DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a scraper unit and a driving unit in claims 1 and 9, a motor overload protection unit in claims 4 and 9.
Claims 1 and 9 recites:
“a scraper unit”. These limitations are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as scraper connector, two pneumatic slide tables, and a blade and equivalents thereof, to accomplish the claimed function (see at least [0028] of the specification of the instant application).
“ a driving unit”. These limitations are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as a mount, motor, rotating shafts, and sprockets and equivalents thereof, to accomplish the claimed function (see at least [0028] of the specification of the instant application).
Claims 4 and 9 recites “a motor overload protection unit”. These limitations are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as a rotating plate, trigger plate, vertically-arranged rod, and micro switches and equivalents thereof, to accomplish the claimed function (see at least [0028] of the specification of the instant application).
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4-6, 9-10, and 15-18, recites "the frame" that should be "the machine frame".
Claim 4 recites “a motor" that should be "the motor".
Claim 7 and 10 recites “the rod" that should be “the vertically-arranged rod"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “two long sides”. It is unclear to the examiner if applicant intends for this limitation to be a new structure or if the limitation is the same as in claim 2. For purpose of examination examiner interprets the limitation as “the two long sides”.
Claim 5 recites “the other short side. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of examination, examiner interprets the limitation as “an other short side”.
Claim 5 recites “the inside of the frame”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of examination, examiner interprets the limitation as “an inside of the frame”.
Claim 15 recites “two long sides”. It is unclear to the examiner if applicant intends for this limitation to be a new structure or if the limitation is the same as in claim 9. For purpose of examination examiner interprets the limitation as “the two long sides”.
Claim 15 recites “the other short side. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of examination, examiner interprets the limitation as “an other short side”.
Claims 6 and 16-18 are rejected due to being depending upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN112452997A).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou teaches A residue scraper (Fig. 1, [n0001]), comprising a machine frame (Ref. 32, Fig. 1), which is provided with a clamping unit (Ref. 39, fig. 1&2) for fastening a material holder (Ref. 39, Fig. 2);
a scraper unit (Ref. 46, 48-49, Fig. 1, [0034]) for cleaning residues on a to-be-cleaned surface of the material holder ([n0028]); and
a driving unit (Ref. 2, 410, 42, & 43, Fig. 1, [0034]) that drives the scraper unit to reciprocate along a long side direction (See annotated Fig. 1 below) of the material holder ([n0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Falk (2013/0081652).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the machine frame is a rectangular frame (Fig. 1) a residue bucket (Ref. 5, Fig. 1, [0041]) is provided under the machine frame (Fig. 1), and the machine frame includes two long sides arranged in parallel and two short sides arranged in parallel (See annotated Fig. 1 below).
Zhou fails to explicitly teach a cover to protect the scraper unit, the driving unit, and the clamping unit. Falk teaches a cleaning apparatus and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of moving a cleaning device laterally by a motor. Falk further teaches a cover to protect the entirety of the cleaning apparatus including a driving unit (Ref. 7, fig. 3) and a scraping unit (Ref. 11, Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine frame, as taught by Zhou, with a cover, as taught by Falk, to protect the moving components and contain any debris and fluid ([0031]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as modified as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Gorman (2008/0295265) and Lou (CN114248121A).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further teaches wherein the scraper unit includes two skid rails (Ref. 46, Fig. 5), slide tables (Ref. 48, Fig. 6) arranged on the skid rails (46, Fig. 6), and a scraper (Ref. 49, Fig. 5) and arranged between two slide tables (Fig. 5-6), and the scraper includes a scraper connector (Fig. 6 annotated below) connecting to the two slide tables (48, Fig. 5-6) and blades (49, [n0039]) arranged on the scraper connector (Fig. 6) and located in parallel with two later faces of the short sides (Fig. 5-6).
Zhou as modified fails to explicitly teach the skid rails arranged on the two long sides respectively and a scraper located in parallel with the short sides. Gorman teaches a residue scraper and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Gorman further teaches the scraper (Fig. 1CC) having two skid rails (See annotated Fig. 1C below) arranged on the two long sides (Fig. 1c) respectively and a scraper (Ref. 29, Fig. 1C) located in parallel with the short sides (Fig. 1C), and the scraper include a scraper connector connecting to the two slide tables (Ref. 25, Fig. 1C) and blades (Ref. 9, Fig. 1C) arranged on the scraper connector and located in parallel with two later faces of the short sides (Fig. 1C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the skid rails, as taught by Zhou as modified, to run along the two long sides with the scraper parallel to the short sides, as taught by Gorman, since such a modification would yield the predictable result of scraping off material from a substrate.
