DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shachar (Pub. No. US 2012/0026061).
As to claim 1, Shachar discloses a circuit device, comprising a flexible printed circuit portion (¶0039) and an antenna portion 104 (fig. 1; ¶0038);
wherein the circuit device comprises:
a base substrate 102 (fig. 3) having a unitary structure extending from a region of the
antenna portion to a region of the flexible printed circuit portion; and
a first conductive layer 110, 124 on a first side of the base substrate;
wherein the first conductive layer comprises one or more coil lines 110 in the
antenna portion and one or more first conductive lines 124 in the flexible printed circuit portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (CN114822263A).
As to claim 1, Zhou discloses a circuit device (fig. 9), comprising a flexible printed circuit portion 50 and an antenna portion 2;
wherein the circuit device comprises:
a base substrate 54 having a unitary structure extending from a region of the
antenna portion to a region of the flexible printed circuit portion; and
a first conductive layer 56, 21 on a first side of the base substrate;
wherein the first conductive layer comprises one or more coil lines 21 in the
antenna portion and one or more first conductive lines 56 in the flexible printed circuit portion.
As to claim 2, Zhou discloses a connector (figs. 10, 11) configured to connect the circuit device with a motherboard of a display apparatus; wherein the one or more coil lines in the antenna portion is directly connected to the connector (figs. 10, 11).
As to claim 3, Zhou discloses a first coverlay layer 55 on a side of the first conductive layer away from the base substrate; wherein an orthographic projection of the first coverlay layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more coil lines on the base substrate, and at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines on the base substrate (fig. 9).
As to claim 11, Zhou discloses a second coverlay layer 53 on a side of a second conductive layer 56 away from the base substrate; wherein an orthographic projection of the second coverlay layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines on the base substrate (fig. 9).
As to claim 12, Zhou discloses that the second coverlay layer 53 has a unitary structure extending from a region of the antenna portion to a region of the flexible printed circuit portion; and the orthographic projection of the second coverlay layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more coil lines on the base substrate (fig. 9).
As to claim 19, Zhou discloses a display apparatus, comprising the circuit device of claim 1, and a display panel 7 connected to the circuit device (figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN114822263A) in view of Weidinger et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0241952).
As to claim 4, Zhou does not disclose a magnetic field enhancing layer on the first side of the base substrate, the magnetic field enhancing layer being configured to enhance a magnetic field generated by the one or more coil lines; wherein the one or more coil lines substantially surrounds the magnetic field enhancing layer.
Weidinger discloses a magnetic field enhancing layer 108 being configured to enhance a magnetic field generated by the one or more coil lines 110; wherein the one or more coil lines substantially surrounds the magnetic field enhancing layer (figs. 16-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuit device of Zhou have a magnetic field enhancing layer as similarly taught by Weidinger in order to enhance the electromagnetic field (¶0045).
As to claim 5, Zhou does not disclose that the magnetic field enhancing layer comprises a magnetic field enhancing material; and the magnetic field enhancing material comprises a metal or an alloy.
Weidinger discloses that the magnetic field enhancing layer comprises a magnetic field enhancing material; and the magnetic field enhancing material comprises a metal or an alloy (¶0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuit device of Zhou have a magnetic field enhancing layer comprise a magnetic field enhancing material comprising a metal or alloy as similarly taught by Weidinger in order to enhance the electromagnetic field (¶0045).
Claim(s) 6, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN114822263A) in view of He et al. (CN104837301A).
As to claim 6, Zhou does not disclose that a first electromagnetic interference shielding layer on a side of a first coverlay layer away from the base substrate, the first electromagnetic interference shielding layer being configured to shield the flexible printed circuit portion from electromagnetic waves; wherein an orthographic projection of the first electromagnetic interference shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines in the flexible printed circuit portion on the base substrate.
He discloses a first electromagnetic interference shielding layer 140 on a side of a first coverlay layer 121 away from the base substrate 110, the first electromagnetic interference shielding layer being configured to shield the flexible printed circuit portion from electromagnetic waves; wherein an orthographic projection of the first electromagnetic interference shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines 111 in the flexible printed circuit portion on the base substrate.
Zhou discloses a coverlay layer 55. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuit device of Zhou have a first electromagnetic interference shielding layer, wherein an orthographic projection of the first electromagnetic interference shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines in the flexible printed circuit portion on the base substrate as similarly taught by He in order to provide electromagnetic interference shielding to the circuit device.
As to claim 15, Zhou does not disclose a shielding layer on a side of a second coverlay layer away from the base substrate, the shielding layer being configured to shield the flexible printed circuit portion from electromagnetic waves; wherein an orthographic projection of the shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines in the flexible printed circuit portion on the base substrate; the shielding layer has a unitary structure extending from a region of the antenna portion to a region of the flexible printed circuit portion; and the orthographic projection of the shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more coil lines in the antenna portion on the base substrate.
