This office action is in response to remarks filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 1-30 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-4, 8, 11, 13, 14, 18, 21, 23, 24, 28, and 30 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-4, 8, 11, 13, 14, 18, 21, 23, 24, 28, and 30 have been considered based on amendments.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. It is interpreted that figure 2 of the specification describes the "apparatus for wireless communication" to include a data source, transmit processor, TX MIMO processor, memory, controller/processor, resource reselection module, data sink, receive processor, scheduler, MIMO detector, modulator, and antenna.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US20200280961A1) (hereinafter "Lee '961") in view of Yi et al (WO2017213433A1) (hereinafter "Yi") and Lee et al (US20190191461A1) (hereinafter "Lee '461").
Regarding claim 1, Lee '961 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising:
memory comprising computer executable code; and ([0591] when one or more processors is executed like the processor 3123, the memory 3124 is configured to store software code 3125 including a command to perform a part or the whole process according to the present disclosure.)
one or more processors configured to, individually or collectively, execute the computer executable code to cause the apparatus to ([0591] when one or more processors is executed like the processor 3123, the memory 3124 is configured to store software code 3125 including a command to perform a part or the whole process according to the present disclosure.):
trigger a transmit resource selection at the apparatus when the latency exceeds a threshold latency ([0450] in the case that the currently selected ‘D’ value (or ‘SUBFRAME # D’) has a problem in satisfying ‘LATENCY(/QOS) REQUIREMENT’ of a newly arrived (/generated (/received)) packet (/message), (transport) resource (re)selection operation may be triggered.).
Lee '961 fails to disclose an apparatus, comprising: monitor a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time.
However, Yi discloses an apparatus, comprising: monitor a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time ([0314] if delay from packet arrival + SR transmission + eNB scheduling/encoding latency of UL grant is less than 1 * TTI, and PUSCH can be transmitted at the next available uplink subframe, the overall latency becomes UE buffering + SR encoding latency + SR transmission time + eNB scheduling/encoding latency + PUSCH encoding latency + PUSCH transmission time + PUSCH decoding latency becomes 0.5 * TTI + 0.1 * TTI + 1 OFDM symbol + 0.1 msec + 0.4 * TTI + 1 * TTI + 0.2 * TTI .Math. 2.2 * TTI + 0.1 msec + 1 OFDM symbol (assumed to be 0.2 * TTI) == 2. 4 * TTI + 0.1 msec. In this case, the budget of TTI becomes around 0.1667 msec.).
Lee '961 and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmission scheduling and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Yi to create an apparatus, comprising: monitor a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize unnecessary occupation of radio resources.
Lee '961 fails to disclose an apparatus, comprising:
obtain a subframe bitmap indicating subframes available for sidelink communication during a direct frame number (DFN) period, the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap;
reserve a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS);
reserve a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap;
wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes.
However, Lee '461 discloses an apparatus, comprising:
obtain a subframe bitmap ([0394] V2X bitmap) indicating subframes available for sidelink communication ([0406] A resource pool is composed of a plurality of reserved subframes so that the bitmap is repeated an integer number of times within a specific range (for example, D2D Frame Number (DFN) range). For example, the V2X (for example, V2V) logical subframe index may not be allocated to a reserved subframe.) during a direct frame number (DFN) period ([0394] subframe number may have a value of 0, 1, . . . , 10239 (namely, a total of 10240 subframes)), the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap ([0394] FIG. 35 assumes that the subframe number may have a value of 0, 1, . . . , 10239 (namely, a total of 10240 subframes), a V2X bitmap is repeated in units of 10 subframes, and the V2X bitmap is [0110101101].);
reserve a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) ([0396] At this time, the V2X logical index derived through the aforementioned process may not correspond to an integer multiple of the V2X bitmap. For example, when the SLSS subframe is allocated in units of 160 subframes, 64 SLSS subframes may be defined among 10240 subframes as described above, and accordingly, the V2X logical index may be allocated to 10176 subframes corresponding to 10240-10264.);
reserve a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap ([0395] When a V2X logical index is allocated, the UE may allocate a V2X logical index with respect to the subframes except for the SLSS subframe. … Here, it may be assumed that a V2X resource is allocated according to the V2X bitmap with respect to the subframe allocated by the V2X logical index.);
wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes ([0197] As a specific example, if resource (re)reservation (or selection) is performed every 500 milliseconds, (by taking into account that the time length of a transmission resource (latency requirement) is 100 ms) ‘(A-B)’ may become 400 ms (here, for example, the ‘400 ms’ may be interpreted as the remainder after subtracting one predefined ‘SC PERIOD (100 ms)’ (latency requirement) from ‘500 ms’). Also, in one example, the corresponding ‘400 ms’ period may be interpreted as a period ranging from ‘SF#(N−500MS)’ to ‘SF#(N−100MS)’. In other words, the ‘SENSING DURATION’ (or ‘(A-B)’) may become a function of predefined (or preset) ‘resource (re)reservation (or selection) period’ (or it may be interpreted as performing a ‘sensing operation’ during the time period derived from the ‘resource (re) reservation (or selection) period).).