Zhou as modified further fails to explicitly teach pneumatic slide tables on the skid rails. Lou teaches a machine that is used to transfer linear movement of a head and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to apply linear movement of a device. Lou teaches pneumatic slide tables (3072, Fig. 13) arranged on the skid rails (Fig. 14) to apply linear movement of a device (Fig. 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the slides, as taught by Zhou as modified, with the pneumatic slide tables, as taught by Lou, since such a modification would produce the predictable result of sliding on skid rails.
Claims 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as modified as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Gorman (2008/0295265) and Sheng (CN105173539A).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and given the teaching of the rearrangement of skid rails along the long sides, Zhou further teaches wherein the driving unit includes rotating shaft (Ref. 410, Fig. 5), sprockets (Ref. 42, Fig. 5) arranged parallel with the short sides (Fig. 1&5), the sprockets mount on two ends of the long sides via bearing pedestals (Fig. 5), and the sprockets (42) are arranged at two ends of the rotating shaft (Fig. 5), and ring-shaped chains (Ref. 43, Fig. 5) are used to connect the sprockets ([n0031]), the scraper unit (4) is fastened to the ring-shaped chains (fig. 6), a motor (Ref. 2, Fig. 1) is suspended on one of the rotating shafts (Fig. 1).
Zhou as modified fails to explicitly teach two rotating shafts arranged parallel. Gorman teaches a residue scraper and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Gorman further teaches two rotating shafts (Fig. 1C&3) arranged in parallel (Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sprockets, as taught by Zhou as modified, to have rotating shafts between the sprockets wherein two rotating shafts are arranged in parallel, as taught by Gorman, by duplication of parts and since such a modification would yield the predictable result of transferring movement of a motor to move a scraper along skid rails.
Zhou as modified further fails to explicitly teach the frame is provided with a motor overload protection unit. Sheng can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to use a motor to drive a device. Sheng further teaches a motor overload protection unit (Ref. 17, Fig. 2, [0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the frame, as taught by Zhou, with a motor overload protection unit, as taught by Sheng, to prevent motor overloads and preventing component damage or accidents ([0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and Sheng further teaches wherein the motor overload protection unit (17)includes a rotating plate (Ref. 312, Fig. 3) fastened to the motor ([0049]) and a trigger plate (Ref. 316, Fig. 3) fastened to the frame (Fig. 3), the rotating plate is arranged perpendicular to the rotating shafts (318), the trigger plate is provided with a vertically-arranged rod (Ref. 312, Fig. 3, examiner notes the rod is has a dimension in a vertical direction and is vertically arranged), position limiting blocks (Ref. 310&306, Fig. 3) are arranged at both ends of the rod ([0042], Fig. 3) a connecting block (Ref. 307, Fig. 3) is provided on the rotating plate (Fig. 3), the connecting block is located between two position limiting blocks (Fig. 3), the connecting block is provided with a through hole for the rod to pass through (fig. 3, [0050]), springs (Ref. 309, Fig. 3) sleeved on the rod (fig. 3) are arranged between the position limiting blocks (310) and the connecting block (307, Fig. 3), the trigger plate is provided with two micro switches (Ref. 315, Fig. 3), the rotating plate (312) is provided with a check disc (Ref. 312, Fig. 3 right end of the rotating plate) for triggering the micro switches ([0055]), and the micro switches are electrically connected to the motor ([0021&0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and Sheng further teaches proximity switch (ref. 315, Fig. 3, [0055]) located at margin positions (Fig. 3) and are electrically connected to the motor to prevent over expenditure of the motor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify each long side of the frame, as taught by Zhou as modified, with the proximity sensor, as taught by Sheng, located at two margin positions to prevent motor overloads and preventing component damage or accidents ([0004]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as modified as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jin (2014/0167342).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and Zhou further teaches wherein the clamping unit includes clamps (Ref. 39, Fig. 2) arranged on two long sides (Ref. 39, Fig. 2 both long sides) and one short side of the frame (Fig. 1-2, Ref. 39, right side), and a position limiting plate (Ref. 39, Fig. 1-2, left side) arranged on the other short side (Fig. 2) and clamps face the inside of the frame (Fig. 2).
