DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23 have been canceled.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on12/12/2025. Claims 24 and through 43 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 24 and through 43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-27, 29-35, are 37-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hu et al. (US 2022/0086870 A1) in view of Mu et al. (US 2022/0393793 A1) further in view of Seok et al. (US 2023/0179348 A1).
For claim 24 Hu teaches an apparatus comprising:
memory to store configuration information for operation above 52.6 GHz (it is not considered for examination-intended use limitation-however, Xiong et al. (US 11,432,369 B2) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions for execution by one or more processors of a base station operating in a 5G network, the instructions to configure the one or more processors for New 45 Radio (NR) communications above a 52.6 GHz carrier frequency (see at least claim 10) that includes a number of transport blocks (TBs) for frequency hopping for a data transmission associated with a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4, Fig. 9 and paragraphs 220-222 “memory, processor to perform a program of Fig. 4”); and
processing circuitry (Fig. 4, Fig. 9 and paragraphs 220-222 “memory, processor to perform a program of Fig. 4”)), coupled with the memory, to:
retrieve the configuration information from the memory, wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a TB group containing the TBs, wherein the configuration information is to indicate that the frequency hopping for the data transmission is to be performed within the TB group based on a number of symbols for a hopping boundary, and wherein the configuration information is to indicate a first part of a TB is to be transmitted in a first hop and a second part of the TB is to be transmitted in a second hop based on the number of symbols for the hopping boundary (paragraph 29 “receiving and extracting information from a receiving signal”, paragraph 87 “a group of TB1 to TB4 is an interleaved (grouped) block”, and paragraph 33 “TB interleaving (grouping) includes frequency hopping according to preset rule (pattern) or predefined value (pattern)”), paragraph 34 “frequency hopping for data transmission and reception”); and
encode a message for transmission to the UE that includes the configuration information (it is not considered for examination-intended use limitation) (paragraph 20 “control information”, paragraph 85 “DCI from base station include configuration”, paragraph 99 “configuration information provided by the higher-layer (e.g., RRC)”, and paragraph 111 “RRC configuration multi-TB interleaving (grouping) scheduling (configuration)”).
Note: the message is not transmitted and UE is not configured to operate as configuration. It seems the apparatus retrieve configuration information from the memory and encode a message including configuration information-nothing has been configured. Therefore, the claim broadly directed to retrieving configuration information and composing a message to include the configuration information.
Hu does not explicitly teach the content “wherein the configuration information is to indicate a first part of a TB is to be transmitted in a first hop and a second part of the TB is to be transmitted in a second hop”, although this configuration information may be used as a design choice or option or requirements. The claim limitations is only based on retrieval of configuration information and composing a message which includes the configuration information-there is no inventive steps.
However, Mu teaches frequency hopping of a TB design in which the TB is hoped in two different frequencies (e.g., TB1 is hopped at hop f2 and then later in time hopped at hop f1 (Hu: Fig. 8 and Fig. 9). In addition, Mu teaches the S110 may also include determining the granularity of the interleaving transmission units by selecting a value from a second value set according to the configuration information of the user dedicated signaling, where the second value set includes candidate values of the first frequency hopping interval corresponding to enhanced coverage classes used for TB transmission (Hu: paragraphs 84-85 “the S110 may also include determining the granularity of the interleaving transmission units by selecting a value from a second value set according to the configuration information of the user dedicated signaling,
where the second value set includes candidate values of the first frequency hopping interval corresponding to enhanced coverage classes used for TB transmission”)
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing claimed invention to use the teachings of Mu in the TB frequency hopping of Hu to modify frequency hopping preset rule base on different design requirements (e.g., enhanced coverage class) (Hu: Fig. 8, Fig. 9, and paragraphs 84-85).
Hu in view of Mu does not explicitly teaches the newly amended content information criteria “based on a number of symbols for a hopping boundary”. This newly amended content information criteria provides additional design requirements. Therefore, the newly amended content information criteria is not an inventive concept because it is not implemented in any inventive steps.
However, Seok teaches Frequency hopping may be determined based on the number of shortest consecutive symbols among symbols consecutive in the time domain of actual PUSCHs. There may be one actual PUSCH. That is, if the terminal is configured with PUSCH transmission from the base station, the terminal may determine frequency hopping based on actual PUSCHs. If the number of the shortest consecutive symbols is NPUSCHsymb,min the numbers of symbols constituting the first hop and the second hop may be NPUSCHsymb,min· In this case, the first hop may be configured starting from a symbol scheduled for a PUSCH (see Seok: paragraph 219).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing claimed invention to use the teachings of Mu in the combined TB frequency hopping of Mu and Hu to further modify frequency hopping preset rule base on different design requirements (e.g., enhanced coverage class) (Hu: Fig. 8, Fig. 9, and paragraphs 84-85).