Lee '961 and Lee '461 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reserving a finite number of resources used for performing a D2D/sidelink communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Lee '461 to create an apparatus, comprising: obtain a subframe bitmap indicating subframes available for sidelink communication during a direct frame number (DFN) period, the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap; reserve a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS); reserve a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap; wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize device battery consumption and reduce signal interference on other terminals.
Regarding claim 2, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein to monitor the latency comprises code executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to ([0591], when one or more processors is executed like the processor 3123, the memory 3124 is configured to store software code 3125 including a command to perform a part or the whole process according to the present disclosure.).
Lee '961 fails to disclose an apparatus, wherein to monitor the latency the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer.
However, Yi discloses an apparatus, wherein to monitor the latency the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer (Fig. 19: gap between Packet arrival (a) to PUSCH, where the time gap can be converted to subframe numbers based on teachings from Lee '961 [0206] “MONITORING WINDOW SIZE (i.e., ‘(A−B)’)” may be tuned in the maximum value of a time when (re)reservation (/selection) is occurred (e.g., this may be interpreted as a spacing (/INTERVAL) of reservation resource). Here, for example, the V2X UE select its own transport resource on a duration of ‘SF #(N+C), SF #(N+C+1), . . . , SF #(N+D) (or SC PERIOD #(N+C), SC PERIOD #(N+C+1), . . . , SC PERIOD #(N+D)) (D≥C (e.g., ‘C’ value may be a positive integer greater than ‘0’ considering a processing time for PSCCH/PSSCH generation))).
Lee '961 and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmission scheduling and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Yi to create an apparatus, wherein to monitor the latency the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize unnecessary occupation of radio resources.
Regarding claim 3, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the reserved subframes are not available for transmission by the apparatus, and wherein the size of the gap increases at each reserved subframe ([0402] For a reserved subframe, a resource pool includes several reserved subframes such that a bitmap is repeated in an integer within a specific range (e.g., DFN (D2D Frame Number) range). For example, here, V2X (e.g., V2V) logical subframe index may not be allocated to the reserved subframe.).
Regarding claim 4, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the physical layer does not increment the logical subframe scheduling number for the reserved subframes and the upper layer increments the OTA scheduling subframe number for each reserved subframe ([0329] in the case that the UE has no more reserved resource but SL_RESOURCE_RESELECTION_COUNTER is still greater than zero, the UE may extend the resource reservation. [0330] the number of reserved subframes may be independently configured from the counter number. Furthermore, the number of reserved subframes may be configured as smaller than the counter value.).
Regarding claim 5, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the second number of subframes corresponds to a remainder of the DFN period divided by a length of the subframe bitmap ([0375] The maximum value of H-DFN, Hmax, may be configured such that Hmax ∗ Tmax, the total number of potential V2V subframes in the hyper DFN range, may be divided by the configured bitmap length.).
Regarding claim 6, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the DFN period comprises 1024 system frame numbers (SFNs) corresponding to 10,240 subframes, wherein the length of the subframe bitmap is 10, 16, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, or 100 subframes, and wherein the subframe bitmap is repeated within the DFN period ([0361] the (existing) "DFN RANGE" value (e.g., "10240" or "10176") may be increase (e.g., interpretable as a kind of HYPER-SFN (/HYPER-DFN) method). Here, for example, the (increased) "(maximum) DFN RANGE" value may be defined in the form of "10240 (/10176)∗H_VAL" (or "10240 (/10176)∗H_MAXVAL") (and/or "MAX DFN RANGE∗H_VAL" (or "MAX DFN RANGE∗H_MAXVAL")). [0389] SLSS subframe may be excluded from mapping according to (repeated) V2V pool bitmap (i.e., a bitmap (or information) indicating a subframe in which a V2X pool may be allocated), and in this case, the bitmap length may mean 16, 20 or 100.).
