DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitation of claim 17 and 24 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language “retrieving", “allowing”, and "not allowing” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 17 and 24 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation, the specification discloses means for retrieving universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) application identifier (AID) 3G App codes (see [0004], [0055], [0024-0025], [0039], [0037], and Figs. 1-2); means for retrieving international mobile subscriber identification (IMSI) based Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) personalization category data (see [0004], [0063], [0065], [0024-0025], [0039], [0037], and Figs. 1-2); means for allowing the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network (see [0004], [0079], [0024-0025], [0039], [0037], and Figs. 1-2); means for retrieving non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data from a non-IMSI based personalization category ME database (see [0004], [0079], [0024-0025], [0039], [0037], and Figs. 1-2); means for allowing the wireless communication device to camp to a non-IMSI based network (see [0004], [0060], [0071], [0024-0025], [0039], [0037], and Figs. 1-2); means for not allowing the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (see [0008], [0086], [0024-0025], [0039], [0037], and Figs. 1-2); and means for not allowing the wireless communication device to camp to a non-IMSI based network in response to the retrieved non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (see [0008], [0086], [0024-0025], [0039], [0037], and Figs. 1-2).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. .In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
5. Claims 1-3, 8-11, 16-19, 21, 24-26, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chichierchia ("Method for Managing a Plurality of Profiles in a SIM Module, and Corresponding SIM Module and Computer Program Product", EP 2099 045 A1, pub. date 11-20-2016) in view of CP-201288 ("Dedicated AID for USIM Applications with non-IMSI based SUPI Types", 3GPP TSG-CT Meeting #88-e Online, 28th Jun 2020 - 1st Jul 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Chichierchia teaches a method for dynamically personalizing a wireless communication device ([0125], when the profile P2a has to be enabled, the profile manager PMa ensures that the SIM module 108a supports 3G, e.g. creates the file EFDIR, and replaces the IMSI (both in the directory DFGSM and the ADFUSIM associated with the USIM application) and the security key Ki ... when the profile P3a has to be enabled, the profile manager PMa ensures that the SIM module 108a supports 3G, e.g. creates the file EFDIR, and replaces the IMSI (at least in the ADF ADFCSIM associated with the CSIM application) and the security key Ki”; Fig. 16), comprising:
retrieving universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) application identifier (AID) 3G App codes contained in an elementary file directory (EF-DIR) list stored on a subscriber identification module (SIM) card that is inserted in the wireless communication device ([0101], “Specifically, after power on, a 3G capable mobile equipment or device 10 will automatically selects the USIM applet by accessing the file EFDIR. Specifically, the file EFDIR contains the Application Identifier (AID), i.e. the USIM application can only be selected by means of the AID selection. Accordingly, the mobile device 10 may access the USIM application only through the file EFDIR”, wherein reading the EFDIR to retrieve AID list is required for the AID selection);
in response to the retrieved USIM AID 3G code indicating an application of international mobile subscriber identification (IMSI) based Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) personalization categories ([0112], “a 3G capable device 10 will try to access the file EFDIR in order to obtain the Application Identifier (AID) for the USIM application (~AID for the USIM application indicates IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a since P2a supports 3G operation used with the USIM application)”; [0113], the SIM module with a 3G base station using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”; [0108], the profile P2a supports only 3G operation, e.g. may only be used with the USIM application”):
retrieving IMSI based SUPI personalization category data from a IMSI based personalization category mobile equipment (ME) database ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the 3G base station is retrieved for authentication with the SIM module’s IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the profile P2a”); and
allowing the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~matched) with that of the 3G base station in order to allow for camping) of the profile P2a”); and
in response to the retrieved USIM AID 3G code indicating an application of non- another IMSI based SUPI personalization categories ([0125], “when the profile P3a has to be enabled, the profile manager PMa ensures that the SIM module 108a supports 3G, e.g. creates the file EFDIR, and replaces the IMSI (at least in the ADF ADFCSIM associated with the CSIM application) and the security key Ki (~personalization categories)”; [0112], “a 3G capable device 10 will try to access the file EFDIR in order to obtain the Application Identifier (AID) for the USIM application (~AID for the USIM application indicates IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P3a since P3a supports 3G operation used with the USIM application)”; [0113], the SIM module with a 3G base station using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”, wherein the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P3a is associated with and indicated by the AID in the EFDIR for the profile P3a; [0125], the third profile P3a support only 3G, e.g. W-CDMA”):
retrieving non- another IMSI based SUPI personalization category data from a non- the IMSI based personalization category ME database ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the 3G base station is retrieved for authentication with the SIM module’s IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”); and
allowing the wireless communication device to camp to a non- another IMSI based network in response to the retrieved non- other IMSI based SUPI personalization category data matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~matched) with that of the 3G base station in order to allow for camping) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 2, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the method of claim 1.
