DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 11/21/2025.
Claims 1-9 remain pending. Claims 10-11 have been added. Claims 1-11 have been examined and are rejected.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/015504 filed 4/14/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the communications above have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
For at least these reasons, applicant’s arguments are considered not persuasive.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al. (US 2022/0014934 A1) in view of Reimann et al. (US 2021/0120440 A1) in view of Teslenko et al. (US 2019/0199419 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Matsunaga teaches:
A communication control system comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire information related to a wireless communication device and environment information that affects wireless communication quality; (a control device including an acquiring unit to acquire quality information indicating a correspondence relationship between a position and communication quality related to wireless communication at the position, and route information indicating a movement route of a mobile base station [Matsunaga: 0035; 0037; Fig. 4]);
a prediction unit configured to predict future wireless communication quality based on the information related to the wireless communication device; (control device includes a specifying unit to specify an area predicted to be lower than the predetermined communication quality based on the communication quality in a past as the area in which the communication quality is lower than the predetermined communication quality [Matsunaga: 0035; 0046; Fig. 4]);
a control unit configured to control, based on the future wireless communication quality, a target device to achieve wireless communication quality responsive to a purpose of a user using wireless communication; (the control device includes a controlling unit to execute control for moving a selected mobile base station to a position at which it can provide wireless communication service in at least a part of the specified area to a terminal device in a remote or automated driving vehicle [Matsunaga: 0035; 0042; 0016; Fig. 4]);
a cooperation unit configured to execute a cycle including acquisition of information by the acquisition unit, prediction by the prediction unit, and control by the control unit; (the control device includes the acquiring unit, the specifying unit, and the controlling unit [Matsunaga: 0028; 0035; Fig. 3]).
However, Matsunaga does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
a prediction unit configured to predict future wireless communication quality based on the information related to the wireless communication device and the environment information;
In a similar field of endeavor involving determining wireless communication channel quality of vehicles, Reimann discloses:
a prediction unit configured to predict future wireless communication quality based on the information related to the wireless communication device and the environment information; (estimating a channel quality based on a current position of the mobile subscriber at a current time and a future position and environment estimated on the basis of the current position using an environmental model [Reimann: 0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsunaga in view of Reimann in order to predict future wireless communication quality based on environment information in the system of Matsunaga.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Matsunaga with Reimann as doing so would allow the predicted wireless communication quality to take into account what the future environment will be like at a future time which is particularly beneficial for fast moving devices such as vehicles [Reimann: 0015-16].
However, Matsunaga-Reimann does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
a cooperation unit configured to execute a cycle including acquisition of information by the acquisition unit, prediction by the prediction unit, and control by the control unit, repeatedly.
In a similar field of endeavor involving controlling the direction of the beam based on a vehicle's predicted position, Teslenko discloses:
a cooperation unit configured to execute a cycle including acquisition of information by the acquisition unit, prediction by the prediction unit, and control by the control unit, repeatedly; (dynamically adjusting a beam's direction as needed for the beam's direction to track vehicle movement in a substantially continuous or quick periodic fashion so that the vehicle remains in focus of the beam, wherein the adjusting is based on a route schedule and positioning measurements of the vehicle [Teslenko: 0031-34; Fig. 3]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsunaga-Reimann in view of Teslenko in order to execute a cycle including acquisition of information by the acquisition unit, prediction by the prediction unit, and control by the control unit, repeatedly in the system of Matsunaga-Reimann.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Matsunaga-Reimann with Teslenko as doing so would perform adjustments as needed to maintain a substantially constant and high quality service channel for moving device(s) onboard the vehicle [Teslenko: 0038].
With regard to Claim 2, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko teaches:
The communication control system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a data storage unit, wherein the acquisition unit stores the acquired information in the data storage unit, and wherein the prediction unit predicts the future wireless communication quality by using information read from the data storage unit; (the information acquired by the communication circuit 204 can be stored in memory 202 or storage device 203 [Matsunaga: 0027]. Reimann teaches the environmental model uses data captured by an environment capture device along with the aid of digital road maps or similar data to determine what the environment will be like at a future time [Reimann: 0015-16]).
With regard to Claim 3, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko teaches:
The communication control system according to claim 1, wherein the target device includes at least one of a base station or a terminal, and wherein the control unit controls a wireless parameter for at least one of the base station or the terminal; (the control device includes a controlling unit to execute control a selected mobile base station [Matsunaga: 0035; 0042; 0016; Fig. 4]. Reimann teaches adjusting at least one parameter of the communication system based on the estimation, wherein the at least one parameter is a cyclic prefix of a transmission symbol [Reimann: 0011; 0021]).
With regard to Claim 5, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko teaches:
The communication control system according to claim 1, wherein the target device includes a movable base station, and wherein the control unit controls a position of the movable base station; (the control device includes a controlling unit to execute control for moving a selected mobile base station to a position at which it can provide wireless communication service in at least a part of the specified area to a terminal device in a remote or automated driving vehicle [Matsunaga: 0035; 0042; 0016; Fig. 4]).
