DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and compound 185, corresponding to claims 1-7 and 21-24, in the reply filed on April 29, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 8-16 are withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected species.
Claim of Foreign Priority
Applicant’s claim of foreign priority and certified copy of foreign priority documents are acknowledged by the Office.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-26 are pending. Claims 8-20, 25, and 26 are withdrawn. Claims 1-7 and 21-24 are examined.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The specific polymorphic forms of p-toluenesulfonic acid salt is free of the art and non-obvious in light thereof.
Claim 6 is objected to for being a substantial duplicate of claim 5. While claim 6 recites more peaks, it is nonetheless directed to the identical polymorph described in Figure 1 and claim 5. Further, claim 7 is not objected to as a duplicate as the Specification indicates that parameters set forth in claim 7 can have some variability when water is included and this can yield a unit cell volume expansion of up to 4% when water is included. See p47, lines 8-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din Belle et al., (WO2018/115591) (cited in ISR), in view of Gupta et al., “Salts of Therapeutic Agents: Chemical, Physicochemical, and Biological Considerations,” Molecules 2018, 23, 1719, and in view of He et al., “The Selection of a Pharmaceutical Salt- The Effect of the Acidity of the Counter ion on Its Solubility and Potential Biopharmaceutical Performance,” Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 107 (2018) 419-425.
Din Belle teaches compound 185 and teaches salt forms of the same. See prior art claim 28, e.g. Pharmaceutical salts are also taught, which are useful for CYP11A1 inhibitors. Salts are well known in the field and can be in the form of chlorides, bromides, sulfates, nitrates, sulfates, sulfonates, and others. Crystallization is also taught as a conventional method for isomer separation and purification, among others. Excipients can be used in the form of a tablet, granules, capsule, suspensions, and solutions, e.g.
Din Belle does not explicitly teach p-toluenesulfonic acid salt form.
Gupta teaches currently available salts in the form of a counter anion or cation. In this case, an anion would form a salt. Of the known and available anions, bromide, chloride, and tosylate are among those known. See Table 1. Salt formation provides benefits of increasing solubility and dissolution rate of a drug. The most common counterions used to form salts are hydrochloride, hydrobromide, mesylate, acetate, and fumarate. See p5, last par.
Similarly, He teaches a roadmap for selecting a pharmaceutical salt form during development. The overall procedure entailed an initial screening method that screened candidate salt forms including the following: “hydrochloric acid, sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid, fumaric acid, lactic acid, citric acid, L-(þ)-tartaric acid, L-malic acid, succinic acid, benzoic acid, methanesulfonic acid, p-toluenesulfonic acid, benzenesulfonic acid, and glutamic acid.” See p420, 3rd par. New salts were identified of the particular drugs for crystalline salt hits and they included tosylate salts. See p421, 5th par. While the examiner acknowledges that for each particular API, different salts will yield different advantages and disadvantages. However, a tosylate salt is one of a few known counteranion forms and He teaches a method that includes evaluating the p-toluenesulfonic acid salt as one to screen at the initial stage. In view of He, a POSA would have considered and presumable arrived at an optimized salt form of claimed compound.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to arrive at the claimed products in view of Din Belle, Gupta, and He. One would be motivated to do so because the claimed API is known to be used in numerous and non-limiting salt forms and multiple reasons for crystallizing the same compound are known to include isomer selection and purification. Further, claimed salt forms are known to be commonly employed as counteranions and improve the solubility of pharmaceutical active agents. Tosylate and other claimed salt forms are known for this. Even further, He teaches a method of salt form selection that entails starting with a limited number of salt forms and making a determination based on various factors (i.e., optimization) to yield the most advantageous salt form for any particular API. Among the limited list of salt forms used in an initial salt selection phase is the p-toluenesulfonic acid salt. This is used by He in an initial salt screening stage of the process. The tosylate salt form is also described by Gupta. As such, a POSA would have arrived at a crystalline tablet formulation of claimed API as taught by Din Belle and would have been able to optimize to the claimed salt polymorphic form in view of Gupta and He.
