DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites "the structure of which are as follows" which is grammatically incorrect and should recite "the structures of which are as follows".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. “Creation of Pure Nanodrugs and Their Anticancer Properties” Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 10315 –10318 in view of CN107669626 (Jiang et al., 08/28/2023 IDS Foreign Patent Number 3).
Kasai et al. teaches anticancer SN-38 dimers with various linkers (carbamate, ester and ether) at the phenolic hydroxy group of the parent molecule. See Scheme 1. SN-38 is a prodrug of Irinotecan which is a derivative of camptothecin. Roughly spherical 30-50 nm nanoparticles of the carbamate dimer are taught (p. 10317).
The claimed compounds such as SN0DC differ from the prior art compounds in that they utilize carbonate-alkylene-disulfide linkers which are attached to the lactone hydroxy group of SN-38.
Jiang et al. teaches camptothecin dimers with carbonate-alkylene-disfulfide linkers which are attached to the lactone hydroxy group of camptothecin. See claim 1. Para. [0003] states “the drug delivery system has a drug loading of 1% to 12.6% %, and the drug delivery system has reduction sensitivity, good biocompatibility and the ability to inhibit tumor cell proliferation, and can be used to prepare slow-controlled release and targeted anticancer drugs.” A PHOSITA would have been motivated to form an SN-38 dimer with carbonate-alkylene-disulfide linker attached to the lactone hydroxy group of SN-38 based upon the teachings of Kasai et al. in view of Jiang et al. in order to prepare slow-controlled release and targeted anticancer drugs. This would result in the claimed compound SNC0DC wherein R1 is hydroxy and R2 is ethylene with respect to claims 1-12. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing effective anticancer drugs because the parent molecules of each compound, SN-38 and camptothecin, are recognized in the art as analogous. With respect to claims 2 and 4, ClogP is an inherent property that would have necessarily flowed from the combined teachings of the prior art. With respect to claim 4, Kasai et al. teaches roughly spherical 30-50 nm nanoparticles of the carbamate dimer are taught (Figure 1b, p. 10316). With respect to claims 5-6 and 8-9, anticancer activity is taught by both prior art and claim 6 is drawn to an intended use which does not structurally limit the product and therefore is not given patentable weight. With respect to claim 7, Kasai et al. teaches that said synthetic methods are routine in the art (p. 10315, last paragraph) and are applied to the prior art nanoparticles (p. 10316, first paragraph). Accordingly, claims 1-12 are obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 19135429 in view of CN107669626 (Jiang et al.).
Claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 19135429 are drawn to compounds of General Formula (1) and nanoparticles, medicines and methods of use thereof.
The compounds differ from those instantly claimed in that they have an ester-alkylene-disulfide linker attached to the phenolic hydroxy group of each SN-38 moiety.
Jiang et al. teaches camptothecin dimers with carbonate-alkylene-disfulfide linkers which are attached to the lactone hydroxy group of camptothecin. See claim 1. Para. [0003] states “the drug delivery system has a drug loading of 1% to 12.6% %, and the drug delivery system has reduction sensitivity, good biocompatibility and the ability to inhibit tumor cell proliferation, and can be used to prepare slow-controlled release and targeted anticancer drugs.” A PHOSITA would have been motivated to form an SN-38 dimer with carbonate-alkylene-disulfide linker attached to the lactone hydroxy group of SN-38 based upon the copending claims in view of Jiang et al. in order to prepare slow-controlled release and targeted anticancer drugs. This would result in the claimed compound SNC0DC wherein R1 is hydroxy and R2 is ethylene with respect to claims 1-12. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing effective anticancer drugs because the parent molecules of each compound, SN-38 and camptothecin, are recognized in the art as analogous.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 are rejected.
Correspondence
/JED A KUCHARCZK/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623