DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-2, 5-12 and 19-20) in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 3-4 and 13-18 are withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 5-12 and 19-20 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites that the average spacing of the precipitates is 0.8-1.4 µm. Claim 2 depends from claim 1 and recites that that the average spacing of the precipitates is 1.2 µm or less, which covers a range of 0-1.2 µm and thus does not further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’503 (JP6672503B1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-12 and 19-20, JP’503 teaches an aluminum alloy extruded material comprising: Zn: 8% to 9.0% by mass; Mg: 1.3% to 2.0% by mass; Cu: 0.1% to 0.7% by mass; at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mn: 0.30% by mass or less, Cr: 0.25% by mass or less, and Zr: 0.25% by mass or less: totaling 0.1% to 0.5% by mass; Ti: 0.005% to 0.20% by mass and the balance being Al (Abstract), which are within the recited composition ranges in claim 1.
JP’503 discloses examples that meet the recited composition in claims 1, 5-11 and 19-20 (See Table 1, Sample No. 2-4).
JP’503 discloses that the proof stress of the aluminum alloy is 460 MPa (i.e. 460 N/mm2) or more (Page 7, 4th paragraph), which meets the recited proof stress in claim 1.
JP’503 is silent on the average spacing of grain boundary precipitates and the average particle length of the grain boundary precipitates as recited in claims 1-2 and 12. However, this structure limitation is determined by the alloy composition and a method of making the aluminum alloy.
JP’503 teaches a method of making the extruded aluminum alloy, comprising: performing homogenization on the aluminum alloy at 490-550 ºC for 6 hours, hot-extruding the aluminum alloy at 500 ºC after the homogenization; cooling the extruded aluminum alloy from extrusion temperature to room temperature at an average cooling rate of 290°C/minute; and performing artificial aging treatment after the cooling at 90 ºC for 3 hours and then at 140 ºC for 8 hours (Page 5-6; Table 1, Sample No. 2-4), which meets the processing conditions recited in claims 3-4 and 13-18.
In view of the fact that JP’503 teaches an extruded aluminum alloy that meets the recited composition in claim 1 and a method of making the extruded aluminum alloy that meets the recited method in claims 3-4 and 13-18, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the extruded aluminum alloy disclosed by JP’503 to meet the recited average spacing of grain boundary precipitates and the average particle length of the grain boundary precipitates in claims 1-2 and 12. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733