DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The outstanding rejections of Claims 25, 27, 29-33, 35, 37-41 and 44 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 25, 33, and 41 filed on April 28, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 27, 29-33, 35, 37-41, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0137215 A1), in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0051652 A1), and Wong (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0346134 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Xu et al. teach an apparatus (Fig.7 @ 700) comprising:
memory to store time domain resource allocation (TDRA) information associated with data transmission (Fig.7 @ 705); and
processing circuitry (Fig.7 @ 704), coupled with the memory (Fig.7 @ 705), to:
wherein the TDRA information includes a plurality of TDRA parameters that are independently configured for different scheduled data transmissions (read as TDRA table (Paragraph [0103])); and
encode a message for transmission to a user equipment (UE) that includes the TDRA information.(Fig.10 @ 1004)
However, Xu et al. fail to explicitly teach retrieve the TDRA information from the memory, and wherein the scheduled data transmissions include one of
a single physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled within a slot;
a single PDSCH transmission or PUSCH transmission with repetition,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled with more than one repetition; or
a single PDSCH or PUSCH transmission,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission spans more than one slot,
wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries, each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission;
Khoshnevisan et al. teach a method to retrieve the TDRA information from the memory (read as “The processor 1340 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1330) to cause the device 1305 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting TDRA for downlink data repetitions)”(Fig.13; Paragraph [0177])),
Also, Khoshnevisan et al. teach a method wherein the scheduled data transmissions include one of
a single physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132]) For example, “the modified set of TDRA candidates 840 may correspond to a single PDSCH occasion 825. When the UE 115 receives an explicit TDRA 810, determines the implicit TDRA(s) 815, and receives the corresponding downlink data repetitions, the UE 115 may provide a single ACK/NACK 835 for the DCI message in the codebook 830 corresponding to the single PDSCH occasion 825.”(Paragraph [0132]) “the downlink data repetitions 225 (e.g., the PDSCH transmissions) may be transmitted in slot n+K0, where n is the slot with the scheduling DCI 215. ”(Paragraph [0094])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled within a slot (read as slot n+K0 (Fig.8 @ 805; Paragraph [0094]));
a single PDSCH transmission or PUSCH transmission with repetition (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled with more than one repetition (read as “the downlink data repetitions 225 (e.g., the PDSCH transmissions) may be transmitted in slot n+K0, where n is the slot with the scheduling DCI 215. ”(Paragraph [0094])); or
a single PDSCH or PUSCH transmission (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission spans more than one slot. (read as “If the downlink data repetitions 225 span multiple slots, the slot offset may indicate the first or the last slot in the time domain containing the downlink data repetitions 225.”(Paragraph [0094]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for retrieving tasks for supporting TDRA for DL data repetitions and the function for using a single PDSCH occasion to send implicit/explicit TDRA information as taught by Khoshnevisan et al. with the base station as taught by Xu et al. for the purpose of enhancing data transmissions based on TDRA parameters by devices in a NR communication network.
