DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Priority This application is a U.S. National Stage (371) application of PCT/CN2022/078795 filed on 03/02/2022 which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63 / 156 , 083 filed on 03/03/2021 . Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. However, the Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 120 as follows: The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994). The disclosure of the prior-filed Provisional Application No. 63 / 156 , 083 filed on 03/03/2021 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for claim 12 of this application. Claim 12 of the instant application is directed to a method for separating rare cells. The invention was fully described in application No. PCT/CN2022/078795 filed on 03/02/2022 and in the instant application. Thus, for purposes of applying prior art, claim 12 is subject to a priority date of 03/02/2022. Should applicant disagree with the examiner’s factual determination above, applicant should provide evidence that either or both of the provisional applications provide support for the invention now claimed in the manner required by 35 USC 112, first paragraph. This could be accomplished, for example, by pointing to the specific page and line numbers within the provisional applications which disclose each limitation of the claimed invention. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2023 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and all references are considered except where they were lined through. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: line 11 of page 1 of the disclosure of the instant application is reciting “ effective in separating rate cells ”. The Examiner interprets this line as “ effective in separating ra r e cells ” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. ( ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces , 2017, 9, 30329−30342 ) . Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a bioelectronic system for rare cell separation (Abstract). Yu teaches that the system comprise s an electrode (Abstract). Yu teaches that the system comp r ises a conductive polymer layer (Figure 7, (g), “PEDOT-rich core”). Yu teaches that the conductive polymer layer is on a surface of the electrode and ha s a thickness of 10 to 2000 nm ( Page 30331, left to right column, “ Device Design and Surface Modification on PEDOT-Based Nanofiber Mats The device configuration of the PEO/PEDOT:PSS ” nanofiber-coated ITO glass was assembled with a poly- ( dimethylsiloxane ) (PDMS) chamber ; Table 1, film thickness (nm), “660 ± 217” ). Yu teaches that the system comprises a conductive polymer fiber layer ((g), “PSS/PEO-rich shell layer”) . Yu teaches that the conductive polymer fiber layer is on the surface of the conductive polymer layer ((g), “PSS/PEO-rich shell layer”). Yu teaches that the conductive polymer fiber layer is not in contact with the electrode and teaches that there are separate phases in the making of the fiber mat (Page 30335, left column, “Although the mechanism of PEDOT:PSS phase separation of annealed PEDOT-based nanofiber mats remains poorly understood , we believe that the phase separation of PEDOT- and PSS-rich domains can be attributed to the differences in the surface energy of the materials ”). Yu tea c hes that the system comprises a rare cell-capturing material ( Figure 7, (g), CTC; figure 7, (h), “PLL-g-PEG-biotin”, “Streptavidin”, “Biotinylated anti- EpCAM ” ). Yu teaches that the rare cell-capturing material is on a surface of the conductive polymer fiber layer (Figure 7, (g) and (h)). Yu teaches that the rare cell-capturing material is not in contact with the conductive polymer layer (Figure 7, (g) and (h)). Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches that the conductive polymer layer has a thickness of 50 to 1000 nm ((Table 1, film thickness (nm), “660 ± 217”).) . Regarding claim 3, Yu teaches that the conductive polymer layer comprises a conductive polymer selected from the group consisting of a derivative of polythiophene, ( Figure 7, (g), “PEDOT-rich core” ; page 30330, right column, “we demonstrated that three-dimensional (3D) BEIs (e.g., carboxyl-grafted poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (PEDOT) nanostructures) can be used as NanoVelcro cell-affinity devices that increase the CTC capture efficiency” ). Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches that the conductive polymer layer comprises poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene):poly( styrenesulfonate ) ( page 30330, right column, “In the present study, we fabricated 3D poly(ethylene oxide) (PEO)/ PEDOT:polystyrenesulfonate (PSS) nanofiber mats having highly water-resistant nanostructures on indium tin oxide (ITO) glass substrates and used them as organic bioelectronic interfaces (OBEIs) for dynamic control over CTC capture and release” ) . Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches that the conductive polymer fiber layer comprises a conductive polymer selected from the group consisting of a derivative of polythiophene, poly( pphenylene vinylene ), polyacetylene, polypyrrole , polyaniline, and combinations ( Page 30334, left column, last paragraph, “A conventional needle-type electrospinning practice led to the formation of PEO/PEDOT:PSS core/shell nanofiber structures of NF10” PEDOT:PSS ). Regarding claim 6, ref a teaches that the conductive polymer fiber layer comprises poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene):poly( styrenesulfonate ) ( Page 30334, left column, last paragraph, “A conventional needle-type electrospinning practice led to the formation of PEO/PEDOT:PSS core/shell nanofiber structures of NF10” PEDOT:PSS ). Regarding claim 7, Yu teaches that the conductive polymer fiber layer has a thickness of 200 to 5000 nm (Table 1, film thickness (nm), “660 ± 217”). Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches that the electrode is a transparent electrode ( Page 30332, right column, “the microfluidic BEI devices for dynamic cell capture/release were operated with a two-electrode setup, consisting of a WE (ITO glass coated with PEDOT-based nanofibers”) ). Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches that the electrode is a tin oxide electrode (Abstract). Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches that the rare cell-capturing material is a poly(L-lysine-graft-ethylene glycol) copolymer layer and a surface of which is modified by streptavidin and biotinylated antibody (Figure 7, (g), CTC; figure 7, (h), “PLL-g-PEG-biotin”, “Streptavidin”, “Biotinylated anti- EpCAM ” ). Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches that the biotinylated antibody is biotinylated anti- EpCAM antibody (Figure 7, (g), CTC; figure 7, (h), “PLL-g-PEG-biotin”, “Streptavidin”, “Biotinylated anti- EpCAM ”). Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches a method for separating rare cells (Abstract) . Yu teaches introducing a biofluid containing rare cells into the bioelectronic system to capture the rare cells (Page 30340, left column, “our BEI platform can efficiently collect liquid biopsy CTC samples for downstream cancer diagnosis and disease monitoring, while potentially matching the requirements for immobilizing heterogeneous mixtures of pooled CTCs through the use of different CTC markers on the individual electrodes”). Yu teaches providing electrical stimulation via the electrode of the bioelectronic system to release the captured rare cells (Figure 7, (g), CTC; figure 7, (h), “PLL-g-PEG-biotin”, “Streptavidin”, “Biotinylated anti- EpCAM ”, (g, h) conjugation of anti- EpCAM -biotin on devices and mechanism for the ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT OMAR RAMADAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0754 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Gregory Emch can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-8149 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OMAR RAMADAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1678 /GREGORY S EMCH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678