DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 14-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019126527 A1 to Michael et al. as evidenced by US 20120094130 to Foscante et al.
Re claims 1 and 19, Michael teaches a coated metal substrate essentially the same as applicant – see [140], coating of epoxy film [129, 139], aluminum phosphate treated compound [172], Table 26, Exp. Ex. 55, iron [147], magnesium oxide [186], and aluminum particles [20, 134, 136]. The aluminum compound aluminum phosphate is inherently water-soluble as evidenced by [12-18] Foscante and meets claim 5. Re claim 19, see [20]. Michael teaches overlapping resin of magnesium oxide and aluminum metal compound [186, 172, 167] no more than 55:1 (overlapping 1:1 to 240:1).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
Michael doesn’t teach the exact range but teaches overlapping ranges of [149-1540] the film thickness of 2.5 to 500 microns, 2.5 to 100 microns, 2.5 to 75 microns, 5 to 50 microns, or 25 to 60 microns. When used as a fire protection coating, the dry film thickness can be 1,000-70,000 microns (overlapping at least 10 microns). The same overlapping ranges rationale as set forth above applies here.
Re claim 5, Michael doesn’t teach the exact size range of the magnesium oxide, but teaches particle sizes of no more than 200 nm ([34, [24-26], [28] ) overlapping applicant’s at least 20 nm. The same overlapping ranges rationale as set forth above applies here. The measurements are not germane to patentability.
Re claims 6-7, see [16], [123] [186], 10 to overlapping ranges of 5% to 70% MgO - as used herein,“magnesium alloy particles” refers to an alloy having magnesium as the predominant metal, such as an alloy comprising at least 51% by weight of magnesium, based on the total weight. The same overlapping ranges rationale as set forth above applies here. At least 10% MgO (10 parts / 100 parts binder) is also used in [243], overlapping claim 7 the amount aids in improving corrosion performance. The same overlapping ranges rationale as set forth above applies here.
Re claims 8-9 and 22, Michael doesn’t teach the exact percentage range claimed, but does teach [16] and [20] overlapping weight percentage of aluminum 20% by weight overlapping the claimed ranges of claims 8 and 9 and 22 aiding in corrosion improvements. The same overlapping ranges rationale as set forth above applies here.
Re claim 10, Michael teaches pigment [117-120] but not the exact percentages as claimed. However, as they are pigments, the percentage directly effects the color strength of the coating. Absent of the showing of the criticality for the percentage range it would have been obvious within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select a suitable pigment for Michael from commercially available pigments, known to directly effect the degree of color or hue.
Re claims 16 and 19, see [39].
Re claim 21, see [223] to the pH checked and thus given the same materials and amounts are taught, the property is inherent.
Further Re claim 1, the conditions and properties that occur when x… are conditional and process limitations in a product claim.Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Patentability of an article depends on the article itself and not the method used to produce it (see MPEP 2113). Furthermore, the invention defined by a product-by-process invention is a product NOT a process. In re Bridgeford, 357 F. 2d 679. It is the patentability of the product claimed and NOT of the recited process steps which must be established. In re Brown, 459 F. 29 531. Both Applicant’s and prior art reference’s product are the same.
Claims 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019126527 A1 to Michael et al. as evidenced by US 20120094130 to Foscante et al. and further in view of US 20170066927 A1 to Breon et al.
Michael is relied upon above.
Re claims 14 and 17, Michael discloses [169] iron substrate, and [147] iron in a metal compound of the coating but not if the iron compound is iron hydroxide or phosphate.
Breon teaches [38] iron compounds including at least iron hydroxide [31-32] and teaches iron oxide in the substrate [76].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the metal compound of Michael and add, use, or substitute it with the iron one of similar alkaline metal hydroxides and for the substrate as well for further benefits of corrosion resistance.
Further Re claim 14-15, Michael doesn’t teach a ferrous substrate but again teaches an [169] iron substrate for rust reduction.
Example 22, Breon teaches ferrous substrate, Table 17, footnote 32.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the metal compound of Michael and add, use, or substitute it with the ferrous substrate of Breon for reducing rust.
In view of the forgoing, the above claims have failed to be patently distinguishable over prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments in part are previous claim 22 now incorporated into claim 1. Further all other arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection using a new reference. In applicant’s argument of product by process language that alleges the recitations are not such, language such as “stirred for 24 hours, centrifuged” etc. may be an assay but are still process derived and as such are considered product by process language indeed. See MPEP 2113. Further should applicant desire process claims, applicant is welcomed to file a divisional. See Office Action above.
Conclusion
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787