Regarding claim 7, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the second number of subframes are reserved at a constant periodicity within the DFN period ([0327] in the case that a V2V subframe has an index range of 10240, when the UE reserves subframes for index {0, 100, ..., 10200, 10300, ..., 14900}, since the subframe number from 10300 to 14900 corresponds to a range exceeding the DFN range, subframe for {0, 100, ..., 10200, 60, 160, ..., 3660} may be actually reserved).
Regarding claim 8, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to measure an initial latency between packet arrival time from an application layer and the actual OTA packet transmission time ([0218] A UE may select a resource for performing V2X communication (or subframe, hereinafter, for the convenience of description, a resource and a subframe may be used in mixed manner) within a range of satisfying LATENCY REQUIREMENT (step, S1010) [0450] a maximum value (and/or minimum value) or range of ‘D’ (and/or ‘C’) (e.g., interpretable as ‘TX RESOURCE (RE)SELECTION DURATION(/RANGE/WINDOW)’) may be determined by considering a timing when a packet (/message) (to be transmitted or generated) is arrived (/received) on ‘LOW LAYER buffer’ (or a timing when packet (/message) is generated) (‘M’) and/or (since a predefined (/signaled) condition is satisfied) a timing when (transport) resource (re)selection operation is triggered (‘N’) and/or ‘LATENCY REQUIREMENT’), wherein the triggering the transmit resource selection is based on a total of the initial latency and the latency due to the first and second number of reserved subframes exceeding the threshold latency ([0018] The first timing may be determined according to a processing time required for the UE to transmit the V2X message, and the second timing may be determined according to one of the latency requirement and the priority of the V2X message.).
Regarding claim 9, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the threshold latency is configurable ([0014] The condition may be that the latency requirement of the V2X message is shorter than a configured threshold value or that the priority of the V2X message is higher than a configured threshold value.).
Regarding claim 10, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the threshold latency is randomized among a plurality of apparatuses ([0451] a V2X message transmission of shorter (or longer) (than preconfigured (/signaled) threshold value) ‘LATENCY REQUIREMENT’ may be protected) and/or ((maximum value (/minimum value) duration (range) (SELECTION WINDOW) and/or a range of selecting (or picking) a random value for determining a maintaining duration of (re)selected (/reserved) resource (and/or (for deriving C_RESEL value [1/2/3]) a coefficient multiplied to the selected random value)).
Regarding claim 11, Lee '961 discloses a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
triggering a transmit resource selection at the UE when the latency exceeds a threshold latency ([0450] in the case that the currently selected ‘D’ value (or ‘SUBFRAME # D’) has a problem in satisfying ‘LATENCY(/QOS) REQUIREMENT’ of a newly arrived (/generated (/received)) packet (/message), (transport) resource (re)selection operation may be triggered.).
Lee '961 fails to disclose a method, comprising: monitoring a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time.
However, Yi discloses an apparatus configured monitor a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time ([0314] if delay from packet arrival + SR transmission + eNB scheduling/encoding latency of UL grant is less than 1 * TTI, and PUSCH can be transmitted at the next available uplink subframe, the overall latency becomes UE buffering + SR encoding latency + SR transmission time + eNB scheduling/encoding latency + PUSCH encoding latency + PUSCH transmission time + PUSCH decoding latency becomes 0.5 * TTI + 0.1 * TTI + 1 OFDM symbol + 0.1 msec + 0.4 * TTI + 1 * TTI + 0.2 * TTI .Math. 2.2 * TTI + 0.1 msec + 1 OFDM symbol (assumed to be 0.2 * TTI) == 2. 4 * TTI + 0.1 msec. In this case, the budget of TTI becomes around 0.1667 msec.).
Lee '961 and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmission scheduling and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Yi to create a method, comprising: monitoring a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize unnecessary occupation of radio resources.
Lee '961 fails to disclose a method, comprising:
obtaining a subframe bitmap indicating subframes available for sidelink communication during a direct frame number (DFN) period, the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap;
reserving a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS);
reserving a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap;
wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes.
