations further comprising: detecting a digital identifier corresponding to the communication, where the digital identifier corresponding to an entity specification mapped to the communication (Hovel: Page 14, Lines 17-31 and Page 15, Lines 1-3, Furthermore, the invention is not limited to a particular number or type of context sources 60, nor the type of information inferred or accessed by the user context module 54. However, the context sources 60 can include multiple desktop information and events, such as mouse information, keyboard information, application information (e.g., which application is currently receiving the focus of the user), ambient sound and utterance information, text information in the windows on the desktop, for example. [Application Information meets the digital identifier limitation] Page 15, Lines 4-21, Other types of context sources 60 includes personal-information manager (PIM) information of the user, which generally can provide scheduling information regarding the schedule of the user, for example. The current time of day, as well as the user's location- for example, determined by a global positioning system (GPS), and/or a user's access of a cell phone, or a laptop that can be locationally determined- are also types of context sources 60. Furthermore, real-time mobile device usage is a type 10 of context source 60. For example, a mobile device such as a cell phone can determine if it is currently being accessed by the user, as well as device orientation and tilt ( e.g., indicating information regarding device usage as well), and acceleration and speed (e.g., indicating information as to whether the user is moving or not). Referring now to Fig. 3, the notification sources described above are illustrated in more detail. The notification sources 26-28 typically generate notifications that are conveyed to the notification manager 24, which determines when notifications should occur, and, if so, which of the notifications should be conveyed to which of the notification sinks 36-38 and in what order. According to one aspect of the present invention, notification sources 26-28 can have one or more of the following paran1eters within a standard description of attributes and relationships, referred to herein as a notification source schema or source schema. Page 15, Lines 19-30).
Regarding claim 3, Hovel, in combination with Jain, teaches the system to facilitate adaptive control of operations of a mobile device as recited in claim 2, where the operational adjustment rule identified is partially as a function of one or both of the digital identifier and the entity specification (Hovel: Page 10, Lines 8-24, The notification sinks 36-38 are able to provide notifications to the user. For example, such notification sinks 36-38 can include computers, such as desktop and/or laptop computers, handheld computers, cell phones, landline phones, pagers, automotive-based computers, as well as other systems/applications as can be appreciated. It is noted that some of the sinks 36-38 can convey notifications more richly than other of the sinks. Thus, the content of a notification may differ depending on whether it is to be sent to a cell phone or a desktop computer. According to one aspect of the present invention, a notification sink can refer to that which subscribes, via an event subscription service, for example, to events or notifications. Page 10, Lines 25-31, The notification manager 24 accesses the information stored and/or determined by the context analyzer, and determines which of the notifications received from the sources 26-28 to convey to which of the sinks 36-38. Furthermore, the notification manager 24 can dete1mine how the notification is to be conveyed, depending on which of the sinks 36-38 has been selected to send the information to. For example, it may be determined that notifications should be summarized before being provided to a selected sinks 36-38. Page 18, Lines 3-30, Page 42, Lines 6-31).
Regarding claims 8-10, claims 8-10 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-3, respectively.
Regarding claims 15-17, claims 15-17 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-3, respectively.
Claim(s) 4-7, 11-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David Hovel et al. (WO 01/69387; Hereinafter “Hovel”) in view of Loeb et al. (US 2017/0099592; Hereinafter “Loeb”).
Regarding claim 4, Hovel, in combination with Jain, teaches the system to facilitate adaptive control of operations of a mobile device as recited in claim 2. Hovel does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising: monitoring data received by the mobile device; and based at least in part on the monitoring, detecting the digital identifier corresponding to the communication.
In an analogous art, Loeb teaches the operations further comprising: monitoring data received by the mobile device; and based at least in part on the monitoring, detecting the digital identifier corresponding to the communication (Loeb: Para. [0128], FIG. 6 illustrates an example event ranking and summary module 600. Event ranking and summary module 600 may be used in the context of service architecture 200 (e.g., as event ranking summary module 230, FIG. 2) and may extract metadata from various types of applications or application events (e.g., Unified Communications (UC), social network, mobile applications and games) and convert the metadata to multi-dimensional attributes in a structured format that may be used as an input event to an event evaluator. Para. [0130], Metadata 605 may include application parameters such as originator application; recipient application, social distance, social follower count, geospatial distance, application name, message importance, and anticipation level. Originator application metadata (i.e. metadata relating to an application sending a message or generating an event) may include a name and type of the application, including identifiers for in-app or in-game tasks. Recipient application metadata (i.e. metadata relating to an application receiving a message or event) may include a name and type of the application, including identifiers for in-app or in-game tasks. Para. [0131], Geospatial distance metadata may include, for example, a geolocation separation distance between originator sending a message and destination device receiving the message. Application name metadata may include an in-app or in-game task identifier for the application that invoked the notification, e.g., email, Facebook, Twitter, App_1_In-App_Task_2, etc . . . }. Message importance metadata may include an importance indicator as set by the application that sent the notification (e.g., priority in an email message).)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Loeb with the system and method of Hovel and Jain to include the operations further comprising: monitoring data received by the mobile device; and based at least in part on the monitoring, detecting the digital identifier corresponding to the communication because this functionality provides for customized notification settings to prevent constant application interruptions (Loeb: Para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Hovel, in combination with Jain, teaches the system to facilitate adaptive control of operations of a mobile device as recited in claim 2. Hovel does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising: accessing a second set of one or more rules specified by a protocol record stored in a memory device of the mobile device, the second set of one or more rules comprising second criteria for recognizing entities; and using the second criteria to analyze the digital identifier to map the digital identifier to the entity specification.