Chichierchia does not explicitly tach wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G App code that is a hexadecimal code other than 100B indicates an application of IMSI based SUPI personalization categories.
However, CP-201288 further teaches wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G App code that is a hexadecimal code other than 100B indicates an application of IMSI based SUPI personalization categories (Annex X, Table X.1, “3GPP USIM (non-IMSI SUPI Type) ... 3G App Code ‘100B’”, wherein contrarily, a 3G App Code other than ‘100B’ indicates an application of IMSI based).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to allows 5G terminals to immediately identify and securely handle subscriber identities by enabling tailored authentication procedures such as selecting specific encryption algorithms for IMSI-based identifiers while maintaining backward compatibility with legacy USIM applications.
Regarding claim 3, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the method of claim 1.
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G code that is a hexadecimal code 100B indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories.
CP-201288 further teaches wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G code that is a hexadecimal code 100B indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories (Annex X, Table X.1, “3GPP USIM (non-IMSI SUPI Type) ... 3G App Code ‘100B’”, wherein 3G App Code ‘100B’ indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide enhanced user privacy and security, support for private networks, support for non-3GPP access, flexibility for IoT and services, and future proofing.
Regarding claim 8, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the method of claim 1,
further comprising: not allowing the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (Chichierchia [0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”, wherein the IMSI and a security key Ki of profile P2a is used for authentication with a 3G base station (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data authenticated with a 3G base station) - not allow camp to an IMSI based network (3G base station) if authentication or matching not successful with personalization category data (~IMSI and security key Ki of P2a) stored on the SIM card)); and
not allowing the wireless communication device to camp to another non-IMSI based network in response to the retrieved other non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (Chichierchia [0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (if IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is not successfully authenticated (~or matched) with that of the 3G base station, the camping is not allowed) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 further teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 9, Chichierchia teaches a wireless communication device (Fig. 16, mobile device 10), comprising:
a subscriber identification module (SIM) card receiver (Fig. 16, mobile device 10 comprises a receiver for a SIM module 108a); and
a processor coupled to the SIM card receiver, wherein the processor is configured with processor-executable instructions (Fig. 16, mobile device 10 comprises a processor coupled to a SIM card receiver for SIM module 108a configured with processor-executable instructions) to:
retrieve universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) application identifier (AID) 3G App codes contained in an elementary file directory (EF-DIR) list stored on a subscriber identification module (SIM) card that is inserted in the wireless communication device ([0101], “Specifically, after power on, a 3G capable mobile equipment or device 10 will automatically selects the USIM applet by accessing the file EFDIR. Specifically, the file EFDIR contains the Application Identifier (AID), i.e. the USIM application can only be selected by means of the AID selection. Accordingly, the mobile device 10 may access the USIM application only through the file EFDIR”, wherein reading the EFDIR to retrieve AID list is required for the AID selection);
in response to the retrieved USIM AID 3G code indicating an application of international mobile subscriber identification (IMSI) based Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) personalization categories ([0112], “a 3G capable device 10 will try to access the file EFDIR in order to obtain the Application Identifier (AID) for the USIM application (~AID for the USIM application indicates IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a since P2a supports 3G operation used with the USIM application)”; [0113], the SIM module with a 3G base station using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”; [0108], the profile P2a supports only 3G operation, e.g. may only be used with the USIM application”):
retrieve IMSI based SUPI personalization category data from a IMSI based personalization category mobile equipment (ME) database ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the 3G base station is retrieved for authentication with the SIM module’s IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the profile P2a”); and
allow the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~matched) with that of the 3G base station in order to allow for camping) of the profile P2a”); and
in response to the retrieved USIM AID 3G code indicating an application of non-another IMSI based SUPI personalization categories ([0125], “when the profile P3a has to be enabled, the profile manager PMa ensures that the SIM module 108a supports 3G, e.g. creates the file EFDIR, and replaces the IMSI (at least in the ADF ADFCSIM associated with the CSIM application) and the security key Ki (~personalization categories)”; [0112], “a 3G capable device 10 will try to access the file EFDIR in order to obtain the Application Identifier (AID) for the USIM application (~AID for the USIM application indicates IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P3a since P3a supports 3G operation used with the USIM application)”; [0113], the SIM module with a 3G base station using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”, wherein the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P3a is associated with and indicated by the AID in the EFDIR for the profile P3a; [0125], the third profile P3a support only 3G, e.g. W-CDMA”):
retrieve another non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data from the a non-IMSI based personalization category ME database ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the 3G base station is retrieved for authentication with the SIM module’s IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”); and
allow the wireless communication device to camp to another a non-IMSI based network in response to the retrieved other non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~matched) with that of the 3G base station in order to allow for camping) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 10, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 9.
