DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 16-19) in the reply filed on 1/21/2026 is acknowledged. All non-elected claims were cancelled by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duerig et al. (US 20190276921 A1, hereafter “Duerig”) in view of Eigler et al. (US 20210338990 A1, hereafter Eigler), and in further view of Sanders et al. (US 20070173800 A1, hereafter “Sanders”).
Regarding claim 16, Duerig discloses a shape memory nitinol material for use in medical implants wherein the medical device has a martensite finish temperature (Mf) less than body temperature (“Mf [is] below a normal body temperature” para. [0009]),
a R-phase finish temperature (Rf) above body temperature (“R-phase has been stabilized and shifted to above body temperature,” para. [0065]), and
an austenite finish temperature (Af) above body temperature (“Af is above body temperature,” para. [0063]).
However, Duerig fails to disclose an implantable shape memory actuator for treating a human subject, wherein the implantable shape memory actuator is configured to adjust fluid flow through an adjustable shunting system.
Eigler teaches a similar device in the same field of endeavor—an implantable shape memory actuator (700) for treating a human subject (para. [0121]), wherein the implantable shape memory actuator is configured to adjust fluid flow through an adjustable shunting system (para. [0123, 0125]).
Duerig discloses a wide range of various medical implants that its shape memory material can be used for (see para. [0014]) and Eigler discloses the use of a nitinol material that also has the austenitic and martensitic phases (see para. [0087]); therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the material of Duerig for a shape memory actuator as taught by Eigler with predictable results namely, a temperature-sensitive shape memory material for medical implants.
However, Duerig is silent as to the exact degree amount the Mf is below body temperature.
Sanders teaches an implantable medical device formed of a shape memory material wherein the Mf is at least 10 0C less than body temperature (para. [0031] discloses Mf is 10-20 degrees C below the martensite start temperature of 10-15 degrees C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-specific Mf of Duerig to at least 10 degrees C below body temperature as taught by Sanders yielding predictable results namely, a shape memory material that can transition to a rigid austenitic state to a more flexible martensitic state based on the temperature and allowing sufficient time to manipulate the material as needed (para. [0006, 0031]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Duerig, Eigler, and Sanders discloses the actuator of claim 16. Duerig fails to disclose wherein the Mf is at or below 25°C.
Sanders teaches wherein the Mf is at or below 25°C (para. [0031] discloses Mf is 10-20 degrees C below the martensite start temperature of 10-15 degrees C—i.e., Mf can be 5 degrees C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-specific Mf of Duerig to at or below 25 degrees C as taught by Sanders yielding predictable results namely, a shape memory material that can transition to a rigid austenitic state to a more flexible martensitic state based on the temperature and allowing sufficient time to manipulate the material as needed (para. [0006, 0031]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Duerig, Eigler, and Sanders discloses the actuator of claim 16. Duerig fails to disclose wherein the Mf is above about 5°C.
Sanders teaches wherein the Mf is above about 5°C (para. [0031] discloses Mf is 10-20 degrees C below the martensite start temperature of 10-15 degrees C—i.e., Mf can be 5 degrees C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-specific Mf of Duerig to above about 5 degrees C as taught by Sanders yielding predictable results namely, a shape memory material that can transition to a rigid austenitic state to a more flexible martensitic state based on the temperature and allowing sufficient time to manipulate the material as needed (para. [0006, 0031]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duerig (US 20190276921 A1) in view of Eigler (US 20210338990 A1), Sanders (US 20070173800 A1), and in further view of Frantzen et al. (US 5776114 A, hereafter “Frantzen”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Duerig, Eigler, and Sanders discloses the actuator of claim 16. However, the combination fails to disclose wherein the Af is between about 45°C and about 65°C.
Frantzen teaches a nitinol material wherein the Af is between about 45°C and about 65°C (column 2 line 67 – column 3 line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-specific Af of Duerig to between about 45°C and about 65°C as taught by Frantzen yielding predictable results namely, a shape memory material that transitions between austenite and martensite phases (column 2 line 67 – column 3 line 4).
Conclusion
/ERIN A KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 11 February 2026