However, Xu et al. and Khoshnevisan et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries, each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission;
Wong teaches a method wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries (read as “… a lookup TRDA table, where each entry in the table contains information of the PDSCH/PUSCH transmission …”(Paragraph [0048]) Also, “The entries in the TDRA table are semi-statically configured by RRC and the size of the table can be up to 16 entries.”(Paragraph [0048])), each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission (read as “where each entry in the table contains information of the PDSCH/PUSCH transmission such as the start of the transmission, the duration of the transmission, the mapping type and DMRS locations.” (Paragraph [0048]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the TDRA table comprising entries for PDSCH/PUSCH transmission as taught by Wong and the function for retrieving tasks for supporting TDRA for DL data repetitions and the function for using a single PDSCH occasion to send implicit/explicit TDRA information as taught by Khoshnevisan et al. with the base station as taught by Xu et al. for the purpose of improving the formatting of a TDRA table by devices in a NR communication network for downlink/uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 33, Xu et al. teach one or more computer-readable media (Fig.7 @ 705 and 706) storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig.7 @ 704), cause a next-generation NodeB (gNB) (Fig.7 @ 700) to:
wherein the TDRA information includes a plurality of TDRA parameters that are independently configured for different scheduled data transmissions (read as TDRA table (Paragraph [0103])); and
encode a message for transmission to a user equipment (UE) that includes the TDRA information. (Fig.10 @ 1004)
However, Xu et al. fail to explicitly teach determine time domain resource allocation (TDRA) information associated with data transmission,
and wherein the scheduled data transmissions include one of
a single physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled within a slot;
a single PDSCH transmission or PUSCH transmission with repetition,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled with more than one repetition; or
a single PDSCH or PUSCH transmission,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission spans more than one slot,
wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries, each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission;
Khoshnevisan et al. teach a method to retrieve the TDRA information from the memory (read as “The processor 1340 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1330) to cause the device 1305 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting TDRA for downlink data repetitions)”(Fig.13; Paragraph [0177])),
Khoshnevisan et al. teach a method to determine time domain resource allocation (TDRA) information associated with data transmission (Fig(s).9 @ 910 and 18 @ 1810). Also, Khoshnevisan et al. teach a method wherein the scheduled data transmissions include one of
a single physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132]) For example, “the modified set of TDRA candidates 840 may correspond to a single PDSCH occasion 825. When the UE 115 receives an explicit TDRA 810, determines the implicit TDRA(s) 815, and receives the corresponding downlink data repetitions, the UE 115 may provide a single ACK/NACK 835 for the DCI message in the codebook 830 corresponding to the single PDSCH occasion 825.”(Paragraph [0132]) “the downlink data repetitions 225 (e.g., the PDSCH transmissions) may be transmitted in slot n+K0, where n is the slot with the scheduling DCI 215. ”(Paragraph [0094])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled within a slot (read as slot n+K0 (Fig.8 @ 805; Paragraph [0094]));
a single PDSCH transmission or PUSCH transmission with repetition (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled with more than one repetition (read as “the downlink data repetitions 225 (e.g., the PDSCH transmissions) may be transmitted in slot n+K0, where n is the slot with the scheduling DCI 215. ”(Paragraph [0094])); or
a single PDSCH or PUSCH transmission (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission spans more than one slot. (read as “If the downlink data repetitions 225 span multiple slots, the slot offset may indicate the first or the last slot in the time domain containing the downlink data repetitions 225.”(Paragraph [0094]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for retrieving tasks for supporting TDRA for DL data repetitions and the function for using a single PDSCH occasion to send implicit/explicit TDRA information as taught by Khoshnevisan et al. with the base station as taught by Xu et al. for the purpose of enhancing data transmissions based on TDRA parameters by devices in a NR communication network.
However, Xu et al. and Khoshnevisan et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries, each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission;
Wong teaches a method wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries (read as “… a lookup TRDA table, where each entry in the table contains information of the PDSCH/PUSCH transmission …”(Paragraph [0048]) Also, “The entries in the TDRA table are semi-statically configured by RRC and the size of the table can be up to 16 entries.”(Paragraph [0048])), each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission (read as “where each entry in the table contains information of the PDSCH/PUSCH transmission such as the start of the transmission, the duration of the transmission, the mapping type and DMRS locations.” (Paragraph [0048]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the TDRA table comprising entries for PDSCH/PUSCH transmission as taught by Wong and the function for retrieving tasks for supporting TDRA for DL data repetitions and the function for using a single PDSCH occasion to send implicit/explicit TDRA information as taught by Khoshnevisan et al. with the base station as taught by Xu et al. for the purpose of improving the formatting of a TDRA table by devices in a NR communication network for downlink/uplink transmissions.
