DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 6/17/2026.
Claim 20 has been amended.
No claims have been cancelled.
No new claims have been added.
Claims 1-30 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/17/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1, 16, 24, and 30, Applicant argues that Park does not teach or suggest “the downlink control information indicating a set of codepoints corresponding to a set of beam configurations,” as is recited in claim 1. Applicant asserts that Park described a two-stage process in which the mapping of codepoint values to UL-TCI states is established through RRC/MAC-CE signaling, and thereafter a single codepoint is dynamically indicated through DCI after PUSCH scheduling. Applicant points to “Option 1” and “Option 2” in Park as indicating only one UL-TCI state in DCI Applicant argues that claims 16, 24, and 30 are allowable for at least similar reasons. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s interpretation of the prior art. With regard to Applicant’s argument that RRC/MAC-CE signaling is not downlink control information, the Examiner also respectfully disagrees. Transmission of the mapping of codepoint values to UL-TCI states through RRC/MAC-CE signaling may be interpreted as control information that is transmitted in the downlink direction, and thus such signaling may be interpreted as downlink control information. Furthermore, the Examiner would like to note that a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a “set” may be comprised of only a single element. Therefore, even if Park were to be interpreted as indicating only a single codepoint through DCI (which the Examiner does not concede), such an indication may still be interpreted as teaching the indication of a set of codepoints. As can be seen in at least the description of “Method 1-3” in Park, downlink control information is described as indicating code-points that indicate uplink (UL) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, which may be interpreted as a set of codepoints corresponding to a set of beam configurations (Park; Fig. 10; [0330]-[0332]). The Examiner would also like to note that the at least the UL-TCI field is described as comprising “code points” (i.e., a plural term) (Park; Fig. 10; [0330]-[0332]). With regard to Applicant’s arguments pertaining to “Option 1” and “Option 2” in Park, the Examiner would also like to note that the description of at least “Option 2” recites “the base station may dynamically select/indicate a specific UL-TCI state(s) among the pieces of linked information/UL-TCI states through PUSCH scheduling DCI (UL DCI). A UE may apply an UL-TCI state(s) based on the UL DCI to PUSCH transmission” (Park [0341]). At least “Option 2” thus describes indicating plural “state(s)” in DCI contrary to Applicant’s arguments. Park may thus be interpreted as teaching “the downlink control information indicating a set of codepoints corresponding to a set of beam configurations.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 15-18, 20-21, and 23-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2022/0295299, provided by Applicant, Park hereinafter). Regarding claims 1 and 24, Park teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (User equipment (UE); Park; Fig. 17; [0368]-[0369]),comprising: a processor (The UE may be comprised of a processor; Park; Fig. 17; [0368]-[0369]); memory coupled with the processor (The UE may be comprised of memory coupled with the processor; Park; Fig. 17; [0368]-[0369]); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a base station, downlink control information comprising an uplink grant for a physical uplink shared channel (As can be seen in at least step S1020 in Fig. 10, the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) from a base station (BS) comprising an uplink grant for the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); Park; Fig. 10; [0211]), the downlink control information indicating a set of codepoints corresponding to a set of beam configurations (The description of at least “Method 1-3” describes DCI as indicating code-points that indicate uplink (UL) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, which may be interpreted as a set of codepoints corresponding to a set of beam configurations; Park; Fig. 10; [0330]-[0332]); select a codepoint from the set of codepoints corresponding to a default uplink beam for transmitting an uplink message on the physical uplink shared channel (The code points of the UL-TCI field may indicate a default state for PUSCH transmission. The UE may thus be interpreted as selecting a codepoint from the set of codepoints corresponding to a default uplink beam for transmitting an uplink message on the physical uplink shared channel; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0215], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]) based at least in part on a beam configuration selection criteria that indicates criteria for selecting a subset of valid beam configurations from the set of beam configurations (The default state of the UL-TCI field is described as being used as a flag indicating that the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) field is valid. If the code points of the UL-TCI field indicate a default state, the UE may use the default state as a flag to perform PUSCH transmission using the SRI field (i.e., a subset of valid beam configurations). The default state of the UL-TCI field may thus be interpreted as a beam configuration selection criteria that indicates criteria for selecting a subset of valid beam configurations from the set of beam configurations; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]); and transmit the uplink message on the physical uplink shared channel in accordance with the uplink grant using the default uplink beam (As can be seen in at least step S1030 of Fig. 10, the UE may transmit an uplink message on the PUSCH in accordance with the uplink grant. Such transmission may be interpreted as using the default uplink beam when such a default uplink beam is indicated; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claims 2 and 25, Park teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 24 respectively. Park further teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compare codepoint identifiers for codepoints corresponding to the subset of valid beam configurations (The default state of the UL-TCI field is described as being used as a flag indicating that the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) field is valid. If the code points of the UL-TCI field indicate a default state, the UE may use the default state as a flag to perform PUSCH transmission using the SRI field (i.e., a subset of valid beam configurations). The UE may thus be interpreted as comparing codepoint identifiers for codepoints corresponding to the subset of valid beam configurations; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]), wherein selecting the codepoint from the set of codepoints is based at least in part on an ordering of the compared codepoint identifiers (An example of the default state is given as “000” out of a set of three bit values ranging from 000 to 111. Selecting the codepoint may thus be interpreted as being based at least in part on an ordering of the compared codepoint identifiers; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claims 3 and 26, Park teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 24 respectively. Park further teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select, based at least in part on the beam configuration selection criteria, the subset of valid beam configurations (The default state of the UL-TCI field is described as being used as a flag indicating that the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) field is valid. If the code points of the UL-TCI field indicate a default state, the UE may use the default state as a flag to perform PUSCH transmission using the SRI field (i.e., a subset of valid beam configurations). The default state of the UL-TCI field may thus be interpreted as a beam configuration selection criteria that indicates criteria for selecting a subset of valid beam configurations from the set of beam configurations; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]), wherein the beam configuration selection criteria comprises a restriction of the subset of valid beam configurations to beam configurations having a single uplink beam option (Use of the SRI field based on the default value in the UL-TCI field may be interpreted as a restriction of the subset of valid beam configurations to beam configurations having a single uplink beam option; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claims 4 and 27, Park teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 24 respectively. Park further teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select, based at least in part on the beam configuration selection criteria, the subset of valid beam configurations (The default state of the UL-TCI field is described as being used as a flag indicating that the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) field is valid. If the code points of the UL-TCI field indicate a default state, the UE may use the default state as a flag to perform PUSCH transmission using the SRI field (i.e., a subset of valid beam configurations). The default state of the UL-TCI field may thus be interpreted as a beam configuration selection criteria that indicates criteria for selecting a subset of valid beam configurations from the set of beam configurations; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]), wherein the beam configuration selection criteria comprises a restriction of the subset of valid beam configurations to beam configurations having a single uplink beam option, multiple uplink beam options, or both (Use of the SRI field based on the default value in the UL-TCI field may be interpreted as a restriction of the subset of valid beam configurations to at least beam configurations having a single uplink beam option; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 5, Park teaches the limitations of claim 4. Park further teaches applying a rule indicated in the beam configuration selection criteria (Indication of an UL-TCI state to be used may be interpreted as a rule indicated in the beam configuration selection criteria; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]), the rule comprising an indication of which of the multiple uplink beam options to select for transmitting the uplink message, wherein selecting the codepoint from the set of codepoints is based at least in part on applying the rule (Indication of an UL-TCI state to be used may be interpreted as a rule indicated in the beam configuration selection criteria, the rule comprising an indication of which of the multiple uplink beam options to select for transmitting the uplink message, wherein selecting the codepoint from the set of codepoints is based at least in part on applying the rule; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 8, Park teaches the limitations of claim 4. Park further teaches receiving, in the downlink control information, a beam switching indication indicating which of the multiple uplink beam options to select for transmitting the uplink message (The description of at least “Method 1-3” describes DCI as indicating code-points that indicate uplink (UL) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, which may be interpreted as a beam switching indication indicating which of the multiple uplink beam options to select for transmitting the uplink message; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0330]-[0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]), wherein selecting the codepoint from the set of codepoints is based at least in part on receiving the beam switching indication (Selecting the codepoint from the set of codepoints may be interpreted as being based at least in part on receiving the DCI indicating the codepoint (i.e., the beam switching indication); Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0330]-[0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claims 9 and 28, Park teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 24 respectively. Park further teaches the instructions to receive the downlink control