Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamura US 2015/0062629.
As to claim 1, Tamura teaches an image forming system, comprising: plural image forming apparatuses that comprise beacon transmitters (esp. c.f. fig.1 and [0024, 0052] teaching the transmitting), respectively; plural user terminal apparatuses that comprise beacon receivers (see fig.1 and [0024] teaching the terminal apparatus), respectively; and a Mapping processing apparatus (see figs.6-7 teaching the mapping); wherein each of the plural image forming apparatuses transmits a beacon signal including a device ID using the beacon transmitter (esp. c.f. [0047, 0050-0052] teaching device ID); each of the plural user terminal apparatuses (a) determines a user ID of a user who currently uses this user terminal apparatus (see [0060-0061] and fig.6 teaching users interacting with the terminals and identifying said users), (b) receives using the beacon receiver the beacon signal transmitted from the image forming apparatus located in a predetermined peripheral area ([0024, 0049] teaching signals transmitted from image apparatus around the periphery), and (c) transmits to the mapping processing apparatus mapping information that associates the user ID and the device ID in the received beacon Signal ([0049, 0052, 0054, 0068] teaches mapping and ID with respect to signaling); and the mapping processing apparatus (a) receives the mapping information on the plural users (see [0069] teaches mapping users), (b) determines a user associated by the mapping information with each image forming apparatus among the plural image forming apparatuses (see [0086] teaching connecting users and mapping data), and (c) generates map data in which the determined user is associated with the image forming apparatus (see claim 1 teaching mapping data for each user).
As to claim 2, Tamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein each of the plural user terminal apparatuses (a) acquires the map data, (b) determines the image forming apparatus of the device ID associated with the user ID of the user who currently uses this user terminal apparatus, and (c) transmits a print job request to the determined image forming apparatus; and upon receiving the print job request, the image forming apparatus performs a print job specified by the print job request and outputs a print product ([0024, 0043] and fgi.1 teach outputting print job as per request).
As to claim 3, Tamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein each of the plural user terminal apparatuses (a) acquires the map data, and (b) displays a map image based on the map data ([0030, 332, 0040, 044] teaches performing map data and imaging).
As to claim 4, Tamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 3, wherein the map image includes an icon image of the image forming apparatus at a position corresponding to an installation position of this image forming apparatus (esp. c.f. fig.6 and [0061-0063] teaching map imaging at coordinates linked to the image).
As to claim 5, Tamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein the mapping processing apparatus is one of plural user terminal apparatuses (esp. c.f. fig.1 and fig.6).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Bo Fan whose telephone number is (571)272-3013. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Thursday, 9:30am to 6:00pm EST. Interviews are normally scheduled on Tuesday to Thursday at 10am and 2pm PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jack Keith can be reached on (571) 272-6878. The fax phone number for the organization where this application n or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http: //pair- direct.usoto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BO FAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646