DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14-18, 27, 29-31, 33-37, 39, 41-45 and 47-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji [US 2019/0306856] in view of Faheem [US 2020/0213896].
As claims 12, 27, 31 and 39 Ji [US 2019/0306856] discloses an user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the UE to: transmit, to a network entity, uplink transmissions including traffic from an application client connected to the UE [Par. 0101 discloses UE includes application for transmitting the traffic to base station, Fig 2]; receive, from the application client and via a cross-layer, uplink traffic features associated with the traffic from the application client, wherein the uplink and downlink transmission opportunities are determined based at least in part on the uplink traffic features [Par. 0094, 0096, 0100-0101 discloses applicant client receives the uplink traffic features such configuration, duration , average packet size/rate “timing”, other possibilities that associates with traffic data for transmitting to the base station which uses to determine DL and UL slots wherein applicant client performs a cross-layer “VOLTE is cross-layer”] and transmit, to the network entity, information identifying uplink and downlink transmission opportunities that are based at least in part on the uplink transmissions including the traffic from the application client, wherein the uplink and downlink transmission opportunities are determined based at least in part on the uplink traffic features [Par. 0100-0101, Fig 5, Ref 504 discloses UE transmit to base station an indicator for indicating UL and DL slots based on uplink traffic features such as average packet size/rate “timing” from applicant client]. However, Ji fails to disclose receive, from the application client and via a cross-layer application programming interface (API), uplink traffic features associated with the traffic from the application client, wherein the uplink traffic features comprise one or more timing characteristics of the traffic from the application client and wherein the uplink and downlink transmission opportunities are determined based at least in part on the uplink traffic features. In the same field of endeavor, Faheem [US 2020/0213896] discloses receive, from the application client and via a cross-layer application programming interface (API), uplink traffic features associated with the traffic from the application client, wherein the uplink traffic features comprise one or more timing characteristics of the traffic from the application client [Par. 0008, 0082-0083, 0094, Fig 7 discloses application “application layer” send latency, jitter via API to RRC “layer” for requesting a resource for uplink and downlink “cross-layer from App layer to RRC layer”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for using cross-layer API with client application for informing the latency, QOS, jitter to RRC layer for requesting resource as disclosed by Faheen into the teaching of Ji. The motivation would have been to optimize the latency of end to end.
As claims 14, 29, 33 and 41, Ji [US 2019/0306856] discloses detect uplink traffic features associated with the traffic from the application client, wherein the uplink and downlink transmission opportunities are determined based at least in part on the uplink traffic features [Par. 0100-0101 discloses UE detect uplink traffic features such as data for selecting indicator, Table 3].
As claims 15, 30, 34 and 42, Ji [US 2019/0306856] discloses the uplink and downlink transmission opportunities include connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) ON times that are aligned with the uplink transmissions of the traffic from the application client, and wherein the information includes an indication of recommended CDRX parameters that identify the CDRX ON times that are aligned with the uplink transmissions of the traffic from the application client [Par. 0081, 0088-0089, 0095, 0097, 0099 discloses the indication indicates cycles of DRX when UE connects to Base station in order to allow the Base station known when the UE is active].
As claims 16, 35, 43 and 47, Ji [US 2019/0306856] discloses the UE to transmit the information identifying the uplink and downlink transmission opportunities are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network entity, a radio resource control message including the indication of the recommended CDRX parameters [Par. 0087-0088, 0095 disclose UE send RRC message include parameters such as cycles of DRX of connected UE with base station].
As claims 17, 36, 44 and 48, Ji [US 2019/0306856] discloses receive, from the network entity, one or more downlink communications including traffic from an application server during one or more of the downlink transmission opportunities [Par. 0101 discloses the base station transmits downlink traffic which is received from email server via downlink slot].
As claims 18, 37, 45 and 49, Ji [US 2019/0306856] discloses the UE to transmit the information identifying the uplink and downlink transmission opportunities are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network entity, uplink traffic features associated with the traffic from the application client [Par. 0101 discloses the uplink traffic features such configuration, duration, other possibilities is transmitted to base station].
Claim(s) 19, 38, 46 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji [US 2019/0306856] and Faheem [US 2020/0213896] as applied to claims 12, 27, 31 and 39 above, and further in view of Phillips [US 2023/0405454].
As claims 19, 38, 46 and 50, Ji [US 2019/0306856] and Faheem [US 2020/0213896] fail to disclose what Phillips [US 2023/0405454] discloses the application client is a virtual reality or augmented reality application client [Par. 0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the application client is a virtual reality or augmented reality application client as disclosed by Phillips into the teaching of Ji [US 2019/0306856] and Faheen [US 2020/0213096]. The motivation would have been to optimize the latency of end to end.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414