DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 19, and 24-32 are pending, and claims 1-6 are currently under review.
Claims 7-10, 19, and 24-32 are withdrawn.
Claims 11-18 and 20-23 are cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I between groups I and II in the reply filed on 1/19/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because restriction is made based on lack of unity of invention. Search burden and lack thereof is not relevant to a determination of lack of unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant’s election of group I between further groups III to V in the reply filed on 1/19/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-9 and 25-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to the nonelected invention of group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/19/2026.
Claims 10, 19, and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to the nonelected inventions of groups III-V, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites that the alloy can further comprise elements of Cr, Ni, etc. However, claim 6 depends upon claim 1, wherein claim 1 recites that the alloy can be consisting. Accordingly, it is unclear as to what particular composition is required by “consisting of” which is close ended while “comprising” is open ended. Specifically, it is unclear whether claim 6 requires the claim scope to be “comprising” and further recites additional elements, or whether claim 6 serves to broaden the narrower recited scope of “consisting of”.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. As stated above, claim 6 recites “comprising”, which is open ended. This is contrary to the recitation of “consisting of” in 1, which is close ended. Therefore, claim 6 fails to further limit the scope of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (2011, In vitro investigation of Fe30Mn6Si shape memory alloy as potential biodegradable metallic material).
Regarding claims 1-5, Liu et al. discloses a shape memory alloy having a composition of Fe30Mn6Si having promising biodegradability properties [abstract, p.540]. Liu et al. does not expressly teach any other alloying inclusions, such that one of ordinary skill would understand Fe to be included as the remainder (ie. 64 weight percent). The examiner notes that the composition of Liu et al. falls within the claimed ranges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (2011, In vitro investigation of Fe30Mn6Si shape memory alloy as potential biodegradable metallic material) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (2006, Mechanical properties of Fe-Mn-Si based SMA and the application).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). Liu et al. does not expressly teach inclusion of additional elements as claimed. Sato et al. discloses that it is well known to alloy Fe-Mn-Si based shape memory alloys with inclusions such as Cr, Ni, Nb, V, C, N, etc. for construction applications [p.571]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the alloy of Liu et al. by adding the aforementioned inclusions because these are well known for use in construction applications as disclosed by Sato et al. above.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US 4,780,154).
Regarding claim 1, Mori et al. discloses a shape memory alloy for use in several applications including medical devices, which one of ordinary skill would recognize to require some degree of biodegradability [col.1 ln.15-40]. Mori et al. discloses that said shape memory alloy has a composition as seen in table 1 below, which meets the claimed components [col.2 ln.13-21].
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Mori et al. (wt.%)
Fe
Present
Balance
Mn
Present
20 – 40
Si
Present
3.5 – 8
Regarding claims 2-5, Mori et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Mori et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges, which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Mori et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). Mori et al. further teaches that the alloy can include additions of Cr, Ni, Co, etc. [col.3 ln.8-21].
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734