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G App code that is a hexadecimal code other than 100B indicates an application of IMSI based SUPI personalization categories.
However, CP-201288 further teaches wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G App code that is a hexadecimal code other than 100B indicates an application of IMSI based SUPI personalization categories (Annex X, Table X.1, “3GPP USIM (non-IMSI SUPI Type) ... 3G App Code ‘100B’”, wherein contrarily, a 3G App Code other than ‘100B’ indicates an application of IMSI based).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to allows 5G terminals to immediately identify and securely handle subscriber identities by enabling tailored authentication procedures such as selecting specific encryption algorithms for IMSI-based identifiers while maintaining backward compatibility with legacy USIM applications.
Regarding claim 11, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 9.
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G code that is a hexadecimal code 100B indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories.
CP-201288 further teaches wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G code that is a hexadecimal code 100B indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories (Annex X, Table X.1, “3GPP USIM (non-IMSI SUPI Type) ... 3G App Code ‘100B’”, wherein 3G App Code ‘100B’ indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide enhanced user privacy and security, support for private networks, support for non-3GPP access, flexibility for IoT and services, and future proofing.
Regarding claim 16, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device (Chichierchia Fig. 16, mobile device 10) of claim 9,
wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions (Chichierchia Fig. 16, mobile device 10 comprises a processor configured with processor-executable instructions) to:
not allow the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (Chichierchia [0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”, wherein the IMSI and a security key Ki of profile P2a is used for authentication with a 3G base station (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data authenticated with a 3G base station) - not allow camp to an IMSI based network (3G base station) if authentication or matching not successful with personalization category data (~IMSI and security key Ki of P2a) stored on the SIM card); and
not allow the wireless communication device to camp to another non-IMSI based network in response to the retrieved other non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (Chichierchia [0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (if IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is not successfully authenticated (~or matched) with that of the 3G base station, the camping is not allowed) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 17, Chichierchia teaches a wireless communication device (Fig. 16, mobile device 10), comprising:
means for retrieving universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) application identifier (AID) 3G App codes contained in an elementary file directory (EF-DIR) list stored on a subscriber identification module (SIM) card that is inserted in the wireless communication device ([0101], “Specifically, after power on, a 3G capable mobile equipment or device 10 will automatically selects the USIM applet by accessing the file EFDIR. Specifically, the file EFDIR contains the Application Identifier (AID), i.e. the USIM application can only be selected by means of the AID selection. Accordingly, the mobile device 10 may access the USIM application only through the file EFDIR”, wherein reading the EFDIR to retrieve AID list is required for the AID selection);
means for retrieving international mobile subscriber identification (IMSI) based Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) personalization category data from a IMSI based personalization category mobile equipment (ME) database ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the 3G base station is retrieved for authentication with the SIM module’s IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the profile P2a”) in response to the retrieved USIM AID 3G code indicating an application of IMSI based Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) personalization categories ([0112], “a 3G capable device 10 will try to access the file EFDIR in order to obtain the Application Identifier (AID) for the USIM application (~AID for the USIM application indicates IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a since P2a supports 3G operation used with the USIM application)”; [0113], the SIM module with a 3G base station using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”; [0108], the profile P2a supports only 3G operation, e.g. may only be used with the USIM application”); and
means for allowing the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~matched) with that of the 3G base station in order to allow for camping) of the profile P2a”);
means for retrieving another non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data from the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the 3G base station is retrieved for authentication with the SIM module’s IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”) in response to the retrieved USIM AID 3G code indicating an application of another non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories ([0125], “when the profile P3a has to be enabled, the profile manager PMa ensures that the SIM module 108a supports 3G, e.g. creates the file EFDIR, and replaces the IMSI (at least in the ADF ADFCSIM associated with the CSIM application) and the security key Ki (~personalization categories)”; [0112], “a 3G capable device 10 will try to access the file EFDIR in order to obtain the Application Identifier (AID) for the USIM application (~AID for the USIM application indicates IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P3a since P3a supports 3G operation used with the USIM application)”; [0113], the SIM module with a 3G base station using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”, wherein the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P3a is associated with and indicated by the AID in the EFDIR for the profile P3a; [0125], the third profile P3a support only 3G, e.g. W-CDMA”); and
means for allowing the wireless communication device to camp to another non-IMSI based network in response to retrieved another non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~matched) with that of the 3G base station in order to allow for camping) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”)...
