Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 12/2/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-16 and 18 are pending with claims 16 and 18 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation and allowable subject matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In claim 7 it is stated that the fine fraction can pass through a 200-mesh screen. The Examiner interprets this to be substantially all the fine fraction and only allowing a de minimis amount not passing through the screen.
The prior art GILKEY (cited below) discloses a 0.175 mm-hole size which is equivalent to an 80 mesh. It would not meet the claim language because there would be a substantial amount of fines and particles above the 200-mesh size which would not pass through.
Election/Restriction
In the 10/23/2025 restriction the Examiner grouped claim 15 as part of group II and claim 16 as part of group III. Claim 15 should be part of group I, claim 16 as part of group II, and claim 18 as part of group III.
Claim 15 is therefore being examined with group I and the restriction to claim 15 is withdrawn.
Claims 16 and 18 remain withdrawn without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 5,133,832 GILKEY in view of The World of Market Pulp by NANKO et al., hereinafter NANKO.
As for claim 1-3 and 6, GILKEY discloses taking deinked papermaking stock and fractionating the deinked papermaking stock on a belt filter [abstract]. The fraction is separated into long fibers as a dewatered retentate and short fibers in a filtrate [col. 1 lines]. GILKEY discloses that that the filtrate can comprise percent of the total solids.
GILKEY discloses that a 50%-50% fines/long fiber split)and that substantially all long fibers are maintained [col. 3 lines 24-26]. GILKEY discloses a feed consistency of 1% and a retained consistency of 5% [col. 4 lines 30-40]. This means that the 20% of the suspension which doesn’t pass through still contains the fines. Therefore about 40% of the total which passes through [50% fines* 80% liquid pass through = 40%]. The total amount that passes through can be optimized based on the hole size of the wire, the stock fed to the fractionator and the consistency from the fractionator.
GILKEY does not disclose the SR of the pulp or the content of fibers having a length of greater than 7 million fibers per gram [pg. 222 Fiber Morphology].
NANKO discloses an example recycled pulp which has a population of 12.6 million fibers per gram and a Canadian standard freeness of between 360 to 190 (SR of about 35 to 52) which overlaps the instant claimed ranges [pg. 223 PFI Table]. NAKNO has 13.8% britt jar fines which will pass through at least the same rate as the fines of GILKEY (13.8*0.8 =10.72%).
At the time of the invention it would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known recycled paper source for another known recycled paper source [MPEP 2144.06 (II)]. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as the process of GILKEY does not limit the type of recycled paper that may be treated.
As for claims 4 and 5, GILKEY discloses a feed consistency of 1% and a retained consistency of 5% [col. 4 lines 30-40] which means 80% of the suspension passes through.
As for claim 8, GILKEY discloses the speed of the device is 3,000 ft/min or 914 m/min which falls within the claimed range [col. 3 lines 45-50]. This is much higher than the claimed apparatus. This suggests that a much higher flow of liquid can through the belt. The mesh further has hole sizes of 0.175 mm squared [col. 3 lines 20-25] which means the holes (~80 mesh) are bigger than the 200-mesh hole fractionation claimed; bigger holes mean bigger flow. Therefore it is the Examiner’s position that the belt of GILKEY has an air permeability greater than 4,000m2/m2/hour.
As for claim 9, GILKEY discloses the speed of the device is 3,000 ft/min or 914 m/min which falls within the claimed range [col. 3 lines 45-50].
As for claim 10, GILKEY discloses a belt speed of 914 m/min which is much higher than the instant claimed belt speed which suggests a much lower residence time. In the alternative it would be obvious to optimize the residence time through routine experimentation. The person of ordinary skill in the art would look to have a lower residence time as this would increase the production rate.
As for claim 11, the belt fractionator is a single-wire device with belt (25) [Figure 2]
As for claim 12, GILKEY discloses that the fines can be recombined after separation and treatments [Figure 1].
As for claims 13-15, some of the fines will be lost to the floatation froth of the flotation cells (50) and therefore less fines will be reintroduced during recombination [Figure 1]. As less fines are added it would be excepted that the SR and the WRV would change in substantially the same way.
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748