information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a first downlink control information message comprising the uplink grant for the physical uplink shared channel (As can be seen in at least step S1020 in Fig. 10, the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) from a base station (BS) comprising an uplink grant for the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); Park; Fig. 10; [0211]); and receive, prior to receiving the first downlink control information message, a second downlink control information message comprising the set of codepoints (The base station is described as linking each of a total of 8 to a specific UL-TCI state to from “000” to “111” (through RRC/MAC CE signaling), which may be interpreted as a second downlink control information message comprising the set of codepoints that is received prior to receiving the first downlink control information message. The base station may then dynamically select/indicate any one state (i.e., a code point of the UL TCI field) upon PUSCH scheduling through UL DCI among the pieces of linked information; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 10, Park teaches the limitations of claim 9. Park further teaches comparing a first control resource set pool index associated with the first downlink control information message (The description of at least “Method 1-3” describes DCI as indicating code-points that indicate uplink (UL) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, which may be interpreted as a beam switching indication indicating which of the multiple uplink beam options to select for transmitting the uplink message. At least such an UL-TCI field may be interpreted as a first control resource set pool index associated with the first downlink control information message; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0330]-[0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]) with a second control resource set pool index associated with the second downlink control information message (The base station is described as linking each of a total of 8 to a specific UL-TCI state to from “000” to “111” (through RRC/MAC CE signaling), which may be interpreted as including a second control resource set pool index associated with the second downlink control information message. The UE may be interpreted as comparing the value received in the UL-TCI field to the same value in the specific UL-TCI states from “000” to “111”; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]); determining, based at least in part on the comparing, that the first control resource set pool index and the second control resource set pool index are the same (The UE may be interpreted as comparing the value received in the UL-TCI field to the same value in the specific UL-TCI states from “000” to “111” and determining that the UL-TCI value is the same; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]), wherein selecting the codepoint is based at least in part on the first control resource set pool index and the second control resource set pool index being the same (Selecting the codepoint may be interpreted as being based at least in part on the value of the UL-TCI field having a same value as one of the specific UL-TCI states from “000” to “111” received through RRC/MAC CE signaling; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claims 15 and 29, Park teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 24 respectively. Park further teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the base station, an indication of the beam configuration selection criteria, wherein selecting the codepoint is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the beam configuration selection criteria (The code points of the UL-TCI field may indicate a default state for PUSCH transmission. At least such an UL-TCI field may be interpreted as an indication of the beam configuration selection criteria, wherein selecting the codepoint is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the beam configuration selection criteria; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0215], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claims 16 and 30, Park teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communications at a base station (Base station (BS); Park; Fig. 17; [0368]-[0369]), comprising: a processor (The BS may be comprised of a processor; Park; Fig. 17; [0368]-[0369]); memory coupled with the processor (The BS may be comprised of memory coupled with the processor; Park; Fig. 17; [0368]-[0369]); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information comprising an uplink grant for a physical uplink shared channel (As can be seen in at least step S1020 in Fig. 10, the BS may receive downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) comprising an uplink grant for the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); Park; Fig. 10; [0211]), the downlink control information indicating a set of codepoints corresponding to a set of beam configurations (The description of at least “Method 1-3” describes DCI as indicating code-points that indicate uplink (UL) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, which may be interpreted as a set of codepoints corresponding to a set of beam configurations; Park; Fig. 10; [0330]-[0332]); select a default uplink beam for receiving an uplink message on the physical uplink shared channel (The code points of the UL-TCI field may indicate a default state for PUSCH transmission. The BS may thus be interpreted as selecting a default uplink beam for receiving an uplink message on the physical uplink shared channel at least when indicating the default beam to the UE; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0215], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]) based at least in part on a beam configuration selection criteria that indicates criteria for selecting a subset of valid beam configurations from the set of beam configurations (The default state of the UL-TCI field is described as being used as a flag indicating that the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) field is valid. If the code points of the UL-TCI field indicate