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 18, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 17.
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G App code that is a hexadecimal code other than 100B indicates an application of IMSI based SUPI personalization categories.
However, CP-201288 further teaches wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G App code that is a hexadecimal code other than 100B indicates an application of IMSI based SUPI personalization categories (Annex X, Table X.1, “3GPP USIM (non-IMSI SUPI Type) ... 3G App Code ‘100B’”, wherein contrarily, a 3G App Code other than ‘100B’ indicates an application of IMSI based).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to allows 5G terminals to immediately identify and securely handle subscriber identities by enabling tailored authentication procedures such as selecting specific encryption algorithms for IMSI-based identifiers while maintaining backward compatibility with legacy USIM applications.
Regarding claim 19, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 17.
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G code that is a hexadecimal code 100B indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories.
CP-201288 further teaches wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G code that is a hexadecimal code 100B indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories (Annex X, Table X.1, “3GPP USIM (non-IMSI SUPI Type) ... 3G App Code ‘100B’”, wherein 3G App Code ‘100B’ indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide enhanced user privacy and security, support for private networks, support for non-3GPP access, flexibility for IoT and services, and future proofing.
Regarding claim 21, in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 20,
wherein the IMSI based personalization category ME database and another non-IMSI based personalization category ME database are each configured by an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) or mobile network operator (Chichierchia [0066], “In an embodiment, each profile P1a/P2a may be represented by a memory area in the SIM card for storing respective content, such as applets APP, e.g. a respective (U)SIM applet for each profile P1a/P2a. In the memory area may also be stored the respective authentication data AUTH of the SIM card used to access the mobile network of the mobile network operator. In various embodiments,
each profile P1 a/P2a may also have associated a respective Over The Air (OTA) Key, which is usually used to encrypt (e.g. according to the SCP80 protocol) the remote management commands sent by a mobile network operator to a given SIM card. Usually, the authentication data AUTH are SIM specific as well as OTA keys used by a given mobile network operator”; [0065], “SIM module 108a supports at least two profiles P1a and P2a of two mobile network operators”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 further teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 24, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 17,
further comprising: means for not allowing the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (Chichierchia [0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”, wherein the IMSI and a security key Ki of profile P2a is used for authentication with a 3G base station (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data authenticated with a 3G base station) - not allow camp to an IMSI based network (3G base station) if authentication or matching not successful with personalization category data (~IMSI and security key Ki of P2a) stored on the SIM card); and
means for not allowing the wireless communication device to camp to another non-IMSI based network in response to the retrieved other non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (Chichierchia [0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (if IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is not successfully authenticated (~or matched) with that of the 3G base station, the camping is not allowed) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 further teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 25, Chichierchia teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon processor-executable software instructions configured to cause a processor of a wireless communication device to perform operations (Fig. 16, mobile device 10 comprises a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon processor-executable software instructions configured to cause a processor of the mobile device 10 to perform operations) comprising:
retrieving universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) application identifier (AID) 3G App codes contained in an elementary file directory (EF-DIR) list stored on a subscriber identification module (SIM) card that is inserted in the wireless communication device ([0101], “Specifically, after power on, a 3G capable mobile equipment or device 10 will automatically selects the USIM applet by accessing the file EFDIR. Specifically, the file EFDIR contains the Application Identifier (AID), i.e. the USIM application can only be selected by means of the AID selection. Accordingly, the mobile device 10 may access the USIM application only through the file EFDIR”, wherein reading the EFDIR to retrieve AID list is required for the AID selection);
