Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,10,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al (PG Pub 2021/0005583 A1) and Steudel et al (PG Pub 2020/0185579 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Iguchi teaches a light emitting device, comprising: a light emitting body including a plurality of light emitting elements (105f, figs. 11 and 13) and an insulating body (60, paragraph [0075]) in which the plurality of light emitting elements is embedded except for a light emitting surface of the light emitting elements, the plurality of light emitting elements arranged in a row direction and a column direction (fig. 10, 11, and 13); and a substrate including a drive circuit (50d), a first terminal (51d), and a second terminal (51d) and joined to the light emitting body, the drive circuit driving the plurality of light emitting elements, the first terminal and the second terminal electrically coupling the drive circuit and the plurality of light emitting elements to each other.
Iguchi does not teach a reflection attenuating film disposed on and overlapping with at least the transparent electrode between the plurality of light emitting elements, wherein the reflection attenuating film includes a combined film that includes one or more materials selected from titanium, tantalum, and titanium nitride.
In the same field of endeavor, Steudel teaches a reflection attenuating film (15, fig. 3, paragraph [0085]) disposed on and overlapping with at least the transparent electrode (ITO) between the plurality of light emitting elements (12), wherein the reflection attenuating film includes a combined film that includes one or more materials selected from titanium (TiO, paragraph [0085]), tantalum, and titanium nitride, for the benefits of reducing viewing angles and uniformly distributing current and heat (paragraphs [0005] to [0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to include a reflection attenuating film disposed on and overlapping with at least the transparent electrode between the plurality of light emitting elements, wherein the reflection attenuating film includes a combined film that includes one or more materials selected from titanium, tantalum, and titanium nitride, for the benefits of reducing viewing angles and uniformly distributing current and heat.
Regarding claim 2, Iguchi teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of light emitting elements comprises a light-emitting diode (105f, legends, figs. 11 and 13) including a first compound semiconductor layer (11/13), a second compound semiconductor layer (13/11), and an active layer (12), the first compound semiconductor layer being disposed on a side of the light emitting surface the second compound semiconductor layer being disposed on a side of the substrate, the active layer being disposed between the first compound semiconductor layer and the second compound semiconductor layer.
Regarding claim 10, Iguchi teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a color conversion layer (32g, paragraph [0083], fig. 13) disposed on the light emitting surface for each of the plurality of light emitting elements; and a second light reflecting film (34Sg, paragraph [0100]) that is disposed around a side surface of the color conversion layer and reflects light emitted from the plurality of light emitting elements.
Regarding claim 11, Iguchi teaches the light emitting device according to claim 10, wherein an optical lens (40, fig. 13) is disposed on the color conversion layer.
Claim(s) 3-6 and12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al (PG Pub 2021/0005583 A1) and Steudel et al (PG Pub 2020/0185579 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Ohmae et al (PG Pub 2019/0086035 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 2.
The previous combination does not teach a first light reflecting film provided along a side surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, a side surface of the second compound semiconductor layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Ohmae teach a first light reflecting film (9, fig. 2, paragraph [0082]) provided along a side surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, a side surface of the second compound semiconductor layer (3-5), and the first light reflecting film having a constant film thickness (paragraph [0082], fig. 2), for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a first light reflecting film along a side surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, a side surface of the second compound semiconductor layer, and the first light reflecting film having a constant film thickness, for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
The previous combination in view of Ohmae teaches the first light reflecting film to be provided along “a surface, on the side of the substrate, of the second compound semiconductor layer, the first light reflecting film reflecting light emitted from the plurality of light emitting elements.”
Regarding claim 4, Ohmae teaches the light emitting device according to claim 3, wherein the first light reflecting film comprises a metal film (paragraph [0082]) or a metallic compound film that is formed by a chemical vapor deposition method or an atomic layer deposition method.
Regarding claim 5, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 1.
Iguchi further teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a transparent electrode (30, fig. 11, paragraph [0076]) disposed at the light emitting surface of the plurality of light emitting elements and provided integrally for the plurality of light emitting elements.
Iguchi in view of Steudel does not teach the reflection attenuating film having a reflectance at an interface between the reflection attenuating film and the transparent electrode that is lower than a reflectance of the transparent electrode at an interface between the transparent electrode and an insulating material.
In the same field of endeavor, Ohmae teaches a first light reflecting film (gold layer 9, fig. 2, paragraph [0082]) provided along a side surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, a side surface of the second compound semiconductor layer (3-5), for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a first light reflecting film along a side surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, a side surface of the second compound semiconductor layer, for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
The modified device in view of Ohmae teaches the reflection attenuating film having a reflectance at an interface between the reflection attenuating film and the transparent electrode that is lower than a reflectance of the transparent electrode at an interface (at regions, such as the left and right edges of device in fig. 2, where gold reflective layer 9 of Ohmae would have been between transparent conductive layer 30 in Iguchi and insulating layer 60) between the transparent electrode and an insulating material, since it is well known that gold (layer 9 in Ohmae) has higher reflectance than titanium oxide (TiO 15 in Steudel).
Regarding claim 6, Steudel teaches wherein the reflection attenuating film has electrical conductivity (TiO 15, paragraph [0085]) and is electrically coupled to the transparent electrode (ITO, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Iguchi does not teach a plug wiring having one end surface and another end surface in an extending direction, the one end surface penetrating the first light reflecting film.
Ohmae teaches a plug wiring (7, fig. 2) having one end surface and another end surface in an extending direction, the one end surface penetrating the first light reflecting film (9) in a thickness direction and being electrically coupled to the surface, for the known benefit of providing electrical power to the light emitting element.