a default state, the UE may use the default state as a flag to perform PUSCH transmission using the SRI field (i.e., a subset of valid beam configurations). The default state of the UL-TCI field may thus be interpreted as a beam configuration selection criteria that indicates criteria for selecting a subset of valid beam configurations from the set of beam configurations; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]); and receive the uplink message on the physical uplink shared channel in accordance with the uplink grant using the default uplink beam (As can be seen in at least step S1030 of Fig. 10, the BS may receive an uplink message on the PUSCH in accordance with the uplink grant. Such transmission may be interpreted as using the default uplink beam when such a default uplink beam is indicated; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 17, Park teaches the limitations of claim 15. Park further teaches the beam configuration selection criteria comprises a restriction of the subset of valid beam configurations to beam configurations having a single uplink beam option (Use of the SRI field based on the default value in the UL-TCI field may be interpreted as a restriction of the subset of valid beam configurations to beam configurations having a single uplink beam option; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 18, Park teaches the limitations of claim 18. Park further teaches the beam configuration selection criteria comprises a restriction of the subset of valid beam configurations to beam configurations having a single uplink beam option, multiple uplink beam options, or both (Use of the SRI field based on the default value in the UL-TCI field may be interpreted as a restriction of the subset of valid beam configurations to at least beam configurations having a single uplink beam option; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 20, Park teaches the limitations of claim 15. Park further teaches transmitting the downlink control information comprises: transmitting a first downlink control information message comprising the uplink grant for the physical uplink shared channel (As can be seen in at least step S1020 in Fig. 10, the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) from a base station (BS) comprising an uplink grant for the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); Park; Fig. 10; [0211]); and transmitting, prior to transmitting the first downlink control information message, a second downlink control information message comprising the set of codepoints (The base station is described as linking each of a total of 8 to a specific UL-TCI state to from “000” to “111” (through RRC/MAC CE signaling), which may be interpreted as a second downlink control information message comprising the set of codepoints that is received prior to receiving the first downlink control information message. The base station may then dynamically select/indicate any one state (i.e., a code point of the UL TCI field) upon PUSCH scheduling through UL DCI among the pieces of linked information; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 21, Park teaches the limitations of claim 20. Park further teaches receiving the uplink message on the default uplink beam is based at least in part on a first control resource set pool index associated with the first downlink control information message being the same as a second control resource set pool index associated with the second downlink control information message (The description of at least “Method 1-3” describes DCI as indicating code-points that indicate uplink (UL) transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, which may be interpreted as a beam switching indication indicating which of the multiple uplink beam options to select for transmitting the uplink message. At least such an UL-TCI field may be interpreted as a first control resource set pool index associated with the first downlink control information message. The base station is also described as linking each of a total of 8 to a specific UL-TCI state to from “000” to “111” (through RRC/MAC CE signaling), which may be interpreted as including a second control resource set pool index associated with the second downlink control information message. The UE may be interpreted as comparing the value received in the UL-TCI field to the same value in the specific UL-TCI states from “000” to “111”. Selecting the codepoint (i.e., the default uplink beam) for the uplink message may be interpreted as being based at least in part on the value of the UL-TCI field having a same value as one of the specific UL-TCI states from “000” to “111” (e.g., the value indicating the default beam) received through RRC/MAC CE signaling; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0330]-[0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 23, Park teaches the limitations of claim 15. Park further teaches transmitting, to the UE, an indication of the beam configuration selection criteria, wherein receiving the uplink message on the default uplink beam is based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the beam configuration selection criteria (The code points of the UL-TCI field may indicate a default state for PUSCH transmission. At least such an UL-TCI field may be interpreted as an indication of the beam configuration selection criteria, wherein selecting the codepoint is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the beam configuration selection criteria; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0215], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0295299, provided by Applicant, Park hereinafter) in view of Cirik et al. (US 2022/0030620, Cirik hereinafter, full support for subject matter relied upon exists in provisional application No. 63/056,129 filed on Jul. 24, 2020). Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the limitations of claim 4. However, Park does not specifically disclose selecting, based at least in part on the beam configuration selection criteria, a second codepoint from the set of codepoints corresponding to a second default uplink beam of the subset of valid beam configurations. Cirik teaches selecting, based at least in part on the beam configuration selection criteria, a second codepoint from the set of codepoints corresponding to a second default uplink beam of the subset of valid beam configurations (Multiple TCI states may be indicated in DCI for transmission repetition, which may be interpreted as comprising selecting, based at least in part on the beam configuration selection criteria, a second codepoint from the set of codepoints corresponding to a second default uplink beam of the subset of valid beam configurations; Cirik; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Cirik regarding transmission configuration with the teachings as in Park regarding transmission configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and reliability by using transmission repetition on more than one beam (Cirik; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]). Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the limitations of claim 6. Cirik further teaches transmitting the uplink message comprises: transmitting a first repetition of the uplink message using the default uplink beam (Multiple TCI states may be indicated in DCI for transmission repetition, which may be interpreted as comprising transmitting a first repetition of the uplink message using the default uplink beam; Cirik; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]); and transmitting a second repetition of the uplink message using the second default uplink beam (Multiple TCI states may be indicated in DCI for transmission repetition, which may be interpreted as comprising transmitting a second repetition of the uplink message using the second default uplink beam; Cirik; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Cirik regarding transmission configuration with the teachings as in Park regarding transmission configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and reliability by using transmission repetition on more than one beam (Cirik; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]). Regarding claim 19, Park teaches the limitations of claim 15. However, Park does not specifically disclose receiving the uplink message further comprises: receiving a first repetition of the uplink message using the default uplink beam associated with a first uplink beam option of the multiple uplink beam options; and receiving a second repetition of the uplink message using a second default uplink beam associated with a second uplink beam option of the multiple uplink beam options. Cirik teaches receiving the uplink message further comprises: receiving a first repetition of the uplink message using the default uplink beam associated with a first uplink beam option of the multiple uplink beam options (Multiple TCI states may be indicated in DCI for transmission repetition. The BS may thus be interpreted as receiving a first repetition of the uplink message using the default uplink beam associated with a first uplink beam option of the multiple uplink beam options; Cirik; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]); and receiving a second repetition of the uplink message using a second default uplink beam associated with a second uplink beam option of the multiple uplink beam options (Multiple TCI states may be indicated in DCI for transmission repetition. The BS may thus be interpreted as receiving a second repetition of the uplink message using a second default uplink beam associated with a second uplink beam option of the multiple uplink beam options; Cirik; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Cirik regarding transmission configuration with the teachings as in Park regarding transmission configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and reliability by using transmission repetition on more than one beam (Cirik; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]).
Claim(s) 11-12, 14 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0295299, provided by Applicant, Park hereinafter) in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0214158, Wang hereinafter). Regarding claim 11, Park teaches the limitations of claim 9. Park further teaches selecting the codepoint is based on receiving the second downlink control information message and receiving the first downlink control information message (The base station is described as linking each of a total of 8 to a specific UL-TCI state to from “000” to “111” (through RRC/MAC CE signaling), which may be interpreted as a second downlink control information message comprising the set of codepoints that is received prior to receiving the first downlink control information message. The base station may then dynamically select/indicate any one state (i.e., a code point of the UL TCI field) upon PUSCH scheduling through UL DCI among the pieces of linked information (e.g., the first downlink control information message). Selecting the codepoint may thus be interpreted as being based on receiving the second downlink control information message and receiving the first downlink control information message; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). However, Park does not specifically disclose the receiving comprises determining that a time period between receiving the second downlink control information message and receiving the first downlink control information message satisfies a threshold timing gap. Wang teaches the receiving comprises determining that a time period between receiving the second downlink control information message and receiving the first downlink control information message satisfies a threshold timing gap (Downlink control information transmissions may be required to satisfy one or more thresholds for time gaps between such transmissions; Wang; Fig. 11; [0077]-[0081], [0083]-[0086], [0211]-[0213]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Wang regarding transmission configuration with the teachings as in Park regarding transmission configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and reliability by allowing appropriate time for devices to perform beam switching and/or antenna switching (Wang; Fig. 11; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]). Regarding claim 