in response to determining that the retrieved USIM AID 3G code indicating an application of international mobile subscriber identification (IMSI) based Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) personalization categories ([0112], “a 3G capable device 10 will try to access the file EFDIR in order to obtain the Application Identifier (AID) for the USIM application (~AID for the USIM application indicates IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a since P2a supports 3G operation used with the USIM application)”; [0113], the SIM module with a 3G base station using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”; [0108], the profile P2a supports only 3G operation, e.g. may only be used with the USIM application”):
retrieving IMSI based SUPI personalization category data from a IMSI based personalization category mobile equipment (ME) database ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the 3G base station is retrieved for authentication with the SIM module’s IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the profile P2a”);
determining whether personalization category data stored on the SIM card matches the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~determine whether matched) with that of the 3G base station) of the profile P2a”); and
allowing the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to determining that personalization category data stored on the SIM card matches the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~matched) with that of the 3G base station in order to allow for camping) of the profile P2a”); and
in response to the retrieved USIM AID 3G code indicating an application of non-another IMSI based SUPI personalization categories ([0125], “when the profile P3a has to be enabled, the profile manager PMa ensures that the SIM module 108a supports 3G, e.g. creates the file EFDIR, and replaces the IMSI (at least in the ADF ADFCSIM associated with the CSIM application) and the security key Ki (~personalization categories)”; [0112], “a 3G capable device 10 will try to access the file EFDIR in order to obtain the Application Identifier (AID) for the USIM application (~AID for the USIM application indicates IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P3a since P3a supports 3G operation used with the USIM application)”; [0113], the SIM module with a 3G base station using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”, wherein the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P3a is associated with and indicated by the AID in the EFDIR for the profile P3a; [0125], the third profile P3a support only 3G, e.g. W-CDMA”):
retrieving another non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data from the a non-IMSI based personalization category ME database ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the 3G base station is retrieved for authentication with the SIM module’s IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (~IMSI and security Ki) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”); and
allowing the wireless communication device to camp to another non-IMSI based network in response to the retrieved other non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card ([0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is authenticated (~matched) with that of the 3G base station in order to allow for camping) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 26, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 25,
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach wherein: a retrieved USIM AID 3G App code that is a hexadecimal code other than 100B indicates an application of IMSI based SUPI personalization categories; and
a retrieved USIM AID 3G code that is a hexadecimal code 100B indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories.
However, CP-201288 further teaches wherein a retrieved USIM AID 3G App code that is a hexadecimal code other than 100B indicates an application of IMSI based SUPI personalization categories (Annex X, Table X.1, “3GPP USIM (non-IMSI SUPI Type) ... 3G App Code ‘100B’”, wherein contrarily, a 3G App Code other than ‘100B’ indicates an application of IMSI based); and
a retrieved USIM AID 3G code that is a hexadecimal code 100B indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories (Annex X, Table X.1, “3GPP USIM (non-IMSI SUPI Type) ... 3G App Code ‘100B’”, wherein 3G App Code ‘100B’ indicates an application of non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to allows 5G terminals to immediately identify and securely handle subscriber identities by enabling tailored authentication procedures such as selecting specific encryption algorithms for IMSI-based identifiers while maintaining backward compatibility with legacy USIM applications; and to provide enhanced user privacy and security, support for private networks, support for non-3GPP access, flexibility for IoT and services, and future proofing.
Regarding claim 28, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 25.