Iguchi in view of Ohmae teaches “on the side of the substrate, of the second compound semiconductor layer, the other end surface being electrically coupled to the second terminal” for the known benefit of providing electrical power to the light emitting element.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a plug wiring having one end surface and another end surface in an extending direction, the one end surface penetrating the first light reflecting film, on the side of the substrate, of the second compound semiconductor layer, the other end surface being electrically coupled to the second terminal, for the known benefit of providing electrical power to the light emitting element.
Claim(s) 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al (PG Pub 2021/0005583 A1), Steudel et al (PG Pub 2020/0185579 A1), and Ohmae et al (PG Pub 2019/0086035 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Iguchi et al (PG Pub 2020/0176655 A1, hereafter Iguchi 655).
Regarding claim 15, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 12.
Iguchi further teaches a first light shielding film (51d, fig. 13, paragraph [0103]).
The previous combination does not teach the relative positioning of the first light shielding film and the second terminal as in “a first light shielding film provided at an outer periphery between the first light reflecting film and the second terminal.”
In the same field of endeavor, Iguchi 655 teaches a second terminal (51, fig. 1), for the benefit of interconnecting the drive circuit (50) to the light emitting body 14 to turn the light emitting body on/off.
The previous combination in view of Iguchi 655 teaches the light emitting device according to claim 12, further comprising a first light shielding film (51d, fig. 13 of Iguchi) provided at an outer periphery between the first light reflecting film (9 of Ohmae) and the second terminal (in driving substrate 50d of Iguchi), the outer periphery intersecting with the extending direction of the plug wiring, the first light shielding film blocking leakage light from between the first light reflecting film and the plug wiring line toward the side of the substrate, for the benefit of interconnecting the drive circuit to the light emitting body to turn the light emitting body on/off.
Regarding claim 16, Iguchi does not teach the light emitting device according to claim 15, wherein the first light shielding film is provided to include aluminum, copper, tungsten, or titanium.
Iguchi teaches the first light shielding film to be highly reflective (paragraph [0103]).
Ohmae teaches aluminum and copper to be reflective (paragraph [0082]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the first light shielding film to include aluminum, copper, tungsten, or titanium, for the benefit of achieving light shielding effect.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al (PG Pub 2021/0005583 A1), Steudel et al (PG Pub 2020/0185579 A1), and Ohmae et al (PG Pub 2019/0086035 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Iguchi et al (PG Pub 2020/0176655 A1, hereafter Iguchi 655) and Lim et al (PG Pub 2016/0049426 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 12.
The previous combination does not teach a first light absorbing film.
In the same field of endeavor, Iguchi teaches a first light absorbing film (copper 51, paragraph [0144]; copper is absorptive, paragraph [0061] of Lim) provided at an outer periphery between the first light reflecting film (20W) and the second terminal (blow 51), the outer periphery intersecting with the extending direction of the plug wiring line (20p), for the benefit of interconnecting the drive circuit and the light emitting body to turn the light emitting body on/off.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a first light absorbing film at an outer periphery between the first light reflecting film and the second terminal, the outer periphery intersecting with the extending direction of the plug wiring line, for the benefit of interconnecting the drive circuit and the light emitting body to turn the light emitting body on/off
The combined device can function as claimed: the first light absorbing film absorbing leakage light from between the first light reflecting film and the plug wiring line toward the side of the substrate.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al (PG Pub 2021/0005583 A1), Steudel et al (PG Pub 2020/0185579 A1), Ohmae et al (PG Pub 2019/0086035 A1), and Iguchi et al (PG Pub 2020/0176655 A1, hereafter Iguchi 655) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lee (PG Pub 2021/0175279 A1) and Lim et al (PG Pub 2016/0049426 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 12.
Iguchi further teaches the light emitting device according to claim 15, wherein the drive circuit includes a driving transistor (paragraph [0035]).
The previous combination does not teach a second light shielding film and a second light absorbing film on a side of the plurality of light emitting elements with respect to the driving transistor.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches a second light shielding film (molybdenum layer DT_S, DT_D, fig. 17, paragraphs [0154][0159][0163]; molybdenum is absorptive, paragraph [0061] of Lim) and a second light absorbing film on a side of a plurality of light emitting element (500) with respect to the driving transistor (DT_G and ACT), for the benefit of interconnecting the drive circuit and the light emitting body to turn the light emitting body on/off.
The modified device can function as claimed: the second light shielding film blocking leakage light from the plurality of light emitting elements toward the side of the substrate, the second light absorbing film absorbing the leakage light.
Regarding claim 18, Iguchi teaches the light emitting device according to claim 17, wherein the second light shielding film is provided to include aluminum (multilayer of molybdenum and aluminum, paragraph [0154]), copper, tungsten, or titanium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7,8,14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not teach
“a portion of the reflection attenuating film is provided to penetrate (near 45B, fig. 13) the transparent electrode in a thickness direction” (claim 7);
“wherein the reflection attenuating film extends to a peripheral region of the pixels, and the reflection attenuating film is, in the peripheral region, electrically coupled to the first terminal through a through wiring line, the through wiring line penetrating the insulating body and including a conductive material same as that of the reflection attenuating film” (claim 8);
“the first light absorbing film includes cobalt, nitrogen-doped titanium oxide, or amorphous carbon” (claim 14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-18 have been considered but are moot because the currently cited reference, Steudel et al, teaches the amended features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899