12, Park and Wang teach the limitations of claim 11. Park further teaches at least one of the first downlink control information message or the second downlink control information message comprises a group-common downlink control information message (Indication of a panel or beam is described as potentially indicating a beam group, an antenna port group, a resource group, a group of UE antenna elements, a group of UE antenna ports, a group of logical antennas, etc. Indication of at least the UL-TCI state in DCI may thus be interpreted as comprising a group-common downlink control information message; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0225]-[0233], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). Regarding claim 14, Park and Wang teach the limitations of claim 11. Wang further teaches comparing a first time offset value with a second time offset value (Downlink control information transmissions may be required to satisfy one or more thresholds for time gaps between such transmissions, which may be interpreted as comprising at least comparing a first time offset value with a second time offset value; Wang; Fig. 11; [0077]-[0081], [0083]-[0086], [0211]-[0213]); and selecting the first time offset value based at least in part on the comparing, wherein the first time offset value comprises the threshold timing gap and wherein determining that the time period satisfies the threshold timing gap is based at least in part on selecting the first time offset value (Downlink control information transmissions may be required to satisfy one or more thresholds for time gaps between such transmissions, which may be interpreted as comprising selecting at least one of such time offset values (e.g., the first time offset value), wherein the first time offset value comprises the threshold timing gap and wherein determining that the time period satisfies the threshold timing gap is based at least in part on selecting the first time offset value; Wang; Fig. 11; [0077]-[0081], [0083]-[0086], [0211]-[0213]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Wang regarding transmission configuration with the teachings as in Park regarding transmission configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and reliability by allowing appropriate time for devices to perform beam switching and/or antenna switching (Wang; Fig. 11; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]). Regarding claim 22, Park teaches the limitations of claim 20. Park further teaches receiving the uplink message on the default uplink beam is based at least in part on transmitting the second downlink control information message and transmitting the first downlink control information message (The base station is described as linking each of a total of 8 to a specific UL-TCI state to from “000” to “111” (through RRC/MAC CE signaling), which may be interpreted as a second downlink control information message comprising the set of codepoints that is received prior to receiving the first downlink control information message. The base station may then dynamically select/indicate any one state (i.e., a code point of the UL TCI field) upon PUSCH scheduling through UL DCI among the pieces of linked information (e.g., the first downlink control information message). The BS may then receive the UL message based on such transmissions; Park; Fig. 10; [0039], [0332], [0338], [0340]-[0342]). However, Park does not specifically disclose a time period between transmitting the second downlink control information message and transmitting the first downlink control information message satisfies a threshold timing gap. Wang teaches a time period between transmitting the second downlink control information message and transmitting the first downlink control information message satisfies a threshold timing gap (Downlink control information transmissions may be required to satisfy one or more thresholds for time gaps between such transmissions; Wang; Fig. 11; [0077]-[0081], [0083]-[0086], [0211]-[0213]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Wang regarding transmission configuration with the teachings as in Park regarding transmission configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and reliability by allowing appropriate time for devices to perform beam switching and/or antenna switching (Wang; Fig. 11; [0208]-[0210], [0214], [0216]-[0218]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0295299, provided by Applicant, Park hereinafter) and Wang et al. (US 2024/0214158, Wang hereinafter) in view of Pan et al. (US 2024/0032093, Pan hereinafter, support for cited subject matter exists in provisional application No. 63/092,059 filed on Oct. 15, 2020). Regarding claim 13, Park and Wang teach the limitations of claim 11. Wang further teaches determining that the time period satisfies the threshold timing gap, wherein determining that the time period satisfies the threshold timing gap is based at least in part on possessing an indication of the threshold timing gap (Downlink control information transmissions may be required to satisfy one or more thresholds for time gaps between such transmissions, which may be interpreted as comprising determining that the time period satisfies the threshold timing gap, wherein determining that the time period satisfies the threshold timing gap is based at least in part on possessing an indication of the threshold timing gap; Wang; Fig. 11; [0077]-[0081], [0083]-[0086], [0211]-[0213]). However, Park and Wang do not specifically disclose receiving, from the base station, the indication of the threshold. Pan teaches receiving, from the base station, the indication of the threshold (A base station may configure the UE with threshold(s); Pan; [0117], [0245]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Pan regarding transmission configuration with the teachings as in Park regarding transmission configuration and Wang regarding transmission configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and reliability by allowing a base station to configure receiving devices with thresholds that improve reception of transmissions (Pan; [0117], [0245]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474