wherein the IMSI based personalization category ME database and non-another IMSI based personalization category ME database are each configured by an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) or mobile network operator (Chichierchia [0066], “In an embodiment, each profile P1a/P2a may be represented by a memory area in the SIM card for storing respective content, such as applets APP, e.g. a respective (U)SIM applet for each profile P1a/P2a. In the memory area may also be stored the respective authentication data AUTH of the SIM card used to access the mobile network of the mobile network operator. In various embodiments,
each profile P1 a/P2a may also have associated a respective Over The Air (OTA) Key, which is usually used to encrypt (e.g. according to the SCP80 protocol) the remote management commands sent by a mobile network operator to a given SIM card. Usually, the authentication data AUTH are SIM specific as well as OTA keys used by a given mobile network operator”; [0065], “SIM module 108a supports at least two profiles P1a and P2a of two mobile network operators”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 further teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 30, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 25,
wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to perform operations (Chichierchia Fig. 16, mobile device 10 comprises a processor further configured with processor-executable instructions to perform operations) further comprising:
not allowing the wireless communication device to camp to an IMSI based network in response to the retrieved IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (Chichierchia [0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~non-IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki of the profile P2a”, wherein the IMSI and a security key Ki of profile P2a is used for authentication with a 3G base station (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data authenticated with a 3G base station) - not allow camp to an IMSI based network (3G base station) if authentication or matching not successful with personalization category data (~IMSI and security key Ki of P2a) stored on the SIM card)); and
not allowing the wireless communication device to camp to another non-IMSI based network in response to the retrieved other non-IMSI based SUPI personalization category data not matching personalization category data stored on the SIM card (Chichierchia [0113], “the device 10 may run the USIM applet in order to authenticate the SIM module with a 3G base station (~IMSI based network) using the IMSI and security key Ki (~IMSI based SUPI personalization category data (if IMSI and security Ki) of SIM module (~card) is not successfully authenticated (~or matched) with that of the 3G base station, the camping is not allowed) of the profile P2a (~similarly for P3a - Fig. 16)”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 further teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
6. Claims 4-5, 12-13, 20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chichierchia in view of CP-201288, and further in view of CP201348 ("Dedicated AID for USIM Applications with non-IMSI SUPI Types", 3GPP TSG-CT Meeting #88-e Online, 28th Jun 2020 - 1st Jul 2020).
Regarding claim 4, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a single IMSI and non-IMSI based personalization category ME database comprises the IMSI based personalization category ME database and the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database.
However, CP-201348 teaches wherein a single IMSI and non-IMSI based personalization category ME database comprises the IMSI based personalization category ME database and the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database (Annex X, X.2, “The non-IMSI based USIM may be implemented as a single USIM application on a UICC or as a secondary USIM application together with an IMSI based USIM on one UICC”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201348 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide for a comprehensive solution for device security and network access control by combining subscriber-specific authentication (IMSI) with device-specific identification (non-IMSI) to enable flexible, secure, and reliable connectivity, particularly for IoT and roaming scenarios.
Regarding claim 5, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288, and further in view of CP-201348 teaches the method of claim 4,
wherein the IMSI based personalization category ME database and non-another IMSI based personalization category ME database are each configured by an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) or mobile network operator (Chichierchia [0066], “In an embodiment, each profile P1a/P2a may be represented by a memory area in the SIM card for storing respective content, such as applets APP, e.g. a respective (U)SIM applet for each profile P1a/P2a. In the memory area may also be stored the respective authentication data AUTH of the SIM card used to access the mobile network of the mobile network operator. In various embodiments,
each profile P1 a/P2a may also have associated a respective Over The Air (OTA) Key, which is usually used to encrypt (e.g. according to the SCP80 protocol) the remote management commands sent by a mobile network operator to a given SIM card. Usually, the authentication data AUTH are SIM specific as well as OTA keys used by a given mobile network operator”; [0065], “SIM module 108a supports at least two profiles P1a and P2a of two mobile network operators”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 further teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 and CP-201348 in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 12, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 9.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a single IMSI and non-IMSI based personalization category ME database comprises the IMSI based personalization category ME database and the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database.
However, CP-201348 teaches wherein a single IMSI and non-IMSI based personalization category ME database comprises the IMSI based personalization category ME database and the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database (Annex X, X.2, “The non-IMSI based USIM may be implemented as a single USIM application on a UICC or as a secondary USIM application together with an IMSI based USIM on one UICC”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201348 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide for a comprehensive solution for device security and network access control by combining subscriber-specific authentication (IMSI) with device-specific identification (non-IMSI) to enable flexible, secure, and reliable connectivity, particularly for IoT and roaming scenarios.
Regarding claim 13, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288, and further in view of CP-201348 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 12,
wherein the IMSI based personalization category ME database and non-another IMSI based personalization category ME database are each configured by an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) or mobile network operator (Chichierchia [0066], “In an embodiment, each profile P1a/P2a may be represented by a memory area in the SIM card for storing respective content, such as applets APP, e.g. a respective (U)SIM applet for each profile P1a/P2a. In the memory area may also be stored the respective authentication data AUTH of the SIM card used to access the mobile network of the mobile network operator. In various embodiments,
each profile P1 a/P2a may also have associated a respective Over The Air (OTA) Key, which is usually used to encrypt (e.g. according to the SCP80 protocol) the remote management commands sent by a mobile network operator to a given SIM card. Usually, the authentication data AUTH are SIM specific as well as OTA keys used by a given mobile network operator”; [0065], “SIM module 108a supports at least two profiles P1a and P2a of two mobile network operators”).