However, Lee '461 discloses an apparatus, comprising:
obtaining a subframe bitmap ([0394] V2X bitmap) indicating subframes available for sidelink communication ([0406] A resource pool is composed of a plurality of reserved subframes so that the bitmap is repeated an integer number of times within a specific range (for example, D2D Frame Number (DFN) range). For example, the V2X (for example, V2V) logical subframe index may not be allocated to a reserved subframe.) during a direct frame number (DFN) period ([0394] subframe number may have a value of 0, 1, . . . , 10239 (namely, a total of 10240 subframes)), the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap ([0394] FIG. 35 assumes that the subframe number may have a value of 0, 1, . . . , 10239 (namely, a total of 10240 subframes), a V2X bitmap is repeated in units of 10 subframes, and the V2X bitmap is [0110101101].);
reserving a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) ([0396] At this time, the V2X logical index derived through the aforementioned process may not correspond to an integer multiple of the V2X bitmap. For example, when the SLSS subframe is allocated in units of 160 subframes, 64 SLSS subframes may be defined among 10240 subframes as described above, and accordingly, the V2X logical index may be allocated to 10176 subframes corresponding to 10240-10264.);
reserving a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap ([0395] When a V2X logical index is allocated, the UE may allocate a V2X logical index with respect to the subframes except for the SLSS subframe. … Here, it may be assumed that a V2X resource is allocated according to the V2X bitmap with respect to the subframe allocated by the V2X logical index.);
wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes ([0197] As a specific example, if resource (re)reservation (or selection) is performed every 500 milliseconds, (by taking into account that the time length of a transmission resource (latency requirement) is 100 ms) ‘(A-B)’ may become 400 ms (here, for example, the ‘400 ms’ may be interpreted as the remainder after subtracting one predefined ‘SC PERIOD (100 ms)’ (latency requirement) from ‘500 ms’). Also, in one example, the corresponding ‘400 ms’ period may be interpreted as a period ranging from ‘SF#(N−500MS)’ to ‘SF#(N−100MS)’. In other words, the ‘SENSING DURATION’ (or ‘(A-B)’) may become a function of predefined (or preset) ‘resource (re)reservation (or selection) period’ (or it may be interpreted as performing a ‘sensing operation’ during the time period derived from the ‘resource (re) reservation (or selection) period).).
Lee '961 and Lee '461 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reserving a finite number of resources used for performing a D2D/sidelink communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Lee '461 to create an apparatus, comprising: obtaining a subframe bitmap indicating subframes available for sidelink communication during a direct frame number (DFN) period, the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap; reserving a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS); reserving a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap; wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize device battery consumption and reduce signal interference on other terminals.
Regarding claim 12, Lee '961 fails to disclose the method, wherein monitoring the latency comprises monitoring a size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer.
However, Yi discloses disclose the method, wherein monitoring the latency comprises monitoring a size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer (Fig. 19: gap between Packet arrival (a) to PUSCH, where the time gap can be converted to subframe numbers based on teachings from Lee '961 [0206] “MONITORING WINDOW SIZE (i.e., ‘(A−B)’)” may be tuned in the maximum value of a time when (re)reservation (/selection) is occurred (e.g., this may be interpreted as a spacing (/INTERVAL) of reservation resource). Here, for example, the V2X UE select its own transport resource on a duration of ‘SF #(N+C), SF #(N+C+1), . . . , SF #(N+D) (or SC PERIOD #(N+C), SC PERIOD #(N+C+1), . . . , SC PERIOD #(N+D)) (D≥C (e.g., ‘C’ value may be a positive integer greater than ‘0’ considering a processing time for PSCCH/PSSCH generation))).
Lee '961 and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmission scheduling and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Yi to create the method, wherein monitoring the latency comprises monitoring a size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize unnecessary occupation of radio resources.
Regarding claim 13, Lee '961 discloses the method, wherein the reserved subframes are not available for transmission by the UE, and wherein the size of the gap increases at each reserved subframe ([0402] For a reserved subframe, a resource pool includes several reserved subframes such that a bitmap is repeated in an integer within a specific range (e.g., DFN (D2D Frame Number) range). For example, here, V2X (e.g., V2V) logical subframe index may not be allocated to the reserved subframe.).