Regarding claim 41, Xu et al. teach one or more computer-readable media (Fig.13 @ 1305 and 1306) storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig.13 @ 1304), cause a user equipment (UE) (Fig.13 @ 1300) to:
identify a received message that includes time domain resource allocation (TDRA) information associated with data transmission (Fig.16 @ 1602),
wherein the TDRA information includes a plurality of TDRA parameters that are independently configured for different scheduled data transmissions (read as TDRA table (Paragraph [0103])); and
However, Xu et al. fail to explicitly teach prepare a scheduled data transmission for transmission to a next-generation NodeB (gNB) based on the TDRA information, or receive a scheduled data transmission from the gNB based on the TDRA information, and wherein the scheduled data transmissions include one of
a single physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled within a slot;
a single PDSCH transmission or PUSCH transmission with repetition,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled with more than one repetition; or
a single PDSCH or PUSCH transmission,
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission spans more than one slot,
wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries, each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission;
Khoshnevisan et al. teach a method to prepare a scheduled data transmission for transmission to a next-generation NodeB (gNB) based on the TDRA information (Fig(s).9 @ 925 and 18 @ 1820), or receive a scheduled data transmission from the gNB based on the TDRA information. (Fig(s).9 @ 915 and 18 @ 1815)
Also, Khoshnevisan et al. teach a method wherein the scheduled data transmissions include one of
a single physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132]) For example, “the modified set of TDRA candidates 840 may correspond to a single PDSCH occasion 825. When the UE 115 receives an explicit TDRA 810, determines the implicit TDRA(s) 815, and receives the corresponding downlink data repetitions, the UE 115 may provide a single ACK/NACK 835 for the DCI message in the codebook 830 corresponding to the single PDSCH occasion 825.”(Paragraph [0132]) Also, “the downlink data repetitions 225 (e.g., the PDSCH transmissions) may be transmitted in slot n+K0, where n is the slot with the scheduling DCI 215. ”(Paragraph [0094])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled within a slot (read as slot n+K0 (Fig.8 @ 805; Paragraph [0094]));
a single PDSCH transmission or PUSCH transmission with repetition (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled with more than one repetition (read as “the downlink data repetitions 225 (e.g., the PDSCH transmissions) may be transmitted in slot n+K0, where n is the slot with the scheduling DCI 215. ”(Paragraph [0094])); or
a single PDSCH or PUSCH transmission (read as single PDSCH occasion (Fig.8 @ 825; Paragraph [0132])),
where each PDSCH or PUSCH transmission spans more than one slot. (read as “If the downlink data repetitions 225 span multiple slots, the slot offset may indicate the first or the last slot in the time domain containing the downlink data repetitions 225.”(Paragraph [0094]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for retrieving tasks for supporting TDRA for DL data repetitions and the function for using a single PDSCH occasion to send implicit/explicit TDRA information as taught by Khoshnevisan et al. with the base station as taught by Xu et al. for the purpose of enhancing data transmissions based on TDRA parameters by devices in a NR communication network.
However, Xu et al. and Khoshnevisan et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries, each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission;
Wong teaches a method wherein the TDRA information comprises a TDRA list partitioned into a plurality of subsets of entries (read as “… a lookup TRDA table, where each entry in the table contains information of the PDSCH/PUSCH transmission …”(Paragraph [0048]) Also, “The entries in the TDRA table are semi-statically configured by RRC and the size of the table can be up to 16 entries.”(Paragraph [0048])), each subset corresponding to a specific type of data transmission (read as “where each entry in the table contains information of the PDSCH/PUSCH transmission such as the start of the transmission, the duration of the transmission, the mapping type and DMRS locations.” (Paragraph [0048]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the TDRA table comprising entries for PDSCH/PUSCH transmission as taught by Wong and the function for retrieving tasks for supporting TDRA for DL data repetitions and the function for using a single PDSCH occasion to send implicit/explicit TDRA information as taught by Khoshnevisan et al. with the base station as taught by Xu et al. for the purpose of improving the formatting of a TDRA table by devices in a NR communication network for downlink/uplink transmissions.