With regard to Claim 6, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko teaches:
The communication control system according to claim 1, wherein the environment information includes at least one of video information captured by a camera, sensor information sensed by a sensor, or map information acquired from a map information database; (the environmental model uses data captured by an environment capture device along with the aid of digital road maps or similar data to determine what the environment will be like at a future time, wherein the environment capture device comprises a multiplicity of sensor systems such as cameras, radar sensors, lidar sensors, ultrasonic sensors, etc. which are used to determine objects and their properties, in particular, their reflection behavior [Reimann: 0015-16]).
With regard to Claim 7, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko teaches:
The communication control system according to claim 1, wherein the information related to the wireless communication device includes received power information related to the wireless communication device and object information obtained by detecting an object around the wireless communication device by wireless sensing; (a K factor indicates the ratio between the direct power between the subscribers and the power received via reflections [Reimann: 0012], and the environment capture device comprises a multiplicity of sensor systems such as cameras, radar sensors, lidar sensors, ultrasonic sensors, etc. which are used to determine objects and their properties, in particular, their reflection behavior [Reimann: 0015-16]. Matsunaga teaches communication quality to be improved here can be represented by indices such as signal-to-noise power ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise power ratio (SINR), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), and received signal strength [Matsunaga: 0015]).
With regard to Claims 8-9, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 1 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claims 8-9 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
With regard to Claim 11, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko teaches:
The communication control system of claim 1, wherein the cooperation unit is further configured to repeat the cycle until the wireless communication quality is satisfied; (the radio network node may re-direct the beam when the position prediction warrants a pointing direction change that meets or exceeds a defined threshold [Teslenko: 0038]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al. (US 2022/0014934 A1) in view of Reimann et al. (US 2021/0120440 A1) in view of Teslenko et al. (US 2019/0199419 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (KR 101936624 B1).
With regard to Claim 4, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko teaches:
The communication control system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit controls a radio wave direction; (the control device includes a controlling unit to execute control a selected mobile base station [Matsunaga: 0035; 0042; 0016; Fig. 4]. Teslenko teaches dynamically adjusting the direction of a particular beam as needed for the beam's direction to track movement of the vehicle [Teslenko: 0037]).
However, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
wherein the target device includes a reflector, and wherein the control unit controls at least one of a radio wave reflection direction or radio wave reflection power of the reflector.
In a similar field of endeavor involving received signals at a moving object using wave reflection, Kim discloses:
wherein the target device includes a reflector, and wherein the control unit controls at least one of a radio wave reflection direction or radio wave reflection power of the reflector; (a control device for controlling a rotating device for adjusting the polarization direction of the fixed station antenna according, the direction of the mobile terminal antenna, and the horizontal posture (azimuth angle, horizontal angle) [Kim: p. 3]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko in view of Kim in order to control at least one of a radio wave reflection direction or radio wave reflection power of a reflector in the system of Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko with Kim as doing so uses the position and posture information of the moving body to adjust the polarization direction of a transmission antenna with a polarization wave, which is vertical to the reflection surface, thereby improving service quality [Kim: abstract].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al. (US 2022/0014934 A1) in view of Reimann et al. (US 2021/0120440 A1) in view of Teslenko et al. (US 2019/0199419 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Levin et al. (US 2011/0287801 A1).
With regard to Claim 10, Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko teaches the communication control system according to claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the environment information includes high-definition three-dimensional map information including data representing at least one of a building shape or a tree type.
In a similar field of endeavor involving predicting signal strength in an urban environment, Levin discloses:
wherein the environment information includes high-definition three-dimensional map information including data representing at least one of a building shape or a tree type; (maintaining a geographical database that may include terrain information, building information, road information, land use information, and/or other geographical feature information to be used for prediction of ray trajectory, ray power, propagation delay, propagation delay spread, signal strength, etc., wherein the database may be a three dimensional database comprising building contours, building height, footprint dimensions, number of floors, etc. [Levin: 0037; 0039; 0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko in view of Levin in order to utilize environment information that includes high-definition three-dimensional map information including data representing at least one of a building shape or a tree type in the system of Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Matsunaga-Reimann-Teslenko with Levin as doing so would allow for more accurate modeling and prediction of wave propagation due to diffraction around buildings and/or scattering from vegetation and from structures [Levin: 0051].
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated any new grounds of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (KR 102207836 B1) which teaches adjusting the reflection phase to be in phase with the direct wave radiated from the radiator so that a reflected wave reflected from the plurality of reflection cells 106 and a direct wave radiated from the radiator 104 become in-phase, thereby causing constructive interference, and achieving a high antenna gain [Kim: p. 3].
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446