Regarding claim 14, Lee '961 discloses the method, wherein the physical layer does not increment the logical subframe scheduling number for the reserved subframes and the upper layer increments the OTA scheduling subframe number for each reserved subframe ([0329] in the case that the UE has no more reserved resource but SL_RESOURCE_RESELECTION_COUNTER is still greater than zero, the UE may extend the resource reservation. [0330] the number of reserved subframes may be independently configured from the counter number. Furthermore, the number of reserved subframes may be configured as smaller than the counter value.).
Regarding claim 15, Lee '961 discloses the method, wherein the second number of subframes corresponds to a remainder of the DFN period divided by a length of the subframe bitmap ([0375] The maximum value of H-DFN, Hmax, may be configured such that Hmax ∗ Tmax, the total number of potential V2V subframes in the hyper DFN range, may be divided by the configured bitmap length.)).
Regarding claim 16, Lee '961 discloses the method, wherein the DFN period comprises 1024 system frame numbers (SFNs) corresponding to 10,240 subframes, wherein the length of the subframe bitmap is 10, 16, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, or 100 subframes, and wherein the subframe bitmap is repeated within the DFN period ([0361] the (existing) "DFN RANGE" value (e.g., "10240" or "10176") may be increase (e.g., interpretable as a kind of HYPER-SFN (/HYPER-DFN) method). Here, for example, the (increased) "(maximum) DFN RANGE" value may be defined in the form of "10240 (/10176)∗H_VAL" (or "10240 (/10176)∗H_MAXVAL") (and/or "MAX DFN RANGE∗H_VAL" (or "MAX DFN RANGE∗H_MAXVAL")). [0389] SLSS subframe may be excluded from mapping according to (repeated) V2V pool bitmap (i.e., a bitmap (or information) indicating a subframe in which a V2X pool may be allocated), and in this case, the bitmap length may mean 16, 20 or 100.).
Regarding claim 17, Lee '961 discloses the method, wherein the second number of subframes are reserved at a constant periodicity within the DFN period ([0327] in the case that a V2V subframe has an index range of 10240, when the UE reserves subframes for index {0, 100, ..., 10200, 10300, ..., 14900}, since the subframe number from 10300 to 14900 corresponds to a range exceeding the DFN range, subframe for {0, 100, ..., 10200, 60, 160, ..., 3660} may be actually reserved).
Regarding claim 18, Lee '961 discloses the method, further comprising measuring an initial latency between packet arrival time from an application layer and the actual OTA packet transmission time ([0218] A UE may select a resource for performing V2X communication (or subframe, hereinafter, for the convenience of description, a resource and a subframe may be used in mixed manner) within a range of satisfying LATENCY REQUIREMENT (step, S1010) [0450] a maximum value (and/or minimum value) or range of ‘D’ (and/or ‘C’) (e.g., interpretable as ‘TX RESOURCE (RE)SELECTION DURATION(/RANGE/WINDOW)’) may be determined by considering a timing when a packet (/message) (to be transmitted or generated) is arrived (/received) on ‘LOW LAYER buffer’ (or a timing when packet (/message) is generated) (‘M’) and/or (since a predefined (/signaled) condition is satisfied) a timing when (transport) resource (re)selection operation is triggered (‘N’) and/or ‘LATENCY REQUIREMENT’), wherein the triggering the transmit resource selection is based on a total of the initial latency and the latency due to the first and second number of reserved subframes exceeding the threshold latency ([0018] The first timing may be determined according to a processing time required for the UE to transmit the V2X message, and the second timing may be determined according to one of the latency requirement and the priority of the V2X message.).
Regarding claim 19, Lee '961 discloses the method, wherein the threshold latency is configurable ([0014] The condition may be that the latency requirement of the V2X message is shorter than a configured threshold value or that the priority of the V2X message is higher than a configured threshold value.).
Regarding claim 20, Lee '961 discloses the method, wherein the threshold latency 1s randomized among a plurality of UEs ([0451] a V2X message transmission of shorter (or longer) (than preconfigured (/signaled) threshold value) ‘LATENCY REQUIREMENT’ may be protected) and/or ((maximum value (/minimum value) duration (range) (SELECTION WINDOW) and/or a range of selecting (or picking) a random value for determining a maintaining duration of (re)selected (/reserved) resource (and/or (for deriving C_RESEL value [1/2/3]) a coefficient multiplied to the selected random value)).