In an analogous art, Hovel teaches further comprising: accessing a second set of one or more rules specified by a protocol record stored in a memory device of the mobile device, the second set of one or more rules comprising second criteria for recognizing entities; and using the second criteria to analyze the digital identifier to map the digital identifier to the entity specification (Hovel: Page 22, Lines 20-30, Referring to Fig. 7, a diagram illustrates an exemplary hierarchical ordered set of rules 130. The set of rules 130 depicts rules 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137 and 138, for example. Page 23, Lines 1-18, Page 8, Lines 9-30, The analyzer may also employ a statistical model to determine the likelihood that the user is in a given state of attention by considering background assessments and/or observations gathered through considering such information as the type of day, the time of day, the data in the user's calendar, and observations about the user's activity. The given state of attention can include whether the user is open to receiving notification, busy and not open to receiving notification, and can include other considerations such as weekdays, weekends, holidays, and/or other occasions/periods. Page 9, Lines 1-31, Desktop-centric notifications can include an automated dialog with the goal of alerting a user to a potentially valuable service that he or she may wish to execute (e.g., scheduling from a message), information that the 10 user may desire to review (e.g., derived from a background query), or errors and/or other alerts generated by a desktop computer. Internet-related services can include notifications including information that the user has subscribed to, such as headlines of current news every so often, and stock quotes, for example. Other notifications can include background queries (e.g., while the user is 15 working, text that the user is currently working on may be reviewed, such that background queries regarding the text are formulated and issued to search engines), and scheduling tasks from a scheduling and/or other program. Notification sources 26-28 can themselves be push-type or pull-type sources. [operational adjustment may include transmission of a notification to the user when a location criteria is satisfied based on the rules] Page. 10, Lines 1-8, Page 30, Lines 1-17, Page 44, Lines 10-31, Page 11, Lines 19-28, Page 10, Lines 8-24, Page 22, Lines 20-30, Page 23, Lines 1-18, Page 8, Lines 9-30, Page 9, Lines 1-31, Page 10, Lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Loeb with the system and method of Hovel and Jain to include the operations further comprising: accessing a second set of one or more rules specified by a protocol record stored in a memory device of the mobile device, the second set of one or more rules comprising second criteria for recognizing entities; and using the second criteria to analyze the digital identifier to map the digital identifier to the entity specification because this functionality provides for customized notification settings to prevent constant application interruptions (Loeb: Para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Hovel, in combination with Jain and Loeb, teaches the system to facilitate adaptive control of operations of a mobile device as recited in claim 5, the operations further comprising: collecting a set of observation data corresponding to one or more operations of the mobile device in one or more locations corresponding to the location (Hovel: Page 50, Lines 10-19, In one aspect, there is more than one summary page, wherein respective pages can contain clusters of sets of information, including related information that is chunked - for example, a summary page for substantially all communications (e.g., instant messages, e-mail, incoming telephone calls), and/or a summary for substantially all automated services. Furthermore, in 15 accordance with another aspect of the invention, there can be explicit sets of controls that enable the user to stop the cycling of information, to click rapidly through the cycle and pause wherein he or she desires to pause, and/or to drill down for other information. In one aspect, the information presented by stream-cycling can be displayed on a separate display. Page 3, Lines 7-30, As described above, the context analyzer determines the current context of the 30 user, such as the user's current location and attentional state. The determined context).
Regarding claim 7, Hovel, in combination with Jain and Loeb, teaches the system to facilitate adaptive control of operations of a mobile device as recited in claim 6, the operations further comprising:
determining a particularized pattern of operations of the mobile device based at least in part on analyzing the set of observation data to correlate the one or more operations of the mobile device, the one or more locations, and one or more corresponding times (Hovel: Page 7, Lines 11-28, The context analyzer 22 stores/analyzes information regarding variables and parameters of a user that influence notification decision-making. For example, the parameters may include contextual information, such as the user's typical locations and attentional focus or activities per the time of day and the day of the week, and additional parameters conditioned on such parameters, such as the devices users tend to have access to in different locations. Such parameters may also be functions of observations made autonomously via one or more sensors. For example, one or more profiles (not shown) maybe selected or modified based on information about a user's location as can be provided by a global positioning system (OPS) subsystem, on information about the type of device being used and/or the pattern of usage of the device, and the last time a device of a particular type was accessed by the user. Furthermore, as is described in more detail below, automated inference may also be employed, to dynamically infer parameters or states such as location and attention. The profile parameters may be stored as a user profile that can be edited by the user. Beyond relying on sets of predefined profiles or dynamic inference, the notification architecture can enable users to specify in real-time his or her state, such as the user not being available except for important notifications for the next "x" hours, or until a given time, for example. Page 25, Lines 1-27);
where the operational adjustment rule is learned by the one or more processing devices based at least in part on the particularized pattern of operations of the mobile device (Hovel: Page 10, Lines 8-24, Thus, notifications can be conveyed by the desktop computer to the user in a relatively rich manner. Conversely, many cell phones have a smaller display that can be black and white, and receive information at a relatively lower bandwidth, for example. Correspondingly, the information associated with notifications conveyed by cell phones may generally be shorter and geared towards the phone's interface capabilities, for example. Thus, the content of a notification may differ depending on whether it is to be sent to a cell phone or a desktop computer. According to one aspect of the present invention, a notification sink can refer to that which subscribes, via an event subscription service, for example, to events or notifications. Page 22, Lines 20-30, Page 23, Lines 1-18, Page 8, Lines 9-30, Page 9, Lines 1-31, Page 10, Lines 1-8).
Regarding claims 11-14, claims 11-14 are rejected under the same rational as claims 4-7, respectively.
Regarding claims 18-20, claims 18-20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 4-6, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NELSON GIDDINS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408