DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 06/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 are still pending.
Response to Arguments
The examiner withdraws 112(a) and 112(b) rejections based on applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 that Shimada merely discloses that power obtained by superimposing the power for charging the battery Bt and the power for driving the rotating electrical machine MG is supplied to the battery Bt. That is, in Shimada, the object to which power is supplied is the battery Bt, not the motor. Yuji fails to cure the deficiencies of Shimada. Accordingly, even if combined, Yuji and Shimada fail to disclose or suggest the features of “circuitry configured to output the second power to the motor, the second power including driving power for the motor and the first power superimposed on the driving power for the motor, wherein the circuitry adjusts the first power to be superimposed on the driving power for the motor by controlling a d-axis current value in a driving current for the motor’, as recited in amended claim 1.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
The examiner wants to clarify that item 41 controls currents and generates signal Suvw to control the motor (MG) according to Fig. 1. Therefore, arguments are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/520,874. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim 1 and claim 1 of the copending application are basically the same besides few wording changes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUJI WO 2019163000A1 in a view of Shimada et al. US 2014/0145660 A1.
Regarding claim 1, YUJI discloses
A driver (Fig. 1, item 10) for supplying driving power to a motor (Item 50) that extracts first power from second power (DC power) and supplies the extracted first power (power supplies to item 17) to an external device (Item 17)
YUJI does not disclose but Shimada discloses the driver comprising: an circuitry (Fig, 1, item 30 and IN) configured to output the second power to the motor (Item MG), the second power including driving power (Currents drive the motor MG) for the motor and the first power (Currents Iu, Iv, and Iw) superimposed on the driving power (Current Iqc) of the motor (The power from Bt is combined with voltages of an inverter), wherein the circuitry adjusts the first power to be superimposed (Via feedback within item 41) on the driving power for the motor by controlling a d-axis current value in a driving current for the motor. [0030, 0050-0055, 0061-0063]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a circuitry along with the external device and superimposing technique as disclosed by Shimada in YUJI’s teachings to perform maximum torque and flux weakening control.
Regarding claim 2, Shimada discloses
wherein the circuitry (Item 30) generates the first power by controlling the d-axis current value within an allowable range of a current to be output from the driver to the motor. [0050, 0053-0055]
Regarding claim 3, Shimada discloses
, wherein the circuitry controls the d-axis current value in the driving current for the motor based on a rotational speed of the motor. [0053-0055]
Regarding claim 4, Shimada discloses
, wherein in response to the rotational speed of the motor being higher than a predetermined threshold, the circuitry generates the first power by controlling the d-axis current value not to vary over time (This happens during flux weakening control), and superimposes the first power on the driving power for the motor (During flux weakening control, item 41 superimposes currents Idc and Iqc). [0050-0055]
Regarding claim 5, Shimada discloses
, wherein in response to the rotational speed of the motor being less than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the circuitry generates the first power by controlling the d-axis current value to vary over time, and superimposes the first power on the driving power for the motor. (This happens during the maximum torque current control), and superimposes the first power on the driving power for the motor (During the maximum torque current control, item 41 superimposes currents Idc and Iqc). [0050-0054]
Regarding claim 6, Shimada discloses
, wherein the circuitry controls the d-axis current value to vary over time at a frequency higher than an electrical angular frequency corresponding to the rotational speed of the motor. [0042 and 0055]
Regarding claim 7, Shimada discloses
, wherein in response to a determination that a power to be supplied to the external device is lower than a threshold (During the maximum torque current control, speed or power is below the rated value) associated with driving power for the external device, the circuitry generates the first power by controlling the d-axis current value in the driving current for the motor, and outputs the first power to the motor. [0057]
Regarding claim 8, Shimada discloses
,wherein the circuitry generates the first power (Torque is related to power) by controlling the d-axis current value and a q- axis current value in the driving current for the motor. [0051-0053]
Regarding claim 9, Shimada discloses
, wherein the circuitry generates the first power by controlling a q-axis current value at a constant value and by controlling the d-axis current value to vary over time, and outputs the first power to the motor. [0057]
Regarding claim 10, Shimada discloses
, wherein when the motor is stopped, the circuitry generates the first power (Maximum torque curve passes via a point where Iq is zero) and outputs the first power to the motor. [0054]
Regarding claim 11, Shimada discloses
wherein the circuitry performs feedback control of the d-axis current value based on power actually extracted in the motor and based on power to be supplied to the external device. [0032]
Regarding claim 12, a combination of Yuji and Shimada discloses
a method of supplying driving power to a motor that extracts first power from second power and supplies the extracted first power to an external device, the method comprising: outputting the second power to the motor, the second power including driving power for the motor and the first power superimposed on the driving power for the motor; and adjusting the first power to be superimposed on the driving power for the motor by controlling a d-axis current value in a driving current for the motor (See claim 1 rejection for detail).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896