DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 4/22/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and additionally do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation below necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “induction module”, “control module”, “sensing unit” and “control unit” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “so as to adjust working parameters of the root canal file, and the working parameters comprise rotation speed or torque” is not supported in the original disclosure and as such is deemed new matter and must be removed. Specifically, the original disclosure describes parameters including rotation speed or torque, but does not discloses the “parameters” adjusted by the instant invention to specifically correspond to rotation speed or torque, among others. In other words, the original disclosure does not clearly establish that the “parameters” referred to when describing the instant invention are those that are described in regards to the prior art described in the specification. Deletion is required.
Regarding claim 2, the terms “sensing unit” and “control unit” lack support in the original disclosure and as such are deemed new matter and must be removed. Specifically, while the disclosure describes an “induction module” and “control module”, the sensing units and control unit are not described. As such the terms are deemed new matter and must be removed. Deletion is required.
Claims 3-4 are rejected based on their dependency on claims 1-2.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the terms “induction module” and “control module” are interpreted under 35 USC 112, F as explained above. However, the corresponding structure thereof is indefinite as the disclosure does not provide a definition, explanation or any other structure of what the specific parts of the near field communication device comprise and what structure said “modules” correspond to. Additionally, as noted above, the newly added “sensing unit” and “control unit” are also indefinite for the same reasons as noted above. Specifically, although the terms are interpreted under 35 USC 112, F, there corresponding structure is unclear as the terms are completely unsupported in the original disclosure. Still further, it is unclear whether the “induction module” and “sensing unit” refer to the same or different specific structures, and/or what specifically they would or would not encompass. As best understood by the Examiner they are interpreted to refer to the same structure. Likewise, it is unclear whether the “control module” and “control unit” refer to the same or different specific structures, and/or what specifically they would or would not encompass. As best understood by the Examiner they are interpreted to refer to the same structure. Clarification or removal is required.
Claims 3-4 are rejected based on their dependency on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al (US 2013/0224678 A1) in view of Rouiller et al (US 2008/0221564 A1).
Regarding the above claims, Yamashita et al discloses an endo motor (see Fig. 1), wherein the endo motor comprises a root canal handle (1), a root canal file (an instance of 5; two files disclosed), a motor (6), and a first near field communication device (e.g. IC tag reading sensor and determination unit (14); see [0056]-[0058]); the motor and the root canal file are both connected to the root canal handle (see Fig. 1 and 4a-b); the motor is configured to drive the root canal file to rotate (see [0056]-[0058]); the first near field communication device is electrically connected to the motor (see [0056]-[0058]; and the first near field communication device is configured to control the motor according to external information (configured to control the direction of rotation of the motor according to external information read from IC tags of files, or any other IC tag; information on tag is external to controller of handpiece and as such is interpreted as external information; configured to be used as such).
Yamashita et al further discloses wherein the first near field communication device comprises an induction module (e.g. IC tag reading sensor, see [0056]-[0058]) and a control module (determination unit 14), wherein the induction module is electrically connected to the control module; and the induction module is a sensing unit of a NFC sensor (e.g. sensing unit of IC tag reading sensor, (as best understood by the Examiner) configured to sense the external information (e.g. read) and generate an induction signal, wherein the control module is a control unit of the NFC sensor (e.g. determination unit or portion there of which acts as control unit for NFC sensor, see above; as best understood by the Examiner) configured to receive the induction signal and control the motor according to the induction signal (configured to be used as such; see [0056]-[0058]; per claim 2, as best understood by the Examiner); wherein the external information comprises a plurality of external electronic induction tags (e.g. tags of files, or any other tags, see above); and the induction module is configured to sense any one of the external electronic induction tags and generate the induction signal, and the control module is configured to control the motor according to the induction signal (as explained above, see [0056]-[0058]; per claim 3; NOTE: “external information” and/or plurality of external electronic induction tags are only functionally recited (see claim 1), and are not positively recited, required nor part of the claimed endo motor; nevertheless, Yamashita discloses such tags); and wherein the induction module is connected with the root canal handle (see [0056]-[0058] and Figs. 4a-b; sensor is not shown but connected to the handle as it is a part of handpiece; per claim 4).
Yamashita discloses wherein the NFC device is used to control the motor according to information provided from the RFID chips (including rotation direction, see above), but does not explicitly teach wherein the information from the chips is used to adjust working parameters of the device, including rotation speed or torque as required.
Rouiller et al, however, teaches a similar dental tool which uses information from RFID tags to adjust working parameters of a motor, wherein said parameters may include torque or rotation speed (see [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Yamashita to include Rouiller’s teaching of using the RFID tag to store and control parameters including rotation speed and torque, as such modification would allow for adjustment and/or optimization of the use of the tool based on a particular tool size, shape and/or material, a particular patient, or the remaining working life or accumulated wear of the tool (see Rouiller, citations above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772