He discloses a shielding layer 140 on a side of a coverlay layer 121 away from the base substrate 110, the shielding layer being configured to shield the flexible printed circuit portion from electromagnetic waves; wherein an orthographic projection of the shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines 111 in the flexible printed circuit portion on the base substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuit device of Zhou have a shielding layer on a side of a second coverlay layer away from the base substrate; wherein an orthographic projection of the shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines in the flexible printed circuit portion on the base substrate; the shielding layer has a unitary structure extending from a region of the antenna portion to a region of the flexible printed circuit portion; and the orthographic projection of the shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more coil lines in the antenna portion on the base substrate as similarly taught by He in order to provide electromagnetic interference shielding to the circuit device. Furthermore, it is well known in the art to provide an EMI shielding layer over conductive lines to provide direct shielding.
As to claim 16, Zhou does not disclose a protective layer on a side of a second electromagnetic interference shielding layer or a shielding layer away from the base substrate.
He discloses a protective layer 150 on a side of an electromagnetic interference shielding layer or a shielding layer 140 away from the base substrate 110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuit device of Zhou have a protective layer on a side of a second electromagnetic interference shielding layer or a shielding layer away from the base substrate as similarly taught by He in order to provide electromagnetic interference shielding to the circuit device.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN114822263A) in view of Adair et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0138068).
As to claim 17, Zhou does not disclose that the one or more coil lines has a first thickness greater than a second thickness of the one or more first conductive lines.
Adair discloses that it is conceivable to change physical values of the coil, such as length and width of the coil, track width, size of a gap between the tracks, track thickness and number of turns (¶0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coil lines of Zhou have a thickness greater than a second thickness of the one or more first conductive lines as similarly taught by Adair since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the coil lines of Zhou have a thickness greater than a second thickness of the one or more first conductive lines, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the one or more coil lines thickness being the same as or less than the second thickness.
As to claim 18, Zhou does not disclose that the one or more coil lines have a first average line width; the one or more first conductive lines have a second average line width; the first average line width is greater than the second average line width; coil lines of the one or more coil lines are spaced apart by a first average distance; first conductive lines of the one or more first conductive lines are spaced apart by a second average distance; and the first average distance is greater than the second average distance.
Adair discloses that it is conceivable to change physical values of the coil, such as length and width of the coil, track width, size of a gap between the tracks, track thickness and number of turns (¶0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more coil lines have a first average line width; the one or more first conductive lines have a second average line width; the first average line width be greater than the second average line width; coil lines of the one or more coil lines be spaced apart by a first average distance; first conductive lines of the one or more first conductive lines be spaced apart by a second average distance; and the first average distance is greater than the second average distance since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the one or more coil lines have a first average line width; the one or more first conductive lines have a second average line width; the first average line width be greater than the second average line width; coil lines of the one or more coil lines be spaced apart by a first average distance; first conductive lines of the one or more first conductive lines be spaced apart by a second average distance; and the first average distance is greater than the second average distance, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with physical values such as width and spacing of the conductive lines and coil lines.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10, 13-14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses an adhesive layer on a side of a first coverlay layer and a first electromagnetic interference shielding layer away from the base substrate; wherein the adhesive layer is configured to adhere the circuit device to a display panel; and the adhesive layer has a unitary structure extending from a region of the antenna portion to a region of the flexible printed circuit portion. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses a second conductive layer on a second side of the base substrate, the second side being opposite to the first side; wherein the second conductive layer is configured to shield the flexible printed circuit portion from electromagnetic waves; and an orthographic projection of the second conductive layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines in the flexible printed circuit portion on the base substrate. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses a magnetic material layer on a second side of the base substrate, the second side being opposite to the first side; wherein the magnetic material layer is configured to guide magnetic flux generated by the one or more coil lines; and an orthographic projection of the magnetic material layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more coil lines and/or a magnetic field enhancing layer on the base substrate. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 13, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses a second electromagnetic interference shielding layer on a side of a second coverlay layer away from the base substrate, the second electromagnetic interference shielding layer being configured to shield the flexible printed circuit portion from electromagnetic waves; wherein an orthographic projection of the second electromagnetic interference shielding layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the one or more first conductive lines in the flexible printed circuit portion on the base substrate. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 20, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claims 1 and 19, a combination of limitations that discloses stacked structure; wherein the stacked structure comprises: a cover; the display panel on the cover; an adhesive layer on a side of the display panel away from the cover; a first electromagnetic interference shielding layer on a side of the adhesive layer away from the cover; a first coverlay layer on a side of the first electromagnetic interference shielding layer away from the cover; the first conductive layer on a side of the first coverlay layer away from the cover; and the base substrate on a side of the first conductive layer away from the cover. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847