Regarding claims 27 and 35, and as applied to claims 25 and 33 above, Xu et al., as modified by Khoshnevisan et al. and Wong, teach an apparatus (Fig.7 @ 700) and one or more computer-readable media (Fig.7 @ 706) wherein only one PDSCH or PUSCH is scheduled with repetition, and wherein:
a single slot offset between downlink control information (DCI) and the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is applied to the scheduled data transmission,
a common mapping type is applied to the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH, and
a list of starting and length indicator values (SLIVs) are applied for scheduled PDSCH repetitions or PUSCH repetitions. (read as a TDRA table comprising of one or more SLIV(s) (Paragraph [0103]))
Regarding claims 29, 37, and 44, and as applied to claims 25, 33, and 41 above, Xu et al., as modified by Khoshnevisan et al. and Wong, teach an apparatus (Fig.7 @ 700) and one or more computer-readable media (Fig.7 @ 706) wherein repetition is applied to transmission of a plurality of PDSCHs or PUSCHs, and wherein:
a single slot offset between downlink control information (DCI) a scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH is applied for all scheduled PDSCHs or PUSCHs,
a common mapping type and number of repetitions are applied for all the scheduled PDSCHs or PUSCHs, and
consecutive SLIVs are allocated for PDSCH or PUSCH repetitions.(read as SLIV (Paragraph [0103]))
Regarding claims 30 and 38, and as applied to claims 25 and 33 above, Xu et al., as modified by Khoshnevisan et al. and Wong, teach an apparatus (Fig.7 @ 700) and one or more computer-readable media (Fig.7 @ 706) wherein the TDRA information includes a list entry to indicate to the UE a type of data transmission for PDSCH or PUSCH. (read as “one or more special TDRA table entries may defined taking into consideration the TB scaling factor and a start and length indicator (SLIV, which indicates the start symbol and length of a PUSCH) for the time domain resource allocation to ensure correct accounting of this information to determine the TB size for the PUSCH.”(Paragraph [0103]))
Regarding claims 31 and 39, and as applied to claims 25 and 33 above, Xu et al., as modified by Khoshnevisan et al. and Wong, teach an apparatus (Fig.7 @ 700) and one or more computer-readable media (Fig.7 @ 706) wherein the message is encoded for transmission via minimum system information (MSI),
remaining minimum system information (RMSI),
other system information (OSI) or
dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (read as dedicated RRC signaling (Paragraph [0109]))
Regarding claims 32 and 40, and as applied to claims 25 and 33 above, Xu et al., as modified by Khoshnevisan et al. and Wong, teach an apparatus (Fig.7 @ 700) and one or more computer-readable media (Fig.7 @ 706) wherein the plurality of TDRA parameters include an indication of:
a slot offset between downlink control information (DCI) and each scheduled PDSCH,
a slot offset between DCI and each scheduled PUSCH,
a mapping type of each scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH,
a starting and length indicator value (SLIV) for each scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH in a slot (read as SLIV (Paragraph [0103])),
a number of repetitions for each scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH, or
a number of slots for each scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Gou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330279 A1) teach “when the network side indicates using the PUSCH transmission type of Release 15, the terminal uses the legacy TDRA table. When the network side indicates using the PUSCH transmission type of Release 16, the terminal uses the table TDRAforDCIformat 0_2; or when the network side indicates using the PUSCH transmission type of Release 16, the terminal uses the table TDRAforDCIformat 0_1.”(Paragraph [0234])
Sun et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0272732 A1) teach “Before Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection setup, a TDRA table is predefined in the protocol, including: a parameter K0 (for PDSCH) or K2 (for PUSCH) indicating position of the slot, start position S and length L of a symbol in the slot, and data transmission mapping type (type of DMRS mapping such as Type A and Type B).”(Paragraph [0145])
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
May 29, 2026