Regarding claim 21, Lee '961 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising:
means for triggering a transmit resource selection at the UE when the latency exceeds a threshold latency ([0450] in the case that the currently selected ‘D’ value (or ‘SUBFRAME # D’) has a problem in satisfying ‘LATENCY(/QOS) REQUIREMENT’ of a newly arrived (/generated (/received)) packet (/message), (transport) resource (re)selection operation may be triggered.).
Lee '961 fails to disclose an apparatus, comprising: means for monitoring a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time.
However, Yi discloses an apparatus, comprising: monitor a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time ([0314] if delay from packet arrival + SR transmission + eNB scheduling/encoding latency of UL grant is less than 1 * TTI, and PUSCH can be transmitted at the next available uplink subframe, the overall latency becomes UE buffering + SR encoding latency + SR transmission time + eNB scheduling/encoding latency + PUSCH encoding latency + PUSCH transmission time + PUSCH decoding latency becomes 0.5 * TTI + 0.1 * TTI + 1 OFDM symbol + 0.1 msec + 0.4 * TTI + 1 * TTI + 0.2 * TTI .Math. 2.2 * TTI + 0.1 msec + 1 OFDM symbol (assumed to be 0.2 * TTI) == 2. 4 * TTI + 0.1 msec. In this case, the budget of TTI becomes around 0.1667 msec.).
Lee '961 and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmission scheduling and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Yi to create a method, comprising: means for monitor a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize unnecessary occupation of radio resources.
Lee '961 fails to disclose an apparatus, comprising:
means for obtaining a subframe bitmap indicating subframes available for sidelink communication during a direct frame number (DFN) period, the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap;
means for reserving a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS);
means for reserving a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap;
wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes.
However, Lee '461 discloses an apparatus, comprising:
means for obtaining a subframe bitmap ([0394] V2X bitmap) indicating subframes available for sidelink communication ([0406] A resource pool is composed of a plurality of reserved subframes so that the bitmap is repeated an integer number of times within a specific range (for example, D2D Frame Number (DFN) range). For example, the V2X (for example, V2V) logical subframe index may not be allocated to a reserved subframe.) during a direct frame number (DFN) period ([0394] subframe number may have a value of 0, 1, . . . , 10239 (namely, a total of 10240 subframes)), the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap ([0394] FIG. 35 assumes that the subframe number may have a value of 0, 1, . . . , 10239 (namely, a total of 10240 subframes), a V2X bitmap is repeated in units of 10 subframes, and the V2X bitmap is [0110101101].);
means for reserving a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) ([0396] At this time, the V2X logical index derived through the aforementioned process may not correspond to an integer multiple of the V2X bitmap. For example, when the SLSS subframe is allocated in units of 160 subframes, 64 SLSS subframes may be defined among 10240 subframes as described above, and accordingly, the V2X logical index may be allocated to 10176 subframes corresponding to 10240-10264.);
means for reserving a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap ([0395] When a V2X logical index is allocated, the UE may allocate a V2X logical index with respect to the subframes except for the SLSS subframe. … Here, it may be assumed that a V2X resource is allocated according to the V2X bitmap with respect to the subframe allocated by the V2X logical index.);
wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes ([0197] As a specific example, if resource (re)reservation (or selection) is performed every 500 milliseconds, (by taking into account that the time length of a transmission resource (latency requirement) is 100 ms) ‘(A-B)’ may become 400 ms (here, for example, the ‘400 ms’ may be interpreted as the remainder after subtracting one predefined ‘SC PERIOD (100 ms)’ (latency requirement) from ‘500 ms’). Also, in one example, the corresponding ‘400 ms’ period may be interpreted as a period ranging from ‘SF#(N−500MS)’ to ‘SF#(N−100MS)’. In other words, the ‘SENSING DURATION’ (or ‘(A-B)’) may become a function of predefined (or preset) ‘resource (re)reservation (or selection) period’ (or it may be interpreted as performing a ‘sensing operation’ during the time period derived from the ‘resource (re) reservation (or selection) period).).
