DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (JP 5-179216) in view of Chloroprene Rubber Skyprene; Tosoh Corporation; 03/2014. English machine translation of Hayashi et al. (JP 5-179216) for citation.
Regarding claims 1-7 and 13-14: Hayashi et al. (JP ‘216) discloses solvent-type polychloroprene adhesive compositions [0001], wherein Example 9 [Ex. 9; 0027; Table 1, Ex. 9], prepared as Ex. 1 [0017; 0019], contains 50 parts by weight CR Skyprene 510 (fast crystallization CR; corresponding to the first chloroprene rubber having a 100% increased Shore A hardness in no more than 2 hours when crystallizing at -10 oC; see instant specification pg. 3, ln. 32 – pg. 4, ln. 7), 25 parts by weight CR Skyprene G-40S (fast crystallization CR; corresponding to the first chloroprene rubber), 25 parts by weight CR Skyprene Y-20E (Medium crystallization CR; corresponding to the second chloroprene rubber having a 100% increased Shore A hardness in more than 2 hours when crystallizing at -10 oC {via Skyprene 570}; see instant specification pg. 4, ln. 18-25), 4 parts by weight MgO, 5 parts by weight ZnO, 2 parts by weight anti-aging agent, 100 parts by weight phenol-formaldehyde resin, 10 pbw MgO, and 376 parts by weight mixed solvent (226 parts by weight toluene, 75 parts by weight cyclohexane, 75 parts by weight ethyl acetate) (corresponding to 8.4 wt% CR Skyprene 510; 4.2 wt% CR Skyprene G-40S; 4.2 wt% CR Skyprene Y-20E; 3:1 weight ratio (510 & G-40S):Y-20E; 16.8 wt% total chloroprene rubber (510, G-40S and Y-20E) [Ex. 9; 0027; Table 1, Ex. 9].
Chloroprene Rubber Skyprene provides evidence for: Skyprene G-40S as fast crystallization rate CR [pg. 16]; Skyprene Y-20E as medium crystallization rate CR [pg. 7]; Skyprene 510 as fast crystallization rate CR [pg. 16]; Skyprene 570 as medium crystallization rate CR [pg. 16] [see also MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claims 8 and 19: Hayashi et al. (JP ‘216) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
Claims 8 and 19 further defines species of the adhesion promoter recited in claim 1. However, as claimed, such species only further define the genus of the optional adhesion promoter (i.e. claims 1, 8 and 19 do not require the contact adhesive composition to comprise the adhesion promoter).
Regarding claim 12: Hayashi et al. (JP ‘216) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
Claim 12 further defines species of the tackifier resin recited in claim 1. However, as claimed, such species only further define the genus of the optional tackifier resin (i.e. claims 1 and 12 do not require the contact adhesive composition to comprise the tackifier resin).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 5-179216) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori et al. (US 5,252,668).
Regarding claims 9-11: Hayashi et al. (JP ‘216) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
Hayashi et al. (JP ‘216) does not disclose an aminosilane. However, Mori et al. (US ‘668) discloses chloroprene adhesive compositions [abstract], wherein the adhesive composition contains ~0.45 wt% γ-aminopropyltriethoxysilane [3:30-44; Table 1]. Hayashi et al. (JP ‘216) and Mori et al. (US ‘668) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of chloroprene adhesive compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined ~0.45 wt% γ-aminopropyltriethoxysilane, as taught by Mori et al. (US ‘668) in the invention of Hayashi et al. (JP ‘216), and would have been motivated to do so since Mori et al. (US ‘668) suggests ~0.45 wt% γ-aminopropyltriethoxysilane affords chloroprene adhesives having excellent initial bonding strength and high heat resistance [3:15-21; Table 1].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims based upon Hayashi et al. (JP 5-179216) (English machine translation) in view of Chloroprene Rubber Skyprene; Tosoh Corporation; 03/2014 is maintained
Hayashi et al. (JP ‘216) discloses solvent-type polychloroprene adhesive compositions [0001], wherein Example 9 [Ex. 9; 0027; Table 1, Ex. 9], prepared as Ex. 1 [0017; 0019], contains 50 parts by weight CR Skyprene 510 (fast crystallization CR; corresponding to the first chloroprene rubber having a 100% increased Shore A hardness in no more than 2 hours when crystallizing at -10 oC; see instant specification pg. 3, ln. 32 – pg. 4, ln. 7), 25 parts by weight CR Skyprene G-40S (fast crystallization CR; corresponding to the first chloroprene rubber), 25 parts by weight CR Skyprene Y-20E (Medium crystallization CR; corresponding to the second chloroprene rubber having a 100% increased Shore A hardness in more than 2 hours when crystallizing at -10 oC {via Skyprene 570}; see instant specification pg. 4, ln. 18-25), 4 parts by weight MgO, 5 parts by weight ZnO, 2 parts by weight anti-aging agent, 100 parts by weight phenol-formaldehyde resin, 10 pbw MgO, and 376 parts by weight mixed solvent (226 parts by weight toluene, 75 parts by weight cyclohexane, 75 parts by weight ethyl acetate) (corresponding to 8.4 wt% CR Skyprene 510; 4.2 wt% CR Skyprene G-40S; 4.2 wt% CR Skyprene Y-20E; 3:1 weight ratio (510 & G-40S):Y-20E; 16.8 wt% total chloroprene rubber (510, G-40S and Y-20E) [Ex. 9; 0027; Table 1, Ex. 9].
The examiner notes that the instant specification provides support for CR Skyprene 510 as a fast crystallization CR having a 100% increased Shore A hardness in no more than 2 hours when crystallizing at -10 oC [see instant specification pg. 3, ln. 32 – pg. 4, ln. 7]. Additionally, the instant specification provides support for CR Skyprene Y-20E as a medium crystallization CR having a 100% increased Shore A hardness in more than 2 hours when crystallizing at -10 oC {via Skyprene 570} [see instant specification pg. 4, ln. 18-25].
Chloroprene Rubber Skyprene provides evidence for: Skyprene G-40S as fast crystallization rate CR [pg. 16]; Skyprene Y-20E as medium crystallization rate CR [pg. 7]; Skyprene 510 as fast crystallization rate CR [pg. 16]; Skyprene 570 as medium crystallization rate CR [pg. 16] [see also MPEP 2112.01].
Mori et al. (US 5,252,668) was relied on for disclosing chloroprene adhesive compositions [abstract] containing ~0.45 wt% γ-aminopropyltriethoxysilane [3:30-44; Table 1] affords chloroprene adhesives having excellent initial bonding strength and high heat resistance [3:15-21; Table 1].
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Mori et al. (US 5,252,668) discloses ~0.45 wt% γ-aminopropyltriethoxysilane [3:30-44; Table 1] affords chloroprene adhesives having excellent initial bonding strength and high heat resistance [3:15-21; Table 1].
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767