Zhou as modified fails to explicitly teach clamping cylinders and pistons of the clamping cylinders face the inside of the frame, and the pistons of the clamping cylinders are connected to L-shaped splints for snapping into the material holder. Jin can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to hold a substrate. Jin further teaches clamping cylinders (Ref. 371, Fig. 3) and pistons of the clamping cylinders (Ref. 371, Fig. 3) face the inside of the frame (Fig. 3), and the pistons of the clamping cylinders are connected to L-shaped splints (Ref. 373, Fig. 3) for snapping into the material holder (Ref. 311, Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the clamps, as taught by Zhou as modified, with the clamping cylinders attached to L-shaped brackets, as taught by Jin, since such a modification would yield the predictable result of holding a substate ([0059&0067]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and given the teachings of Zhou as modified having the clamping cylinders in place of the clamps, Zhou as modified further teaches wherein the clamping cylinders (Ref. 317, Fig. 3, Jin) on the long sides (Fig. 2, long sides, Zhou) are connected to the frame via L-shaped supports (Ref. 373, Fig. 3, Jin), and the L-shaped supports includes horizontal plates (Fig. 3 annotated below, Jin) on which the clamping cylinder are placed (Fig. 3), and vertical plates (Fig. 3 annotated below, Jin) connecting to the frame (Fig. 3).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN112452997A) in view of Gorman (2008/0295265) and Sheng (CN105173539A).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhou teaches A residue scraper (Fig. 1, [n0001]), comprising a machine frame (Ref. 32, Fig. 1), which is provided with a clamping unit (Ref. 39, fig. 1&2) for fastening a material holder (Ref. 39, Fig. 2);
a scraper unit (Ref. 46, 48-49, Fig. 1, [0034]) for cleaning residues on a to-be-cleaned surface of the material holder ([n0028]); and
a driving unit (Ref. 2, 410, 42, & 43, Fig. 1, [0034]) that drives the scraper unit to reciprocate along a long side direction of the material holder (See annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein the machine frame includes two long sides arranged in parallel and two short sides arranged in parallel (See annotated Fig. 1 below), the driving unit includes a rotating shaft (Ref. 410, Fig. 5), sprockets (Ref. 42, Fig. 5) arranged parallel with the short sides (Fig. 1&5), the sprockets mount on two ends of the long sides via bearing pedestals (Fig. 5), and the sprockets (42) are arranged at two ends of the rotating shaft (Fig. 5), and ring-shaped chains (Ref. 43, Fig. 5) are used to connect the sprockets ([n0031]), the scraper unit (4) is fastened to the ring-shaped chains (fig. 6), a motor (Ref. 2, Fig. 1) is suspended on one of the rotating shafts (Fig. 1).
Zhou as modified fails to explicitly teach two rotating shafts arranged parallel. Gorman teaches a residue scraper and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Gorman further teaches two rotating shafts (Fig. 1C&3) arranged in parallel (Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sprockets, as taught by Zhou as modified, to have rotating shafts between the sprockets wherein two rotating shafts are arranged in parallel, as taught by Gorman, by duplication of parts and since such a modification would yield the predictable result of transferring movement of a motor to move a scraper along skid rails.
Zhou as modified further fails to explicitly teach the frame is provided with a motor overload protection unit. Sheng can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to use a motor to drive a device. Sheng further teaches a motor overload protection unit (Ref. 17, Fig. 2, [0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the frame, as taught by Zhou, with a motor overload protection unit, as taught by Sheng, to prevent motor overloads and preventing component damage or accidents ([0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and Sheng further teaches wherein the motor overload protection unit includes a rotating plate (Ref. 312, Fig. 3)fastened to the motor ([0049]) and a trigger plate (Ref. 316, Fig. 3) fastened to the frame (Fig. 3), the rotating plate is arranged perpendicular to the rotating shafts (318), the trigger plate is provided with a vertically-arranged rod (Ref. 312, Fig. 3, examiner notes the rod is has a dimension in a vertical direction and is vertically arranged), position limiting blocks (Ref. 310&306, Fig. 3) are arranged at both ends of the rod ([0042], Fig. 3), a connecting block (Ref. 307, Fig. 3) is provided on the rotating plate (Fig. 3), the connecting block is located between two position limiting blocks (Fig. 3), the connecting block is provided with a through hole for the rod to pass through (fig. 3, [0050]), and springs (Ref. 309, Fig. 3), sleeved on the rod (Fig. 3) are arranged between the position limiting blocks (310) and the connecting block (307).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and Sheng further teaches wherein the trigger plate is provided with two micro switches (Ref. 315, Fig. 3), the rotating plate is provided with a check disc (Ref. 312, Fig. 3 right end of the rotating plate) for triggering the micro switches ([0055]), and the micro switches are electrically connected to the motor ([0021&0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and Sheng further teaches proximity switch (ref. 315, Fig. 3, [0055]) located at margin positions (Fig. 3) and are electrically connected to the motor to prevent over expenditure of the motor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify each long side of the frame, as taught by Zhou as modified, with the proximity sensor, as taught by Sheng, located at two margin positions to prevent motor overloads and preventing component damage or accidents ([0004]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as modified as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lou (CN114248121A).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and Zhou further teaches wherein the scraper unit includes two skid rails (Ref. 46, Fig. 5), slide tables (Ref. 48, Fig. 6) arranged on the skid rails (46, Fig. 6), and a scraper (Ref. 49, Fig. 5) and arranged between two slide tables (Fig. 5-6).
