Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim1 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Applicant provide prior art US Patent Publication 2010/0031526 to Tuckett in view of DE102015108326 to Lober (the art rejection is made based on the respective English translation by PE2E).
In Reference to Claim 1
Tuckett discloses a dryer-assembly for drying garments, the dryer assembly-eomprising: a housing Fig. 4, 14) with an air inlet (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) and an outlet (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner); - a centrifugal impeller (Fig. 3, 17)-for generating a flow of air from the inlet to the outlet-and being adapted to draw in air through the inlet in a direction parallel its rotational axis (as showed in Fig. 3) and to distribute the air radially out into an internal chamber of the housing, the chamber being formed so as to guide the air radially (As showed in Fig. 3) from the impeller (Fig. 3, 17) towards the outlet (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner), - a control unit (Paragraph 13) adapted to control the impeller (Fig. 3, 17) based on input from a user; and - an adapter (Fig. 1, 8) having an inlet (Fig. 3, annotated by the examiner) connected to the outlet of the housing and one or more outlets (Fig. 1, 11) through which air from the dryer housing may flow to dry garment placed around, at or near the outlet, the adapter being releasably (As showed in Fig. 4, the adaptor is an independent piece of the dryer, therefore the adaptor is releasably) connected to the housing
Tuckett does not teach the detail of the blade
Lober teaches the centrifugal impeller (Fig. 2, 200) having backwardly curved blades
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Lober into the design of Tuckett. Doing so, would result in the blower with backwardly curved blades being integrated in to the design of Tuckett. Both invention of Lober and Tuckett requires a blower design having an axial inlet and a radial outlet, Lober teaches an effective radial blower of which program running time can be shortened. So the efficiency would be improved.
In Reference to Claims 5-11
Tuckett discloses a dryer.
The combination of Tuckett and Gagas as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the detail size or the power level each component. According to MPEP: the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
In Reference to Claim 11
Tuckett discloses the adapter is a tree-like structure (As showed in Fig. 1) where the one or more outlets (Fig. 1, 11) are defined by the branches (As showed in Fig. 1) of the tree-like structure.
In Reference to Claims 13-14
Tuckett discloses the tree-like structure.
The combination of Tuckett and Lober does not teach the detail size of opening.
According to MPEP: the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
In Reference to Claim 15
Tuckett teaches the adapter is formed as a coat hanger. (As showed in Fig. 1, the Tuckett discloses the mounting frame 12 with plurality of protrusions, it is obvious that those protrusion can be used to hang coat)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tuckett and Lober as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP2010526579 (JP579) (The art rejection is made based on the respective English translation by PE2E).
In Reference to Claim 2
Tuckett teaches a ceramic heat (Fig. 3, 22) in the adapter, and it is controlled by the controller. The combination of Tuckett and Gagas as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the heater is in the dryer housing.
JP579 teaches a ceramic heater (Fig. 5, 17) provided between the inlet (Fig. 5, 2) and the outlet (Fig. 2, 6) in the housing (Fig. 5, 7)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from JP579 into the combination of Tuckett and Lober as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in the heater being positioned in the blower housing as being taught by Tuckett, since JP579 teaches an integrated design, so the heater and blower can be replaced as a single unit.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tuckett and Lober as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 2008/0222909 to Picozza.
In Reference to Claim 3
Tuckett discloses a dryer with a impeller type blower.
The combination of Tuckett and Lober as applied to Claim 1 does not teach an ionizer.
Picozza teaches the blower unit can further function as an ionizer (Paragraph 34)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Picozza into the combination of Tuckett and Lober as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in an ionizer being included in the blower as being taught by Picozza. Both inventions of Tuckett and Picozza are in the same field of endeavor, Picozza teaches a an apparatus suitable for refreshing/cleaning, deodorizing, and/or drying cloth fabrics.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tuckett and Lober as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN207795634 to Lin (The art rejection is made based on the respective English translation by PE2E).
In Reference to Claim 4
Tuckett discloses the dryer assembly
The combination of Tuckett and Lober as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the driving details of the impeller.
Lin teaches a centrifugal impeller driven by a DC brushless moto.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Lin into the combination of Tuckett and Lober as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in a DC brushless type motor being used to drive the centrifugal impeller, since a DC brushless type motor will improve the heat discharging efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 7/10/26