DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (surgical instrument claims 1-9, 13, and 16-20) in the reply filed on September 12, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction is improper because the claims have unity via 37 CFR 1.475 (b). This is not found persuasive because under 37 CFR 1.475 (a) the groups lack unity of invention as pointed out in the restriction requirement. Part (a) is not reliant on or superseded by part (b).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 2, “for example” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 has the limitation, “guide means for guiding the cutting of the bone”, which is being interpreted as a slot or hole for a drill bit, since the specification points to reference character 7 and this is shown as being a hole or slot in Figs. 6 and 12).
Claim 13 requires limitations “receiving means” and “interlocking means” these two phrases are being interpreted as holes (Fig. 2; 11) and side surfaces (Fig. 1; 111a and 111b) as mentioned in the specification and drawings.
Claim 16 requires the limitation “guide means for guiding” which is being interpreted as a through hole (Fig. 1; holes that 42 goes through).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ammann et al. (US 2013/0190885; “Ammann”).
Claim 1, Ammann discloses a surgical instrument (Fig. 16), suitable for protecting tissue during bone surgery (Fig. 16; paragraph [0110]), for example when cutting and/or drilling a bone (Fig. 16; paragraph [0110]), which surgical instrument comprises: a protective portion (portion placed up against the bone) intended to be positioned in a protective subcutaneous position between the tissues to be protected and a bone (Fig. 16; paragraph [0110]), which protective portion includes a front face (surface facing the bone) intended to bear on said bone (fig. 16), a gripping portion (160 or 155, any portion that can be gripped), suitable for gripping said surgical instrument (Fig. 16), a temporary stabilization portion (portions with the holes, such as where 145 and 150 point towards) which is designed to temporarily secure said surgical instrument to said bone (Fig. 16; paragraph [0103]), in said protective position (fig. 16), which temporary stabilization portion includes at least one through orifice (holes that 145 and 150 go through) which is intended to receive a temporarily implantable organ in said bone (Fig. 16).
Claim 2, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein said at least one through orifice is formed within the protective portion, on the side of the gripping portion (Fig. 16; the holes that 145 and 150 go through each meet this limitation).
Claim 3, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 2, wherein the protective portion has a longitudinal axis (Fig. 16; axis running through 135), and wherein the temporary stabilization portion includes at least one through orifice which is implanted on one side of said longitudinal axis (Fig. 16; note how the holes do not lie directly on the axis, so they are beside the axis).
Claim 4, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 3, wherein the temporary stabilization portion includes at least one pair of through orifices (Fig. 16, there are 5 holes on the device), implanted on either side of said longitudinal axis (Fig. 16).
Claim 5, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 4, wherein the temporary stabilization portion includes at least two pairs of through orifices (Fig. 16; there are 5 holes), implanted on either side of said longitudinal axis and distributed over the length of said longitudinal axis (Fig. 16).
Claim 6, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 2, wherein the temporary stabilization portion includes at least two non-parallel through orifices (Fig. 16; at least holes that 145 and 150 go through), each suitable for receiving a pin (Fig. 16; 145 and 150).
Claim 9, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein said surgical instrument includes guide means (Fig. 6; any of the holes) for guiding the cutting of the bone.
Claim 13, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein said surgical instrument includes receiving means (any of the holes in the device), suitable for receiving at least one accessory (Fig. 16), formed between the protective portion and the gripping portion (Fig. 16), which receiving means comprise interlocking means (side surfaces) suitable for receiving a complementary base of said accessory (Fig. 16).
Claim 16, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein said surgical instrument includes guide means (Fig. 16; any of the holes) for guiding the implantation of at least one pin (Fig. 16).
Claim 17, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 16, wherein the means for guiding the implantation comprise a proximal orifice (top of the hole) defining a proximal axis (axis running across the diameter along the tool) extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of the protective portion (Fig. 16), directly underlying a cut line intended to be made in said bone, to position a pin involved in guiding the cut line (Fig. 16; a user can cut however they want and this device allows for this to occur).
Claim 18, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 16, wherein the means for guiding the implantation comprise a distal orifice (bone facing side of the hole) which defines a distal axis (axis running through the hole) intersecting a cut line intended to be made in said bone, to position at least one pin selected from a cutting stop pin and a pin for guiding a second cut line (Fig. 16; a user can cut however they want and this device allows for this to occur).
Claim 19, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 17, wherein the means for guiding the implantation comprise a distal orifice (bone facing side of the hole) which defines a distal axis (axis running through the hole) intersecting a cut line intended to be made in said bone, to position at least one pin selected from a cutting stop pin and a pin for guiding a second cut line (Fig. 16; a user can cut however they want and this device allows for this to occur).
Claim 20, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 19, wherein the distal orifice is carried by assembly means (Fig. 16; 155)) enabling a mobility over a circular arc travel (note that the device can pivot or rotate about the axis created by 300 and 155), relative to the longitudinal axis of the protective portion and whose center coincides with a desired hinge point (Fig. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammann et al. (US 2013/0190885; “Ammann”).
Claim 7, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument of claim 1.
However, Ammann does not disclose what the instrument (100) is made of.
Ammann teaches other parts of their device being made of radiotranslucent and/or radiopaque material (paragraph [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make any part of the instrument out of radiotranslucent or radiopaque material, in order to make the device visible or not under fluoroscopy (paragraph [0093]).
Claim 8, Ammann discloses the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein the protective portion includes a groove (paragraph [0094]), opening on the side of said front face and defining a longitudinal axis of said protective portion (paragraph [0094]).
However, Ammann does not disclose what the instrument (100) is made of.
Ammann teaches other parts of their device being made of radiotranslucent and/or radiopaque material, such as stainless steel (paragraph [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make any part of the instrument out of radiotranslucent or radiopaque material, in order to make the device visible or not under fluoroscopy (paragraph [0093]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775