For claim 32 Hu in view of Mu and further in view of Seok teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (as discussed in claim 24), cause a next-generation NodeB (gNB) to:
determine configuration information for operation above 52.6 GHz that includes a number of transport blocks (TBs) for frequency hopping for a data transmission associated with a user equipment (UE), wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a TB group containing the TBs, wherein the configuration information is to indicate that the frequency hopping for the data transmission is to be performed within the TB group based on a number of symbols for a hopping boundary, and wherein the configuration information is to indicate a first part of a TB is to be transmitted in a first hop and a second part of the TB is to be transmitted in a second hop based on the number of symbols for the hopping boundary (as discussed in claim 24); and
encode a message for transmission to the UE that includes the configuration information (as discussed in claim 24).
For claim 40 Hu in view of Mu and further in view of Seok teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media One or more computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (as discussed in claim 24), cause a user equipment (UE) to:
receive a message from a next-generation NodeB (gNB) comprising configuration information for operation above 52.6 GHz that includes a number of transport blocks (TBs) for frequency hopping for a data transmission associated with the UE, wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a TB group containing the TBs, wherein the configuration information is to indicate that the frequency hopping for the data transmission is to be performed within the TB group based on a number of symbols for a hopping boundary, and wherein the configuration information is to indicate a first part of a TB is to be transmitted in a first hop and a second part of the TB is to be transmitted in a second hop based on the number of symbols for the hopping boundary (as discussed in claim 24); and
receive a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) message, or encode a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) message for transmission, based on the configuration information (as discussed in claim 24).
For claims 25 and 33 Hu teaches the apparatus, wherein the data transmission associated with the UE is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (paragraphs 20-21 “PDSCH and PUSCH”).
For claims 26, 34, and 41 Hu teaches the apparatus, wherein the configuration information in the message is included in downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph 20 “DCI”), or or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph 20 “RRC”).
For claims 27, 35, and 42 Hu teaches the apparatus, wherein the configuration information includes a TB mapping order defined in a time-first and frequency-second manner (Fig. 4 “time domain frequency domain mapping”).
For claims 29 and 37 Hu in view of Mu teaches the apparatus, wherein the configuration information is to indicate that one or more TBs are mixed into a common symbol when frequency hopping is applied (Mu: paragraph 43 “a gain of cross-subframe channel estimation and a gain of symbol merging are ensured in the frequency hopping transmission”).
For claims 30 and 38 Hu in view of Mu teaches the apparatus, wherein the configuration information is to indicate a number of TBs within a TB group for frequency hopping, based on a time domain bundling size for hybrid automatic repeat request - acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback-it is not considered for examination-intended use limitation- however Hu teaches “the multi-TB interleaving also supports a feedback manner of bundling” (see Hu: paragraph 218) .
For claims 31 and 39 Hu in view of Mu teaches the apparatus, wherein the configuration information is to indicate:
for a mixed initial transmission and retransmission in a PDSCH or PUSCH, when frequency hopping is enabled (Hu: Fig. 4, 12, and 34 “simultaneous enabling of interleaving and frequency hopping”):
or
.
6. Claims 28, 36, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu in view of Mu further in view of Seok and further in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2023/0291523 A1).
For claim 28 Hu in view of Mu further in view of Seok does not explicitly teach the apparatus, wherein the configuration information is to indicate that a respective dedicated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol is allocated in each respective hop before transmission of a first TB within the TB group.
However, Hasegawa teaches DMRS in PUSCH transmission repetitions or PUCCH transmission repetitions; DMRS in PUSCH transmission(s) not configured for repetitions or PUCCH transmission(s) not configured for repetitions; DMRS in PUSCH transmissions scheduled for dynamic or configured grants; DMRS in PUSCH transmissions scheduled in contiguous or non-contiguous slots; DMRS in PUSCH transmission(s) corresponding to one transport block; and/or DMRS in PUSCH/PUCCH transmissions configured for inter-slot frequency hopping or intra-slot frequency hopping (Hasegawa: paragraph 105). In addition, Hasegawa teaches as shown in FIG. 5, DMRS symbols in the first hop in each slot may be bundled together. DMRS symbols in the second hop in each slot may be bundled together (Hasegawa: paragraph 215). In addition, Hasegawa teaches DMRS symbols may be placed in a slot for channel estimation operations. For example, channel estimation performance may be
enhanced based on using an increased number of DMRS symbols (Hasegawa: paragraph 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing claimed invention to use the teachings of Mu in the combined TB frequency hopping of Seok, Mu and Hu to place a DMRS before TB in each hop for channel estimation (e.g., channel estimation enhancement) (Hasegawa: paragraph 3).
For claim 36 Hu in view of Mu further in view of Seok and further in view of Hasegawa teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, wherein the configuration information is to indicate that a respective dedicated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol is allocated in each respective hop before transmission of a first TB within the TB group (as discussed in claim 28).
For claim 43 Hu in view of Mu further in view of Seok and further in view of Hasegawa teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, wherein the configuration information is to indicate that a respective dedicated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol is allocated in each respective hop before transmission of a first TB within the TB group (as discussed in claim 28).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Xiong et al. (US 11,432,369 B2).
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415