DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 12 and 15-21 in the reply filed on 4/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-28, 31, 32, 36 and 38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12 and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onishi et al. (US 2020/0231932 A1, published 7/23/2020).
Regarding claim 1, Onishi et al. teach a method for obtaining a population of oligodendrocyte progenitor cells (OPCs) from undifferentiated pluripotent stem cells, the method comprising:
a) obtaining a culture of undifferentiated pluripotent stem cells;
b) culturing the undifferentiated pluripotent stem cells for a first time period under culture conditions sufficient to induce differentiation of the undifferentiated pluripotent stem cells to neuroectoderm cells and to neural progenitor cells; and
c) culturing the neuroectoderm cells and neural progenitor cells from step b) for a second
time period under culture conditions sufficient to differentiate the neural progenitor
cells to OPCs,
further comprising the step of:
i) cryopreserving the neuroectoderm cells and neural progenitor cells from step b) at or about
the completion of the first time period, and thawing the cryopreserved cells, wherein
the subsequently thawed cells are cultured in any remaining steps of the method (parags. 2, 7, 10-13 and 15-17).
Regarding claim 2, Onishi teaches culturing on laminin (parags. 17 and 18).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Onishi teaches that the cells are hESCs or hiPSCs (parag. 63).
Regarding claim 5, Onishi teaches that the cells are cultured in Dorsomorphin, PD0325901 and RA (parag. 0079).
Regarding claim 6, Onishi teaches culturing in the presence of AA and RA (parag. 141).
Regarding claim 7, Onishi teaches culturing the neuroectoderm and neuroprogenitor cells in the presence of EGF and hsbFGF (parags. 15, 92 and 145).
Regarding claim 8, Onishi teaches culturing in the presence of EGF and PDGF-AA (parag. 98)
Regarding claim 9, Onishi teaches that the first period of time is from about 3 days to about 60 days (parag.79, Figs. 1 and 2A).
Regarding claim 12, Onishi teaches that the second period of time is from about 10 days to about 60 days (parag.98, Figs. 1 and 2A).
Regarding claim 15, Onishi teaches that the neuroectoderm and neuroprogenitor cells are cryopreserved at about day 14 (parag. 13).
Regarding clam 19, Onishi teaches that the OPCs are cryopreserved (parag. 112).
Regarding clam 20, Onishi teaches that the cryopreserved OPCs are thawed (parags. 30 and112).
Regarding claim 21, Onishi teaches OPCs express NG2 and PDGFRa (parag. 12).
Thus the teachings of Onishi clearly anticipate the invention of claims 1-9, 12 and 15-21.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DAVID A MONTANARI/Examiner, Art Unit 1632