Double Patenting
Non-provisional:
Claims 1-4 and 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,030,871, in view of Din Belle et al., (WO2018/115591), in view of Gupta et al., “Salts of Therapeutic Agents: Chemical, Physicochemical, and Biological Considerations,” Molecules 2018, 23, 1719, and in view of He et al., “The Selection of a Pharmaceutical Salt- The Effect of the Acidity of the Counter ion on Its Solubility and Potential Biopharmaceutical Performance,” Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 107 (2018) 419-425.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘871 patent include the claimed compound and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ’871 patent is directed to methods and compositions comprising the claimed API or a salt thereof. The Specification supports the use of any salt and in view of Gupta and He, a POSA would understand that a tosylate salt is one of a few counteranion salt forms and He teaches a method that screens for appropriate salt forms and starts with p-toluenesulfonic acid as one of only a few to screen. Crystallization and tablet formulations are taught, as noted above. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed salt form of compound described in the ‘871 patent in view of Gupta and He.
Claims 1-4 and 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,098,032, in view of Din Belle et al., (WO2018/115591), in view of Gupta et al., “Salts of Therapeutic Agents: Chemical, Physicochemical, and Biological Considerations,” Molecules 2018, 23, 1719, and in view of He et al., “The Selection of a Pharmaceutical Salt- The Effect of the Acidity of the Counter ion on Its Solubility and Potential Biopharmaceutical Performance,” Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 107 (2018) 419-425.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘032 patent include the claimed compound and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ’032 patent is directed to methods and compositions comprising the claimed API or a salt thereof. The Specification supports the use of any salt and in view of Gupta and He, a POSA would understand that a tosylate salt is one of a few counteranion salt forms and He teaches a method that screens for appropriate salt forms and starts with p-toluenesulfonic acid as one of only a few to screen. Crystallization and tablet formulations are taught, as noted above. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed salt form of compound described in the ‘032 patent in view of Gupta and He.
Claims 1-4 and 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 10,717,726, in view of Din Belle et al., (WO2018/115591), in view of Gupta et al., “Salts of Therapeutic Agents: Chemical, Physicochemical, and Biological Considerations,” Molecules 2018, 23, 1719, and in view of He et al., “The Selection of a Pharmaceutical Salt- The Effect of the Acidity of the Counter ion on Its Solubility and Potential Biopharmaceutical Performance,” Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 107 (2018) 419-425.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘726 patent include the claimed compound and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ’726 patent is directed to methods and compositions comprising the claimed API or a salt thereof. The Specification supports the use of any salt and in view of Gupta and He, a POSA would understand that a tosylate salt is one of a few counteranion salt forms and He teaches a method that screens for appropriate salt forms and starts with p-toluenesulfonic acid as one of only a few to screen. Crystallization and tablet formulations are taught, as noted above. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed salt form of compound described in the ‘726 patent in view of Gupta and He.
Provisional:
Claims 1-4 and 21-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 47, 50, 51, 53, 56, and 59-72 of copending Application No. 18/674,603, in view of Din Belle et al., (WO2018/115591), in view of Gupta et al., “Salts of Therapeutic Agents: Chemical, Physicochemical, and Biological Considerations,” Molecules 2018, 23, 1719, and in view of He et al., “The Selection of a Pharmaceutical Salt- The Effect of the Acidity of the Counter ion on Its Solubility and Potential Biopharmaceutical Performance,” Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 107 (2018) 419-425.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ’603 application is directed to methods and compositions comprising the claimed API or a salt thereof. The Specification supports the use of any salt and in view of Gupta and He, a POSA would understand that a tosylate salt is one of a few counteranion salt forms and He teaches a method that screens for appropriate salt forms and starts with p-toluenesulfonic acid as one of only a few to screen. Crystallization and tablet formulations are taught, as noted above. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed salt form of compound described in the ’603 application in view of Gupta and He.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Conclusion
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628