DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch (US 20200152491 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Koch teaches:
An unloading and collecting device for a component (B) cut from the end of a silicon wafer, configured to collect the component separated from a stock of material [it is implied that an electrical component would be manufactured from materials supplied from a larger batch] and fed by a feed rod (110), wherein the device comprises a tray (152) configured to adsorb and release the component, a box (ES1 & ES2) configured to receive the component (Fig. 1) [0118 & 0122 & 0123 & 0125 & 0127], and a movable assembly (150), the box is disposed on a side of the movable assembly away from the feed rod in a first direction parallel to an axis direction of the feed rod (Fig. 1), and the movable assembly has a rod member (1000) connected to the tray (Fig. 1), wherein the tray is rotatable clockwise under driving by the rod member from a first position to a second position in the first direction (Fig. 1) [0120 & 0122], wherein the tray adsorbs the slice at the first position, and carries the slice into the box at the second position (Fig. 1).
Koch does not teach:
the component is a slice cut from an end of a silicon rod.
Notwithstanding that the inclusion of the work material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claim (see MPEP 2115), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to accommodate slices cut from an end of a silicon rod in order to provide a means for efficiently transferring raw materials to supply manufacturing processes, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.07)
Regarding Claim 2, Koch teaches:
a plurality of vacuum suction holes [0126] and a detector [0127] are provided on the tray, the plurality of vacuum suction holes are disposed along a radial periphery of the tray, and the detector is configured to detect a position of the slice [0127].
Regarding Claim 10, Koch teaches:
the box is disposed on a side of the movable member away from the silicon wafer and below the movable assembly (Fig. 1).
Koch does not teach:
the component is a slice cut from an end of a silicon rod.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to accommodate slices cut from an end of a silicon rod in order to provide a means for efficiently transferring raw materials to supply manufacturing processes, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.07)
Regarding Claim 10, Koch teaches:
the box is disposed on a side of the movable member away from the silicon wafer and below the movable assembly (Fig. 1).
Koch does not teach:
the component is a slice cut from an end of a silicon rod.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to accommodate slices cut from an end of a silicon rod in order to provide a means for efficiently transferring raw materials to supply manufacturing processes, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.07)
Regarding Claim 16, Koch teaches:
A cutting machine (110), comprising the unloading and collecting device for slice of claim 1 (Fig. 1) [abstract].
Regarding Claim 17, Koch teaches:
A cutting machine (110), comprising the unloading and collecting device for slice of claim 2 (Fig. 1) [abstract].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “An unloading and collecting device for slice, configured to collect the slice cut from an end of a silicon rod, wherein the device comprises a tray configured to adsorb and release the slice, a box configured to receive the slice, and a movable assembly, the box is disposed on a side of the movable assembly away from the silicon rod in a first direction parallel to an axis direction of the silicon rod, and the movable assembly has a rod member connected to the tray, wherein the tray is rotatable clockwise under driving by the rod member from a first position to a second position in the first direction, wherein the tray adsorbs the slice at the first position, and carries the slice into the box at the second position.”, as recited in Claim 3 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the slice, silicon rod, tray, box, movable assembly, rod member, cantilever arm, and driving member. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the slice, silicon rod, tray, box, movable assembly, rod member, cantilever arm, and driving member.
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “An unloading and collecting device for slice, configured to collect the slice cut from an end of a silicon rod, wherein the device comprises a tray configured to adsorb and release the slice, a box configured to receive the slice, and a movable assembly, the box is disposed on a side of the movable assembly away from the silicon rod in a first direction parallel to an axis direction of the silicon rod, and the movable assembly has a rod member connected to the tray, wherein the tray is rotatable clockwise under driving by the rod member from a first position to a second position in the first direction, wherein the tray adsorbs the slice at the first position, and carries the slice into the box at the second position.”, as recited in Claim 4 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the slice, silicon rod, tray, box, movable assembly, rod member, vacuum suction holes, detector, cantilever arm, and driving member. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the slice, silicon rod, tray, box, movable assembly, rod member, vacuum suction holes, detector, cantilever arm, and driving member.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 16, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant’s amendments and related arguments, see Response to Non-Final Office Action, filed 2026/02/13, with respect to the Examiner’s Rejection of 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Examiner’s Rejection of 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, and 20 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652