Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 6, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the objection to claim 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Amendments overcome the objection. The objection of 02/26/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 and the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-12 over claims 1-12 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 19/135,429 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pp. 8-10 that Kasai et al. does not describe dimers in which SN-38 are linked via a disulfide bond, nor does it provide specific disclosure regarding compounds in which the tertiary hydroxy groups of SN-38 are linked to one another. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See MPEP 2145(IV). The same applies to the assertion on p. 10-11 that Jiang et al. does not describe carrier-free nanoparticles.
Applicant argues on p. 10 that the present invention is aimed at achieving dispersion stability as a carrier-free nanoparticle using a dimer of SN-38 derivatives and selective drug release. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). That the references suggest different intents or motivations for various teachings, i.e. the cleavage of disulfide bonds by DTT, does not support a conclusion of nonobviousness. This further applies to applicant’s arguments on p. 7-8, referencing paragraphs [0007] to [0011] of the specification, detailing the problems discovered and allegedly overcome as a result of the inventor’s experimentation.
Applicant appears to suggest unexpected results at pp. 7-12. See p. 7 “the presently claimed invention provides nanoparticles that are carrier-free, possess stability under dispersion, and are capable of selective drug release in tumor tissue”. Applicant also details the discovery of challenges the inventors have overcome. Applicant points to Test Examples 1 to 3 on p. 10. While the Examples show in vitro and in vivo efficacy of the claimed compound(s), it is unclear how they show unexpected results nor is there sufficient showing of the challenges allegedly overcome by the inventors. Similarly, Fig. 1-4 show efficacy of claimed compounds but nothing that appears to suggest unexpected results. Applicant is reminded that the burden is on applicant to establish results are unexpected and significant and that applicants have burden of explaining proffered data. See MPEP 716.02(b). Applicant is also reminded that the showing of unexpectedresults must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 716.02(d). The results presently disclosed are insufficient to support a conclusion of nonobviouness based upon unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
It remains that Jiang et al. is directed toward camptothecin dimers. Camptothecin is an analog of SN-38, and as such a PHOSITA would consider art regarding the drug design of camptothecin dimers as analogous to the disclosure of Kasai et al. directed toward SN-38 dimers. Accordingly, modifying the SN-38 dimers of Kasai et al. to have the same linker and attachment point of the camptothecin dimers taught by Jiang et al. would have been obvious. Arguments apply in equal or greater force to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al. “Creation of Pure Nanodrugs and Their Anticancer Properties” Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 10315 –10318 in view of CN107669626 (Jiang et al., 08/28/2023 IDS Foreign Patent Number 3).
Kasai et al. teaches anticancer SN-38 dimers with various linkers (carbamate, ester and ether) at the phenolic hydroxy group of the parent molecule. See Scheme 1. SN-38 is a prodrug of Irinotecan which is a derivative of camptothecin. Roughly spherical 30-50 nm nanoparticles of the carbamate dimer are taught (p. 10317).
The claimed compounds such as SN0DC differ from the prior art compounds in that they utilize carbonate-alkylene-disulfide linkers which are attached to the lactone hydroxy group of SN-38.
Jiang et al. teaches camptothecin dimers with carbonate-alkylene-disfulfide linkers which are attached to the lactone hydroxy group of camptothecin. See claim 1. Para. [0003] states “the drug delivery system has a drug loading of 1% to 12.6% %, and the drug delivery system has reduction sensitivity, good biocompatibility and the ability to inhibit tumor cell proliferation, and can be used to prepare slow-controlled release and targeted anticancer drugs.” A PHOSITA would have been motivated to form an SN-38 dimer with carbonate-alkylene-disulfide linker attached to the lactone hydroxy group of SN-38 based upon the teachings of Kasai et al. in view of Jiang et al. in order to prepare slow-controlled release and targeted anticancer drugs. This would result in the claimed compound SNC0DC wherein R1 is hydroxy and R2 is ethylene with respect to claims 1-12. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing effective anticancer drugs because the parent molecules of each compound, SN-38 and camptothecin, are recognized in the art as analogous. With respect to claims 2 and 4, ClogP is an inherent property that would have necessarily flowed from the combined teachings of the prior art. With respect to claim 4, Kasai et al. teaches roughly spherical 30-50 nm nanoparticles of the carbamate dimer are taught (Figure 1b, p. 10316). With respect to claims 5-6 and 8-9, anticancer activity is taught by both prior art and claim 6 is drawn to an intended use which does not structurally limit the product and therefore is not given patentable weight. With respect to claim 7, Kasai et al. teaches that said synthetic methods are routine in the art (p. 10315, last paragraph) and are applied to the prior art nanoparticles (p. 10316, first paragraph). Accordingly, claims 1-12 are obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 19135429 in view of CN107669626 (Jiang et al.).
Claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 19135429 are drawn to compounds of General Formula (1) and nanoparticles, medicines and methods of use thereof.
The compounds differ from those instantly claimed in that they have an ester-alkylene-disulfide linker attached to the phenolic hydroxy group of each SN-38 moiety.
Jiang et al. teaches camptothecin dimers with carbonate-alkylene-disfulfide linkers which are attached to the lactone hydroxy group of camptothecin. See claim 1. Para. [0003] states “the drug delivery system has a drug loading of 1% to 12.6% %, and the drug delivery system has reduction sensitivity, good biocompatibility and the ability to inhibit tumor cell proliferation, and can be used to prepare slow-controlled release and targeted anticancer drugs.” A PHOSITA would have been motivated to form an SN-38 dimer with carbonate-alkylene-disulfide linker attached to the lactone hydroxy group of SN-38 based upon the copending claims in view of Jiang et al. in order to prepare slow-controlled release and targeted anticancer drugs. This would result in the claimed compound SNC0DC wherein R1 is hydroxy and R2 is ethylene with respect to claims 1-12. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing effective anticancer drugs because the parent molecules of each compound, SN-38 and camptothecin, are recognized in the art as analogous.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JED A KUCHARCZK/ Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621