Chichierchia does not explicitly teach that another IMSI based is non-IMSI based.
However, CP-201288 further teaches non-IMSI based (“Consequences if not
approved: ... UICC which contains more than one USIM Application and there is at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type IMSI and at least one USIM configured with a SUPI of type non-IMSI (~non-IMSI based)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201288 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 and CP-201348 in order to provide significant advantages in privacy, security, and operational flexibility by protecting user identity, preventing tracking, and eliminating the need for physical SIM swaps in global IoT deployments.
Regarding claim 20, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 17.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a single IMSI and non-IMSI based personalization category ME database comprises the IMSI based personalization category ME database and the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database.
However, CP-201348 teaches wherein a single IMSI and non-IMSI based personalization category ME database comprises the IMSI based personalization category ME database and the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database (Annex X, X.2, “The non-IMSI based USIM may be implemented as a single USIM application on a UICC or as a secondary USIM application together with an IMSI based USIM on one UICC”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201348 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide for a comprehensive solution for device security and network access control by combining subscriber-specific authentication (IMSI) with device-specific identification (non-IMSI) to enable flexible, secure, and reliable connectivity, particularly for IoT and roaming scenarios.
Regarding claim 27, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 25.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a single IMSI and non-IMSI based personalization category ME database comprises the IMSI based personalization category ME database and the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database.
However, CP-201348 teaches wherein a single IMSI and non-IMSI based personalization category ME database comprises the IMSI based personalization category ME database and the non-IMSI based personalization category ME database (Annex X, X.2, “The non-IMSI based USIM may be implemented as a single USIM application on a UICC or as a secondary USIM application together with an IMSI based USIM on one UICC”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CP-201348 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to provide for a comprehensive solution for device security and network access control by combining subscriber-specific authentication (IMSI) with device-specific identification (non-IMSI) to enable flexible, secure, and reliable connectivity, particularly for IoT and roaming scenarios.
7. Claims 6, 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chichierchia in view of CP-201288, and further in view of S2-170668 ("23.501: Proposal for 5G System Identities", SA WG2 Meeting #118bis, 16-20 January 2017, Spokane, WA, USA).
Regarding claim 6, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise a mobile country code (MCC), a mobile network code (MNC), a group identifier level 1 (GID1), or a group identifier level 2 (GID2).
However, S2-170668 teaches wherein an IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise a mobile country code (MCC), a mobile network code (MNC), a group identifier level 1 (GID1), or a group identifier level 2 (GID2) (pg. 3, sect. 1.2.1.2, “SUPI must always convey an address of the home network (e.g. MCC and MNC in the case of IMSI)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of S2-170668 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to enable precise, automatic network authentication and routing, allowing devices to identify their home network, access local services, and manage roaming while ensuring secure, compliant connectivity across different geographical regions.
Regarding claim 14, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 9.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise a mobile country code (MCC), a mobile network code (MNC), a group identifier level 1 (GID1), or a group identifier level 2 (GID2).
However, S2-170668 teaches wherein an IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise a mobile country code (MCC), a mobile network code (MNC), a group identifier level 1 (GID1), or a group identifier level 2 (GID2) (pg. 3, sect. 1.2.1.2, “SUPI must always convey an address of the home network (e.g. MCC and MNC in the case of IMSI)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of S2-170668 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to enable precise, automatic network authentication and routing, allowing devices to identify their home network, access local services, and manage roaming while ensuring secure, compliant connectivity across different geographical regions.
Regarding claim 22, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 17.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise a mobile country code (MCC), a mobile network code (MNC), a group identifier level 1 (GID1), or a group identifier level 2 (GID2).
However, S2-170668 teaches wherein an IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise a mobile country code (MCC), a mobile network code (MNC), a group identifier level 1 (GID1), or a group identifier level 2 (GID2) (pg. 3, sect. 1.2.1.2, “SUPI must always convey an address of the home network (e.g. MCC and MNC in the case of IMSI)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of S2-170668 with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to enable precise, automatic network authentication and routing, allowing devices to identify their home network, access local services, and manage roaming while ensuring secure, compliant connectivity across different geographical regions.
8. Claims 7, 15, 23, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chichierchia in view of CP-201288, and further in view of Wang ("Network Function Instance Selection", WO 2019138133 A1, 2019-07-18).