Lee '961 and Lee '461 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reserving a finite number of resources used for performing a D2D/sidelink communication..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Lee '461 to create an apparatus, comprising: means for obtaining a subframe bitmap indicating subframes available for sidelink communication during a direct frame number (DFN) period, the DFN period being longer than a length of the subframe bitmap; means for reserving a first number of subframes of the DFN period for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS); means for reserving a second number of subframes of the DFN period based on the DFN period being longer than the length of the subframe bitmap; wherein the latency is based at least in part on the first number of subframes and the second number of subframes.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize device battery consumption and reduce signal interference on other terminals.
Regarding claim 22, Lee '961 fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein means for monitoring the latency comprises means for monitoring a size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer.
However, Yi discloses the apparatus, wherein means for monitoring the latency comprises means for monitoring a size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer (Fig. 19: gap between Packet arrival (a) to PUSCH, where the time gap can be converted to subframe numbers based on teachings from Lee '961 [0206] “MONITORING WINDOW SIZE (i.e., ‘(A−B)’)” may be tuned in the maximum value of a time when (re)reservation (/selection) is occurred (e.g., this may be interpreted as a spacing (/INTERVAL) of reservation resource). Here, for example, the V2X UE select its own transport resource on a duration of ‘SF #(N+C), SF #(N+C+1), . . . , SF #(N+D) (or SC PERIOD #(N+C), SC PERIOD #(N+C+1), . . . , SC PERIOD #(N+D)) (D≥C (e.g., ‘C’ value may be a positive integer greater than ‘0’ considering a processing time for PSCCH/PSSCH generation))).
Lee '961 and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmission scheduling and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Yi to create the apparatus, wherein means for monitoring the latency comprises means for monitoring size of a gap between an OTA scheduling subframe number at the upper layer and a logical subframe scheduling number at a physical layer.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize unnecessary occupation of radio resources.
Regarding claim 23, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the reserved subframes are not available for transmission by the apparatus, and wherein the size of the gap increases at each reserved subframe ([0402] For a reserved subframe, a resource pool includes several reserved subframes such that a bitmap is repeated in an integer within a specific range (e.g., DFN (D2D Frame Number) range). For example, here, V2X (e.g., V2V) logical subframe index may not be allocated to the reserved subframe.).
Regarding claim 24, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the physical layer does not increment the logical subframe scheduling number for the reserved subframes and the upper layer increments the OTA scheduling subframe number for each reserved subframe ([0329] in the case that the UE has no more reserved resource but SL_RESOURCE_RESELECTION_COUNTER is still greater than zero, the UE may extend the resource reservation. [0330] the number of reserved subframes may be independently configured from the counter number. Furthermore, the number of reserved subframes may be configured as smaller than the counter value.).
Regarding claim 25, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the second number of subframes corresponds to a remainder of the DFN period divided by a length of the subframe bitmap ([0375] The maximum value of H-DFN, Hmax, may be configured such that Hmax ∗ Tmax, the total number of potential V2V subframes in the hyper DFN range, may be divided by the configured bitmap length.).
Regarding claim 26, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the DFN period comprises 1024 system frame numbers (SFNs) corresponding to 10,240 subframes, wherein the length of the subframe bitmap is 10, 16, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, or 100 subframes, and wherein the subframe bitmap is repeated within the DFN period ([0361] the (existing) "DFN RANGE" value (e.g., "10240" or "10176") may be increase (e.g., interpretable as a kind of HYPER-SFN (/HYPER-DFN) method). Here, for example, the (increased) "(maximum) DFN RANGE" value may be defined in the form of "10240 (/10176)∗H_VAL" (or "10240 (/10176)∗H_MAXVAL") (and/or "MAX DFN RANGE∗H_VAL" (or "MAX DFN RANGE∗H_MAXVAL")). [0389] SLSS subframe may be excluded from mapping according to (repeated) V2V pool bitmap (i.e., a bitmap (or information) indicating a subframe in which a V2X pool may be allocated), and in this case, the bitmap length may mean 16, 20 or 100.).
Regarding claim 27, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the second number of subframes are reserved at a constant periodicity within the DFN period ([0327] in the case that a V2V subframe has an index range of 10240, when the UE reserves subframes for index {0, 100, ..., 10200, 10300, ..., 14900}, since the subframe number from 10300 to 14900 corresponds to a range exceeding the DFN range, subframe for {0, 100, ..., 10200, 60, 160, ..., 3660} may be actually reserved).