Zhou as modified fails to explicitly teach the skid rails arranged on the two long sides respectively and a scraper located in parallel with the short sides. Gorman teaches a residue scraper and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Gorman further teaches the scraper (Fig. 1C) having two skid rails (See annotated Fig. 1C below) arranged on the two long sides (Fig. 1c) respectively and a scraper (Ref. 29, Fig. 1C) located in parallel with the short sides (Fig. 1C), and the scraper include a scraper connector connecting to the two slide tables (Ref. 25, Fig. 1C) and blades (Ref. 9, Fig. 1C) arranged on the scraper connector and located in parallel with two later faces of the short sides (Fig. 1C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the skid rails, as taught by Zhou as modified, to run along the two long sides with the scraper parallel to the short sides, as taught by Gorman, since such a modification would yield the predictable result of scraping off material from a substrate.
Zhou as modified further fails to explicitly teach pneumatic slide tables on the skid rails. Lou teaches a machine that is used to transfer linear movement of a head and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to apply linear movement of a device. Lou teaches pneumatic slide tables (3072, Fig. 13) arranged on the skid rails (Fig. 14) to apply linear movement of a device (Fig. 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the slides, as taught by Zhou as modified, with the pneumatic slide tables, as taught by Lou, since such a modification would produce the predictable result of sliding on skid rails.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and given the teaching of the pneumatic slide tables of Lou, Zhou as modified teaches the scraper includes a scraper connector (Fig. 6 annotated below, Zhou) connecting to the two pneumatic slide tables (48, Fig. 5-6, Zhou) and blades (49, [n0039], Zhou) arranged on the scraper connector (Fig. 6, Zhou) and located in parallel with two later faces of the short sides (Fig. 5-6, Zhou).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as modified as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Jin (2014/0167342).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and Zhou further teaches wherein the clamping unit includes clamps (Ref. 39, Fig. 2) arranged on two long sides (Ref. 39, Fig. 2 both long sides) and one short side of the frame (Fig. 1-2, Ref. 39, right side), and a position limiting plate (Ref. 39, Fig. 1-2, left side) arranged on the other short side (Fig. 2) and clamps face the inside of the frame (Fig. 2).
Zhou as modified fails to explicitly teach clamping cylinders and pistons of the clamping cylinders face the inside of the frame, and the pistons of the clamping cylinders are connected to L-shaped splints for snapping into the material holder. Jin can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to hold a substrate. Jin further teaches clamping cylinders (Ref. 371, Fig. 3) and pistons of the clamping cylinders (Ref. 371, Fig. 3) face the inside of the frame (Fig. 3) and the pistons of the clamping cylinders are connected to L-shaped splints (Ref. 373, Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the clamps, as taught by Zhou as modified, with the clamping cylinders attached to L-shaped brackets, as taught by Jin, since such a modification would yield the predictable result of holding a substate ([0059&0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and given the teachings of Zhou as modified having the clamping cylinders in place of the clamps, Jin further teaches wherein pistons of the clamping cylinders (Ref. 317, Fig. 3) face the inside of the frame (Fig. 3), and the pistons of the clamping cylinders are connected to L-shaped splints (Ref. 373, Fig. 3) for snapping into the material holder (Ref. 311, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and Jin further teaches given the teachings of Zhou as modified having the clamping cylinders in place of the clamps, Zhou as modified further teaches wherein the clamping cylinders (Ref. 317, Fig. 3, Jin) on the long sides (Fig. 2, long sides, Zhou) are connected to the frame via L-shaped supports (Ref. 373, Fig. 3, Jin).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and given the teachings of Zhou as modified having the clamping cylinders in place of the clamps, Jin further teaches the L-shaped supports includes horizontal plates (Fig. 3 annotated below, Jin) on which the clamping cylinder are placed (Fig. 3), and vertical plates (Fig. 3 annotated below, Jin) connecting to the frame (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hairaton (6,851,156), and Formoso (1,729,069) teach scrapers and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723