Regarding claim 7, Chichierchia in view of in view of CP-201288 teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise an elementary file SUPI network access identifier (EFSUPI_NAI), Network Subscription Identifier (NSI), a global cable identifier (GCI), or a global line identifier (GLI).
However, Wang teaches wherein a non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise an elementary file SUPI network access identifier (EFSUPI_NAI), Network Subscription Identifier (NSI), a global cable identifier (GCI), or a global line identifier (GLI) (pg. 6, line 36 - pg. 7, line 3, “Where the subscription identifier is assigned to the subscriber 13 on a long-term or permanent basis, the subscription identifier may be referred to as a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) 20, shown in Figure 1 as being stored on the ICC 12A. In embodiments that the network 10 is a 5G network (~5G network is non-IMSI based), the subscription identifier (~Network Subscription Identifier (NSI)) may be a globally unique 5G identifier that takes the form of either an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) or a network access identifier (NAI)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to offer significant advantages over traditional IMSI-based identifiers in 5G networks, primarily focusing on enhanced privacy, flexible identification, and improved support for private/enterprise networks.
Regarding claim 15, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 9.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise an elementary file SUPI network access identifier (EFSUPI_NAI), Network Subscription Identifier (NSI), a global cable identifier (GCI), or a global line identifier (GLI).
However, Wang teaches wherein a non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise an elementary file SUPI network access identifier (EFSUPI_NAI), Network Subscription Identifier (NSI), a global cable identifier (GCI), or a global line identifier (GLI) (pg. 6, line 36 - pg. 7, line 3, “Where the subscription identifier is assigned to the subscriber 13 on a long-term or permanent basis, the subscription identifier may be referred to as a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) 20, shown in Figure 1 as being stored on the ICC 12A. In embodiments that the network 10 is a 5G network (~5G network is non-IMSI based), the subscription identifier (~Network Subscription Identifier (NSI)) may be a globally unique 5G identifier that takes the form of either an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) or a network access identifier (NAI)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to offer significant advantages over traditional IMSI-based identifiers in 5G networks, primarily focusing on enhanced privacy, flexible identification, and improved support for private/enterprise networks.
Regarding claim 23, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the wireless communication device of claim 17.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise an elementary file SUPI network access identifier (EFSUPI_NAI), Network Subscription Identifier (NSI), a global cable identifier (GCI), or a global line identifier (GLI).
However, Wang teaches wherein a non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise an elementary file SUPI network access identifier (EFSUPI_NAI), Network Subscription Identifier (NSI), a global cable identifier (GCI), or a global line identifier (GLI) (pg. 6, line 36 - pg. 7, line 3, “Where the subscription identifier is assigned to the subscriber 13 on a long-term or permanent basis, the subscription identifier may be referred to as a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) 20, shown in Figure 1 as being stored on the ICC 12A. In embodiments that the network 10 is a 5G network (~5G network is non-IMSI based), the subscription identifier (~Network Subscription Identifier (NSI)) may be a globally unique 5G identifier that takes the form of either an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) or a network access identifier (NAI)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to offer significant advantages over traditional IMSI-based identifiers in 5G networks, primarily focusing on enhanced privacy, flexible identification, and improved support for private/enterprise networks.
Regarding claim 29, Chichierchia in view of CP-201288 teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 25.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise an elementary file SUPI network access identifier (EFSUPI_NAI), Network Subscription Identifier (NSI), a global cable identifier (GCI), or a global line identifier (GLI).
However, Wang teaches wherein a non-IMSI based SUPI personalization categories comprise an elementary file SUPI network access identifier (EFSUPI_NAI), Network Subscription Identifier (NSI), a global cable identifier (GCI), or a global line identifier (GLI) (pg. 6, line 36 - pg. 7, line 3, “Where the subscription identifier is assigned to the subscriber 13 on a long-term or permanent basis, the subscription identifier may be referred to as a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) 20, shown in Figure 1 as being stored on the ICC 12A. In embodiments that the network 10 is a 5G network (~5G network is non-IMSI based), the subscription identifier (~Network Subscription Identifier (NSI)) may be a globally unique 5G identifier that takes the form of either an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) or a network access identifier (NAI)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Chichierchia as modified by CP-201288 in order to offer significant advantages over traditional IMSI-based identifiers in 5G networks, primarily focusing on enhanced privacy, flexible identification, and improved support for private/enterprise networks.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643