DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-35 are pending.
Claims 1-15 have been cancelled.
Claims 16, 19, 24, 28, 29, 31, 33, and 35 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/25/2026 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20, 24-31, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200260486 A1), hereinafter Zhou, in view of MolavianJazi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210184812 A1), hereinafter MolavianJazi.
With respect to claim 16, Zhou teaches A user equipment (UE) apparatus comprising:
at least one memory ([0230], memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to ([0230], processor coupled memory, program code instructions stored in memory and executable by the at least one processor):
receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration for at least one uplink (UL) Type-2 Configured Grant (CG) resource ([0397-0398], UE receives RRC configuration for uplink (UL) Type-2 Configured Grant (CG) resource);
receive a first downlink control information (DCI) to activate the at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0398], UE receives DCI to activate the at least one UL Type-2 CG resource);
perform at least one first Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource according to at least one layer-1 (L1) parameter ([0411], UE performs PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource according to L1 parameter);
receive a second DCI that updates the at least one L1 parameter for the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0414-0415], UE received a second DCI that updates the L1 parameter for the activated UL Type-2 CG resource); and
perform at least one second PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resources according to the at least one updated L1 parameter ([0415-0416], UE performs second PUSCH transmission on the activated UL Type-2 CG resources according to the at least one updated L1 parameter).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state.
However, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG ([0179], the second DCI / an activation DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters / resource/SRI/TCI state for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG), and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0179], a TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi, wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to provide beam management and coverage enhancements for semi-persistent and configured grant transmissions (MolavianJazi, [0004]).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 16. Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply the at least one updated L1 parameter for a duration and to revert the at least one updated L1 parameter after an expiration of the duration ([0414-0416]).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 16. Zhou teaches wherein the first DCI indicates a type of repetition and a number of repetitions of the at least one PUSCH transmission, and wherein the RRC configuration fails to indicate any type of repetition or number of repetitions of the at least one first PUSCH transmission ([0548-0550]).
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 16. Zhou teaches wherein the first DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one UL Type-2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises at least one of: a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) ([0269]).
With respect to claim 20, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 16. Zhou teaches wherein the second DCI is an activation DCI that comprises at least one validation field, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to ignore the at least one validation field in the activation DCI, and wherein the at least one validation field comprises a redundancy version field, or hybrid automatic repeat request (HARD) process field, or both ([0552-0553]).
With respect to claim 24, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 16. Zhou teaches wherein the second DCI is scrambled using a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) of the UE, wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one UL Type-2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises at least one of: an open loop power control parameter ([0269]).
With respect to claim 25, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 24. Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to ignore a new data indicator (NDI) for a retransmission grant in response to receipt of the second DCI scrambled by the CS-RNTI ([0269, 0552]).
With respect to claim 26, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 16. Zhou teaches wherein the second DCI disables a feature during a duration associated with the PUSCH transmission, and wherein the feature comprises hybrid automatic repeat request (HARD) acknowledgement deferral ([0430, 0440, 0550]).
With respect to claim 27, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 26. Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to re-enable the disabled feature after one of: receipt of a predetermined number of consecutive positive acknowledgements ([0430, 0440, 0550]).
With respect to claim 28, Zhou teaches A processor for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to ([0230], processor coupled memory, program code instructions stored in memory and executable by the at least one processor):
receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration for at least one uplink (UL) Type-2 Configured Grant (CG) resource ([0397-0398], UE receives RRC configuration for uplink (UL) Type-2 Configured Grant (CG) resource);
receive a first downlink control information (DCI) to activate the at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0398], UE receives DCI to activate the at least one UL Type-2 CG resource);
perform at least one first Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource according to at least one layer-1 (L1) parameter ([0411], UE performs PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource according to L1 parameter);
receive a second DCI that updates the at least one L1 parameter for the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0414-0415], UE received a second DCI that updates the L1 parameter for the activated UL Type-2 CG resource); and
perform at least one second PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resources according to the at least one updated L1 parameter ([0415-0416], UE performs second PUSCH transmission on the activated UL Type-2 CG resources according to the at least one updated L1 parameter).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state.
However, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG ([0179], the second DCI / an activation DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters / resource/SRI/TCI state for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG), and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0179], a TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi, wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to provide beam management and coverage enhancements for semi-persistent and configured grant transmissions (MolavianJazi, [0004]).
With respect to claim 29, Zhou teaches A base station for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory ([0217], memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to ([217], processor coupled memory, program code instructions stored in memory and executable by the at least one processor):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration for at least one uplink (UL) Type-2 Configured Grant (CG) resource ([0397-0398], BS transmits, to UE, RRC configuration for uplink (UL) Type-2 Configured Grant (CG) resource);
transmit, to the UE, a first downlink control information (DCI) to activate the at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0398], BS transmits, to UE, DCI to activate the at least one UL Type-2 CG resource);
monitor for at least one first Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource according to at least one layer-1 (L1 ) parameter ([0411], BS monitors PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource according to L1 parameter);
transmit, to the UE, a second DCI that updates the at least one L1 parameter for the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0414-0415], BS transmits, to UE, a second DCI that updates the L1 parameter for the activated UL Type-2 CG resource); and
monitor for at least one second PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resources according to the at least one updated L1 parameter ([0415-0416], BS monitors second PUSCH transmission on the activated UL Type-2 CG resources according to the at least one updated L1 parameter).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state.
However, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG ([0179], the second DCI / an activation DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters / resource/SRI/TCI state for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG), and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0179], a TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi, wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to provide beam management and coverage enhancements for semi-persistent and configured grant transmissions (MolavianJazi, [0004]).
With respect to claim 30, this claim recites the UE of claim 18, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 31, this claim recites the UE of claim 19, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 33, this claim recites the UE of claim 24, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 34, this claim recites the UE of claim 26, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 35, Zhou teaches A method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration for at least one uplink (UL) Type-2 Configured Grant (CG) resource ([0397-0398], BS transmits, to UE, RRC configuration for uplink (UL) Type-2 Configured Grant (CG) resource);
transmitting a first downlink control information (DCI) to activate the at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0398], BS transmits, to UE, DCI to activate the at least one UL Type-2 CG resource);
monitoring for at least one first Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource according to at least one layer-1 (L1 ) parameter ([0411], BS monitors PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource according to L1 parameter);
transmitting a second DCI that updates the at least one L1 parameter for the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0414-0415], BS transmits, to UE, a second DCI that updates the L1 parameter for the activated UL Type-2 CG resource); and monitoring for at least one second PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resources according to the at least one updated L1 parameter ([0415-0416], BS monitors second PUSCH transmission on the activated UL Type-2 CG resources according to the at least one updated L1 parameter).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state.
However, MolavianJazi teaches wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG ([0179], the second DCI / an activation DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters / resource/SRI/TCI state for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG), and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0179], a TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi, wherein the second DCI comprises a plurality of modified L1 parameters for the at least one activated UL Type- 2 CG, and wherein the plurality of modified L1 parameters comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to provide beam management and coverage enhancements for semi-persistent and configured grant transmissions (MolavianJazi, [0004]).
Claims 21-23 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of MolavianJazi, and further in view of Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210029706 A1), hereinafter ‘706.
With respect to claim 21, the combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 16. Zhou teaches wherein the second DCI, and the second PUSCH transmission on the activated at least one UL Type-2 CG resource ([0414-0415]).
The combination of Zhou and MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach a modified priority indicator that increases a priority of the at least one second PUSCH transmission.
However, ‘706 teaches a modified priority indicator that increases a priority of the at least one PUSCH transmission ([0283]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘706, a modified priority indicator that increases a priority of the at least one PUSCH transmission, into the teachings of Zhou and MolavianJazi, in order to improve channel processing efficiencies, improve system throughput, and reduced misalignment between a base station and a wireless device (‘706, [0004]).
With respect to claim 22, the combination of Zhou, MolavianJazi, and 706 teaches the UE of claim 21. Zhou teaches wherein the second PUSCH transmission ([0414-0415]).
Zhou and MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach wherein the modified priority indicator is set to a highest value, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit one or more PUSCH repetitions in a dynamic flexible symbol during a duration associated with the at least one second PUSCH transmission.
However, ‘706 teaches wherein the modified priority indicator is set to a highest value, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit one or more PUSCH repetitions in a dynamic flexible symbol during a duration associated with the at least one PUSCH transmission ([0250, 0254, 0283]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘706, wherein the modified priority indicator is set to a highest value, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit one or more PUSCH repetitions in a dynamic flexible symbol during a duration associated with the at least one PUSCH transmission, into the teachings of Zhou and MolavianJazi, in order to improve channel processing efficiencies, improve system throughput, and reduced misalignment between a base station and a wireless device (‘706, [0004]).
With respect to claim 23, the combination of Zhou, MolavianJazi, and 706 teaches the UE of claim 21. Zhou teaches wherein the second PUSCH transmission ([0414-0415]).
Zhou and MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach wherein the priority of the at least one second PUSCH transmission reverts to a previously configured priority value after one of: receipt of a predetermined number of consecutive positive acknowledgements.
However, ‘706 teaches wherein the priority of the at least one PUSCH transmission reverts to a previously configured priority value after one of: receipt of a predetermined number of consecutive positive acknowledgements ([0286]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘706, wherein the priority of the at least one PUSCH transmission reverts to a previously configured priority value after one of: receipt of a predetermined number of consecutive positive acknowledgements, into the teachings of Zhou and MolavianJazi, in order to improve channel processing efficiencies, improve system throughput, and reduced misalignment between a base station and a wireless device (‘706, [0004]).
With respect to claim 32, this claim recites the UE of claim 21, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469