DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 43 is objected to because of the following informalities: There seems to be a typographical mistake and the last two claims are both labeled “Claim 43”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 30-32, 35, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2021/0250142 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0252185 hereinafter referred to as Zhang).
RE Claim 25, Wang discloses an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) (See Wang Background; Summary; FIG 16) comprising:
memory to store capability information associated with the UE (See Wang Background; Summary; FIG 16); and
processing circuitry, coupled with the memory (See Wang Background; Summary; FIG 16), to:
determine, based on the UE capability information, a position of uplink control information (UCI) within a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (See Wang Summary; [0031], [0108]-[0114], [0125] – based on UE capability information (i.e. MCS information, timing information for symbol starting points, etc…) determining position of UCI within PUSCH); and
encode a PUSCH message for transmission that includes the UCI at the determined position (See Wang Summary; [0031], [0108]-[0114], [0125] – encoding PUSCH including UCI at determined mapping position).
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the UE capability information includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI.
However, Zhang teaches of wherein the UE capability information includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI (See Zhang [0123] – mapping UCI to PUSCH and avoiding CSI-RS (i.e. symbols after CSI-RS); UE capability information can be construed as the internal rule the UE uses to ensure that “the position of the reference signal [CSI-RS] needs to be avoided, for example, an appropriate symbol before or after the position needs to be selected to map the UCI”; that is the claimed “minimum time” can be construed as “an appropriate symbol before or after the position”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein the UE capability information includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to ensure that UCI can be properly sent through the PUSCH (See Zhang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 30, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 25 above, wherein transmission of the UCI within the PUSCH message includes a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbol transmitted in a symbol adjacent to the UCI (See Wang FIG 10; [0119] – UCI adjacent to DMRS).
RE Claim 31, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 25 above, wherein transmission of the UCI within the PUSCH message is performed after a first DM-RS symbol satisfying a capability in the UE capability information (See Wang FIG 10; [0119] – UCI transmitted after DMRS satisfying capability information (i.e. MCS information, timing information for symbol starting points, etc…)).
RE Claim 32, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 25 above, wherein transmission of the UCI within the PUSCH message is postponed until an end of an uplink (UL) portion of a time division duplex (TDD) period (See Wang [0129] – UCI can be at end of PUSCH (P.end)).
RE Claim 35, One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a user equipment (UE) to (See Wang Background; Summary; FIG 16):
determine, based on one or more UE capabilities, a position of uplink control information (UCI) to be transmitted in conjunction with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (See Wang Summary; [0031], [0108]-[0114], [0125] – based on UE capability information (i.e. MCS information, timing information for symbol starting points, etc…) determining position of UCI within PUSCH); and
encode a PUSCH message for transmission based on the determined UCI position (See Wang Summary; [0031], [0108]-[0114], [0125] – encoding PUSCH including UCI at determined mapping position).
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more UE capabilities include an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI.
However, Zhang teaches of wherein the one or more UE capabilities include an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI (See Zhang [0123] – mapping UCI to PUSCH and avoiding CSI-RS (i.e. symbols after CSI-RS); UE capability information can be construed as the internal rule the UE uses to ensure that “the position of the reference signal [CSI-RS] needs to be avoided, for example, an appropriate symbol before or after the position needs to be selected to map the UCI”; that is the claimed “minimum time” can be construed as “an appropriate symbol before or after the position”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein the one or more UE capabilities include an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to ensure that UCI can be properly sent through the PUSCH (See Zhang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 39, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, as set forth in claim 35 above, wherein transmission of the UCI in conjunction with the PUSCH message:
includes a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbol transmitted in a symbol adjacent to the UCI (See Wang FIG 10; [0119] – UCI adjacent to DMRS); or
is performed after a first DM-RS symbol satisfying a capability in the UE capability information (See Wang FIG 10; [0119] – UCI transmitted after DMRS satisfying capability information (i.e. MCS information, timing information for symbol starting points, etc…)); or
is postponed until an end of an uplink (UL) portion of a time division duplex (TDD) period (See Wang [0129] – UCI can be at end of PUSCH (P.end)).
Claims 27, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2021/0250142 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0252185 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Wu et al. (US# 2019/0097779 hereinafter referred to as Wu).
RE Claim 27, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 25 above. Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the UE capability information includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission and the UCI.
However, Wu teaches of wherein the UE capability information includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission and the UCI (See Wu [0066]-[0067] – configurable value for timespan between ending sub-frame of PDCCH and UCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, wherein the UE capability information includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission and the UCI, as taught in Wu. One is motivated as such in order to better schedule and transmit UCI in different types of technologies and device capabilities (See Wu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 37, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, as set forth in claim 35 above. Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more UE capabilities includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission and the UCI.
However, Wu teaches of wherein the one or more UE capabilities includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission and the UCI (See Wu [0066]-[0067] – configurable value for timespan between ending sub-frame of PDCCH and UCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, wherein the one or more UE capabilities includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission and the UCI, as taught in Wu. One is motivated as such in order to better schedule and transmit UCI in different types of technologies and device capabilities (See Wu Background; Summary).
Claim 28-29, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2021/0250142 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0252185 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and He et al. (US# 2018/0205525 hereinafter referred to as He).
RE Claim 28, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 25 above, wherein the position of the UCI is based on a codeblock bundle (CBB) satisfying a capability in the UE capability information (See Wang FIG 10; [0126], [0175]-[0178] – UCI in PUSCH transmitted in CBGs).
Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the position of the UCI is based on an earliest discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol before a codeblock bundle (CBB) satisfying a capability in the UE capability information.
However, He teaches of wherein the position of the UCI is based on an earliest discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol before a codeblock bundle (CBB) satisfying a capability in the UE capability information (See He FIG 9; [0044] – UCI in earliest DFT-s-OFDM symbol before other CBGs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, wherein the position of the UCI is based on an earliest discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol before a codeblock bundle (CBB) satisfying a capability in the UE capability information, as taught in He. One is motivated as such in order to improve reliability (See He Background; [0044]).
RE Claim 29, Wang, modified by Zhang and He, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 28 above, wherein the position of the UCI is between two adjacent CBBs (See Wang FIG 10; [0126], [0175]-[0178] – UCI between two adjacent CBGs).
RE Claim 38, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, as set forth in claim 35 above, wherein the position of the UCI is based on a codeblock bundle (CBB) satisfying a capability in the UE capability information (See Wang FIG 10; [0126], [0175]-[0178] – UCI in PUSCH transmitted in CBGs).
Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the position of the UCI is based on an earliest discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol before a codeblock bundle (CBB) satisfying a capability in the UE capability information.
However, He teaches of wherein the position of the UCI is based on an earliest discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol before a codeblock bundle (CBB) satisfying a capability in the UE capability information (See He FIG 9; [0044] – UCI in earliest DFT-s-OFDM symbol before other CBGs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, wherein the position of the UCI is based on an earliest discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol before a codeblock bundle (CBB) satisfying a capability in the UE capability information, as taught in He. One is motivated as such in order to improve reliability (See He Background; [0044]).
Claims 33, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2021/0250142 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0252185 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Chen et al. (US# 2013/0250924 hereinafter referred to as Chen).
RE Claim 33, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 25 above. Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the PUSCH includes uplink shared channel (UL SCH) information.
However, Chen teaches of wherein the PUSCH includes uplink shared channel (UL SCH) information (See Chen [0046], [0132] – PUSCH includes UL SCH information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, wherein the PUSCH includes uplink shared channel (UL SCH) information, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication efficiency (See Chen Background; Summary).
RE Claim 40, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, as set forth in claim 35 above. Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the PUSCH includes uplink shared channel (UL SCH) information.
However, Chen teaches of wherein the PUSCH includes uplink shared channel (UL SCH) information (See Chen [0046], [0132] – PUSCH includes UL SCH information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, wherein the PUSCH includes uplink shared channel (UL SCH) information, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication efficiency (See Chen Background; Summary).
Claims 34, 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2021/0250142 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2020/0252185 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Bai et al. (US# 2022/0183000 hereinafter referred to as Bai).
RE Claim 34, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 25 above. Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose further comprising receiving, from a next-generation NodeB (gNB), downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI.
However, Bai teaches of further comprising receiving, from a next-generation NodeB (gNB), downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI (See Bai [0048] - The UE may receive, from the base station, signaling which may serve as ACK feedback for the UCI report carried over the PUSCH transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, further comprising receiving, from a next-generation NodeB (gNB), downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI, as taught in Bai. One is motivated as such in order to help optimize communication between the UE and the base station (See Bai Background; Summary; [0050]).
RE Claim 41, Wang, modified by Zhang, discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, as set forth in claim 35 above. Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose wherein the media further stores instructions for causing the UE to receive, from a next-generation NodeB (gNB), downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI, wherein the DCI includes an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number associated with the UCI.
However, Bai teaches of further comprising wherein the media further stores instructions for causing the UE to receive, from a next-generation NodeB (gNB), downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI, wherein the DCI includes an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number associated with the UCI (See Bai [0048] - The UE may receive, from the base station, signaling which may serve as ACK feedback for the UCI report carried over the PUSCH transmission; includes HARQ process number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, further comprising wherein the media further stores instructions for causing the UE to receive, from a next-generation NodeB (gNB), downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI, wherein the DCI includes an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number associated with the UCI, as taught in Bai. One is motivated as such in order to help optimize communication between the UE and the base station (See Bai Background; Summary; [0050]).
RE Claim 42, Wang discloses One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a next-generation (gNB) (See Wang Background; Summary) to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), uplink control information (UCI) transmitted in conjunction with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (See Wang Summary; [0031], [0108]-[0114], [0125] – receiving PUSCH including UCI at determined mapping position).
Wang does not specifically disclose encode a message for transmission to the UE that includes downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI, wherein the DCI includes an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number associated with the UCI; or
wherein the UCI is received at a position determined based on UE capability information including an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI.
However, Zhang teaches of wherein the UCI is received at a position determined based on UE capability information including an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI (See Zhang [0123] – mapping UCI to PUSCH and avoiding CSI-RS (i.e. symbols after CSI-RS); UE capability information can be construed as the internal rule the UE uses to ensure that “the position of the reference signal [CSI-RS] needs to be avoided, for example, an appropriate symbol before or after the position needs to be selected to map the UCI”; that is the claimed “minimum time” can be construed as “an appropriate symbol before or after the position”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein the UCI is received at a position determined based on UE capability information including an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to ensure that UCI can be properly sent through the PUSCH (See Zhang Background; Summary).
Wang, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose encode a message for transmission to the UE that includes downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI, wherein the DCI includes an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number associated with the UCI
However, Bai teaches of encoding a message for transmission to the UE that includes downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI, wherein the DCI includes an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number associated with the UCI (See Bai [0048] - The UE may receive, from the base station, signaling which may serve as ACK feedback for the UCI report carried over the PUSCH transmission; includes HARQ process number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the UCI/PUSCH encoding and transmission system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhang, further comprising encoding a message for transmission to the UE that includes downlink control information (DCI) that acknowledges the UCI, wherein the DCI includes an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number associated with the UCI, as taught in Bai. One is motivated as such in order to help optimize communication between the UE and the base station (See Bai Background; Summary; [0050]).
RE Claim 43, Wang, modified by Zhang and Bai, discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, as set forth in claim 42 above, wherein the UCI is transmitted is between two adjacent codeblock bundles (CBBs) (See Wang FIG 10; [0126], [0175]-[0178] – UCI between two adjacent CBGs).
RE Claim 43, Wang, modified by Zhang and Bai, discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, as set forth in claim 42 above, wherein the UCI transmitted in conjunction with the PUSCH transmission:
includes a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbol transmitted in a symbol adjacent to the UCI (See Wang FIG 10; [0119] – UCI adjacent to DMRS); or
is performed after a first DM-RS symbol satisfying a capability in the UE capability information (See Wang FIG 10; [0119] – UCI transmitted after DMRS satisfying capability information (i.e. MCS information, timing information for symbol starting points, etc…)); or
is postponed until an end of an uplink (UL) portion of a time division duplex (TDD) period (See Wang [0129] – UCI can be at end of PUSCH (P.end)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant's argument that the cited references do not teach “wherein the UE capability information includes an indication of a minimum time between a last symbol of an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) used for measurements and the UCI”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has argued that Zhang teaches “spatial/resource avoidance but does not teach calculating a specific temporal processing gap ($Z’$) required after the reception of a reference signal to allow for processing time before the UCI report can be generated”. The Examiner submits that the claim language does not require the specifics of “calculating a specific temporal processing gap” or “to allow for processing time before the UCI report can be generated”. That is, the claim language only requires determining the position of the UCI “based on the UE capability information” and that the UE capability information includes a “minimum time” between the end of the CSI-RS and the UCI. The claim language does not specify how the UE capability information is determined or that it is even “calculated”, require that the minimum time indicated “allows for processing time”, or specify how the minimum time is “indicated”. Zhang teaches the claimed subject matter in at least [0123] wherein the claimed UE capability information can be construed as the internal rule the UE uses (which the UCI position is “based on”) to ensure that “the position of the reference signal [CSI-RS] needs to be avoided (i.e. an appropriate symbol before or after the position needs to be selected to map the UCI) and the claimed “minimum time” can be construed as “an appropriate symbol before or after the position [of the UCI]”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477