Regarding claim 28, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, further comprising means for measuring an initial latency between packet arrival time from an application layer and the actual OTA packet transmission time ([0218] A UE may select a resource for performing V2X communication (or subframe, hereinafter, for the convenience of description, a resource and a subframe may be used in mixed manner) within a range of satisfying LATENCY REQUIREMENT (step, S1010) [0450] a maximum value (and/or minimum value) or range of ‘D’ (and/or ‘C’) (e.g., interpretable as ‘TX RESOURCE (RE)SELECTION DURATION(/RANGE/WINDOW)’) may be determined by considering a timing when a packet (/message) (to be transmitted or generated) is arrived (/received) on ‘LOW LAYER buffer’ (or a timing when packet (/message) is generated) (‘M’) and/or (since a predefined (/signaled) condition is satisfied) a timing when (transport) resource (re)selection operation is triggered (‘N’) and/or ‘LATENCY REQUIREMENT’), wherein triggering the transmit resource selection is based on a total of the initial latency and the latency exceeding the threshold latency ([0018] The first timing may be determined according to a processing time required for the UE to transmit the V2X message, and the second timing may be determined according to one of the latency requirement and the priority of the V2X message.).
Regarding claim 29, Lee '961 discloses the apparatus, wherein the threshold latency is configurable ([0014] The condition may be that the latency requirement of the V2X message is shorter than a configured threshold value or that the priority of the V2X message is higher than a configured threshold value.).
Regarding claim 30, Lee '961 discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer executable code thereon for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), the computer executable code comprising: ([0591] when one or more processors is executed like the processor 3123, the memory 3124 is configured to store software code 3125 including a command to perform a part or the whole process according to the present disclosure.):
wherein the latency is based at least in part on, a first number of subframes reserved for a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) (Pg. 24, Table 2: UE procedure for determining subframes and resource blocks for transmitting PSSCH (Physical Sidelink Shared CHannel) and reserving resources for sidelink transmission mode 4. [0197] the corresponding ‘400 ms’ period may be interpreted as a period ranging from ‘SF#(N-500MS)’ to ‘SF#(N-100MS)’.), a second number of subframes reserved based on a configured subframe bitmap, or a combination thereof; and ([0389] SLSS subframe may be excluded from mapping according to (repeated) V2V pool bitmap (i.e., a bitmap (or information) indicating a subframe in which a V2X pool may be allocated), and in this case, the bitmap length may mean 16, 20 or 100. The bitmap may define which subframe the subframe in which V2V SA and/or data transmission and/or reception is allowed. [0394] FIG. 35 assumes that the subframe number may have a value of 0, 1, . . . , 10239 (namely, a total of 10240 subframes), a V2X bitmap is repeated in units of 10 subframes, and the V2X bitmap is [0110101101].)
code for triggering a transmit resource selection at the UE when the latency exceeds a threshold latency ([0450] in the case that the currently selected ‘D’ value (or ‘SUBFRAME # D’) has a problem in satisfying ‘LATENCY(/QOS) REQUIREMENT’ of a newly arrived (/generated (/received)) packet (/message), (transport) resource (re)selection operation may be triggered.).
Lee '961 fails to disclose a computer readable medium storing computer executable code thereon for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: code for monitoring a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time.
However, Yi discloses a computer readable medium storing computer executable code thereon for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: code for monitoring a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time ([0314] if delay from packet arrival + SR transmission + eNB scheduling/encoding latency of UL grant is less than 1 * TTI, and PUSCH can be transmitted at the next available uplink subframe, the overall latency becomes UE buffering + SR encoding latency + SR transmission time + eNB scheduling/encoding latency + PUSCH encoding latency + PUSCH transmission time + PUSCH decoding latency becomes 0.5 * TTI + 0.1 * TTI + 1 OFDM symbol + 0.1 msec + 0.4 * TTI + 1 * TTI + 0.2 * TTI .Math. 2.2 * TTI + 0.1 msec + 1 OFDM symbol (assumed to be 0.2 * TTI) == 2. 4 * TTI + 0.1 msec. In this case, the budget of TTI becomes around 0.1667 msec.)
Lee '961 and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmission scheduling and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee '961 with Yi to create a computer readable medium storing computer executable code thereon for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: code for monitoring a latency between a packet arrival time from an upper layer at the apparatus and an over-the-air (OTA) packet transmission time.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize unnecessary occupation of radio resources.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 21, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419