DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-12, 14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rune (US 2024/0098532)
Regarding Claims 1, 10, 11 and 20, Rune teaches a base station for wireless communication network (figure 3, see specifically eNB) comprising:
at least one memory (figure 14, see specifically memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station (figure 14, see specifically processor) to:
generate a first configuration for quality of experience (QoE) measurements (¶ [0010], see specifically configure application measurements),
the first configuration comprising at least one parameter to set up QoE measurements for at least one service type and at least one reporting configuration for the at least one service type (¶ [0096], see specifically service type);
transmit transmitting the first configuration to a communication device (¶ [0168], see specifically RRC connection reconfiguration);
receive a reporting message from the communication device, the reporting message comprising one or more QoE measurements collected in accordance with the first configuration (¶ [0168], see specifically the Measurement Report).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Rune teaches the at least one parameter to set up QoE measurements comprises a list of QoE measurement configurations to set up or to modify (¶ [0029], see specifically list)
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Rune teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, further comprising transmitting a second configuration to the communication device, second configuration comprising an indication to deactivate and release one or more QoE measurement configurations (¶ [0029], see specifically remove configurations.)
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Rune teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, further comprising transmitting a second configuration to the communication device, a second configuration comprising at least one indication to pause reporting of a particular QoE measurement configuration (¶ [0221], see specifically see specifically pause)
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Rune teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, further comprising transmitting a third configuration to the communication device, a third configuration comprising at least one indication to resume reporting of the particular QoE measurement configuration (¶ [0219], see specifically resume)
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Rune teaches the reporting message comprises a plurality of QoE measurement reports (¶ [0237] – [0241], see specifically add to the QoE report)
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Rune teaches to transmit transmitting the first configuration to the communication device, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit comprises transmitting ans a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to a User Equipment user equipment (UE) device (¶ [0168], see specifically RRC connection reconfiguration);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rune (US 2024/0098532) in view of Sakhnini (US 2021/0352506)
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Rune teaches each entry in the list of QoE measurement configurations comprises a corresponding service type, and a corresponding measurement configuration (¶ [0010], see specifically configure application measurements),
Rune fails to explicitly teach an QoE configuration index.
Sakhnini from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches an QoE configuration index (¶ [0060], see specifically measurement index).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use an index in the case where multiple configurations are used in the system of Rune as taught by Sakhnini
The motivation is that Rune teaches multiple configurations, an index is a well known tool to more easily differentiate between additional configurations.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Rune teaches the indication to deactivate and release one or more QoE measurement configurations comprises a list of QoE measurement configurations to deactivate and release (¶ [0029], see specifically remove configurations.)
Rune fails to explicitly teach each entry in the list of QoE measurement configurations comprises an QoE configuration index.
Sakhnini from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches each entry in the list of QoE measurement configurations comprises an QoE configuration index (¶ [0060], see specifically measurement index).
The motivation is that Rune teaches multiple configurations, an index is a well known tool to more easily differentiate between additional configurations.
Conclusion
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409