DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-22 and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolarsky et al (US# 9827965).
Kolarsky et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a method for controlling a hydraulic volume in a system including a power brake 68 and a driving dynamics control (ESP system/100), wherein the system is configured to hydraulically couple the power brake to the driving dynamics control, the method comprising the following steps: providing a signal to build up a first hydraulic pressure for the driving dynamics control (via 66); generating a first control signal using the driving dynamics control, and providing the first control signal to the power brake (via 20) to provide hydraulic volume at the hydraulic coupling; generating a second hydraulic pressure using the power brake 68 to provide the hydraulic volume at the hydraulic coupling; providing the hydraulic volume at the second hydraulic pressure at the hydraulic coupling using the power brake; and building up the first hydraulic pressure in the driving dynamics control using the provided hydraulic volume (col. 9, line 64-col. 10, line 40).
Regarding claim 16, a signal is provided to reduce pressure for the driving dynamics control; generating a second control signal using the driving dynamics control, and providing the second control signal to the power brake to receive the hydraulic volume at the hydraulic coupling; generating a third hydraulic pressure using the power brake to receive the hydraulic volume at the hydraulic coupling; receiving the hydraulic volume at the second hydraulic pressure at the hydraulic coupling using the power brake; and reducing the first hydraulic pressure in the driving dynamics control using the hydraulic volume received by the power brake (col 10, line 41- col. 11, line 37).
Regarding claim 17, the hydraulic volume is provided by a plunger 68a of the power brake.
Regarding claim 18, the plunger 68a does not have a sniffer bore, as broadly recited.
Regarding claim 19, the second hydraulic pressure and/or the third hydraulic pressure is generated by the plunger 68a of the power brake.
Regarding claim 20, the first control signal and/or the second control signal is provided by a control device 100 of the driving dynamics control.
Regarding claim 21, the first control signal and/or the second control signal is provided by a signal 24 or 12 at an activated changeover valve 70 or 72 of the power brake and/or of the driving dynamics control.
Regarding claim 22, the activated changeover valve 70 or 72 is a valve is a controllable valve of the driving dynamics control.
Regarding claim 24, the second hydraulic pressure and/or the hydraulic volume is reached by mechanically moving a position of a piston 68a of the plunger from an initial position in order to provide an increased pressure at the hydraulic coupling .
Regarding claim 25, the second hydraulic pressure is determined using a pressure sensor 90 in order to regulate the second hydraulic pressure.
Regarding claim 26, the signal to build up pressure for the driving dynamics control is provided by a control device 100 of a mobile platform (vehicle).
Regarding claim 27, Kolarsky et al disclose a system 1 for controlling a hydraulic volume in a system including a power brake 68 and a driving dynamics control (100/ESP), comprising: a power brake 68; a driving dynamics control (ESP) hydraulically coupled to the power brake; a control device 100 for the driving dynamics control; wherein the power brake is coupled by signals 20/18 to the driving dynamics control; and wherein the system is configured to: provide a signal (via 66) to build up a first hydraulic pressure for the driving dynamics control, generate a first control signal 20 using the driving dynamics control, and providing the first control signal to the power brake to provide hydraulic volume at the hydraulic coupling, generate a second hydraulic pressure using the power brake to provide the hydraulic volume at the hydraulic coupling, provide the hydraulic volume at the second hydraulic pressure at the hydraulic coupling using the power brake, and build up the first hydraulic pressure in the driving dynamics control using the provided hydraulic volume (col. 9, line 64-col. 10, line 40).
Regarding claim 28, the system is configured for braking at least one wheel of a mobile platform (vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolarsky et al (US# 9827965) in view of Kim et al (US# 2021/0237706) or Grieser-Schmitz et al (US# 2014/0129108).
Regarding claim 23, Kolarsky et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the first control signal and/or the second control signal being a binary signal and/or an analog signal. Kolarsky et al is silent as to whether the signals are binary, analog or some other form a signal. Kim et al discloses a vehicle brake system and further teaches control signals in either analog or digital form [0078]. Grieser-Schmitz et al also discloses a vehicle brake system and further teaches control signals in either analog or digital/binary form [0008]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a binary or analog signal for the signals of Kolarsky et al, as taught by Kim et al or Grieser-Schmitz et al, as obvious and known suitable means of transmitting the information which provides the predictable results of component actuation as commanded.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK