DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 14-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rune (US 2024/0098532) in view of Sakhnini (US 2021/0352506) and Hu (US 2023/0156767).
Regarding Claims 1, 10, 11 and 20, Rune teaches base station for wireless communication (figure 3, see specifically eNB), comprising:
at least one memory (figure 14, see specifically memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station (figure 14, see specifically processor) to:
generate a first configuration for quality of experience (QoE) measurements (¶ [0010], see specifically configure application measurements),
the first configuration comprising list of QoE measurement configurations to set up or to modify for at least one service type and at least one reporting configuration for the at least one service type (¶ [0096], see specifically service type),
wherein the list of QoE measurement configurations a corresponding service type, and a corresponding measurement configuration (¶ [0010], see specifically configure application measurements), and
transmit the first configuration to a communication device (¶ [0168], see specifically RRC connection reconfiguration); and
receive a reporting message from the communication device, the reporting message comprising one or more QoE measurements collected in accordance with the first configuration (¶ [0168], see specifically the Measurement Report).
Rune fails to explicitly teach wherein the list of QoE measurement configurations comprises a QoE configuration index,
wherein the corresponding measurement configuration indicates a public land mobile network (PLMN) target, an application session to record, an area for measurement, a QoE destination, QoE metrics of the corresponding service type, or a combination thereof:
Sakhnini fails to explicitly teach wherein the list of QoE measurement configurations comprises a QoE configuration index (¶ [0060], see specifically measurement index).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use an index in the case where multiple configurations are used in the system of Rune as taught by Sakhnini
The motivation is that Rune teaches multiple configurations, an index is a well known tool to more easily differentiate between additional configurations.
Hu from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the corresponding measurement configuration indicates a public land mobile network (PLMN) target, an application session to record, an area for measurement , a QoE destination, QoE metrics of the corresponding service type, or a combination thereof (¶ [0377], see specifically area scope for the QoE measurement)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use an area scope to determine an area for a QoE measurement in the system of Rune as taught by Hu.
The motivation is that it allows the system to better control where the measurements are taken.
Regarding Claims 4, 14, and 21, Rune teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, further comprising transmitting a second configuration to the communication device, second configuration comprising an indication to deactivate and release one or more QoE measurement configurations (¶ [0029], see specifically remove configurations.)
Regarding Claims 5, 15 and 22, Rune teaches the indication to deactivate and release one or more QoE measurement configurations comprises a list of QoE measurement configurations to deactivate and release (¶ [0029], see specifically remove configurations.)
Rune fails to explicitly teach each entry in the list of QoE measurement configurations comprises an QoE configuration index.
Sakhnini from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches each entry in the list of QoE measurement configurations comprises an QoE configuration index (¶ [0060], see specifically measurement index).
The motivation is that Rune teaches multiple configurations, an index is a well known tool to more easily differentiate between additional configurations.
Regarding Claims 6, 16 and 23, Rune teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, further comprising transmitting a second configuration to the communication device, a second configuration comprising at least one indication to pause reporting of a particular QoE measurement configuration (¶ [0221], see specifically see specifically pause)
Regarding Claims 7, 17 and 24, Rune teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, further comprising transmitting a third configuration to the communication device, a third configuration comprising at least one indication to resume reporting of the particular QoE measurement configuration (¶ [0219], see specifically resume)
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Rune teaches the reporting message comprises a plurality of QoE measurement reports (¶ [0237] – [0241], see specifically add to the QoE report)
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Rune teaches to transmit transmitting the first configuration to the communication device, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit comprises transmitting ans a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to a User Equipment user equipment (UE) device (¶ [0168], see specifically RRC connection reconfiguration);
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4, 6-11, 14 and 16-20 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hu (US 2023/0156767)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409